reviews for: listing #89055 - Kealakekua, Hawaii Cottage rental

Enchanting Tropical Cottage
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $95 - $110 /nt
    $680 - $720 /wk
    $1,850 - $2,000 /mth

sort by:

Excellent quality-price property

Review submitted: June 26, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

We stayed for 3 days at the Rainbow Ohana from June 7th to June 10th. If you're looking for a small,cozy and well equipped cottage at an affordable price it is an excellent pick. The only downside (if it's one for you) would be the close proximity of the house just below. It wasn't a bother at all for us since it was super quiet down there. Overall a great stay !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tempted to Stay Longer!

Review submitted: April 21, 2014   Date of arrival: February 28, 2014

Dora and I would like to thank you for a wonderful holiday in Hawaii. The Cottage was exactly as advertised and this was exactly what we were looking for on our trip to the Big Island. It gave us the opportunity to experience Hawaii in a way that felt more like being part of a community rather than just one more tourist in a sea of other tourists. We used it as our base to explore the island and it was always reassuring knowing that we had a lovely comfortable little home to return to after an adventure. Both Kelly and Jeri are wonderful folks to deal with and you should be very pleased with how they relate to your guests. We were so tempted to stay another couple of weeks but then Spring here on Vancouver Island is something we didn't want to miss. Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This is a Paradise

Review submitted: April 13, 2014   Date of arrival: March 30, 2014

We loved staying in this very nuce ohana in that beautiful garden.
There is so quite (just songs of birds) like you are in your own world.
In the same time it's close to a lot of interesting attractions.
We had a busy days and relaxing evenings on the porch.
Sunsets are amazing.
Communications with owners was very easy and very helpful.
LOVE every hour staying in this place

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hidden Gem...What an awesome find

Review submitted: January 24, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

This was our third year coming to the Big Island and we've stayed at several nice vacation homes, but this place was by far the most relaxing and homey rental we've had the pleasure of staying in. It is as advertised with a comfortable bed, well stocked kitchen, nice hot shower etc...
Tucked away amongst banana, papaya and macadamia nut trees and surrounded by so many different, beautiful plants and flowers you feel like your all alone in the middle of a jungle, but in reality your close to " modern day" conveniences.
We loved its central location. Away from the buzz of the " touristy" places (Kona and Alii Dr) but not too far if we wanted to do some shopping or go out to eat. It is also only a few miles to our favorite beach (Ho'Okena) for some relaxing beach time, swimming and snorkeling. My husband kept saying " yeah, I could live here:) " I was the hero for finding this diamond in the rough. Thanks Beth and also Jeri the manager for being there to answer any questions we had. We will be back if you'll have us. M&N Alaska

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jeri and I are delighted that you felt so at home at Rainbow Ohana. We agree that our enchanting tropical cottage is a very special place. Mahalo for your lovely comments and you and your husband are certainly welcome to return any time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Big Island Guest House

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 16, 2013

This Guest House was clean, comfortable, well-stocked, cozy, good location, quiet, beautiful surroundings. We would stay there again, and recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful and relaxing

Review submitted: August 20, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Rainbow Ohana cottage. The location was far enough away from Kona to provide a quiet, relaxing setting, but not so far that we couldn't access beaches and restaurants fairly quickly. The layout is perfect because the living room and sleeping area are separated from the kitchen by a sliding glass door. In the mornings, I could get up early and enjoy a cup of coffee on the screened in kitchen/dining room porch area without disturbing my husband. The setting is beautiful with a view of the ocean and surrounded by tropical flowers, bushes, and trees. It was really quite beautiful and we would recommend to anyone who would like to experience the natural beauty of Hawaii.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

rainbow ohana

Review submitted: July 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 8, 2013

This cottage is a wonderful, secluded, tropical getaway. The unique screened in kitchen with ocean views is just the right amount of bringing the outdoors inside. Comfortable bed, great bath/shower and beautiful garden setting.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Big Island stay

