reviews for: listing #89217 - Belleair Beach, Florida Townhome rental

2Million$ Beachfront Villa-Private Pool,Spa
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $430 - $860 /nt
    $3,000 - $6,000 /wk
    $12,000 - $24,000 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful Vacation - Beautiful Home!

Review submitted: June 25, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

WE had 3 families (Grandparents, Kids, Grandkids) staying in this home for a week. One of our best vacations! House was beautiful, very clean and very spacious. We absolutely loved the pool and beach (would recommend water shoes for kids on beach - very shelly). When we travel back to the area, we definitely will be booking this house again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your kind, wonderful words to describe our unit and your stay. Best proof that you meant what you said was when you finished the review saying: "When we travel back to the area, we definitely will be booking this house again!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Fabulous!

Review submitted: April 16, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

This was our first time staying on the beach and we couldn't have picked a better place. The Pink Palace was absolutely amazing! My wife Terry and I along with 3 other couples shared this house for a week. The house has everything to offer and the owner Joe has become family. Joanie the property manager, was there to greet us and show us around and how everything works. When we had a problem with the front door she addressed it right away and it was taken care of. We liked our vacation so much that we are booked for next year. Thanks to Joe, Joanie, George, & Manny for everything. See you next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Nothing makes us happier than to have guest-renters enjoy their stay and be happy with our townhome, service and our Pink Palace team. Having them book a week for next April is my early Easter present!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Love the updates!!!!

Review submitted: March 28, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

All I have to say is WOW!! When I walked in the front door and saw my good friend Joe waiting to greet us after our long drive, my jaw dropped! The transformation that took place here at the Pink Palace was absolutely amazing! We could barely recognize the place! All new furnishings, new paint, a lot of new! This was our 5th stay, and we just can't get enough! We have booked to return in 2015 for two weeks in March, can't wait to see you Joe, for visit #6!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: How time flies! We started renting our beachfront townhouse on October 2009 and that December we were fortunate to have this wonderful family from Fenwick ONT. They are no longer just renters but have become friends or better still "family". We look forward to their visit again next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

la meilleur place

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

très belle maison situé presque sur la plage,soleil du matin au soir.
endroit rêvé pour des vacances,pas de bruit,pas d'animaux c'est parfait.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: They wrote in French: (translated)
Beautiful house on the beach, morning sun until night, no noise, no animals, its a place for a dream vacation, its perfect!

I was thrilled to have this repeat renter from Quebec Canada who most certainly loves our townhome since he has already booked it again for 2015.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Villa, Great Location

Review submitted: October 26, 2013   Date of arrival: October 6, 2013

We chose this villa as our choice for our Wedding as our family stayed in the villa and we were married on the beach behind. I must say it was an excellent choice and the venue is perfect.
The villa is exactly as pictured and is currently in the process of being renovated and updated which didn't affect us in any way and will certainly benefit the future bookers of this villa.
Nearly everything that was listed was available in the villa - my only niggle was that we had to pay to hire a bigger cot (despite having two listed on our inventory) and that there was only one deck chair available to lounge on.
These are however small gripes and everything else that we could possibly have needed was available.
I can honestly say that this is a fantastic villa and I would recommend it for any groups planning a special vacation or a large family planning to spoil themselves in a wonderful location.
Joe (the owner) was very accommodating and easy deal with - before, during and after.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are pleased that our friends from the UK enjoyed their stay and their small wedding right on the beach behind our townhouse. I made sure there was a champagne bottle chilled in our ice bucket to greet them on their arrival. As for the "cot" (the baby crib), we no longer provide it due to liability issues since there have been recalls from the crib industry so he had to have one rented from a baby equipment provider. As for the chaise lounges we were in the transition of replacing the ones we had as they were not sturdy enough. We are replacing them with new better ones.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

BEAUTIFUL Home RIGHT on the BEACH!

