reviews for: listing #89188 - South Lake Tahoe, California House rental

Luxury Waterfront Home w/ Dock, Kayak, Pedal Boat, Canoe
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Tahoe Keys
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $300 - $575 /nt
    $1,950 - $2,950 /wk

sort by:

Great experience, very clean

Review submitted: February 25, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

Nice, clean and modern house on the water. The bedrooms were clean and living room was very spacious. 15 minute drive to the casinos and Heavenly lift.

Owners response: Thank you Andrew for sharing your stay with our guests. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay this winter and look forward to having you back in the summer to enjoy the lake.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, quiet location near lots of great activities in South Lake Tahoe.

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this home. However, there are were some minor things that needed fixing while we were there -- i.e. ping pong table was broken (we were looking forward to a tourney with all the kids), smoke alarm was beeping for it needed new batteries, had to fix the knob for the shower, and some lights weren't working properly. If all these items were in working order, I would have given it an excellent. We loved cooking on the commercial stove and oven.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you for informing us of some maintenance issues. We will address them promptly. As for the ping pong table, we apologize that it wasn't available. The table was just broken by a renter prior to your arrival. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time there and hope to have you back soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Tahoe Keys Home

Review submitted: June 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

My family and extended family recently stayed in this home to celebrate my daughter's college graduation. I intentionally waited a few weeks before writing a review, because my instinct right after vacationing in this home would have been to not recommend it. In all fairness, I will say that the house is described accurately, and the photos do reflect its current appearance. The property manager is responsive in a polite, but not always helpful way. There were some not-so-minor glitches that needed to be dealt with while staying in the house. For one, the house only comes with 12 bath towels, and no face or hand towels. We reported this to the property manager and were asked to buy our own towels at the local Kmart, which we agreed to do, and charge them back to the owner. The property manager seemed astounded that we were asking for more towels. Secondly, the barbecue on the patio was absolutely filthy on its outside surfaces. When we reported its condition to the property manager, he "politely" responded that the barbecue was merely a courtesy and that if we wanted to, we could bring in the cleaning crew for a fee of $250 to clean it. When I responded to his suggestion, in less than a positive way, my email was ignored. Thirdly, there was only one wine glass in the house. The property manager stated that "the owners don't drink wine" as an excuse for their absence which I thought was an inconsiderate answer to a house guest. We ended up purchasing those from Kmart too. Lastly, we did not realize until we arrive that the house does not have air conditioning. All in all, if you'd like a decent place to stay on the water, the house is fine. For those with more discriminating tastes, who want the convenience of a single family residence but the nice perks of a high end hotel, I would think twice about it.

Owners response: Thank you for leaving your comments. We apologize for not fully meeting your expectations. We provide 12 bath towels for our guests but when you had contacted Nick about wanting face towels, we agreed to reimburse you if you would like to go buy the face towels. Even though we reimbursed you as agreed, it seems that was not enough. We also agreed to reimburse you for wine glasses, this too wasn't enough. As for air conditioning, this waterfront property does not require it as the weather is mild throughout most of the year. We provide 4 electric fans and a ceiling fan to keep the house cool if ever needed. Thank you for staying with Home on Tahoe Keys.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We will recommend your vacation rental to friends.

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

Thanks so much for the opportunity to rent your home at Tahoe Keys, we had a great time and will definitely contact you in the future. Everything worked out fine for us. We really did enjoy the trip! We will recommend your vacation rental to friends and family. Sincerely, Andrea.

OWNER RESPONSE: We're glad that you enjoyed your time at our Home on Tahoe Keys. We welcome your friends and family and will do our best to make sure they have a great experience as well. By the way, we add something new every year for our guest to enjoy. This summer, we are adding a new Cadillac Escalade Power Wheel for our little guests to enjoy. We look forward to having you as our guest again real soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It's a beautiful home. We really enjoyed ...

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

Thanks so much ! We had a good stay at the home. It's a beautiful home. We really enjoyed all the additional things the home came with. Everything went well! Thanks again. - Thanks, Neelam

OWNER RESPONSE: Glad to hear you enjoyed the Tahoe Keys Resort amenities during your stay with us. Hope you had a chance to enjoyed the huge olympic size heated pool and the private beach within 1 mile of the home. We look forward to having you visit us during the summer time for boating, jet skiing, water skiing, kayaking, pedal boating, and fishing right off the private boat dock.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Place to Stay for All Seasons!

