reviews for: listing #89291 - Whidbey Island, Washington House rental

Sandpiper Haven - Fabulous Penn Cove Waterfront Beach House
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  GlenCairn Pool
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $185 - $275 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,750 /wk
    $3,800 - $6,000 /mth

sort by:

Beautiful house on a beautiful location

Review submitted: July 20, 2014   Date of arrival: July 14, 2014

We had a great time. The house had everything we needed and more.It was clean and very well maintained. We loved the fire pit and promontory (we had coffee there in the morning.) The stairway to the beach was really nice and made it easy to get to the beach. The boat ramp is hard to access at low tide without a four-wheel drive vehicle but we put in at Oak Harbor Marina which was only 15-20 minutes away. Great, relaxing way to spend a week.

Owners response: Dear Jeff & Maureen, So glad you enjoyed yourselves. Your boating and crabbing excursions sounded great too. Yes, the boat ramp near our house can be challenging at low tide for larger boats, but for potential Guests, please note that our two sea kayaks and rowboat stay beachside during Peak months for easy launching. Also, Guests can keep a boat moored in front of our property during their stay. These Guests brought their own boat. All our best and do come again! Julie & Peter

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect place to relax

Review submitted: June 20, 2014   Date of arrival: June 12, 2014

We spent a week at Penn Cove and loved every minute of it. The home was perfect for us - 3 friends - even though the weather didn't cooperate. One can relax, walk, explore, read or watch for wildlife. We visited the lavender farm, picked strawberries, visited an alpaca farm and explored the wonderful towns on Whidbey Island. We even took in an art class!! Julie and Peter are the perfect hosts!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful place!

Review submitted: May 29, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

My husband and I agreed of all the places we have rented from VRBO or traded thru RCI this is by far the best! Even though it rained a couple of days ( as is common in this area of the country) our enthusiasm for this property was not dampened one bit. We loved the deck but the view was also just as perfect from the couch in front of a cozy fire on rainy afternoons. Lots of books, puzzles and games as well a cable Wifi. We enjoyed roasting marshmallows in the fire pit one evening and watching the eagles and sea gulls from the chairs on the secluded promontory. There was even a nice pair of binoculars and books about local birds and wild life to help us identify the unfamiliar. The boat and kayaks and all the equipment were easy to access and fun to use to explore the cove. And those are just a few of the things we enjoyed at the house. We also went on a whale watching tour, explored Coupeville and Oak Harbor, visited a lavender farm, took in the amazing view from Deception Pass and Mount Erie and enjoyed the art and café at Greenbank . Our only problem was that we couldn't stay longer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Edra, We are so pleased you and your family had a wonderful stay and also really enjoyed the area and took advantage of so much that Whidbey has to offer! We look forward to having you as our Guests again and yes, stay longer next time if you can swing it. All our best. -Julie & Peter

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Impeccably clean! Beautiful waterfront home!

Review submitted: May 21, 2014   Date of arrival: May 15, 2014

We felt at home immediately. In our experience renting online can be risky because you never know what you're REALLY getting. There were no unpleasant surprises. The Julie and Peter anticipate your every need and are very accommodating. This VRBO stay is our best experience to date. The property is indeed waterfront as advertised with a nice little footpath leading to the water. There is also a secluded overlook....a great place for breakfast. We watched an Eagle from the back deck, took the boat out for a spin! There are kayaks too. There's a nice fire pit with a water view. The house is very private, only one neighbor next door. The ones across the road are too far away to worry about.
We had the most quiet and relaxing weekend and will definitely plan another visit.

Owners response: Dear Jeannette, Wow, what can we say? So glad you had a wonderful stay and our home brought you such joy (as it does us) and thank you for the kind comments. I love my morning coffee on the private promontory too! Visit again. -Julie & Peter

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful stay, beautiful view-home away from home

Review submitted: May 15, 2014   Date of arrival: May 8, 2014

This was our first stay in a HomeAway-type rental and being our first rental, we were a little nervous that the experience would not match the pictures and descriptions on the web. Our fears were allayed immediately upon arrival. The house is lovely; very clean and well kept, plenty of room, with just enough decoration to create a homey atmosphere. The gardens around the home are well cared for and beautiful. It is clear the owners, Julie and Peter, are sharing a home, not just a place to stay. There is room to relax and entertain and to simply enjoy family and friends.

The owners have the rental down to a science. I was impressed by the attentiveness at all phases of the rental. All was prepared for our arrival-even down to directions. The house was well stocked, kitchen and all, with everything we needed and the beds, very comfortable.

We did not have the opportunity to take advantage of the kayaks and fire pit, but the setting of Penn Cove is just lovely. The cottage sits right on the water and each morning, we were treated to the peace and beauty of the water and when the clouds cleared, the majestic Olympic Mountains. Our stay was restorative!

Thank you, Julie and Peter for sharing this lovely place. We look forward to a return visit!

Owners response: Dear Kathy, Thank you so much for taking the leap of faith with us for your very first VRBO/Home Away stay! So glad we exceeded your expectations and do come again. -Julie & Peter

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

beautifully situated and maintained. Lovely garde

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: April 13, 2014

Location on Penn Cove is beautiful. Beach easily accessible. We roasted marshmallows in the fire pit outside. Owners have thought of everything possible to make your stay enjoyable. Beautifully equipped kitchen, lots of games and books, good info on Whidby Island. We spent a wonderful 2 nights there and hated to leave.

Owners response: Dear Ruth, Thank you again for choosing our home for the Whidbey Island stay. Glad you enjoyed your visit and do come again and hopefully you can stay for longer next time. - Julie & Peter

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A wonderfully relaxing weekend!

Review submitted: April 3, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

We found a super-clean home ready for our family. Our boys loved having new puzzles, games, and toys to play with. They also loved playing on the beach right outside the house. They were so excited to see an otter one morning. We were close enough to town to get what we needed and far enough that it was quiet and peaceful at the house. It was mostly cloudy while we were there, but on the last morning the sky was clear and we saw some mountains across the Cove. That was a fun surprise. The owners were so friendly and easy to work with. We look forward to returning!

