reviews for: listing #89333 - Anna Maria Island, Florida House rental

Midnight channel
  • bedrooms  7
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $400 - $600 /nt
    $2,500 - $4,500 /wk
    $10,000 - $14,000 /mth

sort by:

Great Home Will Definately Stay Again!!

Review submitted: July 17, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

My family and I had a reunion in Florida and we stayed at this home for a week. It was wonderful! The home is right on the water and it only takes five minutes to walk to the beach! There is an outside shower so that when we got back we could rinse off before going inside. We went fishing right in the backyard and my children went out on the kayak pretty much all day and when they came home they were telling us about the dolphins that they saw in the water. Later on that day we went out on the boat and the landlord gave us great recommendations on where to fish.
The beds were EXTREMELY comfortable and the linens were brand new! I haven't slept that well in a really long time. It was wonderful!
All of the bathrooms were spotless (this is the first thing that I check out anywhere I stay). curtains also. Plenty of towels for everyone.
This was the best vacation we have ever taken and the landlord was so helpful with giving us ideas on where to eat and the best fishing spots when we took the boat out.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

usa2014

Review submitted: June 16, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2014

Very nice place to stay with friends , good location;

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house, could use a few improvements

Review submitted: May 15, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

My family of 11, ages 8 months to 85 years, stayed here for a week and had a great time. Some things in the house need to be improved that would be relatively inexpensive. With a few small improvements, I'd easily give it 5 stars.
Pros:
-Living area/dining room/kitchen is a wide open space, great for large groups. I cannot stress enough how nice this was.
-Brand new couches in the living room, plenty of seating for everyone.
-Nice wood floors in living area
-Huge kitchen with 2 sinks made cooking easy
-Some of the bathrooms have 2 sinks as well, making them easy to share.
-Having the pool and dock in the backyard was great, fishing was fun (a tip- we had the best luck with live shrimp bait), and kayaking was fun
-2 bikes were wonderful for exploring the island
-Can walk to the beach, or drive if you want; the parking was never full at the beach
-Owner was easy to work with. He answered all my questions; provided a high chair and pack n play as promised; even came to the house one day to clean the pool for us when a storm blew a lot of junk into it and the pool vac was needed.

Cons:
-Moldy vinyl shower curtains, mold in showers
-All the linens were pretty much awful; bath towels were stained, some were ratty, some even had holes in them. Some of the bed sheets were OK, others were terrible...one set was so thin that you could see through it.
-Bed pillows were also awful. The bedroom I used didn't have anything but the decorative pillows on the bed. There were some spares in the closet, but they had no pillowcases and they had yellow stains. Some pillows in the other bedrooms were so thin you had to fold them over once or twice to make them usable. Bring your own pillows if you can.
-No beach towels provided.
-Carpets in bedrooms are stained and dirty
-Most of the inside of the house could benefit from a fresh coat of paint, including the one wall in the bedroom that had no paint at all (just drywall and mud)
-Note that the lower level has 3 bedrooms, but only one small bath, making it not easy to share

Overall, I would definitely stay in this house again, but would bring my own pillows and towels! It is still a great house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for staying at my property, and thank you for taking the time to leave such an explicit and detailed review.
We value reviews like yours as it does help us maintain a nice and suitable environment for our guests.

-As you well know our property is one of the largest and most rented properties on Anna Maria Island, and some times we fail to inspect every towel and pillow every turnover.
However, we inspected all of the towels, pillows, sheets, and shower curtains and replaced what needed to be replaced, as we do on a regular basis .

-We also inspected all the bath rooms and the showers for mold, we were not able to find any, but we instructed our cleaning crew to bleach, steam and thoroughly clean the whole house, including the bathrooms, showers and tubs .

-we also had a week of vacancy which allowed us to steam clean all the carpets throughout the house, and touch up on the paint, we agree with what you said, "it is a small price to pay to make the property a 5 star property" .

-We encourage our guests to let us know our shortcomings during their stay, not weeks after the fact, because most of the issues you mentioned could have been remedied while you were visiting.
We do keep a storage room of towels, linens and pillows on the property, had we known that you were not satisfied with the items provided, we would have replaced them at the time.


Thank you
Matt

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great stay loads of room !!!!!!!

Review submitted: March 27, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

We were a family of 17 we took our family for a special trip the house was huge our ages were from 1 to 60 grand parents to great grand children all had a great time the Master bedroom was huge all the space was great huge kitchen dining and family room lots of sitting and the screened in sunroom was great for the small children and adults sitting out at night .Great fishing off the dock caught fish and cooked it .For a big group this is great close to beach can walk or drive 2 min and park right at the beach .lots of privacy !!!!!!would rent again for sure.Hard to find a place for this many people to be able to stay together and be together but also have your own space!! The Powells from ,NB Canada

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Happy renters at Thanksgiving time.