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

My family and I had a wonderful stay at the Pink Palace! The home was well stocked with MORE than enough supplies, toys and beach amenities. The owner was very accommodating. We were very pleased with our choice. As an added bonus, the sea turtles were nesting while we were there and the grandchildren really enjoyed learning about the sea turtles. What a wonderful place to vacation with the family!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

Great place to stay. Excellent people to work with. awesome location !! Will stay nowhere else when looking for place on Gulf Coast.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Perfect holiday

Review submitted: July 21, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

We have just returned back to Sweden after a wonderful week at the "Pink Palace" on Belleair Beach. We were a large party of 14 people who spent a week in this paradise. As some of us prefer bathing in the ocean, and some of us prefer the pool , this was the perfect solution. The pool and the beach is right next to each other.
We fully enjoyed the peacefulness, the warmth and the stunning views.
The house had everything we needed and more. Even though we were 14 people the house did not feel crowded. "

The owner Joe must also have a great deal of praise. I think I'll soon have sent a hundred mail to Joe with questions about the house, booking, payments, etc. but he always takes the time to answer all my questions.
Also Joanine (the property manager) was very helpful when we arrived and during the time we stayed in the house.

We can highly recommend this accommodation to others.
Tony Strand
Boxholm, SWEDEN

Owners response: We happen to have close ties with Sweden since my son married a Swedish girl and moved there makes it extra special. The fact that our guests' stay was enjoyable to this family and loved everything about our townhome Villa makes us feel really good. Joe

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful stay

Review submitted: February 11, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

8 adults and 4 kids stayed a week at the pick palace. We had a great stay.

Positives. - being right on the beach was excellent. Watched thew sunset everyday. The pool was cool but refreshing (would be even better if it was heated). There was plenty of room for all of us. The place was clean and comfortable.

Areas to be improved - the beach umbrellas, chairs, etc. In the storage area by the pool were rusted or broken. These could be updated. For the price we were paying, I think consumables such as toilet paper and laundry detergent should be included.

Overall, Joe and Joanne were great and we had a very nice stay.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: I truly encourage constructive criticism. We only began furnishing beach chairs and umbrellas about a year ago. It's amazing how quickly they begin to rust and break. It's time to replace them.
As for the consumables such as toilet paper & laundry detergent, we include 2 unused rolls of toiltet paper and always leave a container of laundry soap above the Washer. If more is needed, Joanie would have brought more. As for the price: actually we discounted our lowest weekly rate of $3000 by 10% to make it more affordable.There was a total of 12 people (our max allowed). Joe Duran, owner

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Rental Property

Review submitted: January 20, 2013   Date of arrival: December 2, 2012

When we arrived at the Pink Palace, we were thrilled to find everything as described on the website. This was the most fully stocked rental we’ve ever had, with plenty of linens, kitchen appliances, utensils, patio/pool furniture, pool toys, and beach towels. It was also a nice touch that when we arrived there were small quantities of items such as soap, shampoo, dish soap, dishwasher detergent, toilet paper and paper towels to get us started. The house and property were clean and well-maintained. The house itself is quite large – even with six adults and two children, we all fit comfortably and didn’t feel crowded at all (and we didn’t even use the separate apartment). It’s a wonderful vacation home, right on the beach, and close to great shopping and restaurants. Even the restaurant recommendation from Joe was amazing - we loved Guppy's! Joe also phoned several times to check that everything was ok, which was nice.
Our family was travelling with two babies, ages 5 months and 7 months, and the property was the perfect family destination. There were cribs, stroller, highchair, bouncer chair and child size adirondack chairs and table.
Joanie, the property manager, is friendly and reliable in dealing with any issues. She met us at the house the day we arrived, and dropped in a few times to maintain the hot tub and pool. We had no major problems during our stay; however she quickly dealt with some minor issues (ie: the remote control for the TV was not working correctly, and one call to Joanie had it quickly replaced).
We would certainly recommend this rental and sincerely hope we have the opportunity to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: This review is from a lovely family from Canada. If I had to describe our Pink Palace townhome and it's amenities, location, service and our attention to detail, I could not have done better. We cater to families with children therefore we make sure they have EVERYTHING they need.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceptional Vacation Property

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

This vacation home is perfect for us. We've been to the Belleair Beach area for 3 years in a row, and to this property two years in a row.

The proximity to the beach is amazing, and perfect for families with small children. Very easy to setup down at the beach and go back and forth all day long. Plenty of things to do nearby with Clearwater just minutes away, and all the other beaches in the other direction.

The sunrises and sunsets are both stunning.

The house itself is very well maintained and plenty of space for everyone. We even take advantage of the bonus apartment above the garage.

The owner and property managers are very nice and responsible, Joe has set up a great team! They go above and beyond.

We will be back.

