reviews for: listing #89310 - Charlottesville, Virginia Cottage rental

Pond House at Wolf Trap Farm
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $120 - $285 /nt

sort by:

Something for Everyone!

Review submitted: September 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 19, 2013

My daughters and I recently enjoyed two idyllic days on the farm. We stayed in the Pond House, and
everything about our stay was perfect. My youngest daughter enjoyed fishing, exploring the farm and the woods in the golf cart, visiting the horses in the fields and the barn, smores on the fire pit at night (Keith even thoughtfully left firewood for our use) and playing outdoors! My city-slicker teenager enjoyed resting and reading in the clean, comfortable and well equipped house (she even had Wi-Fi!), relaxing under the stars in the hot tub and even swinging away on the two rope swings. The farm brought me back to my childhood - it was so great to be outdoors, and I haven't seen that many butterflies in years! It was the best of both worlds - the relaxing atmosphere of the farm, with all of the modern conveniences and amenities very close by. Keith's restaurant recommendations were great - we had an incredible lunch at the nearby French restaurant and a wonderful Italian dinner just up the street.
My kids would not leave until I promised that we would come back again - that was an easy promise
to make! Thank you, Keith, for an incredibly relaxing mini-vacation. We hope to be able to come back
soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely stress-free stay

Review submitted: December 7, 2012   Date of arrival: September 27, 2012

Really lovely stay with excellent, responsive hosts. Nice and clean, well-maintained accommodation. They had no problem with us staying just the one night. Lovely relaxing location, farm animals, etc (though not much to do on site, just in case that's what you're expecting). Would happily stay again. :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great getaway

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

The Pond House was the perfect relaxed atmosphere for a weekend with my mother and sister, close enough to Charlottesville to do some excellent wine tasting, far enough away from town to enjoy being out of the loop a bit. The working horse farm is a lovely setting, and the folks working/living there are incredibly nice. We also rented out the entire Manor House the first weekend in June 2012 for UVA Reunion Weekend. Again, an amazing experience. I am not usually a huge B&B fan, but the option of renting out an entire establishment, be it the Pond House for a smallish group or the Manor House, with minimal interference/EXCELLENT customer service from both the hostess Tina and the owner Keith was perfect. Will definitely go back - totally reasonable for the location, plenty of space for kids to run around , also a perfect place to go WITHOUT kiddos.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Beautiful property close to everything!

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 1, 2012

We had an amazing time the week that we stayed at the Pond House. It was centrally located to most historical places, so that was a major plus. The house is very comfortable, with beautiful views. My favorite thing was the quiet---this is the one thing that I have missed about living in the country. The house had a full kitchen which was great, since we cooked in most nights. Why go out with views like this? We did eat in Gordonsville one night at the little French restaurant and that was amazing!
We went to Montpelier for the wine festival, which was alot of fun. Also went back to Monticello, also went to most of the wineries---favorite was Barboursville! Also did alot of fun antiquing.
My only complaint is that the bed was not the most comfortable---especially for longer stays.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the Pond House Guestbook

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

To celebrate M_______'s 60th birthday, we chose the Pond House. It was so relaxing and peaceful. The guys enjoyed fishing, while the ladies rode bikes and interacted with the horses. Seeing the baby horse was a highlight! The wineries were awesome, especially Barboursville! This is exactly what we needed!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the Pond House Guestbook

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

This was our first time in the Pond House and first year at the farm. This was an amazing vacation for us only a few hours away from Cary. We went to Monticello where we had a blast! We also went fishing with some of our neighbors down the street. The trails were very exciting and the grass was an amazing place for us kids to play tag. Feeding the horses - of course with permission - was a lot of fun. They were so gentle, we even got a chance to help groom them. We will definitely be coming back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the Pond House Guestbook

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: March 8, 2012

We visited the Pond House on this 4-day period. The house was very nice and clean; we enjoyed sleeping in the bunk bed. The dark night sky was perfect for stargazing; 3 shooting stars were spotted. The hiking trail, pond, and horses are all delightful. The swing up at the bed and breakfast was a definite favorite! We would recommend the little lunch cafe "Elmwood at Sparks" for hungry travelers. The sandwiches there are really prepared nicely and have a great taste. Thank you for a wonderful weekend!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the Pond House Guestbook

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

We celebrated Dawn's birthday on this farm. 18 Feb (Saturday)was 60 degrees and beautiful. We walked around the farm taking pictures, looking at the horses and cows, and drinking wine. On 19/20 Feb. (Sunday and Monday a.m.) we experienced our first snow fall as a couple here. We took some beautiful pictures. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the Pond House Guestbook

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

What a wonderful way to celebrate half a century of living - great friends, wonderful views and enjoyable conversation. Your home has a wonderful vibe and a peaceful way about it. May all your guests have as pleasant a stay as I did.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the Pond House Guestbook

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2011

Thank you for a fabulous weekend getaway! Waking up to the horses & going to bed to the frogs was priceless. . . We can't wait to come back! Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the Pond House Guestbook

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

We've really enjoyed our stay at this peaceful, beautiful "home away from home." Our daughter caught 2 fish (1 rather large one) last night with worms and a cane pole! We also walked up to the barn and petted the horses, and fed them carrots this a.m. when they were grazing right outside our door. Thanks for a lovely vacation spot.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just like home - but better!