Owners response: Dear Betsy & Jon, We are so happy your family enjoyed your weekend stay. Yes, March can be iffy for weather, but glad you got some nice "sun-breaks", and the kids got to enjoy the beach and games and puzzles. Definitely come again. The kayaks will be out in summer! -Julie & Peter.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful & Relaxing Retreat

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: February 6, 2014

This was our second time to one of our favorite places!! We enjoyed our time so much the first year we came back again this year (even during the winter) to relax in front of the fire and decompress for a week. Breathtaking views of the water and mountains. A great location to explore the area, hike, relax and bird watch (incredible bald eagles nest across the street)!! The owners of this property have furnished this home with everything one could desire. Julie & Peter are fantastic hosts. They always provide additional information about local events, recommendations for restaurants and follow up to ensure you enjoyed your stay! We will be back again in the near future!

Owners response: Dear Lisa & Chris, Thank you so much for coming again (this time in Feb) and escaping the harsh New England winter it has been this year for you folks. We so appreciate your return visit. In fact, that is one of our goals, to have Guests come back year after year, incorporating Sandpiper Haven into their own family traditions. All our best! Julie & Peter.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Getaway!

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

This cottage and property were everything promised in the website and in the pictures, and more. The cottage was sparkling clean, nicely furnished, and had all the needed equipment in the kitchen for meal making. One of the wonderful things about the cottage was the expanse of windows across the front, giving a full view of the Olympic Mountains as well as the cove. From the front yard one could also view the Cascade Mountains. A nice trail down to the beach has recently been added, making beach walks very easy to take. On a clear night the view of the sky from the deck was spectacular. The owners have done everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. This was a memorable getaway.

Owners response: Dear Janet,
Thank you again for choosing our home, especially over Christmas! We appreciate your trust in us and glad you enjoyed your stay. Our boys love those clear nights for stargazing as well. Come again and Happy New Year! -Julie & Peter

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanksgiving Holiday

Review submitted: December 17, 2013   Date of arrival: November 25, 2013

Sandpiper Haven was the perfect place for our Thanksgiving week visiting our son who is stationed at NAS Whidbey Island. It was our home away from home. I was able to cook a turkey dinner in the well equipped kitchen while looking out at Penn Cove. The views and walks on the beach were spectacular. The house is homey, comfortable and was the perfect place to reunite with our son. This was our third time renting on Whidbey and we will definitely be back to Sandpiper Haven again. Thank you for making your home on Whidbey like our home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Maria, We are so glad you and your family had a wonderful Thanksgiving at Sandpiper Haven! We have had a number of Guests stay over the holidays and share the sentiment. You captured our goal to try and provide a comfortable home with all you might need to experience the season as stress-free as possible. Do come again! Julie & Peter

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a wonderful experience

Review submitted: November 29, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful restful stay at Sandpiper Haven in September. Before our arrival we felt well prepared by the excellent communication that Julie and Peter provided. On arrival, “The Haven” was truly welcoming, very well appointed and so cozy. We spent a lot of time on the deck just watching the water, the birds and “Sammy”, the seal. Using the kitchen I was astonished at how well equipped it was; we truly had everything we needed readily available. You could tell Julie and Peter took great care and pride of ownership in the decorating, comfort of the furnishings and maintenance of the home and yard. This pride in visitors having a wonderful experience was also demonstrated in the abundance of material that was provided on what to do, what restaurants to try, where to shop, games, books … . The convenient and well maintained walkway to the beach and the promontory table with chairs were a special bonus. Words fall short in describing the many wonderful features of Sandpiper Haven as our home away from home. I would not hesitate in recommending this property to anyone. We definitely did not want to leave and would love to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Dave & Jan, We can't thank you enough for taking the time to express all the things you loved about your stay. Do come again! The kayaks will be out for your next stay next summer to add to the rowboat. -Julie & Peter

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quaint little house overlooking Penn Cove.

Review submitted: November 7, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

We loved Sandpiper Haven. Walks on the beach. Wild life whatching. Cooking local seafood in the fully stocked kitchen. Close to Coupville. Three Sisters small store up the road. Sitting on the deck was wonderful. A great little get away.

Owners response: Dear Lisa & Chad, Thank you so much for coming and do visit again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun at the Sandpiper

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful week at the Sandpiper. The house/property were perfect for us. Inside the house had all of the comforts of home and all functioned well. Outside, the property is on the edge of the Sound with stairs to the waterfront. Also, landscaping was beautiful, including a nice deck and a fire pit that we enjoyed sitting around playing games, listening to music, making s'mores, etc. in the evening! The area is great, close to two towns with grocery shops, restaurants, etc....also, close to nice parks and areas for activities. We all loved the Madrona trees, amazingly beuatiful on the rugged landscapes. We enjoyed day trips to Port Townsend/Olympic Peninsula, and to the San Juan Islands (Friday Harbor)for sea kayaking. We strongly recommend this property for active families that love the outdoors. Gerard, Loretta, and kids

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Loretta and Family, You certainly partook in all that Whidbey and the region has to offer and so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for such a complete review. Come again. -Julie and Peter

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Puget perfect!

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

What a delightful find! This cottage met our every need including providing dinners of clams, mussels, and sea urchins from the beach! We found the cottage very clean and much of it looked almost brand new. Though we had poor weather, the comfort of the cottage made it the perfect place to simply hang out and relax.

We explored Whidbey Island from end to end, and appreciated the copious travel info available to us. We also were delighted with many books on the area, its history, and the creatures that live there. While there, three eagles fledged from their nest nearby and we enjoyed the entertainment of their learning to fly, squabbling with each other, and being scolded by their regal parents that stood guard near their huge nest....... Amazing! We were also visited by a seal in the evening, and watched over by a beautiful heron from down the beach.

We have stayed at many VRBOs across the country including in Alaska and Hawaii and Sandpiper Haven is by far the best. The rates were great, the area offered lots of activities and restaurants, and Julie and Peter were very accommodating. I would recommend this cottage without reservation!