Owners response: This is a great review and we truly are glad when our guests/renters enjoy their stay. Without sounding like a commercial, we personally take our responsibilty to deliver the best quality service, property and amenities to keep our Pink Palace on the top. Our "Team" of Property managers, Cleaning Crew, contractors maintain strive for high standards.
Joe, owner

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

My entire family of nine totally enjoyed vacationing at the "Pink "Palace!" The age range of my family was from six months to seventy years old. The location was perfect and there was only a handful of people on the beach at any time. We did have a few wicked storms that caused damage to trees on the property. I called to report the damage and was pleasantly surprised that first thing the next morning the property managers were on site as well as landscapers cutting down the damaged trees and cleaning debris. It was such a wonderful vacation and the owner himself was there to greet us when we arrived.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: This was our home from 1994 to 2005 - 12 years. We were married at sunset on Nov. 19, 1994. We have many wonderful memories of our time there on the beach with family, friends and during holidays. It gives us real joy to know our guests of varied age range enjoyed their stay, the location and our semi-private beach.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Trip

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Our family spent a week at the Pink Palace June 23 -30, 2012. Our group consisted of 6 adults and 5 children aged 2 to 12. This spacious home and the proximity of the garage efficiency was perfect for our group. We all had space but yet we were all able to be together as well. The beach was easily accessible and there were sand toys, beach umbrellas, and beach chairs for our use. We were there during a storm and the waves were rather rough for a few days but when the storm moved on we found this to be a calm and tranquil beach and perfect for children with lots of sandy beach to play on. The pool and the hot tub are nice and there are comfortable lounge chairs and a poolside table and chairs.

We did eat at some restaurants in the area and I would recommend Marlin Darlin, Guppy's on the Beach, and Gondolier Pizza. However, our best meal was at the Conch Republic. Several in our family went out on a fishing charter and Conch Republic prepared our fresh catch and it was delicious.

This property is as described on the web site and I would recommend it. Joe was great to talk with on the phone as I was making the rental arrangements and Joanie was nice to work with the week we were there. One night while the storm was raging and we were out to dinner both Joanie and Joe called to make sure we were ok. We really appreciated their care and concern. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were sad to see our week end.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: It is gratifying to know that even with the bad storm we had, our guest-renters love us, they love our townhome, our location, the beach, pool/hot tub, local restaurants. This makes us all feel very good.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The "Pink Palace" was absolutely PERFECT

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

There were seven of us staying in the "Pink Palace" and everyone agreed it was the PERFECT rental. It's pure comfort with style and has the WOW factor! If there is something this house doesn't have we couldn't find it. We spent every morning at the beach, afternoon at the pool and evening in the jacuzzi- it doesn't get any better than that.
The dolphins swam by every morning between 10-11am....be on the watch!
We'll be back without a doubt!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We are so glad our guest renters from our neighboring state of Georgia enjoyed their stay and our townhome with the WOW factor. It is especially rewarding in view of the fact that they had to put up with the 24 hour noise and floodlights while the beach re-nourishment work was taking place for 3 days. We sincerely hope they return to see the wonderful improvement.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

splendid location

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

The Pink Palace is right on the beach. The description by the owner is totally accurate. This is a lovely house with great views. Good size bedrooms. It is well maintained and very clean.
Joe is an excellent communicator and very helpful, he has a great team who look after the property and they all respond to your needs.
I do not hesitate to recommend the Pink Palace.
We did not have the best of Florida weather last week so staying here was especially great as there is lots of space for the kids.
We usually come as two adults which is the only reason that we would not stay at the Pink Palace as it would be rather large for just us. We would stay here again with the family. We love Belleair. We recommend Bonefish , Maggie Maes and Stakeout for eating. Shepherds buffet is good and you can sit outside. We visited Big Cat Rescue..a must if you love these animals, 40 minutes away.
Publix is 5 minutes away.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Another great review, this time from our guests across "the pond" in the UK. Unfortunately we had (much needed) rain but here in Florida they pass quickly and the sun comes out again. Perhaps was a touch of Great Britain. The main thing is that they enjoyed their stay, our townhome The Pink Palace, quiet Belleair Beach and nearby attractions. Joe

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Excellent Vacation!!!

