reviews for: listing #89199 - Washington, DC Townhome rental

Eastern Market Suites-1890 Victorian, 100 steps to metro
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Capitol Hill
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $325 /nt

sort by:

Fabulous Place

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

The garden suite was perfect! Spotlessly clean, comfortable, convenient--truly less than 5 min. walk to metro!! After a long day of sightseeing, it was unbelievably convenient to catch the metro and be so near your "home away from home". Kirk, the owner, was responsive immediately before, during, and even after our stay. He answered many e-mails beforehand such as---does it come equipped with laundry detergent? (yes).
During the stay, he answered his cell phone immediately when we had a question. He even helped look for a child's lost retainer after the stay!! (found in suitcase!). We just loved how tasteful and elegant the apartment was--kitchen nicely equipped--we did cook there several nights with meat and produce from the nearby Eastern Market. We had 2 school-aged children with us and they enjoyed playing in the back yard. We loved being in the Eastern Market area with all its restaurants and coffee shops. All we had to do is walk one or two very short blocks and there were many offerings. Beautiful and safe neighborhood--we enjoyed just walking around after supper. I would highly recommend to anyone for a wonderful time!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

This is the best location! It was clean and exactly like the pictures. Kirk was very nice and even brought us a parking pass that we had forgotten to ask for. He said he only lives 5 minutes away and to call him if we needed anything. After a lot of sightseeing we always knew we were just a couple of metro stops from home. The metro here is fast and cheap and easy to understand. After a quick rest we went to dinner at one of the many restaurants in walking distance. There were 6 of us and this was a perfect place you will love it!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

EXCELLENT APARTMENT. PERFECT LOCATION.

Review submitted: December 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2012

We stayed at this fantastic apartment last summer. We had lived in DC for ten years and were heading back fro a visit. The location is really perfect- close to restaurants, activities and literally could not be closer to the metro. DC in the summer is ridiculously hot and being this close to everything was a huge relief.

The owner could not be there during our stay so he sent a friend to check on us and make sure everything was clean and tidy and met our needs. The owner was also incredibly helpful during our booking process. There were a few days when the apartment was rented when would have liked to stay and the owner offered to call around and find us other nearby options. Overall, he was simply a pleasure to deal with.

The place itself is perfectly clean, easy to use everything, great kitchen, strong AC, lovely backyard. It was perfect.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

EXCELLENT APARTMENT. PERFECT LOCATION.

Review submitted: December 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2012

We stayed at this fantastic apartment last summer. We had lived in DC for ten years and were heading back fro a visit. The location is really perfect- close to restaurants, activities and literally could not be closer to the metro. DC in the summer is ridiculously hot and being this close to everything was a huge relief.

The owner could not be there during our stay so he sent a friend to check on us and make sure everything was clean and tidy and met our needs. The owner was also incredibly helpful during our booking process. There were a few days when the apartment was rented when would have liked to stay and the owner offered to call around and find us other nearby options. Overall, he was simply a pleasure to deal with.

The place itself is perfectly clean, easy to use everything, great kitchen, strong AC, lovely backyard. It was perfect.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

EXCELLENT APARTMENT. PERFECT LOCATION.

Review submitted: December 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2012

We stayed at this fantastic apartment last summer. We had lived in DC for ten years and were heading back fro a visit. The location is really perfect- close to restaurants, activities and literally could not be closer to the metro. DC in the summer is ridiculously hot and being this close to everything was a huge relief.

The owner could not be there during our stay so he sent a friend to check on us and make sure everything was clean and tidy and met our needs. The owner was also incredibly helpful during our booking process. There were a few days when the apartment was rented when would have liked to stay and the owner offered to call around and find us other nearby options. Overall, he was simply a pleasure to deal with.

The place itself is perfectly clean, easy to use everything, great kitchen, strong AC, lovely backyard. It was perfect.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family vacation in D.C.

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

My mom, sister, and I booked this apartment for a family weekend to celebrate my sister's birthday (with her two young children in tow), and we had such a wonderful time. The apartment was clean, nicely decorated, and homey--the exposed brick and artwork were very nice touches.

The outdoor space was put to good use with the kids, and the neighborhood couldn't have been better. There was a street fair planned at Eastern Market the weekend we were there, the metro is a block away, and there are a ton of good restaurants and bars on 8th Street.

The owner was very helpful throughout the booking process and accommodating when I had to make changes to our check-in time.

We were a large group for the space, but we managed just fine. (There are multiple units available in the building; it would have been fun to book more than one.) I would suggest getting a few cooking staples for the kitchen and clearing out the front and back stairwells, but overall it was a great experience, and I would definitely book this apartment again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Nice Stay in the "Garden Suite"

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 22, 2012

This is the perfect place for anyone wanting to be close to downtown Washington to tour this magnificant city. It is close to the metro and everything you need (grocery store, pharmacy, coffee shop etc.). We did not see much of Eastern Markets itself as it was pretty much closed on weekdays. The unit is newly renovated and basement level. All the appliances incl kitchen amenities were brand new. The unit was clean and neat and comfortably accomodated our family of 5. The owner was on hand to greet us when we arrived and answer any questions.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Can't wait to return

Review submitted: April 29, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here for a week and had a wonderful time. The location can't be beat - so close to the Eastern Market Metro, easy on street parking and just around the corner from a ton of restaurants in a charming neighborhood. The apartment was very comfortable and well appointed. It was beautifully maintained and serene.

Prior to our visit, Kirk provided some much appreciated links to help us get around the city as well as (what I heard) was a great running route that my husband really enjoyed.

There is so much to do and see in Washington that we barely scratched the surface. We're very much looking forward to a return trip and would definitely stay in this apartment again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exceeded Expectations

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 25, 2011

Our autumn trip to DC was made all the more enjoyable by our stay in this lovely property. Located just steps away from a metro station, we were easily able to access all of our planned events. Having this spotlessly clean and well appointed suite made it a pleasure to return "home" in the evening to relax after each day of exploring the sights of DC. In the evenings we enjoyed nearby cafes and restaurants along with strolling the charming streets of this picturesque DC area. Even before our trip began, Kirk was so kind to answer any and all of our questions promptly. Throughout our visit he was available to us to make our time in DC as enjoyable as possible. As they selected all of the furnishings for this suite, Kirk and Lisa have put so much thought into the comfort of their guests. Although we have visited the DC area before, staying in this beautifully renovated property gave us a view of the city we have never experienced. Because of the space available, amenities and charm of the property, this location was so much more preferable to staying in a hotel. When we visit the city again, we would definitely hope to stay in this Eastern Market Suite.

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review