reviews for: listing #89365 - Running Springs, California House rental

Safe Haven Forest Retreat
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  25
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $400 - $500 /nt
    $2,400 - $2,400 /wk

sort by:

Perfect for large groups

Review submitted: April 1, 2014   Date of arrival: March 21, 2014

Safe Haven Forest Retreat was ideal for our large group. It had three-levels, so we could easily separate our group meeting time in the 1st floor open area (with a ping pong table that we thoroughly enjoyed, but bring your own paddles!), eating time by the kitchen on the 2nd floor (more than enough plates, bowls, utensils, and a brand new, very efficient dishwasher, and tons of chairs), and sleep time mostly on the 3rd floor (with a smart bathroom layout so it was easy to assign rooms to particular bathrooms to prevent overcrowding). Everything was labeled so we knew exactly where to find items. And the owners are super responsive, returning emails within a few hours and getting the security deposit back to us promptly. If you have a large group, consider telling people to bring earplugs as the walls are a bit thin and those who sleep early may be disturbed by those playing board games late into the night :)

All in all, a great experience! We may make this our annual retreat location!

Owners response: We have aimed at making the place well organized and comfortable, even though it can get a bit noisy when you have a large group in one building. We do keep ping pong paddles and balls in a storage closet with other toys for youngsters. But, they do take a beating and seem to wear out quickly. If you are a real ping pong fan, yes bring your own paddle. Speaking of paddles, the boating pond is under construction and we hope to have it ready for summer.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Roomy, cozy...had a fantastic experience!!!!

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

The house was so roomy and accommodated 24 people perfectly. The optional adventure program was also well worth the price. The owners were very friendly and accessible. We will definitely be spreading the word about Safehaven Forest Retreat.

Owners response: We feel blessed to have this property and love to have people stay to enjoy it with family, friends. We are always happy to hear back that people enjoyed their stay.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fun family reunion

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

What a fun place! We took advantage of all the indoor and outdoor games. From the climbing wall and mini zip line by day to the movie projector by night, there was something for everyone. We created wonderful memories and I look forward to going there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Safe Haven Forest Retreat - Wonderful cabin!

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 9, 2013

What a great cabin and beautiful property! Stayed here for a week-long family reunion and had plenty of room for all 18 of us. Amenities were exactly as described and our group immensely enjoyed the educational program offered by the owner, which included the zipline, rockwall, repelling and air gun target practice. Would recommend this cabin to everyone! Thanks for a great place to stay, Robert and Myriam!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great staff retreat

Review submitted: June 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 18, 2013

Our team of 16 had plenty of space and a very relaxing time for 2 nights. The weather was perfect and we even got to turn on the fireplace once or twice.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Family Wedding Location

Review submitted: June 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

Our family and friends enjoyed the large,spacious house with all the amenities while attending a "backyard" family-style wedding. With over 50 people in attendance on Saturday, we never felt crowded and the outside area was a hit with all the children, especially the small zip line and the chess game! Everything was as pictured and described on the listing, keep in mind there are lots of stairs!! We even saw deer in the afternoon which added a special treat to our day. Lots of clean bathrooms and bedrooms to get ready for the day's events made life easy on this bride! The property was well maintained and ready for us. All in all, we appreciate the owner's help and permission to use his lovely home as our own private Bed & Breakfast. Beautiful day in a beautiful space.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Property!

Review submitted: May 1, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

This property was perfect for our small young adult church group of about 15-20. Plenty of space for people to spread out and the downstairs media/game area was also just right for a central meeting spot. Our group had a great time and look forward to coming again next winter!

Also, the owners are super easy to get a hold of and more than accommodating. Thanks Bob!

Owners response: We are always happy to hear how much our guests enjoyed their stay. We especially love to have church youth groups stay because it aligns so well with our purpose as educators to create a safe environment for learning, reflection and growth.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spring Break

Review submitted: March 22, 2013   Date of arrival: March 19, 2013

My group decided to rent this property, so we did and when we got up there we were surprised of the house. It was a fantastic getaway from school and work. We all enjoy the house and we are planning to come back during Summer.
Awesome House

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are always pleased to hear that our guests were comfortable and happy with their stay at Safe Haven. We aim to please and continue to make improvements on the property for the enjoyment of our guests.
Robert and Myriam

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Safe Haven Forest Retreat

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

We had a great time, everything that was described about the property is true. I would recommend this property to family and friends.
We were twenty, and the accommodations were sufficient.
The deposit was return promptly.
Huge property.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

safe haven retreat

Review submitted: October 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

Only great memories were had from our summer retreat at safe haven. we had east coast high school boys who were in awe of the nature that surrounded us. The zipline was a blast and the accommodation were perfect! Thank you Robert!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Stay!