Review submitted: March 11, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

Where to begin..we were four couples on vacation to celebrate our milestone birthdays together. We were very exciting to arrive and find that the pictures that we saw on the site were the real deal. We drew names for the bedrooms, and no one was upset with their choice.However, we all would have liked to have the master bedroom. It was amazing with a gorgeous view from the balcony. We enjoyed the hot tub nightly and the poolside during the day. It is so conveniently located that we were able to shop, take in a hockey game in Tampa, and ride the local transit for dinner and drinks into Clearwater. We all commented how we could come back with our children and still would not be tripping over each other. The house was great with amazing beach and gorgeous view. When I dealt with the owner on booking, confirmations, and any concerns, it was like dealing with a family friend. He always was quick to respond and very accomodating, as was Dave(the manager). This place is a place we would love to visit again...with or without our children. Thanks to Joe and his staff for making sure everything was always perfect.

Owners response: We are so pleased to receive such a wonderful review from our renters who are now our friends. Not only did they enjoy the townhouse and the amazing beach behind our pool/Hot Tub deck which we know are magnificent; but also our location, proximity to everything is the icing on the cake. Our team (including our property mgr Dave and cleaning service Ivan) strive to make our place as wonderful as possible for our guests' stay. And as an owner, I take personal pride and professionalism to communicateand address all matters to make the rental process and stay as efficent & pleasant as possible.I truly appreciate these kind words! Joe

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

AMAZING, ABSOLUTELY AMAZING EVERY STAY!!

Review submitted: March 9, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

As I am typing this I am sad to say it is my families last night here as we are leaving in the morning to head back to Canada, but I did however book our 4TH STAY!! for next year. Every stay we come we notice MANY improvements since our first stay. To name a few, new carpeting, shower, A/C units, patio furniture, flat screen TV's throughout the home, couches, beds....... I could go on for a while. Joe is so friendly and goes above and beyond. Our first stay before he even knew us he was very accommodating, we needed a high chair and a crib and the house didn't have them at the time but they did when we arrived for our first visit! I can't wait to see the new blinds he is installing throughout the house in a few weeks! We also find a new place to go every stay, Pier 60, The Pub, Cooter's, Crabby Bill's are all great places, Busch Gardens is a must but book online and get the all day meal pass (it's cheaper online). This place is great for all ages, our family ages range from 1 to 60 and the layout of the house is perfect to give everyone in the family there own area with privacy. The beach and patio is where we spent most of our time we LOVE the Hot Tub The beach and sunsets are amazing and the kids I think are now water logged after two weeks! Joe and Cheryl, your home is amazing and we can't wait to return in 2013 to see you again!

Thank you,
Your friends from Canada

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: As I read this review, the number 4 comes to mind. This family's first rented week was my 4th renter since I started renting my townhome in the Fall of 2009. They came the day after Christmas and left after New Years 2010. And now they booked to return in 2013-- their 4TH STAY. From the very beginning it was "AMAZING". We have since developed a frienship that transcends business. It is most gratifying to be able to continue to make improvements to our townhome, improve our service and make the renting process as smooth and easy as possible - particularly for those "friends" we have developed through the years. Joe

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Pink Palace on Belleair Beach

Review submitted: December 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

The condo was very nice as advertised. We had breakfast by the pool every morning overlooking the ocean. Our last night there, we set up chairs and watched the sunset. It was awesome. Dolphins were swimming past us as the sun set.

The maintenance man (Dave) was very accommodating. One of our family members lost his wedding band while playing football on the beach. Dave brought us a metal detector. After two days and one night of searching, the ring was not found. So, .... if future renters happen to find it, please notify Joe.

We spent a lot of time in the kitchen. Very nice and spacious.

The Christmas lights around the condo and pool were a very nice touch. Also, there were two Christmas trees inside.

It was an easy drive to Clearwater and close to the Publix grocery store. It is about 45 minutes from the Tampa airport.

