reviews for: listing #89209 - Destin, Florida Condo rental

Awesome Gulf Front Beach View from Huge Wrap Around Balcony
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Mainsail
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $190 - $400 /nt
    $1,270 - $2,650 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful Time

Review submitted: July 23, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

My family had a wonderful time at this condo. The decor is very beachy but high quality, TV's in every room, fully stocked kitchen, etc. The ocean views from all the rooms (except kids bedroom) are great and the wrap around balcony was perfect. We had coffee out there and just soaked in the beach and ocean. The unit is also close (but not too close) to the elevators and trash chute, which was nice. It's in a less crowded area of Mirimare (about five to ten minutes away from Destin) which was great since the beaches were not too crowded. There were always beach chairs available (but you need to be at the beach by 8:45 am to get a beach front chair).

We will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family vacation on the beach

Review submitted: July 8, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

Condo was everything we expecded. The view was awesome and is one of the most enjoyable features of this unit. We will return the next opportunity we have. Thank you Charles and Suanne for sharing your beautiful Condo with the Breaux family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Trip!!

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

We loved your place! It's in a great location as is a wonderful unit. We loved the view! Any minor issues we had were quickly addressed by the owners. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Destin Condo

Review submitted: May 19, 2014   Date of arrival: May 11, 2014

This is the 3rd time leasing this condo. The view is magnificent .

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

excellent oceanfront condo

Review submitted: April 9, 2014   Date of arrival: March 30, 2014

We loved the condo. It was located in a great area.The furnishings were nice, beds comfortable, and the unit was clean. All expectations were met and we especially loved the view of the ocean.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Extraordinary Condo

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

We have stayed at several of these condos at Mainsail and this by far was the greatest experience. The view is only possible by actually being inside (pictures do it no justice). You wake up to the beautiful sunrise that extends over the beach. From almost every angle inside the condo, you can see the beach - - even while cooking your favorite breakfast, lunch or dinner dish, or simply lounging around.

The wrap-around deck is awesome. You can literally walk from east to west enjoying the view and hearing the calming sound of the waves from the Gulf --the condo is right on top of the beach.

If you are looking for an ideal getaway to Destin, this is a MUST to be considered.

It is an absolutely perfect setup to enjoy the Emerald Coast. I would recommend that you go and stay at least once. I think you will agree.

We will definitely go back. We hope to plan another trip, soon.

Edmond

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

No disappointment here!

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

Wow! My family loves this condo! We returned for the second year in a row and plan to make it annual. The views from this unit are stunning! It is steps to the beach and so close to both stairs and elevator that we could almost snap our fingers and be in our beach chairs. The owners take particular care to keep the unit and the furnishings clean and up to date. Mainsail is an older resort, but they really work on maintaining the property and we like that it is a gated community, as we feel our grandchildren are very safe there. We like to eat in (although there are tons of restaurants within walking distance) and love that the time spent in the kitchen at 231 is time spent seeing the ocean. Again, the owners really try to think of every need or want. Another thing we love is their check-out policy. It is simply to close the door behind you. Everything about this unit and the owners supports a truly relaxing vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice, relaxing condo.

Review submitted: August 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

Great condo, love how close it was to the beach- especially liked that we didn't have to walk through a pool or a parking lot to get to beach- especially with a 7 and 5 year old. Owners keep kitchen stocked with utensils/pots, etc. needed to cook, plenty of clean kitchen towels and supplies to wash at least 2 loads of laundry. Owners are pleasant and are available to contact by email and phone. Unfortunately, this trip to Destin had a lot of rain, half of our trip was rainy, so off we went to the very nearby outlet mall. Everyone was there, but if you like to shop it's very close. Previous condo we stayed in was closer to the harbour, but overall, we didn't care. Like the spaciousness of this condo, and the wrap-around balcony with access from bedroom, living room, and dining room is great!!!. The one complaint we have (when comparing to previous condo) is that the beach set up is not as strict as other places. There were a lot of people set up in front of the provided chairs and umbrellas, completely obstructing the view. Some days were better than others. Overall, I would recommend this condo for rental.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We truly love the location

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: May 16, 2013

Sorry this took so long but just returned from France and still getting caught up. Our visit to your condo was wonderful. We truly love the location and it was a pleasure to rent from you. We all enjoyed your condo and of course look forward to doing it again next year. We were very happy campers.
Thanks, Jill

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just what we were hoping for!