Review submitted: December 31, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

This is the second time that the house was rented for our son, his wife, and all their children, spouses, and their children(17 total). It is a great place for large family gatherings. The owner met us the day that everyone arrived. He was very informative, and told us the do's and don'ts. We rented the pontoon boat and made sure the pool was heated. He was fair with the fuel charge, so we would be happy to rent it again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect for our leadership retreat!

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: October 22, 2013

This place was perfect for our informal leadership retreat! Everything was comfortable, clean and in good condition. When we were not working or watching baseball, we were on that beautiful screened porch. It was a great place for drinks and conversation. We even had a few meals out there.

For our "working" conversations, there was plenty of room in the living room for everyone to circle around and have notebook, cup of coffee and their feet up. We really did get a lot of work done. It is so much easier to get into deep discussions and solve problems in a place like this versus a hotel with constant distractions.

Fortunately for us, one of the guys in our group loves to cook. The kitchen had everything he needed and we enjoyed some great meals.

There were no surprises. It was exactly what we expected from the description, photos and reviews. Give it a try - you won't be disappointed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Hello Craig,
Thank you for staying at my property,and thank you for your great review I am glad you enjoyed your stay and got a lot of work done ..
Hope to see you again soon ..

Matt

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Worry free rental for large group

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

1. Accurate description & Photos are representing well the property.
2. Clean enough. Minor maintenance issues (TV issues, broken window, stains & cracks e.g.), which caused no problem at all and actually made us feel more relax. Beds were quiet comfortable. Quiet street and neighbors. Huge cypress trees surround the pool, lot of needles fall in, but it turned into a game for the kids to go under water and pick them up. Didn't use the jacuzzi as it was nice to cool down in cool water.
3. Owner always available by phone, and accommodating which was particularly helpful and which made us even enjoy more our stay.
4. Deck with quick access to the sea and a public ramp (if you come with a boat)
5. Central location in Anna Maria. Convenient.
6. Would definitively recommend to large group needing space for adults and kids, with eventually different schedule.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Trip To Remember!

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

There were 15 of us in our party (6 adults and 9 kids. This house was perfect for the size of our group. The downstairs is set up as an apartment with bedrooms, bathrooms, kitchen, and living room. This was the perfect place for the teenagers to hang out and have their "own place". Matt met us upon our arrival and took us around the island to pick up some food, drinks, and our golf carts that we rented. It was quite nice of him to help us out. The day we arrived, the pool was green. Matt put chemicals in the pool daily but it took 4 days for it to clear up (a little disappointing). Once it cleared up, we swam in the pool and used the hot tub but the amount of chemicals used to clear up the water was bleaching our bathing suits. We went to the beach daily. What a beautiful beach! We rode our golf carts to the beach. However, it is 3 blocks away (10 min walk). The trolley brings you north and south of the island too (2 blocks away). One day we went fishing and came back to the house to grill our fish. The grill was not working. It is old and would not heat up enough to cook our fish. So, we had to finish our dinner in the oven (also disappointing).
On the bright side, Matt's home is very spacious and the perfect place for large groups. We all had our privacy with the amount of bedrooms and bathrooms. We enjoyed the screen porch every morning while we looked out at the channel. We fished daily off dock and enjoyed spending time there. Matt's house is in a great location to the beach, restaurants, and to catch the trolley. It is located in a beautiful section of Anna Maria Island. This was a trip to remember!!

Owners response: Hello, and thank you for your review, I am happy that the house was big enough for you, and you guys had a lot of fun.
As for the pool it is unfortunate that the previous tenant turned the pool equipment off by error, it had to be chocked and filter to get back to normal, we will start checking on the pool a couple of days early so this incident would not happen again .
As for the grill it worked fine when we tried it , I think someone turned it on, then opened the propane from the tank which puts it in safety mode and will not get very hot, I would have taking care of it if I had known at the time.
Over all I am happy that you and your families enjoyed your time on the Island, it was very nice meeting all of you . hope to see you again .

Matt

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved Anna Maria Island

Review submitted: May 1, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

My family met here for the first time and we had a wonderful time! There were 12 of us and the house was spacious and comfortable. We spent a lot of time fishing off the dock and eating on the screened porch. The pool was clean and comfortable and used daily. This was a short walk to the beach that we enjoyed daily. The local restaurants were delicious and friendly. The owner, Matt, was helpful and accommodating. The property was clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Big Crowd pleaser!