Review submitted: March 31, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

Reserving accommodations, such as cottages is always a bit risky when done online, but communication was so great and prompt that all that angst was removed. We arrived at the cottage as planned and found it to be delightful. It was clean and well stocked with the essentials. Our stay was everything we hoped for --- ripe bananas at the door, lime trees a few steps away from the porch, and flowers galore. Has a lovely view of the ocean through swaying palm and banana trees. This is NOT a Sheraton Hotel experience. If that is what you are looking for, then this is not for you. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were sad to leave. Would recommend this Ohana to anyone looking for a cottage rental!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely Hideaway

Review submitted: January 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 15, 2012

We absolutely LOVED the Cottage!! It was the Perfect Place in the Perfect Spot and had the Perfect Climate.
It had EVERYTHING we could have possibly needed for the month, from plenty of beach supplies to every kitchen appliance to a comfy bed and to the ever important duct tape and everything in between!!!! It was also spotless, which we really appreciated.
It was amazing to be able to walk out your door and have so many varieties of fruit at your fingertips. We had homemade guacamole almost every day and I made banana nut bread with the Bananas and mac nuts from the property!!!!!
The Cottage was centrally located on the Island. We took day trips to almost every part of it.
We will definitely return to the Big Island and we will definitely stay at the Cottage again!!
Beth was wonderful to work with. She answered every question (and I had a lot) and supplied us with info we had not even thought of.
You can safely say We Loved It!!!
Thank you, Beth!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Good morning Coffee, Chickens!

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

Bet's cottage is a lovely, sweet, one-of-a-kind experience for the happy traveler who wants to go a little local. Barely a mile off the main highway, down a 1 lane road filled with coffee plantations, chickens, quail and the kind of people who love to live here, her cottage is a comfortable oasis. The bed is great, the space open and inviting; the bathroom works perfectly well; and the hospitality is wonderful. You enter onto the screened in porch which also houses the kitchen. To the west is your ocean view - as you are about a mile up the hill. You look down into the tropical garden and know you're in paradise. The chickens serenade you with a morning song, other birds too. A mile off the beaten path, yet further yet. The garden ls lush and inviting. And Beth supplies plenty of bug spray, as the critters do like to bite. But who cares: with enough OFF! to battle an army, bugs are but a minor worry. I plan to come here again. Thanks Beth!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are delighted that you had such a wonderful time. You are welcome to come back and visit us any time. Mahalo! Beth

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Refuge in Paradise

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

All as advertised. Lovely quiet spot, like being in the middle of a jungle with fresh fruit trees and coffee bushes all around. Clean, spacious feeling like a high roofed Mother-in-Law house. Everything works in this clean, nicely decorated refuge. Would love to come and stay longer, but it was a great conclusion to our trip after a busy time on Maui. No room service? We did not even use the radio or TV, just enjoyed the Oceanview with our morning coffee and fruit.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very Tropical Great Location

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: April 12, 2012

We had a great stay at the Rainbow Ohana Guesthouse. It is perfect for a romantic get away for two. Not enough room for 4 adults but would work for 2 adults with up to two kids. Particularily enjoyed all the tropical plants (both fruit and otherwise) that surrounded the cabin. Lots of birds, geckos and views over the water. The location was very central for what we wanted to do which revolved mostly around snorkeling. All the top spots are a short drive. Don't panic as you come down the access road which has some terrifyingly dumpy residents on the way in. It only gets better towards the end. The cabin was as advertised, clean and everything worked perfectly. Really good value and I would highly reccommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I Don't Want To Leave!!

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

Aloha & Mahalo Beth,

You are so fortunate to live here (even just sometimes)!! Your Ohana is so comfortable and welcoming - so many amenities besides, of course, the view and 'food' tress. We went snorkeling at two-step beach near the Place Of Refuge and on to the Green Sand Beach - quite a 4-wheel drive adventure - really requires a jeep - terrible road. We went into Kailua for a wonderful Thai dinner. I sleep so well here!! I don't ever want to leave!