Review submitted: June 2, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

This complex and this condo in particular were just what we were looking for. First, we have an 18 month old and the owners have a pack & play they offered up, saving us precious space in the car for the long drive! It's also on the beach - just steps from the condo, my guess is about 75 steps when you take the elevator. With baby in tow and carrying all the toys, cooler (from the condo) and other items, we loved the close proximity to the beach. Plus, when you forget something, it's easy to run back to get it. Parking was easy - they allow you to unload your car in the owners' parking area then move it to the guest lot which isn't too far of a walk either. The pool was also great. They have a kiddie pool which was also one of our requirements. It includes a small waterfall feature for kids to play in which our son enjoyed. It also included a 6 inch wading pool. The condo itself was also fully furnished - there wasn't anything that we needed that it didn't have. The view is amazing and the long balcony means that you have a view of sunrise and sunset and panoramic views of the ocean. The chair and umbrella service on the beach was also great - you don't have to worry about setting anything up and you get two chairs and an umbrella. The location was perfect too - not a party scene area and lots of families. Lastly, the owners were great to work with. They didn't rent the weekend after we were scheduled to leave and so they offered us an extra day or two at reduced rates while we were there and we took them up on the offer!

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic time!!!!

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 8, 2013

Really enjoyed the 3 nights we stayed at the Condo....all was as described!! Listening to the waves crashing on the beach and being cooled by the gentle breeze off the gulf was incredibly relaxing. We will be back, but stay for longer next time!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another wonderful experience at the condo

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

We had another wonderful experience at the condo. We mostly shopped, ate and rested! Thanks again for sharing your lovely home with my family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time in Destin, thank you.

Review submitted: October 6, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

We had a GREAT TIME in Destin, thank you. We did enjoy the location so close to the beach. It was great for our young son, since it was such a short walk. I loved sitting on the balcony and being able to see the beach right there. Thanks again,RA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a view! Super nice condo! Owners great to work with!

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Thank you, thank you, thank you! This beachfront condo did not disappoint! Even with some stormy weather, this was the perfect place to be. We would just watch the changing weather from almost any room. We'd look out to see what the beach conditions were like and then we'd decide what to do. It was so easy and relaxing. The beds were so comfortable as was all the furniture. Getting to the beach was a breeze. We were so close to the elevator and stairs and then just steps from the boardwalk. The condo was clean and nicely decorated and the owners were so lovely to deal with. My family plans on renting again very soon! Thanks again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

My husband can go back to Afghanistan with a smile

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Our stay was wonderful!! Your unit is great and everything you stated in your VRBO ad. Gorgeous views right on the water!! The only suggestion that I would have is that the chairs on the patio need to be higher because when you sit down eye level is on the railing....such a small issue though!!! Cant beat the area that Mainsail is in and the entry gate was a breeze. Actually, Mainsail feels like its own little area set back from the main streets! Everything just up the street that you could need! Your condo is great! The furnishings are very nice and the beds are very comfortable. The towels are soft and the sheets are too! The kitchen is supplied with everything that you will need. I actually went up the street to a place called Shrimpers and cooked one night, some Crab Legs and Shrimp. It was soooo good! We took your suggestions and went to several of them. The Donut Hole is very good but usually very busy so we just got some donuts to go. My daughter was in heaven with the Bavarian flled Powdered donut! We went to The Back Porch and it was exactly what we were looking for that day. Good food and great atmosphere out on the beach. We went to Fuddpuckers and got our picture taken with the alligators! Their food was good. My mom and I went to AJs at the Harbor while w were waiting for our guys and kiddos to get back from Deep Sea Fishing one day and enjoyed it! I will say it rained quite a bit but it never dampered anything too much! My duaghter and I ventured over to the outllet mall across the way and fell in love with the gellato place they have, I cant remember the name! We never made it over to the Stinky Fish House on 30A, we will save that for next time! Thank you so much for a wonderfully awesome family vacation in a great condo that is a great value for what you get in return! We will be back and have already given out your info to our other friends! My husband can go back to Afganistan with a smile on his face and some great memories to hold onto until the next vist. Thank you for that!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

My sister was impressed with your condo

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

We were more than pleased with our yearly trip to Mainsail and Destin. My sister from Colorado meets us there, and she was impressed with your condo, especially the layout and wraparound balcony. We have been going to Mainsail over twenty years and love the complex and its amenities. We would love to rent it again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just as Described!

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

This was a wonderful vacation! The condo was beautiful and well equipped! The view was better than awesome! Everything was needed was provided (except food of course)! I will definitely, definitely book this condo again in the future! Thank you so much for such a glorious place to stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mainsail 231

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

This was an amazing condo - had all the amenities and much more. With three small children (2,4,and 6), we were able to walk right out to the beach everyday and enjoy the crystal blue waters. Kids had a blast playing in the sand and the two pools on the premises. Condo had great views of the water, close to the outlet mall and a grocery store. Decor was excellant beaqch theme and beds were very comfortable even the murphy bed. We will definitely be staying here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mainsail Condo 231