Overall, I would recommend this condo for a vacation stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It really gives us great pleasure to know our guests appreciate our townhome, it's amenities, location. We spent time setting up Christmas decorations both in and out for our guests to enjoy this season. We also service beyond our scope of reqired help when needed: our Property Mgr Dave taking a metal detector to help you find the lost wedding band. Should other guests or we find it, we will email you ASAP. Joe, owner

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Could Not Ask/Want for More

Review submitted: October 9, 2011   Date of arrival: September 25, 2011

This is the second year in a row that we spent our family vacation at this wonderful private villa.
Once again everything was absolutely wonderful.
Met the owner, what a great guy, very affable and accomodating.
This place has everything that we could hope for and more.
We hope to return next year for our third family vacation in Fla.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Having your family back for the 2nd time was great but being able to meet all of you this time was "the icing on the cake". You are no longer just our guest renters, you are now our friends. Looking forward to your 3rd family vacation!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Rental

Review submitted: September 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

Everything was as advertised and expected. The view is great. The Gulf is as close as it looks. The rooms are large. The furnishings are comforable and in good shape. The sheets and towels and plentiful and in good condition. Lots of little extras (e.g., beach umbrellas and chairs, foosball table). The access into Clearwater Beach is very easy. The carpet was not in great condition while we were there, but I understand that it was about to be replaced. The bedding in the master bedromm is just OK.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: It makes me very happy to know that you & the family found our townhome, the view and location to be good. What makes me feel bad is that the day after you left, ALL the carpet in the house & separate guest apartment was replaced. Also, we added an outdoor pool shower. Hope you all return as we are always making improvements.Next: adding shower to downstairs bath & all window/door shades.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful reunion experience!

Review submitted: July 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

We just completed a week-long family reunion, where the "older" generation stayed in this lovely townhome, and the grand-children and great-grandchildren were housed just a couple of doors away. It was a totally positive experience from beginning contact with the owner to the final "good-byes" as we departed from the finest location of any of our reunions.

My mother, who is 91 years old, said that this was "the best place to enjoy my great-grandchildren. I was comfortable all the time, even on the beach." The perfect beach was so easily accessible that Mom went there several times during our stay to help fly kites, dip toes in the gentle waves, and enjoy the gentle breeze and gorgeous sunsets.

The listing description was certainly accurate, but the pictures just simply cannot do it justice. This townhome was so much more luxurious and enjoyable, and the beach so much more wonderful than the pictures can portray. Every communication with the owner and property manager was informative, positive, and helpful.

We would wholeheartedly recommend this home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was a real pleasure to meet you and your family and have you share our "home". It makes us feel good that it was a good experience and your mother was very comfortable, even on the beach being so accessible. Hope to see all of you again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful week

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

We had a wonderful week. The "pink palace" was very comfortable and spacious for our family of 7 adults. The apartment above the garage was perfect for the young newlyweds. The beach was beautiful. Took many long walks, and enjoyed swimming in the gulf. The pool was used by all every day. Nice convenient location. Many good restaurants nearby, but we did used the grill several nights. We would highly recommend this unit to our family and friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Cheryl and I are so pleased your family had a wonderful week in our "pink palace". We not only had a wonderful family who I met personally but who were so helpful in leaving the premises as good as it was when they checked in - loads of linens & towels washed & dried, dishwasher run and everything in it's place. This family from IL is in our group of favorite guest renters now!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation for my family of 12, Perfect location and accommodations

Review submitted: May 20, 2011   Date of arrival: May 30, 2010

We found "the Pink Palace" while searching the internet for a beach home,with a pool, to accommodate 12 people. The description was accurate. Our family ranged in ages from 65 to 3. This house was perfect. Plenty of room, plenty of bathrooms, pool , hot tub, patio, fully equipted kitchen, and work space to prepare meals for a large group. The kids had a blast, swimming in the pool and playing on the beach.
We had 3 manatees come into our beach and allowed everyone on the beach to pet them.
Shopping and attractions are close by, and all major stores are available.We went to the Tampa zoo, Aquarium, Tampa Rays baseball game,charter fishing,Shopping at John's Pass and Clearwater, Pier 60.
Excellent vacation for a larger group.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Nothing makes us happier than to know our towhouse villa was "perfect" and our guests enjoyed their vacation visit. Our unit is designed for families with children. Views of our beach with friendly manatees and frolicking dolphins are common. Plus close attractions,shopping, deep sea fishing,baseball, hockey games completes the vacation experience. Meeting our guest renters in person was the extra bonus. Joe Duran, owner.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Location, Comfortable and Roomy home, Wonderful Owners