Again Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Guest House

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2010

We spent our holidays here for the Ironman World Championship. It was a wonderful time on the Big Island and in this lovely guest house. The weather was fine, a very nice competition with a very good result and an amazing atmosphere. Would like to return in a couple of years to this location for another event.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a Wonderful Time!

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: January 3, 2011

We had a wonderful time staying at Rainbow Ohana Cottage!! What a contrast to Alaska in winter...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Welcome Relief

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

We survived the tsunami that hit while we were in Puna. We evacuated and spent the night in our car on the slopes of Mauna Loa near the Kilauea Volcano. It was a welcome relief to arrive at Rainbow House. We enjoyed ourselves and look forward to returning soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Special Place

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: December 13, 2010

We found a special place when we found your cottage in the tress...very comfortable but especially enjoyed staying right here eating and relaxing overlooking your garden! And sunsets over the ocean. Mahalo Jeri, you had everything nice, clean and ready for us to enjoy!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Place of Respite & Relaxation

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2009

It is Friday, March 6 and we are leaving a lovely place of respite & relaxation. We kayaked, snorkeled, rode horses and generally soaked up the atmosphere of the Big Island, Aloha & Mahalo!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Delightful Ohana

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

We had a grand week on the Big Island - Stayed in Volcano, Hilo and Waimea before settling into your Ohana cottage. We have packed in a full week of hiking across lava, seeing the botanical garden, taking unknown side trips, visiting Hawi, enjoying the beaches of kohala coast and Puako, snorkeling at two -step and Kealakekua Bay along with kayaking, fitting in a Luau and now, sadly and exhausted we head home! But also rejuvenated. Loved your delightful Ohana! Rooster a little noisy!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Location Location Location

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: February 20, 2010

Location, Location, Location!! The close proximity to our son and the Keiki Was great. The Weather was divine, And the privacy a plus.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Island Spirit

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2007

We had a wonderful 10 days here on the big island and the cottage was splendid...as was the hospitality-so typical of this unique island's spirit. We are sadly departing today but we take with us the renewed vitality Hawaii so generously shares with visitors! Thanks Beth&Jeri - We'll be Back!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Stunning Ohana

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: November 27, 2011

We arrived safe and sound yesterday around 3pm. Your directions were easy to follow and we were able to find rainbow Ohana with no trouble at all. We were stunned by the beauty of the vegetation and the sounds of the birds when we got out of our jeep for the first time. The view is spectacular.
The cottage is quaint and homey. We just love it. This place is exactly what we where looking for. Very peaceful and private.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful House, Gorgeous View

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

Thank you for everything! the house is wonderful, the view gorgeous, and the weather very comfortable. We enjoyed the stay on the Big Island and would recommend to those staying here after us to read the guides on the book shelves in this house - you won't find anything as accurate in the guides bought on the mainland!!

P.S. If you hear rustling at night, use a flashlight and you'll be surprised!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place

Review submitted: February 18, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Rainbow Ohana in January of 2012.
The location of the Rainbow places you about 1100’ and about 3 miles from the ocean but you would not realize that it is 3 miles away. It looks much closer than that.
The landscape is beautiful with lots of banana, papaya, and avocado trees, coffee plants, and tons of flowers.
The cottage was very comfortable, quiet, secluded (there is only one house down below within view), and is very connected to the natural setting.
The weather was exceptionally fine at this location. It can change rapidly as you move up or down in elevation or around the island.
We are looking forward to our next visit to Hawaii and hopefully a stay at the Rainbow.
Gene