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

The house was very spacious! Not only did we have our own bedrooms and plenty of bathrooms, but there was a fabulous screened in porch, vast living room/dining room/kitchen space, and very well equipped kitchen. We loved having the kayak and bicycles (although old) to use, as well as the pool and hot tub. Matt was very attentive to our needs and gave us a beautiful sunset cruise! The pool could use daily attention, however. Because of the number of trees surrounding it, it has to be vacuumed and skimmed on an ongoing basis. Outside of the pool issues, the only criticism we would have is that the house is tired. It needs a fresh face; i.e., paint, sanding of outside decks, tile floors refurbished, etc. The location is perfect for getting to the beach (a short walk), and having the trolley system on the island makes getting around very easy. We had a great time! If you have a big crowd, this is the house to get!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Midnight channel home

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

This spacious home was the perfect size for our 8 adults and 6 children. We used the pool and hot tub daily. We loved the screened porch, and there was plenty of seating for everyone. We rented the deck boat, used the kayak, and enjoyed taking trips around the island. We even saw dolphins right at the end of our canal. It was nice having the table tennis and TV's/DVD players for the kids. Matt was very responsive to our needs. He recommended some great restaurants (Star Fish Company Market and Restaurant in Cortez and the Rod and Reel in Anna Maria). We will definitely try to stay here again if we come back to the island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great time on Anna Maria Island

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 9, 2013

We (14 total 6 adults and 8 children) had a wonderful time at the Midnight Channel. The house is large enough so we never felt cramped up and the kitchen and eating area were large enough to satisfy our needs. It was nice to have mutiple bathrooms throughout the house. We utilized the pool and hot tub daily, heating the hot tub off and on and the price was very reasonable for propane the week. We also rented the pontoon for the week and enjoyed daily trips sightseeing the beautiful homes on the waters edge around the island. The kids went fishing daily off the dock and caught a variety of fish and we even had two fish frys. (Careful!!! if you leave the bait bucket full of shrimp on the dock, the local robber nicknamed longlegs will help himself to lunch) Matt was always available for any questions if you have a problem.
The house is located on a quiet dead-end street, we always felt comfortable letting the kids ride the bikes or just go for a walk to explore.
Overall this is a great place for large groups at a reasonable price. I would stay here again if we decide to visit Anna Maria Island again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great time in Anna Maria

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: February 9, 2013

Had a wonderful week of vacation in February. We were a party of 14 with 6 adults and 8 Children. The house was more than big enough so the adults never felt cramped up. The house is located on a quiet dead-end street. The pool and hot tub were well used by all. We heated the hot tub daily for use and the total bill was $130 for propane for the week, well worth the price to enjoy. The kitchen was large enough to feed our small army and the appliances are new. We also rented the pontoon for the week and enjoyed trolling around looking at the beautiful homes around the island. I went to the local bait shop and bought 2 fishing poles for $20 each and the kids had a great time catching everything from spanish mackerel to puffer fish. We even had a couple fish frys from the fish we caught off the dock. Overall this is a great place to stay for a large group at a reasonable price. I would stay here again if we ever come back to Anna Maria Island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Place to Stay, All as Promised

Review submitted: December 16, 2012   Date of arrival: November 20, 2012

We rented this house to visit family for Thanksgiving week and liked the fact that this house was larger, would permit separate bedrooms for our kids and was on the water.

We had an excellent stay at the house. It's a big house - the rooms are big and there are plenty of them. It would be ideal for a couple of families or groups of friends to share. The house itself, furniture, appliances, etc. are all in very good condition. The house was clean and completely ready for our arrival when we showed up. It's on the water and we enjoyed the boat as part of our rental as well.

The neighborhood is quiet and safe. We walked a lot all over the island in the evenings with no concerns.

The entire family truly enjoyed the experience and wished we could have spent more time here. We agreed that we would definitely try to stay here again in the future if possible.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Rev. Cindy

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

The house was very spacious and comfortable. Having two kitchens was a plus for our large family. Unfortunately, we could not use the boat because of Hurricane Issac. We did utilize the pool and the hot tub and spent a lot of time at the dock. The beach was beautiful and the trolley stop was nearby. The owner, Matt was available for any questions or concerns. Everyone had a wonderful time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Peaceful and Serene Vacation