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 8, 2012

We found the Pond House online, and it looked like a pretty good place for us to stay - my husband and myself, our two girls, and my mother-in-law. We arrived just as the sun was setting on a warm March day - and immediately fell in love with the place! My two girls (ages and 8 and 11), found the tree swing at the bed and breakfast up the hill right away. We watched the horses, including a mother and her foal, and captured some absolutely beautiful photographs early in the morning from across the pond. We hiked, planned to use the hot tub (but decided it was too chilly), and watched brilliant stars from the deck each night. We were happily surprised to find that the fridge was fully-stocked with breakfast for our three-day stay! We brought some of our own food for lunches; used the full-size oven, dishwasher, and washer and dryer; and enjoyed Tina's laid-back warmth. The house was a perfect size for the five of us - just enough room for everyone, and big windows through which to watch the horses. We visited all three nearby Presidents' houses: Monticello, Montpelier and Ash Lawn-Highland. Montpelier had the best tour, in our opinion. Also loved the restaurant in the town of Orange that a docent at one of the houses recommended: Elmwood at Sparks. The Silk Mill Grille in same town was good too. Charlottesville was fun as well - lots of good food, and a great downtown walking mall.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Oh Rebecca, it is never too chilly for the hot tub! You will have to come back and add that to your adventure at the farm.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanksgiving Reunion

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: November 24, 2011

Our family enjoyed a wonderful Thanksgiving at the farm. Everything was available for us to enjoy a
very special holiday at the Pond House. Everyone was so comfortable and when it our time was up we didnt want to leave. The sunsets over the farm were the the most beautifuul we have seen in a long time. My children loved spending time with the resident horses as well as messing around by the pond. Our dog enjoyed the long walks around the farm and the rolling hills to romp on.
Wolftrap is truly a very special place and we hope to return as soon as we can. We thank you for sharing this slice of heaven with us.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly

Owners response: It is remarkable how many of our guests say the farm makes them think of what they would like to find in heaven. As an owner, sometimes it seems like bragging when I try to describe the place. The landscapes are just hard to adequately describe. Only when you see it can you truly get the full effect.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the Pond House Guestbook

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2010

Our thanks to Tina for meeting us & giving us the history of the Pond House and for having everything prepared for our visit. Our thanks also to the owners for sharing this beautiful house and setting. We especially enjoyed the fishing and the quiet evenings on the porch. Thanks again for providing a wonderful retreat.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the Pond House Guestbook

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 30, 2010

A lovely peaceful place. Isabel (3) & Sam (1) loved the horses (in fact Sam's first word is "neigh neigh") and frogs in the pond.

A good base for exploring. The wolves howling in the woods at night added to the atmosphere.

Hope to be back. (Owner's footnote: probably Coyotes, not Wolves)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the Pond House Guestbook

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: September 26, 2010

The hoot owl was a complement to a great quiet time in this lovely setting.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the Pond House Guestbook

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: October 3, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the Pond House! Kolton (2) had his first fishing experience here! Thank you all so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the Pond House Guestbook

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: October 12, 2010

Here for an Art Workshop from The Montpelier Center. What vistas, gorgeous countryside. Can't wait to start painting!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the Pond House Guestbook

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

We had a very relaxing & comfortable week-end here. The accommodations were great, the setting awesome. Even caught a few fish. Would definitely want to come back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the Pond House Guestbook

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: October 23, 2010

Awesome! Relaxing. Quiet! I couldn't catch the big guy, only a few of his little brothers. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the Pond House Guestbook

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

Perfectly lovely setting . . . and new for us (beach goers)! Took lots of pics to share with our family and friends. So very quiet, peaceful and relaxing. The Manor House [also on the farm] is elegant! [Our dogs] enjoyed it also . . . never saw a horse !! Thanks from . . .

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the Pond House Guestbook

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: December 1, 2010

The Pond House is lovely & the farm is beautiful. We were here fox hunting with Keswick Housnds. The horses enjoyed their stay also. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the Pond House Guestbook

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

Great way to bring in the new year 2011 . . . relaxing in the Pond House! Bavarian Chef in Madison for dinner, wineries nearby, and Toliver House for lunch all made for an excellent New Year's get-a-way weekend from Richmond. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the Pond House Guestbook

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 27, 2011

Thank you for a beautiful week-end. It is so peaceful here. What a wonderful way to slow down.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the Pond House Guestbook

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2011

What a fun relaxing time we had celebrating one of our dearest friend's birthday. The fun memories in this place will never be forgotten. Thank you for providing a place for us to enjoy. The hot tub was awesome. We became friends with our neighbor , "Izzy Horse" :). We hope to experience this place again in the near future! The eggs, bacon, juice etc. provided was extremely thoughtful. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the Pond House Guestbook

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: April 14, 2011

Thank youo for this wonderful place - our whole family enjoyed every minute of our time here - to drive so far and be rewarded with this great place - we were thrilled. Thank you sincerely!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Perfect Thanksgiving Weekend, 2010

Review submitted: August 19, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

My husband and I and our two small dogs had a very relaxing few days at the Pond House. The scenery cannot be described...the ponds, the magnificent horses, the barns.....just the general atmosphere of being on a Farm. We had a wonderful Thanksgiving Dinner in Gordonsville in a lovely old home made into a restaurant. It was superb! The Pond House had the feeling of an inn...not just an out-building of the beautiful Inn there. We had light breakfasts brought to us every day. The owner was delightful to deal with. My dream is to stay at the big Inn with our whole family. J&M from Richmond, VA.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

joe cyndi and ruby

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 10, 2010

what a wonderful place! all listing info was more than accurate we knew this was going to be a special place when our 7 year old daughter fell in love with one of the horses at the farm named king . he loved her to all she had to do was walk over to the fence and he came to her every time. the farm, the pond house, the fishing oh!!!!!!!!!!! the fishihg,the horses ,the cows , the trails , and the lamb farm across the street with horse back riding trails was wonderful. we brought back memories of a lifetime . if you are looking for a place to relax and unwind this is it ! keith thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review