Owners response: Dear Clyde and Karen,
Thank you for such kind words. We are so pleased we've been able to create such a special place, not just for us, but also for you (and other Guests) as well. And how great to see the eaglets fledging. They nest year after year at that same spot across the street and just keep adding to their nest. It's tremendous. Do come again! -Julie & Peter.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The love is in the details ... and the view

Review submitted: June 22, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

We had an unforgettable (albeit too brief) stay at Sandpiper Haven. The layout of the place, the attention that's been paid to make it a low-allergy environment, and the unmatched amenities (good reads abound, children's games galore, beach toys to boot, and super-well equipped bathrooms and kitchen) as well as the thought that's gone into making this a safe and relaxing place for folks with inquisitive kids are outstanding. We had the worst weather upon arrival and didn't miss sunshine a bit, what with the puzzles, birdwatching resources, and the tremendous stretch of beach (fun even in the rain). Julie was absolutely wonderful to work with when I bombarded her with many questions before our arrival, and I love how the owners are helping build community on Whidbey and amongst the visitors by providing and inviting written feedback on wildlife viewings and local eateries. Julie's helpful instructions and the place itself invite responsible tourism and renters and create a sense of a very special home everyone cherishes and respects. We can't wait to come back and spend more time on the adorable promontory. For now, we are living on amazing memories of the silver full moon reflecting in Penn Cove's rippling water and the astounding diversity of wildlife we had the pleasure of observing from the comfort of the living room and deck. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Alina, Wow, so sweet and what can we say? Thank you so much for the kind words and we do hope you can come longer for your next stay! Glad the girls had fun using the community pool too. All our best - Julie & Peter.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent owners, beautiful property, wonderful experience

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

Thank you, Julie and Peter, for everything you did to make our stay so nice. We really enjoyed being on the water. And the kids loved all of the games you have at the house. The house is perfect for a weekend getaway, and we were very comfortable there over the holiday weekend. Thanks so much for emailing so much information to us before our arrival. It made everything easier. And thank you for being available by phone when a few minor things came up, like the screen door that we thought was stuck open but just needed to be pushed open even further to release. We hope to come again some day!

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Dear Tessa,
Thank you again for choosing our home for your holiday getaway and glad you had such a nice stay. Your kind words mean so much to us. We look forward to your next visit! -Julie & Peter

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect beach front get away!

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

Absolutely pristine and beautiful vacation rental! I had never rented a vacation home and was a little concerned about how it would, "really" be like. I was so happy to walk into a beautifully maintained, warm and welcoming home for our special weekend get away. The owners have really thought of everything! Not only is there a fully stocked kitchen, but there are extra toiletries in case you've forgotten them, games and toys for children, beach toys for kids...etc. I was absolutely impressed by the thought that the owners have put into every detail! The owners were also very easy to contact and quick to respond to any questions/emails/calls that I had.

The home, the views, the beach were all stunning. A truly inspiring location! We will be coming back time and again!! Thank you for the wonderful experience!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Maria, What can we say but thank you for capturing the spirit and specialness to our home. Do come again! -Julie & Peter

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful!!

Review submitted: April 19, 2013   Date of arrival: April 16, 2013

Beautiful!!
We had a lovely getaway at Sandpiper Haven. The home was very clean and beautifully furnished and the kitchen was well stocked with all of the things we needed to eat in. We enjoyed the views from the deck while eating dinner and roasting smores in the fire pit. We also had a great time exploring the quiet beach looking for sea glass and other treasures. We had hoped to see some migrating grey whales but no luck there. We did see several sea lions swimming just off of the beach. We had a great time and hope to be back soon.

Thanks!

Karen & John

Owners response: Dear Karen and John, thanks so much for the kind comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes, the Gray Whales are hit or miss in Penn Cove but migrate March through April so maybe next season! We've also taken a nearby whale watching excursion which is great fun to get up close. Do come again! - Julie and Peter

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thank you~

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

Thank you very much for letting us stay at your lovely vacation home.. My family and I have rented many vacation homes but found that your home tops them all.. We have rented big ones and expensive ones but we were soooo surprised at all the little details you have put into making your guests feel most comfortable in your home... We will definitely go visit your vacation home again for a longer period, because our visit was too short for us to enjoy your home to the fullest~
Thank you again~

Owners response: Dear Stephanie, We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves for your last minute "escape" and we do hope you can come again for longer next time. We get booked frequently for 2 day visits and many Guests share your response, "wish we could have stayed longer". We strive to make your stay as easy as possible so we are pleased we achieved that, too! All our best- Julie & Peter

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sandpiper Haven was a perfect for 5 member family

Review submitted: April 6, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

Julie and Peter's place in Penn Cove was the perfect spot for our family 2 day adventure on Whidbey! As we approached the house the tasteful landscaping established a very pleasant setting. When we entered the house we were welcomed into a warm, clean and sunny home with a group of large windows sitting side by side that overlook the cove. The bedrooms and living room were well furnished with quality furniture. The kitchen was sizeable and including more than enough tools (eg. pots and pans, cooking utensils, plates/glasses, etc). We cooked 2 breakfasts and grilled for one dinner. Worked out wonderfully. The plumbing had good pressure and heating. Many games, puzzles and movies are available for leisure. They also have and ipod dock for playing your favorite jams.

We enjoyed bird (e.g. cormarant, merganser, goldfinch, and many more!) and sunrise/setting on the deck just on the other side of the large living room window. A humpback whale even swam by not 200 yards from our beach and we spotted it through that great window! So exciting!

Activity wise the house is a great launching point for your Whidbey Island pursuits. It's as centrally located on the isle as you can get. Coupeville and ebey's landing are very close. A Safeway in Oak Harbor is a 5-10 minute drive. I went for 2 morning runs around the cove while the sun was rise and they were spectacular.

We (my family and me) highly reccommend staying at Julie and Peter's place. They are super accomidating hosts. Julie heard are family was interested in bird watching so she bought a bird identification book and placed it in the house before we got there! Spend time here, you won't regret it!