Review submitted: March 27, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

The house was in a great location in Tahoe Keys and it was definitely a comfortable place for me and my group of 12 friends to stay during a weekend getaway mid-March. Everything in the house was well thought of and extremely comfortable, from the furniture to all the amenities the house provided. The house was very clean and beautiful - and we enjoyed all the quotes on every window. From booking the home to solving any questions we had upon arrival, the owners were very responsive and we received very prompt answers. This house is definitely one that we would like to come back to soon - perhaps during the summer to try out the kayak or paddleboat!

Owners response: Thanks Jenny for sharing your experience with our future guests. We continually strive to ensure a memorable vacation for our guests. This summer, we are adding an Escalade Power Wheel for our little guests to ride around Tahoe Keys Resort. We look forward to having you back this summer to enjoy the warm weather boating, fishing, hiking, biking, and especially your own private dock right outside our living room doors.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything worked out very well ... was perfect.

Review submitted: February 22, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

We had a great time in Tahoe.  Everything worked out really well and the house was perfect.  Thanks for the extra wee touches you provided - yes someone forgot soap and someone else a toothbrush so was great to have it there!
We will be back! - Wendy

OWNER RESPONSE: Thanks Wendy! We are glad to have such wonderful guests all the way from New Zealand. We are always happy to hear that our guests enjoyed their time with Home on Tahoe Keys. We hope to see you again on your next trip to the United States.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We would definitely like to come back again!

Review submitted: September 16, 2012   Date of arrival: September 3, 2012

It was GREAT - can you send me the link to the reference - I'd be glad to give you a referral. Love staying there - and the extra's you provided were so unexpected - we would definitely like to come back again.

~Deborah

OWNER RESPONSE: Thank you Deborah! We are happy to provide the little extra's for our guests if it makes their stay more special and memorable. We look forward to having you and your family back in the near future.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Certainly enjoyed our stay at your property!

Review submitted: September 16, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

Thanks for the follow up! The property was great and the trip was definitely memorable. I think the only minor complaint was that I think there weren't enough bath towels for everyone. We had 12 people total but i think we only counted 10 (unless someone counted wrong). And the linen closets were locked so we ended up getting some extra towels at the local Kmart. Other than that everything was very good and we certainly enjoyed our stay at your property!

~Brian

OWNER RESPONSE: Thanks Brian for sharing your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed our property and had a memorable experience. As for the towels, we have reminded our housekeeping team to make sure to provide twelve towels for our guests. We hope to have you back again in the upcoming winter time to enjoy all the winter sports and the beautiful snow covered scenery.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The little touches of hospitality were great.

Review submitted: September 7, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

We had a great weekend and absolutely loved the house. It was perfect for us and had everything we needed. Thanks so much for all your help. The little touches of hospitality were great. We definitely were not disappointed. Thanks again!

~Jessie

OWNER RESPONSE: Thanks Jessica for sharing with us your experience. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful time at our place and enjoyed our gift basket. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Lake Tahoe!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Definitely talking about coming back next year!

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 23, 2012

We did have a wonderful stay at the Home on Tahoe Keys. We are definitely talking about coming back next year!

-Jill M.

OWNER RESPONSE: Thanks Jill for sharing your comments with us. We hope to have you back as our guest next year!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your home is truly equipped with a lot of things

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 18, 2012

Thanks for calling and checking in. We really had a wonderful time in Tahoe and loved the location and house on Tahoe Keys. Aside from a few things that need attention all things were good there. Your home is truly equipped with a lot of things.

OWNER RESPONSE: Thank you Mae for sharing your feedback with us. We are glad to hear you and your family had a wonderful time at our place during your week stay. We have added additional adult life vests, found the missing tv remote under the bed, and tightened some screws where needed. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Lake Tahoe!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The family had a wonderful time!

