reviews for: listing #89349 - Portland, Oregon Apartment rental

Classic Irvington Apartment(2)
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Irvington
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $125 /nt
    $835 - $835 /wk
    $3,000 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

Old world charm!

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: January 15, 2014

Our family of 6 (2 adults and 4 kids) stayed at Vladimir's Irvington apartment and enjoyed our stay very much!! The apartment was beautiful and cozy and oh so comfortable! We stayed for 6 nights and didn't get to enjoy the apartment as much as we were out and about a lot (super convenient location!). We were right by the Lloyd center so the kids could go ice skating, we were 27 minutes from Multnomah Falls, and close enough to Salem and Hillsboro to visit family. Big plus, got security deposit refunded next day! Thanks for everything again Vladimir!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quiet, large, and convienent place to stay

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: December 9, 2013

Really neat classic apartment building with a lot of the original charm. Quiet; comfortable beds; within walking distance to grocery store, eateries, and the Lloyd Center. Washer and dryer in the basement. Liked it very much and will stay there again when I'm there for fun or business. Cute, safe neighborhood. Price was adjusted to meet my per diem; very nice of the owner to work with me on that.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Meeting in the middle

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

We flew in from out of state, the kids drove and we all landed in the same townfor Christmas. Great experience for all! Working fireplace made the holidays super cozy. Excellent (quiet, safe) location made pre & post Christmas shopping & activities easy peasy. Owner was very responsive to any & all questions re the rental.
The ONLY drawbacks: No pets. No dishwasher. Oh, and TV (channels) not working during our stay -but not a big deal to us as we were not really needing/wanting to watch tv during our visit & we hand washed our dishes - would have been nice to have our dog with us though.
Still and all: two thumbs up for this rental.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quiet Getaway

Review submitted: October 5, 2013   Date of arrival: September 28, 2013

The Good:Spacious Edwardian home on a quiet street, located in the charming Irvington District close to restaurants and shopping. Host was communicative and responsive. Powerful heater in bedroom. The not-so-good: no kitchen towels, only one (not so sharp) knife, refrigerator froze all our freshly purchased vegetables. If you are looking for a LOT more room and comfort than a hotel, this is a fantastic bargain. If you are looking for "home away from home", you might be disappointed in the kitchen but not in the charming and quiet location.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Private, quiet, comfortable........

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

As a vacation rental, this second floor apartment was cute, comfortable, quiet and spacious for our party of 4. Both of the bedrooms had air conditioners and fans, which we didn't need on our visit, but it's nice to know if you were there on a hot night, they're available. Both bedrooms were comfortable and cute, but the front "master" was particularly neat with the built ins, large closet and fun step-out porch with french doors. A couple recommendations would be 1)a serrated bread knife for that loaf of Grand Bakery sourdough you will inevitably want to enjoy there 2)night stands in the second bedroom for us old folk's glasses and water cup. I had the ingenious idea of pulling up a chair, so all was well. Also, if you don't like spiders, keep the living room windows closed because they are drawn to the place like it's a red carpet party.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent place in Portland

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2013

My husband & I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and recommend it to others. SO much nicer than a hotel. The only thing I didn't like was the shortage of outlets and, thus, lamps in the living room. But that's what you have to expect in a home of this vintage. I recommend it to couples or families who need a nice place to use as they explore the city. We will definitely come here again when we return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable apartment in charming neighborhood

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 30, 2013

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this apartment. We were two adults and two teenagers and we had plenty of room. We were given total privacy, but Vladimir responded quickly when I had a question or needed something. It is helpful to know there are extra supplies and towels in the hall outside the kitchen door and that the big trashcans are down those hall stairs to the outside. There is also a washer and dryer in the basement that we didn't need, but I believe are available for use. If you are new to Oregon, you might familiarize yourself with the recycling protocol. I got a big bag of trash downstairs, then had to dig through it to pull out the glass. Oops! My bad! The beds and linens were super comfy and the neighborhood was very cute and walkable. There are several restaurants and a coffee shop just down the street and as others stated, it was a nice walk to the Max or bus. I would definitely recommend this place. Vladimir gave us our deposit back promptly and we were much more comfortable than we would have been in a hotel. I feel the location was excellent. One day we walked across the Broadway Bridge to downtown and it took about 40 minutes. Portland is awesome! Thanks Vladimir for a great stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enjoyable and quiet