Judson Mead

Owners response: Dear Linnea, Judson and Family, We can't say enough for capturing our intent of our home for Guests - rest and relaxation in a beautiful setting. Seeing the Gray Whale (I think it was a Gray, not humpback, but that's okay) was extra special. This is their migration time (March thru April). Come again! -Julie & Peter

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome place and great owners!

Review submitted: March 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 26, 2013

Communication from the owners was very thorough. They even texted us on arrival day saying the house was ready earlier than planned. The house was immaculate. We've never seen so many amenities, or suggestions for local activities/dining provided for renters. The view from the deck is awesome. We saw a grey whale swimming up Penn Cove, and lots of birds including an eagle which landed on the beach not far away. This was our first time to Whidbey Island, and we will definitely return. Lots of great restaurants, parks and hiking trails, but we enjoyed our time hanging out at the house as much as anything.

Thank you for a great experience!

Owners response: Dear Chris, What can we say but thank you for capturing what our goal is for all Guests - to feel they have a home away from home in a beautiful setting and really enjoy all that our home and that Whidbey has to offer. That's extra special about the whale siting. The Gray Whales migrate through these waters between March and April so that's great time to get a chance at siting these gentle giants. Visit again! -Julie & Peter

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

amazing view

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

First time and Sandpiper Haven and can't wait to come back. The view from the living room and sitting on the back deck looking at the stars was breath taking. Very clean and they have thought of everything you would need. A must visit!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Owners response: Dear Kim & Tammy, Thanks Tammy for your second visit, and introducing your friend, Kim, to our home. We agree that even Off-Peak months are wonderful and relaxing as well. Come again. -Julie & Peter

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Calm and clean

Review submitted: March 8, 2013   Date of arrival: January 30, 2013

We came for a much-needed getaway to celebrate a birthday and anniversary. Sandpiper Haven was heaven. Quiet, clean, a wonderful location near (but not too near!) restaurants and coffee shops. Right on the water - perfect for long walks. They had thought of everything and cooking in the house was a delight. We can't wait to go back!

Owners response: Dear Adriana, Happy Birthday and Anniversary. Great news that you both enjoyed yourselves and do visit again! -Julie & Peter

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Retreat for Tired Moms

Review submitted: March 1, 2013   Date of arrival: October 9, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent two days here in October to get away from busy family life. It was exactly what we needed. The place was beautiful inside and out with a wonderful view of the water. The beds were comfy, the kitchen fully stocked with really nice dishware and extra spices and condiments. There were books and games, a large cozy fireplace... everything you would want. We wished we could have stayed alot longer. The place was close to the little towns on Whidbey and we especially enjoyed Coupeville just around the bend for its shops and food. One afternoon, we took a long walk on the beach which is easy to access from a set of stairs. Saw lots of mussels, which are a specialty on the island. Even though it was Fall weather, I sat outside on the large deck with a sweater and a beer to soak up the tranquility of the view. So good for the soul. I have to say that beyond the place, what is important to me is the sense I get of the owners on first contact and in future correspondence. Julie and Peter were always prompt in responding, very helpful and accomodating, followed up on any questions and I could tell were definitely interested in quality assurance. Thanks so much for sharing your wonderful place. We will return!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Cindy - As a tired mom myself, I love retreating to the cabin with friends too for a quiet weekend. I'm so glad you were able to enjoy yourselves and do come again (and stay longer next time :). -Julie

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Christmas Retreat

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

We spent 5 days at this cozy lakeside cottage during Christmas 2012. The cottage has everything you need to stay in, cook and relax. The views of the sound and mountains are just gorgeous! The wonderful fireplace is great to sit and read by, and the setting perfect for a peaceful, romantic retreat! We went wine-tasting and enjoyed exquisite gourmet meals at the many restaurants nearby. We have found our gem on Whidbey Island:)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Jon & Teri, So glad you had a wonderful holiday celebration at our home. Since the house is just 9 years old, it is very comfy and warm year round and we strive to make it a retreat for creating lasting memories. Come again. -Julie & Pete.

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 

Wonderful vacation

Review submitted: November 23, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

Our 3 nights in the Sandpiper Haven was peaceful and relaxing. We enjoy everything the cabin provided - great view, fire pit with marshmallows, cozy fire place, watching tv, cooking dinner together as family, beach walking.... We also spent an afternoon in Fort Casey. The kids just love it. We will come again in the summer

Thanks for Julie and Peter for their warm welcome and hospitality.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks Kam and come again. Note to travelers: this is an addition to the review above, same family. It's the only duplicate on our list of Reviews. They had trouble posting the review so wrote in twice. But the additional comments are appreciated. -Julie & Peter

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Wonderful vacation

Review submitted: November 22, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights with our 3 teens. What a great experience. We really loved the cabin. The view is so peaceful and we didn't do much just relax and enjoy.

Julie and Peter is so nice and responsive. We know we will come back again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Dear Kam, thank you and we're glad your teenagers enjoyed themselves too. They can sometimes be tough to please. We try and provide activities at the home like plenty of games/puzzles/cards/poker, and of course, HDTV and WiFi for teenagers to enjoy, too. And there's always the beach and environs to explore. Come again. -Julie & Peter

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Sandpiper Haven Review

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

We loved the everything about this place and would love to come back to stay :) The listing description was spot on, everything was very clean and well maintained, owner was very helpful in answering questions, and the interior decorating was beautiful!

Loved it!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Meghan, Great news that you and your folks had a great stay. Even the off season can be beautiful on Whidbey :) Come again. -Julie & Peter.

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Nothing over looked!

Review submitted: October 1, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

We loved the view and that everything we needed was already there! We didn't need to pack beach toys for our kids or extra towels...it was all there. Our daughter didn't want to go anywhere because she was so happy on the stretch of beach in front of the house. We saw Lion's Mane Jelly fish, seals, herons & egrets. Tons of little and big crabs too! There was a high chair and Pak-n-play for our son, the kitchen was stocked with anything we could need. The restaurant book had excellent tips, like calling for take out at Toby's tavern for mussels. I can't say enough about Sandpiper Haven...we loved it!