Review submitted: July 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

The family had a wonderful time, and we will certainly recommend the home to anyone. The paddle boat & kayak were a huge success. Our biggest suggestion would be a new mattress in the bedroom with the octagon window and a window cover on that window.

Nick, I have really appreciated working with you.

Kathie

OWNER RESPONSE:: We are delighted to hear that you and your family have enjoyed our home and the amenities provided. Adding the pedal boat has allowed more family members to enjoy the beautiful Tahoe Keys and create fond memories together. We will be replacing the mattress and adding a window covering for the beautiful octagonal window you mentioned. In addition, we have added electric fans to each bedroom for additional comfort for our guests.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great vacation at the house!

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

I just wanted to let you know we had a great family vacation at the Home on Tahoe Keys. Thanks for your help in the planning.

There were a few minor issues which I noted on the paper evaluation in the house --- mainly plumbing issues with the master bath shower and toilet. But the house was well equipped, and we particularly enjoyed the use of the kayak and peddleboat. I might also suggest that you advise prospective renters that there is no air conditioning in the house and there are no fans to help cool the house off in the summertime.

Again, we had a great vacation at this house!

Best regards,
Barry

OWNER RESPONSE: Thanks for sharing your vacation with us and our other guests. Due to the relatively mild temperature we have year round in South Lake Tahoe, majority of homes do not have air conditioning. However, we have added electric fans in each bedroom to make it more comfortable moving forward. We will be addressing the loose handle in the master shower and repairing the runny toilet. Thanks for bringing these to our attention. We hope to have you and your family back again soon.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Discovering the Tahoe Keys

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

I had lived in Truckee a number of years ago and seldom ventured to the south side of the lake. Wow, what a wonderful surprise to find the Tahoe Keys. There were numerous properties listed and we were lucky enough to find “Home at Tahoe Keys”. The photos were current so there were no surprises, clean and nicely furnished. The owner was responsive in every way and even provided a great welcome basket. The private boat dock made it a breeze to venture out to Camp Richardson's Beacon beach with a free boat docking! Another nice touch was the use of the 'house' kayak and paddle boat. The little ones enjoyed catching Blue Gills (and releasing them) right from the dock. Shopping and restaurants are all nearby yet you get to experience visiting geese, peace and quiet plus great water front views. This property is great location for family gatherings because it has enough space to enjoy each other without feeling claustrophobic.

Owners response: Thanks Ed for sharing your experience with our other guests. We are happy to hear that you and your family have enjoyed your time at our waterfront home. We still feel to this day that the Tahoe Keys Resort is a hidden gem with so much to discover and enjoy. You have been wonderful guests and we hope to have you back again soon. See you next time!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your property is so beautiful and nice view.

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

We really enjoyed it there. All of us are still talking about your property and hope to see your house again next time. Thank you for your quick response every time we have question. Easy to check in and out with the keyless code entry. The location is so nice and beautiful as well as the house. The only one issue we had. The mattress on the 2nd King Bed is too soft and my friend did not sleep well on there. For myself, I am so surprise all the stuffs in your kitchen.

Your property is so beautiful and nice view. We totally enjoyed it here!

Thank you.
Chau

OWNER RESPONSE: Thanks for sharing with us your comments. The keyless code entry has been a hit with all our guests. Our guests love being able to arrive and check in at any hour of the night and anyone in their party can arrive first. A unique entry code is provided for each party and is valid for the duration of their stay. That code is then changed after the guests are checked out. We hope to see you again real soon!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great way to start 2012

