reviews for: listing #89334 - Anna Maria Island, Florida House rental

Island Delight
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $180 - $300 /nt
    $1,300 - $1,800 /wk
    $5,000 - $7,000 /mth

sort by:

Peace and Quiet

Review submitted: April 15, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

We had about enough of the polar vortex so we looked for a property in and around Tampa that was dog friendly we found this place. Matt met us at the property and gave us a tour of the house and he answered all our questions. I found Matt to be very laid back and easy going and very dog friendly which is a plus. The house is very spacious and everything worked. We had the AC on at about 73 and had the ceiling fans running which kept the house cool enough for us. I didn't use the AC in the master bedroom just had the ceiling fan on. Although, the ceiling fan in the bedroom with the bunk beds is very close to the top bunk and that would be a concern if I had kids staying in that room. All kitchen appliances are fairly new and worked properly. The back of the house is perfect for catching some rays and fishing off the dock or just lounging.

Matt gave us a head's up about the washer possibly over-flowing but we had no issues. Matt also told us about a leak from the ceiling vent if it rained hard enough. It rained really hard one day during our stay and I was expecting a flood but it was a just few drops, I placed a make shift bucket under the vent and lined it with a paper towel until it stopped, the paper towel was barely damp. The place could use a paint job but I've stayed in "5 star" hotels that needed more than a paint job. The bar-b-que is well used and I would recommend replacing it but it worked. We didn't have an ant or bug problem, there were sufficient bug control in the house. The only negative is that across the street a new house is being built, the workers would start at 8:00 am hammering and sawing so for the first 4 days there was no sleeping in but that's beyond Matt's control. Which was alright it was motivation to get up, go get coffee and enjoy the morning.

If we return to Anna Maria Island in the future I would stay at this property again.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation Home

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: December 20, 2013

The home was very spacious for the 5 of us. A very wheelchair friendly home. Large walk in shower, and most rooms had wide doorways, with lots of room to manoeuver around. Matt provided a ramp to enter the home either through the front door or through the garage. Only three blocks from the beach, and close to several restaurants, this was an ideal location. We would not hesitate to stay here again. Description of the property is very accurate.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

fisherman's delight

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

The location of the house is excellent. Matt was very friendly and accommodating. The house is laid out very nicely and is spacious. A very good deal. It was nice to see such a place available at an affordable rate. We brought our boat and enjoyed anna maria island's fishing.
Our family enjoyed anna maria island and our stay at this location. We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Accommodating and Quiet

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

A Great Place to enjoy a vacation. Quiet, convenient, accommodating.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great Place!

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

Cute house, very spacious, nicely updated, great back yard and patio on the canal, nice large refridgerator and updated washer and dryer, great island, great food, cute shops! Exactly what we expected. Just like the pictures. Very nice accesible owner who is tending to the leak in the ceiling...which never bothered us btw. Enjoyed jogging around the nice community. All was great!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

disappointed

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

It will be hard to trust reviews in the future.Our experience was not so good.The a/c is very noisy and barely reaches the master bedroom so you have to use the window a/c(not mentioned)which is even noisier.Paint was peeling in the master and 2nd bath ceilings.The roof leaked in the living room and had many stains one night was so bad we had to put towels on the floor.The fan in the 3rd bedroom is dangerously close to the bunk bed and hit my son in the head.The patio furniture is in rough condition and one of the chairs cut my sisters leg.We had a problem in a couple of rooms with ants,which Matt did take care of by spraying something around all the baseboards in every room,we were told its a common problem.We were told not to lock the garage door because Matt needed access but left us feeling a bit unsafe to leave to leave anything out there.The appliances and living room tv were very good just a shame about all the other stuff.I dont normally write reviews and this is not the case of a disgruntled renter being mean,I read reviews wanting some honest feed back so thats what Ive tried to give for others.

Owners response: Hello, Thank you for your review and sorry for your disappointment.
I do not know what you mean by AC noisy, it is a central AC like any other, I added the extra unit to the master BR because it is on the east side of the house and tends to get a little warmer.
The pinhole roof leak was repaired, and the stains from the leak were repainted.
The bunk bed was moved and the patio furniture was replaced.
Hope your next trip will be more pleasant..