Review submitted: June 29, 2013   Date of arrival: June 19, 2013

Two couples stayed here for two nights and found the accommodations filled our needs perfectly. The bedrooms are large and the beds are very comfortable. The location was close to public transportation (a couple of blocks to the bus stop and about a 1/4 mile to the max line) and easily within walking distances. There are plenty of restaurants and pubs within 3 or 4 blocks. The couches in the living room were comfortable and the kitchen contained everything needed to fix meals. Could use a little larger TV screen size but reception was just fine. The security deposit was refunded in a timely manner (owner sent a photo via e-mail of the separate check required torn to pieces). Overall, would definitely stay here again when in Portland.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

first time in Portland, OR to visit son

Review submitted: June 20, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

I usually stay in hotels when I travel. This was my first experience with a rental and Vladimir made it easy from day one. He responded within minutes of my inquiry and communicated with me in a timely manner even before my arrival. Once we arrived he came to the apartment within half an hour or so to check on us and tell us where we could find everything. During our stay, our cable went out one night; I emailed the following morning and again Vladimir responded almost instantly. We had cable within minutes after I let him know. The apartment was very clean and had everything we needed. Beds were very comfortable and I loved the wooden mat in the bathroom. Cleaning supplies were right outside our door in a hallway which made it easy to clean kitchen which we used everyday. Whole Foods was about a mile walk, Alberta St was maybe two miles and this is a happening place. I am a runner and it was an awesome location as a starting point. One morning I ran over the Broadway bridge which was just beautiful :-) Very quiet neighborhood even though there is a school at the corner. If I have the opportunity to visit Portland again I certainly hope this rental is available because it was home away from home. Also Vladimir was home when we checked out, he looked at the apartment and returned the safety deposit check before I left the premises.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great week in portland

Review submitted: June 3, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

I stayed in portland the week of Memorial Day. The location of the apartment is perfect. Minutes to the city and central for day trips to the gorge and coast. The apartment was clean, cozy, and I loved the vintage features such as built ins, penny tile in bath, and glass doorknobs. Would stay again when in portland. It was great.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Good Location and Value

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

One Block to the Bus. Two long blocks to restaurants. Beds are very comfortable. Unit has everything you need for short stay. The value is excellent. Quick return on deposit funds. Put this one at the top of your list!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A little more attention to detail

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

Everything was as described, including the lovely old homes and a neighborhood on the rise. However, more attention to little details, such as blinds that work, being exceptionally clean, and replacing shower curtains that become moldy, even a little wood for the fireplace are very important if owners are going to compete with hotels and B & B's.

Owners response: Dear guest! Thank you for your review. I will check all items from your review and will make corrections.One thing, I have 20 other reviews for the apartment and no one mention this. Another thing, I'm not trying to compete with hotels or B&B, I do understand that I'm not full service hotel, but I'm trying my best to feel my guests comfortable, when they are visiting my place.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Recommended

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 13, 2013

Nice character home in a great neighborhood. Easy access and parking. Quiet, lots of room. Everything as described. Highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Portland OR apartment was great

Review submitted: December 10, 2012   Date of arrival: December 2, 2012

We stayed for almost a week in this apartment. The weather was cold and wet, but the apartment was warm and comfortable and had everything we needed if we wanted to eat in rather than brave the weather. The location is excellent - walking distance to Lloyd Center and Convention Center, two Max lines, lots of restaurants and cafes on Broadway NE and vicinity. We would stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Look no further cont

Review submitted: November 10, 2012   Date of arrival: November 5, 2012

This was the first time booking with vacation rentals and we were a little unsure at first, but went ahead and booked anyway. Vladimir made this a very positive experience and we would book again.
Vladimir was very quick with returning our damage deposit, we received it the day after we left.