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rooster Ohana

Review submitted: November 8, 2011   Date of arrival: October 23, 2011

Nestled in the midst of a coffee farm with abundant fruit trees, this cottage has a gorgeous view of the ocean and an initial feeling of privacy. However, one soon realizes that there are coffee workers nearby, and their lives are audible at all hours inside the ohana. Also there are MANY chickens clucking and squawking in the nearby shrubbery, with roosters crowing at all hours of the day and night. I was unable to get one good night's sleep as a result of all the hubbub.
There is a little cinder path leading up to the cottage which makes it difficult to carry luggage (especially for me, as I had an injured shoulder). Also, the carpeting had numerous old stains though it was freshly vacuumed and there were cobwebs hanging from the ceiling over the bed (never a reassuring sight!).
However, the kitchen was well equipped and the wi-fi worked, though the cable tv package was so basic there weren't even channels like CNN or MSNBC for those who like to keep abreast of the outside world.
The location is good, making it easy to see the important sights on the Kona coast, but frankly, the nights without sleep made it difficult to enjoy my stay there to the fullest. I'm giving Rainbow Ohana only three stars because of the roosters, the not-too-private feeling created by so many people working and living in close quarters around the cottage, the lumpy, uncomfortable bed, and the somewhat shabby condition of the place. Last but not least, guests are expected to strip and launder bedding (and towels!), despite the additional house-keeping fee. There are instructions that one must not leave the washer or dryer on when leaving the ohana, which means you need to waste vacation time minding the appliances, also a great inconvenience. Oh, and by the way, the ohana sleeps 2, not 2-4 (unless you don't mind others sleeping right on top of you!), and unlike the other two places I stayed, no one was there to welcome me to the premises.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: We are sorry to hear that your experience at our Guest House was not what you expected. The experience of renting a cottage on a working coffee farm is certainly quite different than the experience of staying in a condominium or other vacation property. Coffee farms operate on a seasonal schedule. There are months when no workers are on the property and times when workers come and fertilize, trim branches, and harvest the cherry from the coffee trees. Given that your stay occurred during harvest season, it is normal that there would be coffee workers on the premises. We always hope that they are quiet and respectful, but picking coffee is hard work and many workers sing while they work to help the time pass.

We work very hard at making the cottage as clean and comfortable as possible. We may miss an occasional cobweb, but in general, our guests have commented on how clean and tidy the cottage is. The queen size bed is high quality with no lumps. If you slept on the sofa sleeper you may have encountered a few lumps....its a sofabed after all.

In summary, this is a perfect getaway for individuals, couples and small families seeking an updated accommodation in a charming and traditional Hawaiian setting. Rural areas include features that are both charming and occasionally inconvenient, but as our many 5 star property reviews indicate, those seeking a more rural experience find the experience of staying at Rainbow Ohana truly enchanting.

This was obviously not a good fit for you. We wish you had offered us a chance to address some of these issues during your stay. We wish you all the best in your future travels.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

australian t

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

We loved this little refuge which was a perfect blend of simplicity and charm with all the amenities (even a washing machine!) to make our stay comfortable and relaxing. The gardens were beautiful with bananas, limes and avocados just out our door, climate perfect and location couldn't have been better. We have fallen in love with the big island and its slower pace with so much to see, marine mammals just offshore and a multitude of climates to choose from! Swam with dophins and pilot whales, snorkeling off the beaches and kayaking. Our stay wasn't long enough to exploer it all! We highly recommend it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My favorite vacation experience

Review submitted: April 16, 2010   Date of arrival: August 28, 2007

My wife and I planned our Hawaii trip for many years. When my friend heard that we had finally decided to visit the Big Island, she said, "Why don't you two stay at my Rainbow Ohana Guest House?"

This turned out to be one of the best vacation decisions of our lives! A secluded get-away nestled on the side of the mountain, Rainbow Ohana has breathtaking views sunsets and moon-sets over the western sea.

We used Rainbow Ohana as a base for exploring the western side of the Big Island. It's near the historic attractions of Kailua and some of the popular beaches. But we also spent a lot of time just hanging out and relaxing in the house. It felt to me as though we were house-sitting for good friends who are lucky enough to live in an exotic setting.