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

We had a great experience at this beautiful home on Anna Maria Island . We enjoy traveling, and finding new places to visit. We will definately stay here again. There was plenty of space for the whole family, the home was very clean, the owner was very hospitable.(plenty of toilet paper) If we needed anything we just called Matt and he was more than happy to help. There were plenty of enjoyable activities to do. We played ping pong, played pool, and grilled outside. One of our favorite parts was taking the kayaks out. The home is right on the water so it was very easy. We kayaked around the whole island. There are so many things to do within .5 a mile from the house. We even rode bikes that were provided for us to restraunts, the library, the pier, and to the beach. We enjoyed surises and sunsets every morning and night on the deck. The pool was just the right temperature. Taking the boats out was so simple because the home is located right on the water there were also fishing poles provided and great fishing spots that Matt told us about.. It is a beautiful hime with all new appliances. Thanks Matt!! Hope to see you again soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 5

 

Great Location & Great House

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

Our summer plans were granted when we found this large home for rent. We were excited to find out that it slept 14 to 16 people perfect for what we needed, very spacious and roomy. The home was located on the bayside with great canal views from all the outside decks. The kids went fishing from the dock and caught alittle something and swam in the pool for hours. We all had our breakfast on the upper deck in the mornings, then it was off to the beach which was walking distance. This home has it all, and love the open kitchen area, and also the kitchenet downstairs. All the beds were very comfortable and everything nice and clean. Everything about this home is inviting and our family would recommend this home to everyone. Thanks for making this a perfect vacation for our family!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great Family Get Together

Review submitted: August 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

This was the first time we were able to get all five daughters, their husbands, and grandkids together at one time and the house worked out perfectly for us. The kids ate at the counter on the barstools everyday which was very convenient and the two refrigerators were a lifesaver. I also liked the size of the washer and dryer, which was very handy to do large loads at one time. The kids enjoyed the pool everyday and the beach was close enough that we spent a good amount of time there too. We also enjoyed the screened in porch every evening. Matt also took 9 of us out fishing for a day and everyone had a great time. A few suggestions I'd have is to recover the kitchen cushions, they were originally white, and the living room couch cushions are losing their support. But overall, we had a great time and we would definitely go back.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

BEWARE BEWARE BEWARE

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

The house in my opinion was not luxurious at all. When our family arrived the pool was so green and cloudy you could not see the bottom ...the diving board was taped to the stand. The floors were filthy...dark stains on the carpet. The house overall was dirty with dust on all ceiling fans as well as the dresser. The toilet would not flush and the sinks and tubs were stained. There was a large dog kennel that was dirty and the grill had leftover burnt food in it. The owner was there and was not concerned with the issues. He stated it was not a resort just a home. When we pointed out all the issues the owner said it was not his problem and if we do not like the pool then do not swim in the pool. We rented the boat that was supposed to come from a marina. It was supposed to be for 12 people but the boat was a different one that would only hold 8. There were not enough life jackets for the boat. The shades were damaged and many sections had large gaps where people could see into the house. The owner would not help us at all...this was a horrible vacation experience!

Owners response: Hello,
we are very sorry about your experience.
We acknowledge that the property was not completely ready as the guests arrived early. we ask guests to call us at least 2 hours prior to arrival just to make sure that every thing is in order.
WE OFFERED THE GUEST COMPENSATION AND TO COME BACK IN A COUPLE OF HOURS.
The cloudy pool was shocked and cleared in 4 hours, also the cleaning issues that were mentioned were done in 2 hours.
The diving board was taped because it was in the process of being removed for liability and safety reasons.
As for the boat , it is rated for 12 passengers or 1850 pounds, that rating is on the coast guard sticker affixed to the boat, also the boat has enough life jackets as it is a requirement by the coast guard.
we strive really hard to make our guests happy, and we succeed most of the time as it is reflected by our reviews and the repeat business that we get. our occupancy rate is unparalleled on the Island.

Helpful votes: 9 / 13

 

Anna Maria Island stay

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: April 28, 2012

We had a great vacation in Anna Maria...Matt's house was very large and spacious, we had 14 people in our group and had plenty of space. I would recommend this house highly and would definitely stay there again!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

great location, house needs updates

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

The best thing about this rental is the great location and it's large size. However we were very unhappy about the condition of the home. The appliances were very tired and old, the carpets worn ,and showers moldy. Some windows were broken and paint peeling. There was not enough soap. toilet paper to last even a day. The boat was not in the best shape.
Our large family has rented vacation homes together for the last 6 years and this is the first time we have run into this. We were charged extra to heat the hot tub which I felt should have been included in the rental fee. All in all we had a great vacation but it was not what we expected .