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Eric & Alexandra, We're so glad your last minute booking worked out great and you could just up and take the kids out there, not worrying about packing all that extra "kid paraphernalia". That's always our goal. Come again! -Julie & Peter.

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

our stay at Sandpiper Haven

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 18, 2012

very nice house on the beach. not crowded at all. home was extermly well maintained and furnished. i have already recomended to others. just a great place to get away and relax. incredible landscaping. hope to be going back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Kevin, Thanks again and especially too for spreading the word. That's our best advertising. Visit us again. -Julie & Peter

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Best Place Ever

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 18, 2012

My husband and I had the wonderful experience of staying an entire month at Sandpiper Haven. It truly was one of the best rentals we have ever had. We are a retired couple and Julie and Pete did everything in their power to making sure we were comfortable and had everythng we needed. The house is very cozy and so well stocked with paper products, cleaning supplies and plenty of dishes and pans. It was nice to walk in after travelling and find exactly what you needed without a trip to the store right away.

This was our first time on Whidbey Island and we found lots of fun things to do but the best was just staying at the house and enjoying the wonderful view and what a view it was! Waking up to see bald eagles, sitting on the pier was a real treat, We spent many hours walking the beach in search of the perfect shell and my husband was able to fish right off the beach with success. We also set out the crab traps and managed to snag enough for appetizers 2 nights. Yum.

We found plenty of good restaurants in Oak Harbor and Coupeville and several food stores. our absolute favorite hangout was a new bakery in Oak Harbor called Kakies, Best doughnuts ever!
Spent time at Greenbank Farm for Loganbery festival and also the annual arts and crafts festival in Coupeville. Both were lots of fun. Also lots of local beaches to explore.

I just cannot say enough good things about Sandpiper Haven. The owners, Peter and Julie are so attentive. They sent us many e-mails with directions, links to everything we could possibly need or want, and answers to all our questions. They were just great to work with. Do not hesitate to rent Sandpiper Haven. It is great, the weather is great and Whidbey Island is the best kept secret in the US. Kaye

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Kaye & Bob, You said it all and really brings smiles to our faces - that is our goal, make this a home away from home for all. Glad you could escape the heat of Georgia in summertime too! Come again. -Julie & Peter

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

LOVELY STAY... relaxing and welcoming

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 11, 2012

Thank you Julie and Peter for providing a wonderful "last stop" for us on our tour of WA. We enjoyed the last week on Whidbey Island and the house was perfect for us as a family of four. We had everything we needed... with great space, fully equipped everything and all the home comforts we could need while being away from Scotland. Most of all, your property was SO clean and well looked after.

We enjoyed the house inside and out and have many memories collected that we have taken home with us. The kids loved all the toys in the bedroom and our daughter thought you had gone out an bought the "pink" accessories especially for her! I enjoyed putting together a jigsaw on the floor in the living room over the week. We enjoyed tracking the bald eagles and saw a couple of seals and it was race week so also enjoyed all the sailing boats in the Cove. Clamming was fun for us as we had never done it and just exploring the beach with all the logs and seeing what happened at different tides was fun. Great location... lovely ~ thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Lisa, We are so pleased you and your family chose us for your overseas adventure! And glad you had a great time. Please do come again and thanks for putting your trust in us. All the best -Julie & Peter

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Delightful Time, Spectacular View

Review submitted: July 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

We had a delightful time at Sandpiper Haven. The view is spectacular and the beach is fascinating with clam digging a highlight. Your home is furnished with everything one could desire and soooooo comfortable and clean. We loved the outdoor firepit and cooked marshmallows and S'mores almost every evening. Our first visit but it won't be our last! Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Carolou, Glad you and your husband had a great time and visit again. - Julie & Peter

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Lovely, warm and inviting home

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

Very clean, great private location, awesome views, comfortable, lots of personal touches that add to the enjoyment of the property ie; board games, reading materials, lots of cutlery, dishes, glasses, spices, firewood, towels, toiletries, linens and the list goes on.....would definitely stay here again--perfect for romantic getaway and for families as well...easy drive to town, lots of wildlife viewing, and comfort all around.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Cherie, So glad you and your family had a great birthday celebration at Sandpiper Haven. Visit us again. -Julie & Peter

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: June 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

This was the perfect location for a mini vacation with our two grown children. We were celebrating our son's college graduation and a very much needed few days off! It was very peaceful. The house was immaculate and had everything we could ask for and more!! Since this was our first visit (and won't be our last) visit to Whidbey,it was a wonderful experience overall. Lots to do! Thanks Julie and Peter from the Coppola family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Dear Karen & Family, Glad you had such a restful little family reunion. Yes! Please come again. -Julie & Peter

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ideal Location

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: April 29, 2012

Craig and I were looking for the perfect location to spend a couple of nights after meeting his family for the first time. From the first communication to arrival the owners have thought of all details needed to make our stay seemless and amazing. The location is a given, but all the thoughtful amenities was what made the difference! Thank you for sharing your little bit of paradise with us!

Owners response: Dear Craig & Barbara,
Glad you enjoyed and come back to Paradise anytime! -Julie & Pete.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sandpiper Haven

Review submitted: June 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

I had always wanted to visit the Pacific Northwest. We chose Whidbey Island because we wanted to explore the islands, but wanted to stay on one that had access by both ferry and highway. I chose Sandpiper Haven because it was located centrally on the island, close to a large town, but still secluded. I considered staying on the ocean side of the island, but couldn't find a home available that I liked. The reviews for Sandpiper Haven were good so we gave it a shot.

In hindsight, if I had had an opportunity to explore the island before choosing, I would still have chosen Sandpiper Haven. The homes on the ocean side were close together and had a party atmosphere with lots of people. Sandpiper Haven was very secluded and peaceful. And I had no idea that Penn Cove was famous for its mussels.

The house itself was super-clean and well equipped with everything you would need for a week: plenty of toilet paper, paper towels, shampoo, soap, conditioner, body wash, towels, kitchen-ware, you-name-it. My daughter and I especially loved the puzzles and board games. If we wanted to watch a movie, they had about 30 choices, including a set of the Cohen brothers films, and Blockbuster was only 10 minutes away. We also enjoyed the fire pit and ate way too many s'mores. There is a stone stairway down to the beach. The beach is covered in mussels and barnacles. It's so cool. My husband never really understood high and low tide until this trip. The beds were very comfortable and we slept great.