If you are interested in capturing the sense of a community when you travel and if you want to avoid the usual tourist traps, Rainbow Ohana Guest House is definitely worth checking out.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Rainbow Ohana - great stay!

Review submitted: March 31, 2010   Date of arrival: May 16, 2008

Rainbow Ohana is a cozy rental tucked away in a quiet neighborhood within minutes of the beaches and town of Kona. I am very happy I stayed there on my recent visit to the big island. The property is clean, tidy and comfortable. Prices are quite reasonable. I have no reservation recommending this property to others and would stay there again if I ever get the chance to return to the big island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Hidden Gem

Review submitted: March 29, 2010   Date of arrival: March 18, 2010

Our family of 4 stayed here while visiting family over spring break. Even with just the one bedroom, we were able to have enough space for our 10 and 15 year old sons. We borrowed an air mattress from family and set it up in the screened porch/kitchen. That porch was a perfect spot to sit quietly at any time of day. The neighbors were all very hospitable (when met on the one lane paved road) and nights were quiet and dark---something that is rare in Kona in such an accessible place. We had everything we needed--plus a huge bunch of bananas hanging beside the front door and avocados dropping every hour. Our only regret was that mangos were not in season. If you want to experience something a bit more colorful and vivid than the usual beachfront condo, up where the breezes are cool, the people a bit more real, with kids, chickens and dogs all living life along St Paul Rd. (go slow!) this is a great spot to stay.

Teshima's restaurant (out by the highway) is a local icon as well as Manago Hotel's dining room (to the south in Captain Cook) These places are basic, down home food with few frills, both of which give you a taste of the way people who live here dine. Excellent more "upscale" restaurants are Jackie Ray's Ohana Grill (on Kuakini Hwy above Kailua) and Annie's at Mango Court just past Kainaliu (burgers etc) Keei Cafe (cash only) a couple miles south of Kainaliu. In between ($ wise) is Big Island Grill (their B.I.G. salad with fresh catch is exquisite)) Best supermarket is KTA at Keahou Mall. If you like organics try Island Naturals (Kainaliu and Kailua)
Best body surfing in Kona is at White Sands on Alii Dr. Best old time Hawaii beach (waves, snorkeling, clean water, views, dolphins) is Ho'okena Beach in South Kona--a nice break if you are driving to the volcano. All the local beaches have been cleaned up a lot in recent years. They are better patrolled and there is much less drinking and loitering than there used to be. We did not have any concerns with the rental that required attention but the on-island manager was just a phone call away. I would recommend the rental to others. We had a great time and plan to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 16, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

We had the pleasure of staying a month in this cottage and just as past visitors have stated, it is quite roomy. Every comfort seems to have been thought of, happy art everywhere, good books, good videos, beach chairs, really all the comforts of home plus more. It most certainly was an all around good experience for us. The few things that did come up in a month long stay, were quickly and efficiently handled by on island caretakers and a property manager, and these were very minor. The cooler temps at this location would make summer especially nice here. Many GREAT snorkling beaches within 30 minutes or less and about 15 minutes to Holualoa (great art town). We would love to return again.
Mahalo for sharing this lovely space.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 12, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

We loved the location of this great get-away. The surrounding fruit trees and lush vegetation are beautiful. Thanks for sharing your home with us.

PS: Thanks, too, for the fresh fruit and fresh-cut flowers. It was a lovely way to arrive after all of the travel.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 28, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

I had a wonderful stay! The cottage is immaculately
clean and more spacious than the pictures indicated.
Each day I discovered another piece of art,
thoughtfully placed. The weather was great too with
surprisingly cool nights at this elevation. I hope to
return and see some more of the "Big Island". Thanks!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 28, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

This was so relaxing! Great location, easy to get anywhere from. Love your cottage Beth. Would stay here again. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review