Owners response: Glad that you had a good vacation, we did not hear from you during your stay, so we assumed that every thing was fine, if you have any problems in our property you should let us know about it while you are there, we would have been able to take care of things for you.
We normally leave one roll of toilette paper and a small bar of soap as a courtesy in each bath room, which has been sufficient in the past, if we had known that this was an issue during your stay we would have been glad to supply you with more .
Also the appliances were replaced with a new top of the line stainless steel set, please see pictures.
As for the boat , it was inspected and every thing was fine, you used 60 gallons of fuel in one week, which translate to a lot of hours of fun.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Lots of Room

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

Re-reading the reviews below, I must say I agree with most of the information provided. The big pluses include: plenty of room for big families, LOTS of bathrooms(!!!), very comfortable beds, plenty of dishes and silverware; the hot tub was a huge hit, and the screened dining area was a favorite place to relax. We had a great week on the Island - the beach was beautiful!

The main issue we had was that the house was "tired." Everything felt very used. The appliances were old and very warn and not in great condition, the walls and trim were in need of paint, some of the furniture was on its last legs, the wood decks and stairs were splintery, the grill didn't work well, the pool was on the dirtier side... Nothing we couldn't live with, but it's obvious this house has been well used and enjoyed, and it could use some sprucing-up.

The location is fine - about a 3 block walk to the beach and a 5 minute drive to Publix/food shopping. The house is in a quiet neighborhood. All in all, I'd give the property a 3.5 to 4.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Hello,
Thank you for staying at my property and thank you for your review.
I am glad that you had a great vacation at my property, and most of the issues you mentioned were cosmetic and none of them had a negative impact on your vacation.
we did take some steps to correct some of the issues you mentioned, like painting the trim, getting new top of the line stainless steel appliances, and asking our pool sevice to check on the pool more often.
I could not find any thing wrong with the furniture nor the grill as it was replaced only a month ago.
our house is the most rented and reviewd house of it's size on the Island, our price is fair and well below market, and we like to keep it that way.
We try to keep our house user friendly because we want you to feel at home . after all it is a private home and not a resort ..

Helpful votes: 7 / 9

 

Plenty of Room

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 8, 2012

This house is the perfect set up for large parties, family reunions, etc. Matt graciously allowed us to have our son's wedding reception at the house where most places wouldn't even consider it. The layout is very spacious and accommodating. The only downside of this rental was that the house needs maintenance, new appliances and a thorough cleaning. It is close to the beach and you can see the most amazing sunrises from the upstairs deck. We had a wonderful time. Thanks, Matt!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

It tells it just like it is- a large, comfortable vacation home with al the amenities!

Review submitted: February 6, 2012   Date of arrival: January 21, 2012

Midnight Channel fit our needs to a "t". We were two older adults with two children and 7 grandchildren. The accomodations are large, well appointed and so situated that everyone was able to enjoy their privacy. Two kitchens helped and the outdoor enclosed screen porch was delightful. The owner went out of his way in bringing over a newer gas grill (the older one worked but wasn't very clean) and was equally responsive to other minor problems we encountered. We would stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Nice Rental

Review submitted: February 5, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

Wow, what a wonderful time we 12 "girls" had at this house and Anna Maria Island. This house was located on the bay water in a neighborhood that was so quiet and peaceful, providing the best winter getaway! The house was nice with wonderful decks and the landscaping was very tropical with large palm trees providing a very seculded and serene atmosphere. We also rented a golf cart to get back and forth to the beach and was very handy as the beach is a couple of blocks from the house. I would definately recommend this house and hopefully can get back there again. Anna Maria is the best little Island I have ever visited!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

January Girls Getaway

Review submitted: February 2, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

The lovely Midnight Channel Home with 7 bedrooms and 41/2 baths perfectly fitted the needs of our group of "girls" for a week-long "slumber party type" getaway with our friends. In August we decided to invite every lady in our high school graduating class (of 1960). The 12 of us who finally were able to make the trip to beautiful Anna Maria Island in January had a wonderful time. The two kitchens were perfect for cooking meals together or separately, the upstairs and downstairs "living rooms" were fantastic for sitting and chatting and playing "whole group" games like Bonko and What Comes Next..." as well as viewing on the computer, all the pictures we took during each day. We really appreciated the wifi connection. The multi-channel TV was hardly used. There was so much else to do! We rode the free trolley to get a "view" of the island, then paid 60 cents (Sr. Pass) to ride the bus to Sarasota across Longboat Key where we had lunch at the Columbia House. One night we had a barbeque using the grill at the house, and another evening, after we had relaxed in the spa, Matt, the owner, took us on a magnificent "sunset cruise" on his fishing boat. Some of the girls even caught fish. All of us got fantastic pictures of the sunset. Then there was the Master bedroom suite...the bathroom was to die for, yes, but the CLOSET!!!! It is gigantic! Big enough for all 12 of us, but only 2 of us shared it. The house was cosy and comfortable. We had such fun! The beach was only two and a half blocks away. Some of the girls rented a golf cart, the rest of us went in the car, or walked. It was gorgeous. Would we do it again? Oh, yes!!!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Handsome vacation home

