reviews for: listing #89312 - Charlottesville, Virginia House rental

1856 Manor House at Wolf Trap Farm
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $270 - $675 /nt
    $1,500 - $3,150 /wk

sort by:

Great winter weekend

Review submitted: February 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

My two brothers, their families, and my Dad rented all three houses at the Wolf Trap Farm for a January weekend to celebrate my Dad's 80th birthday and had a great time. There were 13 of us -- so, we needed all three houses. This is not a luxury house but a working farm that was well maintained and welcoming. The setting on top of a hill overlooking a valley -- even in the dead of winter -- is idyllic.

The Manor House is the nicest of the three houses -- very cozy. We spent our group time there. The sitting rooms were too small hold everyone, but they made for very nice reading / game playing rooms. The dining room sat everyone comfortably, and the kitchen was large and well appointed. We used 3 of the 4 bedrooms in the manor house -- 2 of which have a private bathroom. The kids enjoyed the 4-bed bunk room. The hot tub, fire pit, and rope swing (conveniently adjacent) were also big hits and heavily used (tons of firewood). The servants quarters and pond house were also nice and could be self sufficient. The servants quarters are right next to the manor house, but the pond house is about 100 yards away -- flash lights are needed for an evening trek! There's a partially completed game room with fuse-ball, pool, and ping pong half way to the pond house that could be a real asset if it's completed (and heated!).

We absolutely loved the horses, dogs, and one potbelly pig(!) -- the staff that cared for them were real nice and accommodating to our kids. The owner also has a very detailed guide to area that was very helpful. We had one problem with the water during our trip, but the owner and staff very responsive and really worked hard to get everything working.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the Manor House Guest Book

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: April 24, 2011

Had a great week on this beautiful farm! The boys had fun exploring the woods, falling in the creek, chasing frogs & lizards, fishing, feeding the horses (Radar & Will) and swinging on the rope swing behind the house. Several hikes in the nearby mountains & a fun visit to Charlottesville & Monticello. Hope to return to this amazing place sometime soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the Manor House Guest Book

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2011

Phenominal Family Vacation. Such a beautiful, beautiful place. Four little guys all under nine have made memories for a lifetime! The adults made some too! Thank you.

[Children's opinions] Thank you for the swing it was awesome.
We really enjoyed your home, this was a great vacation.
We slep there. I swang outside.
I had a great time riding horses and swinging.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the Manor House Guest Book (younger guests)

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

it was awesome.
I really enjoyed it - it was definitely very amazing :) The house is awesome, yard is so cool with the horseshoes & the SWING & hot tub! I loved watching & petting the horses too! Hopefully we'll be back!

I really liked the house. Also I liked the horses, barn and the swing. It was really fun. I hope we can come back soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the Manor House Guestbook

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

Thank you for being so flexible with the ever changing plans due to the hurricane. The house was perfect for our family - the grandchildren were enchanted with the farm, the horses, the hot tub, the games, etc. Blue skies today make us wish to stay longer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the Manor House Guest Book

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: September 11, 2011

We've been here a week - four couples from Tennessee, Oklahoma, California and D.C. What a wonderful place to rest, relax and tour historical places. Thank you. Highly Recommended!
[Another in the group] Ditto to Kathy & Larry's comments - we had a great time visiting/catching up on each others' doings. Looking forward to bringing the grandchildren to fish the ponds in the future. Again, thank you for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the Manor House Guestbook

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: September 25, 2011

What an ideal week-end! We enjoyed the grounds and especially the hot tub. It was perfect for our large group after our friends' wedding. Breakfast was lovely and the staff was so kind and helpful! Thank you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the Manor House Guest Book (Wedding Group)

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 2, 2011

[From the bride.} For a week-end full of family, friends, sunsets, and a new life with my husband, THANK YOU! The moment we drove across those tracks and spotted the barn in the distance, I knew this was the mouontain view/split rail fence backdrop I dreamed of for our big day. Everyone left wanting to come back. Tina, Scott, Kenny, Keith, EVERYONE - Thank you from our hearts.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable house, beautiful property

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 26, 2011

We rented the house for our extended family and were very pleased with our stay. The owner and caretaker were very flexible about arrival and departure times, breakfast, etc. The photos on the website don't do justice to how nice the property is. There are lots of fun things to do, especially for families. We met the friendly horses, romped on the hay bales, hung out in the hot tub, walked on the trails in the woods, had lunch outside, played on the swing, gazed at the mountains from the upstairs porch, and felt very relaxed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely gorgeous!

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

My husband and I rented the Manor House for the weekend with 3 other couples. This place is beautiful! We dropped our bags at the door and spent the next hour just walking through all the different rooms, admiring all the lovely details and decor. The kitchen is huge with plenty of room for multiple 'chefs'. The bedrooms are gorgeous, each unique in its decoration and style (one has a two-side fireplace). The property is beautiful, rolling hills, horses wandering around. The place is really breathtaking (and immaculate!) It was the perfect place for our "Big Chill" weekend:) CANT WAIT to go BACK!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review