Vickie

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Look no futher

Review submitted: November 8, 2012   Date of arrival: November 5, 2012

Perfect location, walking distance to great restaurants Franks Noodle House, Pastini, Milos, never had a bad meal. Wished we were staying more nights so we could try more. Great shopping also within walking distance. We did have a car so we did drive the short distance to downtown but there seems to be no shortage of buses in the area. The place was just as it shows in the pictures clean, plenty of room. We were 4 adults and did not feel crowded. We would walk to dinner in the evening and felt safe, great neighbour. Quiet at night to sleep, although on Thursday morning the city does pick up garbage rather early, but I am a early riser anyways. If you are unsure if you should stay here as it is not downtown Portland. Do yourself a favour and book now, you will not be disappointed. Vladimi was great with customer service. Quick with his replies when we were first inquiring and through out the booking. I would recommend for people over 55 years of age but be aware that you do have to walk up 1 flight of stairs with luggage. So only you know if you are capable of this.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Look no further

Review submitted: November 8, 2012   Date of arrival: November 5, 2012

Perfect location, walking distance to great restaurants Franks Noodle House, Pastini, Milos, never had a bad meal. Wished we were staying more nights so we could try more. Great shopping also within walking distance. We did have a car so we did drive the short distance to downtown but there seems to be no shortage of buses in the area.
The place was just as it shows in the pictures clean, plenty of room. We were 4 adults and did not feel crowded.
We would walk to dinner in the evening and felt safe, great neighbour. Quiet at night to sleep, although on Thursday morning the city does pick up garbage rather early, but I am a early riser anyways.
If you are unsure if you should stay here as it is not downtown Portland. Do yourself a favour and book now, you will not be disappointed.
Vladimi was great with customer service. Quick with his replies when we were first inquiring and through out the booking.
I would recommend for people over 55 years of age but be aware that you do have to walk up 1 flight of stairs with luggage. So only you know if you are capable of this.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Apartment, Great Service

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

Had a very nice 2 day stay with my wife and 3 year old daughter. Vladimir was very accommodating and the apartment was clean and offered plenty of space to stretch out (key when traveling with a 3 year old).

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

San Diego Visitors to Classic Irvington

Review submitted: October 6, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

We had a great visit and enjoyed our second stay at the Irvington Apartment very much. The location is perfect-within walking distance of the Lloyd Center, shopping & restaurants. The apartment was very clean & quiet plus the beds are extra comfortable! The owner kept in excellent contact throughout so it was very quick & easy for us to make our arrangements.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect place to stay . . .

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 13, 2012

We rented the condo for 4 nights - my husband, myself, daughter and granddaughter. It worked out perfectly. The apartment was neat and clean and furnishings very nice. Kitchen had everything we needed. It was close to coffee shops and restaurants - we loved being able to walk the neighborhood. Our two sons live close to this neighborhood - one of the reasons we picked the location. Loved having the windows open at night. We would highly recommend and will return the next time we go to Portland.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location and very comfortable

Review submitted: September 1, 2012   Date of arrival: August 21, 2012

I rented this apartment with my boyfriend and another friend and stayed for three nights. We liked the charm of the older building. The neighborhood is beautiful, quiet, and feels safe. It's within walking distance to many shops and restaurants, and even a movie theater. I especially recommend Frank's Noodle House about half a mile away. The noodles were incredible!

This apartment is on the 2nd floor, so if you rent it, please be considerate of the people living below you. If you want to stay up late and be loud, this probably isn't a good place for you to stay. It might be nice for you, but not for the other people in the building and neighborhood.

Each room had a fan, and all the windows opened for ventilation. We are from Texas so it was nice to be able to have a cool breeze with the windows open during the summer.

The bed was very comfortable, so we slept well on the trip. The kitchen was set up well with plates and dishes, and even a compost container for fruit/vegetable waste. I love Portland!

The owner was very easy to work with and got my deposit refunded promptly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A fantastic place to stay

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

I stayed here for nearly a week - the first 2 days with family and the last 4 with friends for a conference. This place is clean, large, and beautiful. It is 3 blocks from all kinds of restaurants and a grocery store, and only a 20-minute walk to the Oregon Convention Center and the free rail to downtown across the river.

I will try to stay here anytime I am in Portland!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

From Santa Fe

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 24, 2012

Four of my family stayed in this charming, well-equipped two bedroom apartment for a week this summer. We were impressed with its cleanliness, beautiful location, and the availability of restaurants and shops within walking distance. The on-location manager was very helpful. The bedrooms were large with great light, the kitchen cozy and with all the appliances and kitchen items needed, the living room very comfortable with large screen TV and Wi-fi. The neighborhood was great for walking and for families there is an elementary school for playing across the street. The charm of the building is what won us over, however, as it is very special. We would definitely stay there again. Close to Lloyd Center and the MAX stop.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great apartment

Review submitted: July 27, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

I stayed in this apartment for 8 nights. It was perfect. Close to restaurants, bars, shopping, and Portland's great transportation system. The apartment is comfortable, convenient, and has everything you need. It's a sweet and secure older building. I hope to come back next summer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great apartment

Review submitted: July 27, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

I stayed in this apartment for 8 nights. It was perfect. Close to restaurants, bars, shopping, and Portland's great transportation system. The apartment is comfortable, convenient, and has everything you need. It's a sweet and secure older building. I hope to come back next summer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean, Comfortable and Convenient!