The location of the house was perfect. It was only ten minutes from Oak Harbor, a reasonably sized town with lots of restaurants, two major grocery stores, a movie theater, etc. Plus the house had a view of Penn Cove, which was teeming with mussels, clams, harlequin ducks, seagulls, storm petrels, and a blue heron. I heard that gray whales visit the cove, but we never saw any.

The house is located within ten minutes of Coupeville, an old harbor town with beautiful gardens, cute shops, delicious restaurants, and a museum. The highlight of our trip was the "Iskreme" parlor that sold three scoops of ice cream for $3. I had huckleberry, white chocolate raspberry truffle, and blackberry... delicious.

Several amazing state parks are located nearby. Also, Greenbank farm which sells wine, cheese, art, and the best boysenberry pie ever made. Plus Langley for kayaking and bike riding tours. The island was more fun than our day trips to Vancouver and Seattle.

Owners response: Dear Stephanie & Mark, What can we add? Absolutely nothing. You summed it all up and then some. Glad you enjoyed and come again! -Julie & Pete

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Superb family getaway

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

There is always a risk when you book something online and you have no clue how it's going to turn out. I have to say that our stay at Sandpiper Haven surpassed all of our expectations. Once we made our reservation, Julie contacted me before our trip with suggestions for things to do during our stay (fantastic suggestions by the way). For such a small town, Coupeville has so much to offer! We had such an amazing stay in your beautiful home and we wished that we didn't have to leave. Thank you for the treats that you left for us. Your home is so well stocked and you have everything you could possibly need during your stay there. There certainly was no shortage of things to do for my 3 year old son as well. We can’t wait to visit again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Stacey, We are so happy you had a great stay and thanks for putting your trust in us to book your vacation at Sandpiper Haven. Come again. - Julie & Peter

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: April 27, 2012   Date of arrival: April 16, 2012

This home was absolutely perfect for our stay on Whidbey Island. The views were fantastic, the house well stocked, I was a bit worried how to entertain my 3 year old granddaughter while we were there, but she had a wonderful time with the puzzles and legos and other toys that were there. I will definitely be coming back to this wonderful home for a visit! The owners were great to work with, it was a very pleasant vacation! Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Sheila, We're so glad you and your granddaughter had a wonderful stay. We welcome families and young children and are glad your granddaughter put the games/toys/legos to good use. Do come again. -Julie & Peter

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This is a wonderfl place!

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

This is the perfect little cottage for a family getaway. The house is right on the beach, fully stocked with all you need (and my kids LOVED all the toys here). It's tranquil, comfortable and conveniently-located. We will definitely be back again.

Owners response: Dear Diana,
So glad you had a great stay and come again! -Julie & Peter

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Cabin Vacation for a New Family

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: February 26, 2012

We are a new family and this was our official "just for the four of us" vacation. And your cabin made it perfect! Our six year-old children were thrilled to find the perfect games and toys. Kristin and I enjoyed the view, walk, and cozy times inside. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing and beautiful

Review submitted: April 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

Our stay was wonderful. The house is so clean and truly allergy friendly (no dusty, musty, pet or smoke odor at all) -- and it's comfortable, airy, and well maintained. We enjoyed the beautiful views and the beach. Kayak entry was easy at the boat launch two doors down, and the water was great for paddling. We saw the season's first gray whale swimming through the cove, which was a treat! We could tell the owners really care about this place and want visitors to have a great stay. We'll be back!

Owners response: Dear Catherine, Thanks for the lovely comments and we are jealous - you saw the first whale this season. How special! You also captured one of our key goals to keep the house low-allergen - no pets, no smoking. Come back with your kayaks again. -Julie & Pete

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

We had a wonderful stay! The house is very clean and WELL equipt. It was great to walk on the beach and a great. The hosue and area are very quiet and relaxing. If in the area I would defently stay here and would highly recomend it to any one staying in the island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Dear Anna, Thanks so much for the kind review and you captured what our mission statement is: "provide a 'home away from home'". Visit again. -Julie & Peter

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

March weekend getaway

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

visited Sandpiper Haven for a girls weekend. The weather in Seattle was terrible: rainy, snowy. When we got the beach house, the weather was sunny! I actually got a little sun-burned that afternoon. I learned that Penn Cove is in a "rain shadow" which was great news for our retreat.
The house itself is modern, up to date with all the amenities: wi fi and wide screen TV. large kitchen with all the appliances/necessities for cooking - even a blender for margaritas!
The beds were very comfortable - excellent for napping and refreshing nights' sleep.
Beautiful south-facing view - could see Cascades and olympics from living room and spacious deck.

Looking forward to visiting again!
thank you, Mattson family!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Anne - you are so right. Sandpiper Haven is in the rainshadow of the Olympics and only gets about 50% of the rain that Seattle gets... a welcome break for this region. Visit us again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The perfect place!

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

I met with a group of my girlfriends for a girls' getaway over St. Patty's Day weekend. What a perfect place for that! A whole wall of windows overlooks the deck and the lowbank waterfront, with the beach just steps away. We got to spy on the cute ducks paddling around, and took in the panoramic views of the Olympics AND Cascades! We were kept nice and cozy in the house, even when we got some snow. The house is very well-maintained, with all conveniences readily available. The surroundings are beautiful, and I especially enjoyed hearing the frogs croaking in the evening, and seeing the pristine night sky. We visited Earth Sanctuary on the way home (also a must-see). The owner is very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Lisa, Thank you and please come again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing get-away

Review submitted: February 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 22, 2012