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Great home and location

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

Very nice and relaxing location. Home was clean, spacious and comfortable. Walking distance to nice beaches and plenty of restaurants nearby. Great place to get away from everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 4

 

peaceful retreat

Review submitted: December 13, 2011   Date of arrival: October 10, 2011

We had a lovely time at this great location. We stayed for six weeks and the pictures of the home are a true representation. Fishing is great right off the dock. Couldn't recommend higher.

Helpful votes: 3 / 7

 

Great Vacation Spot

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

My husband and I, our two teenage sons, my sister, and a friend stayed at this home in mid-April. It was much more spacious than the picture would indicate. It has been updated nicely inside, with a very nice kitchen and amenities. The master bedroom and bathroom are very large and private with a doored hallway separating it from the second bedroom and bathroom. We brought beach towels and some linens, but were happily surprised to see that the owner provides these. Our beds were made with freshly washed sheets when we arrived--nice! We rented the owner's boat at an additional cost, but it broke down before our arrival so he secured us a rental (a bit more $ but also a much larger and nicer boat). If you can afford the extra cost, a boat is a very nice thing to have because you can just head straight out the canal and into the bay. We are relative boating novices and found the whole experience manageable and lots of fun. It's about a 5-minute walk to the beach, which is just lovely with white sand and clear water. I recommend this as a great vacation get-away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

very nice and large home

Review submitted: January 28, 2011   Date of arrival: October 25, 2010

Very nice and spacious property, we rented it for our church for a 5 day bible study, It was a great experience, every body had a great time, the beaches were nice and the house was big enough and equipped for all of us.. I would recommend this property for any group who is looking for a large home ..

Helpful votes: 2 / 6

 

First Rate Home-- Spectacular Views-- Bring Your Boat!

Review submitted: April 24, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

This home could not be nicer: new tile, stainless appliances, granite counters, leather couches...but the real value lies in the beautiful view right out the back door. You'll be at the end of a quiet, deep-water canal. We kept our 23' boat at the dock, ready for exploring...don't miss the beaches at Egmont Key or wakeboarding in Sarasota Bay, even a day trip up the Manatee River. The water in Tampa Bay looks like the Carribean.

Our owner was very professional and accomodating-- he met us at check-in to answer any questions we might have about the house and the island. Anything we needed was just a phone call away.

The closest beach is Holmes Beach-- about a 3 minute bike ride. It's spectacular, wide, sandy, and un-crowded. Nothing commercial and no high-rises. Manatee Public Beach is mid-island at Hwy 64-- life guards, rest rooms, beach front snack bar, play ground etc. All the public beaches are clean and safe. For our favorite beach experience, travel to the north end of Anna Maria to Bean Point. This sandy shoal extends out to a sandbar great for wading and skim boarding (at low tide). If it's a windy day, just walk around the corner to the bay side beach-- flat, calm, and crystal clear. It's truly amazing.

We recommend the Rod & Reel Pier for breakfast and some fishing. Folks were pulling in Spanish Mackerel all morning. Both of our boys fished the piers, beaches, and did a little trolling off the boat.

All in all, AMI is one of the prettiest places we've ever been to. I would book again in a heart-beat. Enjoy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Vacation yet ( Hamilton, Ont,Canada)

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 15, 2010

The house was newly renovated with ceramics and granite throughout the home. Stainless steel appliances added to this great vacation. Fishing from the dock and walking on the beach, which is only three blocks away, were highlights and of course the reason for going to Florida. The owner was very helpful by informing us of the sights to see and which restaurants to go to. Da Giorios restaurant was great, and Dunedin was only one hour away to see the Blue Jays. I would recommend this great place to anybody.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure seekers, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Sightseeing, Families with teenagers, Families with young children, Romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

perfect vacation

Review submitted: April 7, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

The house was newly renovated with ceramics and granite throughout the home. Stainless steel appliances added to this great vacation. Fishing from the dock and walking on the beach, which is only three blocks away, were highlights and of course the reason for going to Florida. The owner was very helpful by informing us of the sights to see and which restaurants to go to. Da Giorios restaurant was great, and Dunedin was only one hour away to see the Blue Jays. I would recommend this great place to anybody.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, we enjoyed having you, and meeting you, I am glad you had a great vacation and I hope you come back and see us, Thank you again for being great people...

Matt

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review