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

Our family of four (including 18 and 20 year old sons) and one of their friends spent 5 days in this beautiful home. The owners were great to work with and always responded to any questions I had within minutes (we didn't book until right before Christmas so I was impressed with how helpful they were even during that busy week!).
The house was very nice (also clean) and as pictured. The location was even better than expected. Loved having the view out of the family room onto the (frozen) water and the mountains. Close to great restaurants and other places to eat. We are not gamblers so appreciated the quiet area and being out of the hustle and bustle (especially after just coming off the holidays). Fun to walk around the 'Keys' and I ran to the path behind the marina several times. Biked to Fallen Leaf Lake twice (Yes, this did happen in January!). Bike trail is very close and convenient. The indoor pool is beautiful and well maintained. Despite no snow, we took advantage of the outdoors and felt like we had parts of Tahoe to ourselves.
We would recommend this house to anyone who wants to spend a week with the beautiful Tahoe outdoors at your beck and call or if you just want to relax. The boys enjoyed feeding the ducks and geese from the dock. We can only imagine how great it would be in the summer having the water right there and being able to head out in your kayaks or boat and hang out on the back deck.
This house and location truly exceeded our expectations and we hope to be guests again someday!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Michele for your amazing review. Our future guests will definitely appreciate your descriptions of the home, its location, and some of the amenities our Home on Tahoe Keys has to offer. Summer is the best time to enjoy fishing from your private dock, kayaking around Tahoe Keys waterways and hopping onto a boat and jet ski right outside your living room. We hope to have your family back to enjoy summer time real soon. Until then, Happy New Year and Best Wishes!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A Vacation to be Remembered!!

Review submitted: December 28, 2011   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

Often after a vacation you feel like you need another vacation to recover from your adventures. but this was not the case after staying at the House of Tahoe Keys. The house is nestled in an amazing community surrounded by jaw dropping 360 views of the mountains and lake. In that kind of environment you can't help but to cuddle up on the couch, drink some hot coco, and sit by the fire. (And it definitely doesn't hurt that the house itself is gorgeous!!) The house exceeded all of my expectations in every imaginable way. It that it's amazing enough the owners are absolutely incredible. They definitely opend up the lines of communication which made the process of reserving and renting the house so easy. The House of Tahoe Keys will definitely be the first choice on my list the next time I visit South Lake Tahoe!!

Owners response: Thanks Gena for the amazing review. We are always delighted to know our guests enjoyed themselves as much as we enjoy sharing our home with them. We look forward to having you back real soon Gena. Come stay with us this summer and enjoy boating and fishing right outside the living room. You will absolutely love it!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautiful Location!

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

A large group of my friends and I stayed at this home in mid July. Though the exterior still has some work (general maintainence items), the inside of the house is fantastic. Very spacious and the master bedroom and bathroom is spectacular! The only downside to the interior was that there was not a coffee pot and the sofa bed in the living room is not that comfortable. Other than that, the place is great and you can't pick a better location. The home is waterfront and the deck and dock are right there outside the living room. The house comes with a kayak too which we had a blast with. We had a great time staying here and recommend it for those needing xtra space. We definitely would stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for providing us with your feedback. There was a problem with our automatic sprinkler system but we have taken care of that now. The lawn is green once again! We have also added a new coffee pot. We are glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed the beautiful location. We hope to see you again real soon!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

I will definitely stay here again in the future...

Review submitted: July 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

The listing description is accurate and the photos definitely reflect the the rental's appearance and amenities. The property is very clean and well-maintained. Nick was very helpful and quick in answering all my questions and concerns. He made the reservation process feel easy and smooth. I have already started recommending this property to all my friends, relatives, and colleagues as I share with them my stories. This home is so close to everything... restaurants, supermarkets, casinos, Heavenly, shopping, hiking and biking trails. I especially love hanging out on the deck and kayaking around the Tahoe Keys. Having a private boat dock was awesome being able to ride jet skis out to the lake so easily without any hassle. I will definitely stay here again in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for sharing this with us. It is always nice to hear back from past renters and knowing they enjoyed their vacation with us. We look forward to having you again real soon.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

WE LOVE YOUR HOME! EXACTLY AS SHOWN IN THE PHOTOS.

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

Again, our families love your home and the Tahoe Keys Resort community! Thank you so much for making this the best vacation stay we've ever experienced. We will never forget this and we will be coming back here for our annual family reunion...

The home is beautiful, modern, and immaculate. The guys and kids love being able to hop onto the kayak early in the morning right from the backyard while the ladies love being able to see and hear everything from the kitchen. The views of the surrounding mountains with beautiful homes reflecting off the water as we kayak on the Keys is something everyone should experience. It's like Venice in California!! We felt very luxurious in your home. Thanks so much for bringing our family closer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are glad you enjoyed our home. We hope you will stay with us again real soon.

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review