This was the perfect place to get-away!
*Great location - right on the water in Penn Cove. Close enough to all of the main sightseeing and shopping on the island, but also also quiet and private for just relaxing on the deck, watching the sunrise or letting the kids play at the beach. This part of the island gets less rain, too, so we left rainy, grey Seattle and had bright sunshine the whole time we were there.
*The home is very clean and well-maintained. The beds are comfortable and there are plenty of extra blankets. The owners have thought of everything - there were games for the kids and adults, plenty of books, magazines, a telescope and binoculars for viewing nature, shovels and sand toys for digging at the water, a fire pit with firewood. The home has a very open feel, and all of the windows let in lots of light and provided a beautiful view of the water.
*The owners were very helpful. We made the reservation at the last minute, and they were very quick to get back to us, provide us with all of the information about the house, directions, and specifics about the area. They have compiled a book that has listings of attractions and activities and another book that has dining information. They provided maps, menus, and reviews from other guest in these books, which were very helpful to us as we had never visited Whidbey Island previously. They were kind enough to send us a personal email before we arrived, welcoming us to their home, and also a message after we had left thanking us for staying. How nice to have this personal touch!
*Overall it was a great place to stay - we will definitely try to come back. We have already recommended it to a few friends and would recommend it to anyone wanting to visit Whidbey Island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Jenn, What can we say? You said it ALL for is and captured what we so want to have for Guests to enjoy - a home away from home in a beautiful relaxing location. Yes, we hope you and your family can come again. -Julie & Pete

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Slice of heaven on Whidbey Island

Review submitted: February 22, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

Our family stayed for the weekend at this lovely Whidbey Island cottage overlooking Penn Cove. This charming property was relately new, was well appointed, had a layout conducive to spending time with family, and was located close to the towns of Langley, Oak Harbor, Coupeville, Anacortes and LaConner. The owners, Julie and Peter have put a lot of thought into providing all that a guest might desire or need, and go the extra mile to make sure you are well taken care of. The beds were very comfortable and the views were stunning. Rain or shine, this property offers a stay that you will remember. We will definitely be back to stay and wholeheartedly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Jim & Joanie - We are so glad you had a great visit and please come again! -Julie & Peter

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely home on Penn Cove

Review submitted: February 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 2, 2012

This little home in Oak Harbor far exceeded our expectations!!! The pictures as nice as they are, don't do this great little home justice!!! My husband and I were so impressed with this lovely, the beach and the town of Coupville. We felt very well Taken care of by the owners of the home, and would definatly recommend this property to our friend and family!! We are looking forward to going back!!! PS Christophers in Coupville had the best muscles I have ever had and there is a great little coffee shop on the Wharf that has tons of character. Really every place we went we enjoyed!!!

Owners response: We are so glad you had a great birthday celebration and getaway. We look forward to your coming again. We love Coupeville too - so quaint and great restaurants. I recently learned it is the 2nd oldest town in Washington! -Julie & Peter

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous!

Review submitted: December 31, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

We rented the house for our family over the Christmas holiday. What a wonderful place to be. The view was spectacular and every amenity was thought of - including a little Christmas tree and some chocolates! My family loved it so much they didn't want to leave or go anywhere but just veg out. Thank you so much for sharing your home with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Robin & Scott, We are so glad your family had a great stay at our home and they took such nice care of our house! Thank you. We agree it's a peaceful, comfy, convenient option for Family & Friends who are visiting from out of town. Next time you'll need to stay at our home and let your family stay at your house ;) Happy New Year! -Julie & Pete.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Beach Holiday

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

I can't say enough nice things about this property! Sandpiper Haven had everything we could possibly want or need for a relaxing beach getaway. Its location right on the water is perfect, and the home has big picture windows to take in some phenomenal views! We were lucky during our visit to have several really amazing sunrises. The island is fun to explore during the day and we had a big beach bonfire in the evening right on the property. We toasted marshmallows and made s'mores which were provided, along with every basic ingredient and amenity that you could possibly think of. The property is well organized and extremely well stocked, very clean, and just an all-around pleasure to stay in. I will definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Amy, We are so glad you and your group had a great stay, and a wonderful holiday at our home. We strive to make our home "user-friendly" so you can just show up, bring your food (or buy it in any of a number of nearby grocery stores), and enjoy. Leave the details to us. Do come again! -Julie & Peter

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our stay this Fall was wonderful!

Review submitted: October 31, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

What a wonderful place to stay, so clean and new it was exactly what we hoped for in a beach house. We got our fishing licenses and bait advice from Ace Hardware, and headed out to the beach for some fishing, and were amazed at the number of starfish and other sea creatures. We didn't see any Orcas in Penn Cove, but understand they are typically here in the Spring.

The convenient location made getting to Coupeville, Oak Harbor, Anacortes and Greenbank for lunch a snap, and the fully equipped kitchen made breakfast and dinners at home an inviting prospect. Although there were only two of us, having two full bathrooms and a laundry here were really helpful. We had mostly nice weather, the better to enjoy the big deck overlooking the water, but during the few days of rain it was nice to gather around the fireplace while enjoying the front row seat watching the rain cross Penn Cove. The extensive amount of reading material made planning our next day excursions fun, and we added a Port Townsend trip for lunch one day as a result.

Waking to brilliant sunsets over the Cascade Mountains was a real pleasure, and we could even see the top of the Olympic Mountains to the west. We couldn't have had a better place to stay during our first-ever visit to the Pacific Northwest. Thank you for the wonderful hospitality and for making our stay so perfect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hal - thanks for the lovely comments and even better visit! We do love our place in part for the year-round cozy appeal. Please come again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Vacation Home

Review submitted: October 16, 2011   Date of arrival: October 6, 2011

We had the most exceptional week at Julie & Peter's home, the house is nicer than the pictures even represent. The location is just perfect, you are just across the cove from Coupeville and only about 5-10 minutes from Oak Harbor. The house is equiped with everything you could possibly need, from the kitchen equipment, to spices and staples, to other items you might of forgot. The views from the house are amazing, looking across the cove to Coupeville. We watched the various birds, seals infront of the house. Julie and Peter could not be more amazing, we had asked them about where we might be able to rent fishing equipment and Peter went and bought fishing poles and equipment and had it all there before our arrival... was above and beyond!!! We enjoyed fishing several days, and caught several fish right out infront of the house and on the pier. Do not hesitate renting this beautiful home..... Thank you Julie and Peter for sharing this peace of heaven with us, can't wait to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Sandy- We are so pleased you enjoyed your time and that you got good use of the fishing gear, which is now at the house for all to enjoy (thanks to your inquiry and Pete's follow-up). Please come again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best place to stay on Whidbey Island!