Review submitted: February 2, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

I stayed in this ample vacation house with 11 other classmates from my highschool days. It was roomy, bright and clean with attractive decor. One great plus was the easy walk to the free-trolley stop giving access to almost anywhere on the island. We were treated to a nice sunset boat trip for a small fee and I recommend the house for a large group visiting Anna Maria Island.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Destination Wedding

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

We rented this home in mid-September of this year (2011) and for the price you can not go wrong. The home has a great location on the island and has more than enough room for a large get together. We had 10 adults and 4 children. We used the kayak almost daily as well as the ping-pong table. We were able to fish off the dock and catch enough fish to keep the children happy. Overall Matt the owner said it perfect this is not a resort so if you are looking for that go somewhere else but if you want a large house with a great loaction for one of the best rates on the island...this should be your choice. I'm sure we will stay in this home again when we come back for future trips.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

midnight channel bliss

Review submitted: August 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

My wife and i loved the property, its wonderfull, and so is anna maria. We took our daughter,son, there spouses, our grandson and his girlfriend,and our two teenage grand daughters on a vacation. there were 10 in our group. we were there to celebrate the 4th of july together. best fireworks display we have ever witnessed. just a 5 minute walk to the beach from the house. the pool was great, the boat was great. the house was luxurious with plenty of room. We loved the city pier resturant, and the sign of the mermaid. the publix grocery store had everything,including great subs. shopping was fun too, there are many shops on the island. the weather was great,the people were friendly, it was a safe haven. Matt was very gracious and helpfull to us. we loved the island so much that my wife and i are now looking to buy a home on anna maria, thanks again Matt.for everything.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Awesome vacation!

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

We had a wonderful week in Midnight Channel! Like some other posters have said, the house is not in pristine condition, but problems were minor. The major one was the ice maker. This, however, is a great house for large groups. We had four families, and everyone had plenty of room. We found Matt to be personable - he even spent some time on the dock giving my young grandson some fishing tips. And boy, did those tips pay off!

We thoroughly enjoyed the house, the pool, the ping-pong table, the kayak, and especially the dock. It was great to be able to cast out a line and watch it while staying cool in the pool. We're planning on returning to the same house next year, hopefully for two weeks.

I totally recommend this house for anyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Would not hesitate to go back again

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Everything went to plan for our arrival just how Matt had explained.
The house is very large, comfortable and spacious and you can’t get a real idea of the size from the website photos alone. It is in a very good position with a large canal dock at the back. I think whilst we were there the pool cleaners came at least twice, the younger member made use of the bikes, fishing poles and the excellent Kayak. Matt was out of town for our duration but we were welcomed the next day by, who is Matt’s friend. She was able to answer any questions we had at the time.
This house is fantastic for large families and groups and you can always find a quite corner. My favourite area is outside just of the main living area, it is an outside space but screened so you can sit out and relax with a book and a glass or two of wine.
I would highly recommend this property to anyone who might be considering it

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Best Holiday Ever

Review submitted: August 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 10, 2011

We have recently retired and decided to take our family for a once in a life time holiday to Florida, before the lump sum runs out!! Travelling with us were our daughters, son, grandchildren, mother and brother, a party of 12 aged from 12 months to 88 years.

We set off from our home near Heathrow (London) at 8am on 10th April and eventually arrived on Anna Maria Island at midnight (Florida time), exhausted after a 22 hour delayed journey.

We opened the door and stepped into paradise.

The house was perfect for our requirements and we loved the swimming pool, the jetty for fishing and the upstairs outdoor eating area for our communal meals. The owner had provided bicycles, kayak,
table tennis, fishing rods, etc, for our use.

We had a fantastic time visiting Disney, Busch Gardens, Adventure Island and local adventure golf but most of all, just a short walk away, the beautiful beach, warm sea and glorious climate.