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 6, 2011

We stayed at the Pink Palace in March of 2011. This place was very clean when we arrived and was a very comfortable home away from home. We had come to Belleair Beach as a "celebration vacation" celebrating the fact that I had finished my chemo and radiation treatments and we wanted some relaxation time with family and also to enjoy Florida's west coast and delicious strawberries. Joe Duran went above and beyond all we could ask for. He had delicious strawberries and not only strawberries, but other fresh fruits waiting at the house when we arrived. He stopped by once that week to see how things were going with us. And when unusual circumstances happened causing us to have to stay in the area for an additional 3 weeks, he himself searched until he found us a safe, reasonable place to stay for our remaining time in Florida (since he was totally booked). You couldn't have asked for a better landlord/friend. We all feel as though we made a friend in Joe while we were there. You be the judge - how many other landlords do you know who would spend their time finding you another place to stay (especially during Spring Break down there) - most would say "sorry" but wouldn't go out of their way to help a group of out-of-towners find another comfortable, close and safe place to stay - after all, his obligation was done wasn't it?
I really can't say enough about the assistance and care he showed our family. He is definitely a man of his word and a man who gets things done! His home is beautiful, clean and comfortable. The ocean is just steps away. We saw dolphins one morning making their way north. The beach is pretty private and is nice to walk on. You are close to grocery stores, drug stores, restaurants, Pier60 and the hospital. It's a perfect location in a quiet neighborhood.
We would definitely choose to stay here again and would love the opportunity to do so.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: I rented our townhome where Cheryl & I used to live for over 12 years to a lovely family whose relationship quickly changed from a landlord-tenant to good friends. When I visited them, I learned of circumstances that necessitated their need to stay after their week ended. This was at the peak of Sping Break and getting anything was an impossibility. I stopped at nothing- investing my full time scouring the area for an affordable, safe, comfortable place they could stay until they could go back home. I finally lucked out and through a good friend who also rents beach properties including ours, gave me the name, phone number of a couple who had a family motel nearby who were able to accommodate them which was a major miracle. What I did was not business, this was personal - to help good people who were away from home and needed help. They no longer are my tenants-guests but our friends.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house, unfortunately unprofessional owner.

Review submitted: February 25, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

Please read this review, it includes vital information about the owner's lack of professionalism in fairly dealing with clients in adverse situations.

I stayed at the pink palace from 2/19/11-2/26/11. It is actually a beautiful home located on the beach with great views of the beach and sunsets. The home is spacious and well furnished, although a bit outdated.

The home was cleaned other than the kitchen, which was quite filthy. There were many utensils in kitchen drawers which had not at all been cleaned since their last use.

Our main complaint was that the home was advertised as having central air conditioning, however it did not function for the entirety of our stay. We contacted the owner on our 3rd day to inform him of our problem and initially he was receptive and offered immediate solutions. Unfortunately for 3 more days the "immediate solutions" that he offered were falsified and we stayed in an expensive beach house with no air conditioning in 80 degree weather for 6 days. The guests included 2 1 year olds and 2 other children who endured 6 nights of sleeping in an 80+ degree home. After speaking with the owner on multiple occasions he finally agreed to refund $500 of the total cost, however this was only after multiple days of lying to us that the problem would be fixed immediately.

Please be aware that while the owner took some actions to correct our problem he lied frequently to temporarily placate us. Please take this account into consideration.

Owners response: There are always 2 sides to every story: This review needs clarification: I, Joe Duran (owner) only spoke to the guest twice -Wed & Thurs (not multiple occasions). He communicated mostly with our Property Mgr who of course kept me in the loop.In our 1st call I had agreed to refund him $500 for this inconvenience.

The day he first called, our AC man went to assess the problem. One of the 2 AC compressors was "shot". I immediately called the AC contractor who had installed them in 2005 since there was a 10-year warrenty on them. He said he couldn't do anything as he was going out of town. I went back to the AC man who went first and he was not only going to replace the "dead" one but the other one too as it was not working well. Unfortunately, they didn't have them in stock. They had to be shipped from another location but were not received until late Friday.We NEVER lied or falsified the truth.The temperature did reach the upper 70s/80 but cooled down in the evenings.There was the separate Apt that had AC and I noticed the temp was set at 37 degrees-obviously they took refuge from the heat.

When they couldn't replace them on Thursday we spoke for the 2nd time. He was visibly very upset and "demanded" more refund money . When I explained I couldn't because I gave them a 25% discount, he threatened to write a very bad review (which he did here). It was a "payback" for not agreeing to refund more. He was very hostile and this action is malicious with intent to hurt us & our rental business.