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

If you're looking for an amazing place to stay on Whidbey Island, this is it! The owners are friendly, easy to work with and very prompt. We had our deposit back before we even got home.
The view is spectacular and the grounds are beautifully maintained. The location is perfect, right between Oak Harbor and Coupeville. The home is even better than in the photos. It is immaculate, spacious, comfortable and very nicely decorated. The kitchen is very well stocked and the cabin has everything you could possibly need or want. The beds were very comfortable. I can't think of anything that could be improved. We spent three nights here and enjoyed every minute.
Thanks so much, Julie and Peter, for sharing your home with us. We will be back!
Derek & Dixie

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dixie & Derek, We are so glad you had a wonderful time. This means so much to us as we've only had the property for a couple months and it has been our goal from the beginning to have all the things you especially enjoyed. Please come again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing Waterfront Retreat

Review submitted: October 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 20, 2011

The perfect place to unwind and take in all the beauty of a special cove on Whidbey Island. We loved the wide open waterviews, especially taking walks on the beach to explore. The house has all the amenities one would need for their stay...full kitchen, great flatscreen t.v., laundry room, comfy beds.
But my favorite time of the day was sunset on the deck or the house, sharing a glass of local wine,munching on goodies bought at the amazing Coupeville Farmer's Market.
Thank you Julie and Peter for providing everything we needed to appreciate our little vacation at the Sandpiper Haven. I will recommend this house to all my friends. Lisa -Laguna Beach, CA

Owners response: Lisa, we are so pleased you and your family had a great visit and please come again. We love the idea of creating memories year after year for families.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous view on the water!

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

My sister in law and I had a fabulous time at the Sandpiper Haven for a for a girls weekend get-a-way! The home is clean, peaceful and in a great location. When we were looking out the living room windows it felt like we were right on the water. Awesome view! The home was so enjoyable we had a hard time getting ourselves out the door to go explore the island. Thank you Julie and Peter!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you had a restful time, Becky. We share your feelings of sometimes just wanting to hang at the property to enjoy it and the surroundings, even though Whidbey Island has so much to offer. Please come again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful vacation get-away

Review submitted: September 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 26, 2011

The beach house on Penn Cove is absolutely wonderful! Everything we could possibly need was provided. The beds were comfy and we enjoyed the fire pit and deck and the beach. Great location--Coupeville shopping and Oak Harbor are a short drive. We would definately like to stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed yourselves and yes, please come again. -Julie & Peter Mattson

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What can I say except WOW!

Review submitted: September 4, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

What can I say except WOW! This is a beautiful cabin and the setting is breathtaking. We loved the deck and the beach. We felt at home and enjoyed every moment. Planning to return! Thanks. - Cindy, Lake Stevens, WA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very relaxing

Review submitted: September 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 18, 2011

We had a very relaxing time at this house. The view of the cove was beautiful. The house itself is larger than it looked in the photos, very clean, and very comfortable. Everything is new and and the house is fully stocked with kitchen supplies, games, and other entertainment options. The house is located close to Oak Harbor and Coupeville so there were lots of things to do nearby. We very much enjoyed our stay here and hope to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Denise. Glad you had a nice, relaxing time and please come again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Getaway makes for a Memorable Vacation

Review submitted: August 26, 2011   Date of arrival: August 18, 2011

Julie & Peter, We really had a great time at your place. You guys have done a nice job putting together a getaway that makes for a memorable vacation. Many Blessings. Greg O.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house greeted us with warmth, beauty, and view

Review submitted: August 26, 2011   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

When we got here it was 11pm. We reached the house and forgot the long day we had, the house greeted us with warmth, beauty, and a very well-stocked kitchen, the beds were great, view - forget about it. Woke up the next morning and was greeted to a spectacular ocean view. Cofffee on the deck in the morning & wine during the evening watching the sunset. Coupeville has everything, delicious restaurants, pastries to die for and 3 scoops ove ice cream (delicious) for $3.00 (where do you get that?). Deception Pass was breathtaking! We went on a motor boat ride and caught about 10 BIG CRABS! Need license & permit. On the beach down by the house we caught mussels & cockles, clams. Perfect.... The best thing is after a fun-filled day, we came home to a lovely, calming, beautiful house which we will return again (God willing), next year. Thank you. Daniel S. and Family, San Francisco, CA

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the house & easy access to the beach.

Review submitted: August 24, 2011   Date of arrival: July 25, 2011

We really enjoyed our long weekend - loved thte house and easy access to the beach. Saw eagles, seals, heron, humming birds, & wrens - fished, went on a cycle ride, visited Greenbank Farm, Coupeville and ate at Christopher's and Ffront Street Grill - went to Ebey's Landing & Freedome Park - the weather was perfect. We'll be back.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A beautiful cottage with amazing views!

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

We had an incredible time at Sandpiper Haven! The cottage is wonderfully comfortable with beautiful views. We watched eagles, herons and an otter from the windows of the living room. The porch is a great place to enjoy morning coffee or a glass of wine in the evening. The kitchen is well stocked and the beds are extremely comfortable. We enjoyed the arts festival in Coupeville while we were there and our three boys loved exploring the beach.

I can't say enough great things about our stay at Sandpiper Haven!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad you had a great time and agree, this is a great spot for families (as well as many other types of groups). Thanks, and please come again!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

great property!!!

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 6, 2011

This is a great home with a fantastic view. we saw eagles and harbor seals right off the deck! Its also got great accomadations , the kitchen and bedrooms are very well equipped and super comfortable beds. The location is the best we will be back as soon as possible!
Thank you so much
The Tura family houston texas july 2011

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are pleased your family had a great time. We strive to make our home a "home away from home" with all we can think of to make your stay comfortable and help you feel pampered! Come again.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review