We hope we can make it back some day, if somebody treats us and would recommend this house to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Fit

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

My family had a wonderful week in Anna Maria. The house was a perfect fit for all of us and we used every space! The Master bedroom is huge and the closet is enormous so my two youngest grandchildren (7 and 9) slept in the closet on a double air mattress. The house was clean and comfortable but not pristine, There were plenty of dishes and pots and pans. The deck boat really made the vacation work for us. We rented it for the week and the owner took us out the first day to explain how to operate it. That was a big help. We enjoyed going out every day for sunsets, even lunch one day, and over to an island to explore. With my four children and their families coming from all directions, we had plenty of cars and the parking accommodated all of them. We enjoyed the ping-pong table, cable TV's, downstairs apartment, pool, bikes, screened porch, The owner was available when we needed him to come, taking care of replacing the disposal, and attempting to fix the refrigerator. The ice maker never did work and it leaked water on the floor, but he did try to fix it twice. I believe he plans to replace it.
Anna Maria and Holmes Beach have been our favorite vacation spot for years.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house for a large group!

Review submitted: June 30, 2011   Date of arrival: April 28, 2011

We recently stayed at Midnight Channel with 6 other couples (14 adults total!) when we were in town for a wedding. The size and layout of the house was perfect for a group our size. The main living area had more than enough room for us all to hang out together and the two decks and extra living room provided space to escape if anyone wanted to relax alone with a book. The pool was great, and I liked that it was partially shaded. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook a few huge meals and, most importantly to me, a working blender for beverages! We really appreciated the bikes and kayak that were available for use with the house. The bikes were perfect for exploring the beautiful island. Matt was very helpful and quick to respond to our emails with questions about the property. I would definitely recommend this house for a large group visiting Anna Maria Island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for staying at my property, I hope you enjoyed your vacation Anna Maria Island, and we hope to see you again soon ..

Matt

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Terrific vacation Home

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

Ten members of my family stayed at this house. It was fantastic!!! The accomadations were great. The cable went out but was promplty fixed by Matt King who, I might add, was not only very personable but made certain that we had everything we needed. The boat rental was well worth the $500.00. Our grandkids, and some of the adults, thoroughly enjoyed fishing in the canal when they weren't on the boat. A great place for a family vacation.

Owners response: Thank you for such a great review, I am glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at my property, and thank you for being a great tenant, hope to see you on your next vacation ..

Thank you

Matt

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Spacious, Great Layout, Plenty To Do!

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

This house was the perfect size for the 15 of us traveling together. The layout couldn't have been any better. We traveled with 6 adults and 9 kids and felt the house to be very spacious. The main living, dining, and kitchen area was able to accommodate our entire group all at once. We all enjoyed the use of the hot tub, ping pong table, bikes and kayak. We were disappointed when we arrived on a Saturday to find that the boat we had rented was not running. The owner was able to locate a bigger,better boat for us and had it available on Monday. We enjoyed the use of that boat every single day along with fishing off the dock. Anna Maria Island is an absolutely beautiful place to visit and we look forward to vacationing here again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you for staying at my property, I hope you enjoyed your vacation Anna Maria Island, and we hope to see you again soon ..

Matt

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect for our extended family of 12

Review submitted: April 25, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

Celebrated 50th anniversary with our children and grandchildren and this house was perfect for it. We had 4 teenagers, and the lower level with 3 bedrooms, TV room, kitchenette was perfect for them. Four bedrooms up worked for the rest of us. Large open kitchen, dining and living room opening on the huge screened deck worked great for us too. The kayak was used everyday by many of our group and we fished off the dock. We all used the hot tub, 11 of us at once! There were a couple minor issues, but overall this house worked for us better than we could have imagined. Loved Anna Maria Island!!

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you for staying at my property and for the great review, hope you guys enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back and stay with us again ..

Thank you ..

Matt

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Love this home!

Review submitted: January 30, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

This gorgeous home far exceeded our expectations. Clean, spacious, and beautifully furnished...it was perfect in every way. It easily accomodated our family of 11 adults very comfortably. The location near the beach was ideal. We all enjoyed our morning coffee on the huge screened deck, overlooking the waterway, basking in the morning sunshine. Breakfast was prepared in the large, well-equipped kitchen. The ping pong table, kayak, pool, and hot tub provided endless hours of family activity. In all, this lovely home had everything we wanted and hoped for! We're checking our schedules and hope to be back next year!! And this time, we'll rent the fabulous boat!

We HIGHLY RECOMMEND this wonderful home as very comfortable for groups of all ages. Teen, couples, and elderly...there's something for everyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great choice ..

Review submitted: January 28, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2010

I am glad that we picked Anna Maria Island for my wedding .we needed a large property to accommodate all my family members that came from Italy to attend the wedding.
We were lucky to find such a large, nice, well equipped, spacious property, every one had plenty of room, we opened the kitchen,dining room and the patio which was plenty of room for my large Italian family to sit and eat together .
we used the hot tub which was large enough for every one ..
Thank you Matt for making my family feel at home, and thank you for helping me make my wedding a great and an unforgettable experience ..