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

This condo was amazing -had the best views and right on the beach. We were able to take our 3 small children (2,4,6) out to the beach everyday and take our all essentials. Kids had an amazing time playing the sand and then swimming at the two pools on the premises. Condo had everything that we needed and the beds were so comfortable even the Murphy bed! We would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mainsail

Review submitted: May 27, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

The place was great, just as advertised. You are within walking steps of the beach, all the balcony doors open so you can hear the ocean breeze at night if you wish. We had no issues during our stay, they did come by to spray for pest and do a balcony "check" (I assume they were looking for rust ect). The owners were great even offered us to stay an extra night for free due to a scheduling issue with the next group following us. Would definitely stay there again!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Time

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

The condo was wonderful, the owner's were great and so helpful. The views were awesome, waking up every morning and having tea and coffee on the balcony was what it is all about! Rest and relaxation, 2 teenagers had a blast! Had a slight issue with the ice maker, other than that the condo was perfect! Will definitely come back if they will have us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great long weekend at a wonderful condo!

Review submitted: May 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 3, 2012

My wife, son, and I had a wonderful time at this fantastic condo this past weekend. I've been coming to the Mainsail for years with extended family, and this is, by far, the best unit I've stayed in. The balcony views were amazing, and came in handy when our baby was tired of the sand. The furniture made for a very comfortable and relaxing experience. The location made it easy to get to and from the beach. The owners made the overall experience a great one. Thanks! We'll be back!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Joe and I had a WONDERFUL time

Review submitted: May 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 28, 2012

Joe and I had a WONDERFUL time. Your condo is so lovely. The décor was perfect! I thought of Suanne a few times while we were there as I’m sure she was the decorator and I enjoyed ALL of it!

Joe and I are already planning our next trip. The drive is not that bad really and I love the fact that the time zone does not change.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family of 5

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

Loved the view! Very easy to communicate with owners. It was wonderful having chairs and an umbrella set up for us each day. Pool was cold, grills take a while, but worth it.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

TO HAVE THAT VIEW FROM THE CONDO WAS AMAZING

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

Thank you so much for renting your condo to us! We are hoping to return next year we had so much fun. We had a terrific time at your condo and in the Destin area. We absolutely loved the view from all rooms and it was beautifully decorated. It had everything we needed (and more!) and had great storage, which we really appreciated so we could keep everything neat and out of the way during out stay. The rooms were so spacious and comfortable. I loved the dining room as well as the art work

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

elegant condo

Review submitted: March 2, 2012   Date of arrival: January 30, 2012

This condo is impressive. The views are fantastic and the owners are delightful.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Condo

Review submitted: December 14, 2011   Date of arrival: October 18, 2011

My wife and I and another couple rented the condo Oct. 18-23. This is a great condo with fantastic beach views and is in an excellent location. The owners were extremely helpful and easy to work with and I'll definitely stay here again on my next visit to Destin.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Lovely condo

Review submitted: December 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

This is an excellent unit for views of the Gulf. Our entire stay was a delight. All conveniences for making it easy to do laundry, cook, or just relax. Very nicely furnished and convenient.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best October Vacation Yet!

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

Our stay at the condo was simply amazing - it took me most of the first day to catch my breath. The view was everything I could
have hoped for.

The unit itself was impeccable - it was my best Destin experience ever and I hope to be able to repeat next year. I will be in touch with you after the first of the year.

We saw maybe 20 people/day on the beach. The water was perfectly clear and often warm enough for wading. Jellyfish were present but made for interest instead of fear. They made the walk on the beach more of a challenge. There was never a wait at any of the restaurants, shopping was a dream (we were often the only folks in the store) and exploring San Destin on the Harbor side was lovely.

The only thing that could have been improved was the Monday of our stay there was construction being done 2 floors down with the team using a jackhammer to take up the tile. We were still pretty tired that day from travel and had stayed close to home. Luckily that was the only day that work was done, but it might have been nice to know to expect that.

Thank you for the opportunity and the wonderful experience. October is still an awesome time to visit!

Will be in touch about that timeframe again after the first of the year.

Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

My Family Enjoyed The Destin Area and Your Condo

Review submitted: August 14, 2011   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

We just returned to Ohio from our week stay at your Condo. What a wonderful place you have. It was everything that we viewed online and our expectations were met. We definitley got spoiled by the awesome views of the Gulf from the spectacular wrap-around balcony! We will never settle for anything less regarding the scenic ocean views we got to enjoy. Our boys (age 17, 13 and 10) all enjoyed their first trip to the ocean and we are glad to report that we had no sea creature mishaps. :)
On our last morning there, we actually got to see (from the balcony) three dolphins playing off the beach shore about 500 ft. What a spectacular view! The view of the Gulf from the master bedroom was just as awesome. Thank you for allowing us to stay at your Condo. We had a marvelous time and the Destin area activites were great. The boys enjoyed racing go-karts at "The Track" as well as the Putt Putt Golf there. We enjoyed dinner at "Johnny Rockets" and did some shopping at the Outlet Mall. Once inside the Condo Complex it was so nice and quiet that it was easy to forget all the hustle and bustle of activities right outside the complex. We will certainly recommend your place to family and friends. Thanks again for an unforgettable vacation. We hope to return again soon.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome view from wrap around balcony