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

My family (2 adults, 2 kids) stayed here earlier this month for 5 days and I was pleasantly surprised by the accommodations. The place was very clean. Vladimir was responsive to our needs and requests. There was plenty of space for us to spread out. The washer/dryer in the basement was a perk (and very fast). We were able to get to MAX within a 10 minute, easy walk to get to all areas of the city. Within walking distance are tons of restaurants, coffee shops, grocery stores, and even a shopping mall (Lloyd Center). We used Zip Car once while there (to go to Columbia Gorge) and it was easy to locate and walk to the nearest car. Beyond that, we did not feel isolated without a car. We would recommend this apartment to anyone looking for a "home" rather than a hotel room while visiting the Portland area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Convenient!

Review submitted: June 30, 2012   Date of arrival: June 13, 2012

My family and I stayed here for a week and were very happy. The location is wonderful. The neighborhood is charming and within walking distance to grocery stores, restaurants and shops. Vladimir is very helpful and responsive. We would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect location for fun in Portland--Sacramento Mom and teenaged son

Review submitted: June 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 27, 2012

We had an epic time in Portland for a week. We enjoyed all the food--Pine State, Pok Pok Noi, Voodoo Donuts, Pahner's , Gino's in Sellwood, Blue Plate, Besaws's etc. Plus if you love thrift stores, there is no comparison. We went to the Columbia River Gorge, Washington Park, Hood River, hiking and 4 movies, down the street at the Lloyd Center. The home is a gorgeous craftsman and if you head east a few blocks the homes are stately. The washer/dryer is convenient in the basement. The bedrooms are LARGE, with comfy beds and covers. The internet and TV worked well. All the rooms have heaters if you get chilly. It is super quiet. Check out all the neighborhoods, Alberta, Sellwood, Mississipi, NW, Laurelhurst, Division, and you will have a trip down memory lane. The people are weird in Portland: Keep Portland Weird, but there is no fear. Everyone was kind and chatty. GREAT trip and very affordable. It is super convenient in Irvington. We usually stay in the NW section, but for the value and location this was much better. The NW area is really fun, but can be noisy at night.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location/Clean Apartment

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

We stayed at this lovely apartment last weekend and it was perfect. The location was wonderful--close to Max, several restaurants, grocery store, liquor store, and Llyod Center, the neighborhood was quiet and quaint, the apartment was clean had everything we needed. Especially notable were the beds which were very comfortable for a rental. We would stay here again if we went to Portland again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Christmas 2011

Review submitted: December 29, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

Couldn't have stayed at a better place this Christmas with my two sons. This apartment is located in a lovely older neighborhood in N.E. Portland which is close by to restaurants, coffee houses and the Lloyd Center. We were greeted by Vladimir who kindly showed us the apartment and we immediately felt right at home. Lovely high ceilings, wood floors, working fireplace and full kitchen made our stay relaxing. The beds were ultra- comfortable with clean/fresh linens, kitchen had everything we needed for entertaining family. This apartment met all my expectations and I highly recommend this property to family and friends. I will book this great place again in the future. Well worth the price! Thanks Vladimir !!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful apartment, close to everything

Review submitted: December 5, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

This apartment is wonderful. It is extremely clean and well maintained. The neighborhood is very quiet, beautiful, and within walking distance of the Lloyd Center and all of the great shops/eateries in that area. The owner provided excellent customer service and was a great source of information about the area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Canadian Visitors

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: September 25, 2011

This property is exactly as described, and is in a lovely quiet neighbourhood with unrestricted on-street parking. It has good bus and light rail connections to downtown, so that we never actually used our car while we were there. Vladamir meets you on arrival to tour the apartment, and is available during your stay in case of need. This was our first trip to Portland which we loved, and we would certainly recommend this apartement to friends visiting Portland.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review