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very nice home

Review submitted: January 28, 2011   Date of arrival: October 25, 2010

We rented this property for our church, for a 5 day youth bible study, It was a great experience, every one had a great time.
The property was very spacious, well equipped and furnished to handle a large group.
The beaches were nice, and very close, and the Island was a great choice for us.
We recommend this property for large groups, who are looking for a spacious property to accommodated every one ..

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Enjoyed Our Stay on Anna Maria Island

Review submitted: January 17, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

Large house that provided enough space and beds for our extended family. There was a new ping-pong table and 2 new bikes we used to cruise around Anna Maria Island. We rented the poontoon boat and explored the canals and island in the gulf. Property was clean and well stocked with new pots/pans and plenty of dishes and silverware. Plenty of parking and kids enjoyed using the kayak. We paid extra money for the propane for jacuzzi which was enjoyable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you for your review, and thank you for being such a good tenant, we enjoyed having you and hope you come back and see us again soon ..

Matt

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Poorly Maintained

Review submitted: December 1, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

This home is very spacious but is poorly maintained. The owner spends very little effort and money to maintain this property.

- The washing machine didn't work.
- The dryer didn't work.
- The door handle fell off the bathroom door.
- The refrigerator leaks and doesn't dispense ice.
- The screened-in porch screens are torn up.
- There is a giant hole in the wall in one of the bedrooms.
- There is a "bullet like" hole in one of the windows.
- Pots and pans were so nasty that we had to purchase cookware to make food.
- Grill didn't light.
- Pool tiles were chipped.

The owner and the repair technician came over multiple times to work on fixing the washing machine and dryer which was intrusive. The washing machine and dryer did finally get fixed.

The house was not clean. This actually became very frustrating after a few days.

The owner surprised us on the day we were supposed to arrive with the fact that we were responsible for the propane used to heat the pool. This propane topic was never brought up ahead of time and is not mentioned in the rental agreement. The propane cost ended up being about $130 PER DAY! We had to turn off the pool heater because the cost of heating the pool outweighed the need to use it.

Also, the description says that there is a pool table in the house... there isn't one.

If you are not picky about the condition of the rental property this is a good choice. It's not too far from some very lovely beaches.

In my opinion, for the cost... I would evaluate other options.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you for your review,
It is unfortunate that the washer broke during your visit, causing some hardship, especially when you have 8 children under the age of four, but were able to fix it in two days even though we had to ship a part from Michigan.
Also during these two days we offered to do your laundry for you, and we offered you some financial compensation, we feel this could happen at any property.and we handled it properly ..
As for the propane cost, every guest is informed in advance concerning the cost, and it is printed as an additional cost, at the rate page, I am sorry if you did not see it ..charging for propane is a normal practice as the cost can get out of control ..
we appreciate reviews that are written in a positive spirit to help us maintain a good relationship with our renters, but we have the feeling that your review was written with the intention to hurt that relationship.
our rental history speaks for itself, we have the largest, nicest, and best priced property on the island, and complaining about one inch hole in the screen, or a couple of missing tiles on the edge of the pool is not going to change that..
As for the complaint that the property was not clean, we are going to disregard that since the same crew have been cleaning the property for months now, and we never had any complains, also as I recall that you had 3 families of your friends there with 6 of there children ages 1 to 3 one day before you arrived, and we all know how much damage six kids can do to a clean house in a matter of hours..
we are sorry that you feel the way you do, and hope you have better experiences with other owners..

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Great for large family

Review submitted: July 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 13, 2010

This home was spacious for our family and friend reunion. We enjoyed all of the rooms, and felt very comfortable. Lots of room to move around and gather around tables, lanai, tv, kitchen, etc... we loved the spacious floorplans. The kids enjoyed the pool, and having so much room with the backyard, we used the grill, and ate in the lanai, played games and relaxed...... We travel often to Anna Maria, and absolutely love the beaches, shops, and amenities. The weather was fabulous and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. On this particular trip, we needed more room to accommodate more friends and family and this home was just what we were looking for. Thanks for having everything we needed, dishes, utensils, cooking items, and drinking water :) ... This place is close to everything. Owner offered boat rental, but we ran out of time....maybe on our next trip :). We look forward to coming back. Thanks for the memories! -

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for such a great review, and for being such great tenants..
We would love to have you again, please stay in touch ..

Matt

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review