Review submitted: July 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

We had a wonderful time! We have stayed at Mainsail many times, and we love it there. We find that the close proximity of the units to the beach can not be beat. We enjoy the ammenities such as the pool, tennis courts, and exercise room.
Your condo was nicely furnished and very suitable for our family's needs. We absolutely loved the spectacular views of the beach/gulf from your unit and sitting on the balcony! It was nice to have a full sized table on the balcony for dining. Our kids loved the turtle pillows on the couch! We found all beds to be very comfortable. This was one of our best trips to Mainsail overall.
Thank you for sharing your lovely beach home with us!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

We had a fantastic week and really enjoyed the view. I think we spent as much time out on the balcony as we spent inside the unit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 10, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

We had the best vacation in our 13 years of staying at Mainsail! The weather was perfect but your condo was the most outstanding one we have had in our time down there. The only issue was had was with the Wi-Fi. My wife is a professor of nursing and was conducting an on-line course during our stay. The internet was very spotty and she ended up having to go to the office to check in with her course rather than being able to access the course from the condo. Not sure that is anything you can control as I called the help desk of the provider but they were unable to assist with the problem.

Staying in your condo definitely spoiled us. Morning coffee on the balcony and evening drinks watching the gulf was a terrific way to begin and end our day. We may not be able to visit next year as our daughter graduates high school and all that is associated with graduation, open houses, and family visits may prevent us from getting down next year, but there is no doubt will we attempt to utilize your condo in our future visits.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 25, 2011

Thanks for the great condo. My family and I had one of the best vacations ever. The view at your condo was great. This was not only a vacation but a graduation present for my daughter and her boy friend. He enjoyed the murphy bed in the dinning room most of the time her gets a couch. I am glade we went the time of year we did, the weather was perfect and we have never been able to go that early in the year because of school.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 18, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

Dear Charles and Suanne, I wanted to let you know how much my friends and I enjoyed staying at your condo. You have a beautiful place at a wonderful location. We had great weather except for a Friday late afternoon storm, which meant a trip to the outlet mall. We're hoping to make this an annual trip and we'll definitely keep your place at the top of our list. Thanks for making the arrangements so easy. Hope you have a great summer and some wonderful times at your condo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 14, 2011   Date of arrival: March 1, 2011

We returned home on Mon. We had a wonderful month (March 2011) at your condo. We have been staying at Mainsail for the past 6 years, and your location is definitely the best.

The view is beautiful and the sunsets spectacular. The decorating is lovely, it is fully equipped and very comfortable. We truly enjoyed our stay and hope to return next year. It was our best year yet-- thank you for sharing it with us!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 10, 2010   Date of arrival: October 3, 2010

I just wanted to send you a little note and tell you how much we
enjoyed your beautiful condo this week.. Thank you so much for allowing
us to spend the week there.. We would love to stay this summer if
things work out. I will be in touch.. Thanks again for a wonderful
week.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Time in Destin

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

We had a wonderful time staying in this condo at Mainsail. Facing the beach, the views are great from the wrap-around porch and living areas. Convenient to shoping and dining. Would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2008

We had a great time Suanne and plan on renting from you again next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

LOOK NO FURTHER

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

This is an amazing unit with spectacular views from the wrap-around balcony. Furnishings were in excellent condition also. We normally stay at Blue Mountain; however, this location was much more convenient to shopping, restuarants, etc... This will definitely be our first choice from now on.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

IF YOU ARE LOOKING TO STAY IN DESTIN, START HERE!

Review submitted: April 25, 2010   Date of arrival: April 22, 2010

MY WIFE & I JUST RETURNED FROM DESTIN WERE WE SPENT 4 DAYS & 3 NIGHTS IN THIS UNIT. IT IS A GREAT UNIT IN A GREAT LOCATION. IT'S AN END UNIT FACING THE GULF AND ALSO IS NEXT TO THE ELEVATOR. THE DECOR AND FURNISHINGS ARE FIRST RATE AND THE PICTURES DON'T DO THIS UNIT JUSTICE. IT'S RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF ALL YOU NEED, BUT ONCE INSIDE THE GATED COMMUNITY YOU WOULD THINK YOU'RE MILES AWAY. GROCERY SHOPPING IS MERELY WALKING DISTACE AS ARE SHOPS AND RESTURANTS. FROM NOW ON WHEN WE STAY IN DESTIN, WE'LL CHECK ON THIS UNIT FIRST!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review