We pride ourselves in doing everything to make our guests happy. I had gone out of my way to provide beach chairs, child gates, strollers, tupperware as his wife requested. This is the first time we had such a problem or had to agree to a refund. In spite of his intent to discredit us with this bad review, I will still mail them the $500 refund. It's my word.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Magnificent house and stay!!! Will definitely be back.

Review submitted: October 25, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2010

Thank you, Joe for such a wonderful stay in your beautiful home.
If you plan to visit the west coast of Florida, DO NOT HESITATE to stay here! The house is exactly as shown in the pictures, if not better. The master bedroom is HUGE and has a balcony directly over the beach. Morning coffee will never be the same at home!
If being right on the beach, a sparkling pool, a heated hot tub and an elegant house with a kitchen area that entertains lots of people is your thing, just rent it. I will be back as soon as I can swing it. The owner Joe is very nice (but leaves you alone to enjoy your vacation) and the property manager Dave goes above and beyond to make your stay work for you.
Clearwater and it's nightly Pier 60 sunset celebration is less than 5 minutes north. There are Publix supermarkets, drug stores and Paneras Bread just over the Belleair Beach Causeway, also less than 5 minutes away. Restaurants are all over. We liked PJ's in Indian Rocks Beach, slightly south of the house.
We went jet skiing and were surrounded by playing dolphins, just off shore. We were mesmerized by them for over an hour as they swam less than 5 feet from us.
I could go on and on. It seems that the sun shines on this area of the coast almost everyday of the year. But the best review I can give it is that I will be back and in the same house. It was perfect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dale, your kind words describing your stay at our Pink Palace beachhome villa actually leaves me speechless! It is really interesting to see how your review of our Belleair Beach home has a different meaning. I could not have done better myself even though I, being biased since my wife and I lived there for over 12 years, just love everything about it. Thanks for your most generous words and I can't wait to see you and your family again and welcome you back to "your" beach house whenever you stay here. Our property manager Dave and I go out of our way to make sure our guests have the most wonderful time during their stay. Joe (owner) Oct.26,2010

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

GREAT FAMILY VACATION!

Review submitted: October 15, 2010   Date of arrival: October 3, 2010

We were fortunate to come across the "Pink Palace" for our annual family vacation in October. This place was everything and more than we expected. Beautiful, located right on the beach with private pool, hot tub jacuzzi,plenty of privacy and much more. Definitely has the WOW! factor. We can't wait for our next vacation so we can stay there again, absolutely everything we were looking for. Our arrangements with Joe Duran could not have been more pleasant.
GREAT SUNSETS!!
Thank you Joe, for sharing this magnificent property with us. It completed our family vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jim, it is renters like you and your family that make renting our beach home worthwhile. Being able to share our beautiful home on the beach with others who appreciate it as much as we do is our goal. This was our primary home for over 12 years. We more than look forward to your return. Joe, owner

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 26, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2009

My family (8 adults plus a 3 week old) were looking for a new place to gather for Thanksgiving week. It had to be large enough for everyone to have their space and close to the beach....we really hit the jackpot on both!! This place is quite large and is right on the beach....at hgh tide, the edge of the water is no more than 200 feet from the back door. The private pool and hot tub were great. An extra benefit was the apartment over the garage for the baby & parents....close enought but yet far enought for them to have privacy at night. No elevators to drag coolers and chairs up and down all week plus the location is perfect. Hope to return next Thanksgiving!! Tom & family.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 21, 2010   Date of arrival: January 2, 2010

Hope this note finds you well. Thank you so much for opening your doors to us for our vacation. We definitely have nothing but great things to say about the house! Straight from the beginning the communication has been just wonderful and prompt! All of the questions that I have had (and we know there were many) were promptly answered. Although we did not get a chance to meet which I would have liked, you teated us with kindness and respect and we all appreciate that very much! So, with our vacation coming to an end and our return to a very cold Canada nears us; just want to say thank you to Cheryl and yourself especially for EVERYTHING. Lindsay & Tony (ONT, CANADA)

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 21, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2009

We certainly enjoyed our family vacation at your lovely and spacious house. We particularly like the patio pool, and easy beach access. The sunsets were amazing! It was nice having all the space especially with a little one. Also, we appreciate staying in a place that has b een well-tended. A stay here is a definite "dooer".
Brian and family.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review