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

A great property. We had a wonderful time. Great owners too!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

Safe Haven was the perfect location for our family reunion this year. We had 5 families stay at the house and two more came up during the daytime and we all had plenty of room. The group drove to Lake Gregory one day for water play and on two other days hiked into "The Narrows" for some bouldering and the daring adults did some cliff jumping. The older children loved hiking around the property, utilizing the downstairs game room, ziplining and rock wall climbing. The little kids enjoyed the playhouse and playing in the dirt! One concern was that the Teepee was not swept out, it was full of spider webs, therefore we didn't get to use what could have been a great play area for the kids. If we use the house in the future we will make a request for it to be ready for use when we arrive. But overall we had a fabulous time and were not disappointed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing Youth Group Weekend

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

This house was perfect for a group of about 20 high school students! When we arrived everyone was amazed at how clean and well equipped this house was. The bedrooms were very accommodating for a group this size. Most of our time was spent in the game room downstairs and the kitchen was also large enough to handle cooking for a large group. We were even pleasantly surprised with some snow which our group loved. The hillside was a perfect place to have fun together in the snow. The owner was very organized and went out of his way to ensure our weekend was a success. We would love to come back again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great youth group stay

Review submitted: February 6, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

I was looking for a place for our high school youth group of 20 kids. Safe haven was perfect for us. The kids loved it! We spent lots of time in the game room hanging out, playing cards, ping pong and foosball together. Everyone loved the projector and surround sound for a mini movie theatre feel with lots of bean bags. There was even enough seating for meals. The heating system kept it cozy. The whole place is clean, well kept, and kid friendly. It looks even better than the pictures! It was just a short drive to snowboard at Snow Valley too! The owner is very helpful and easy to work with. Best summed up by one of the kids upon return home, "It was legendary!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing House, Amazing Owners, Amazing Experience

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

Just returned from a weekend get-a-way with a group of friends, what a great house. The owners were very accommodating and friendly. I've rented in this area for the last few years and no owners take pride like these do. The house is well kept and well stocked for anything you need and then some. The beds are not meant for couples to cuddle, but the kids truly enjoyed the bunk beds and ability to be in rooms with their friends. No shortage of bathrooms or space in this house. The tee-pee was an amazing touch and I think the adults liked it more than they kids...Only set-back was the limited amount of users who could access to internet. Some of us were working and wanted to be off our 3G/4G networks, and that caused a slight issue with the limited number of users who could connect. Game room was AWESOME and the addition of toys/games was great for the kids. Football on the projector, could not be beat. Thank you for a great weekend, we hope to make this our standard vacation home for years to come...

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent

Review submitted: January 1, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

The cabin is gorgeous! Setting on 2 acers of land, surrounded by trees, and very secluded. The cabin offers everything for adults and kids. The first floor has a ping pong table, card tables, and toy boxes for the kids. It also has a theater type screen with surround sound for everybody to use. The surrounding grounds are good for hiking and sledding. We were also able to enjoy a wood burning stove fire every night outside on the grounds. The house was very new and very clean. Plenty of showers and we never ran out of hot warter. The second floor had two large tables where everyone could eat together. We stayed for 4 nights and we wanted to stay longer. I would recommend this vacation resort to families with kids or without kids. The owner was very kind to us.

Thank you,
We will see you again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We'll be back!

Review submitted: November 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

I rented this place twice last summer with two different groups, and everybody had a great time. To start with, the owners were really great and reservation was a breeze. They were so easy to talk to and they always send their replies or call back in a timely manner. The house is big and and there were a lot of space for everyone. The house was good not just for the parents but the kids as well. The kitchen was complete, if you ever forget anything, they have it there. The basement or play room had a TV projector and game table to keep the kids busy. There were a lot of bedrooms and bathrooms. And if you want peace and quiet, they have wrap around decks. Plus the rental price is very reasonable. I can't wait to try and see this place in the winter.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Haven Indeed!

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

Just returned from a great family reunion here. The property was amazing. Perfect for our group of 20+ family members of all ages. There was plenty of room for us all to gather inside and out for group activities or in smaller clusters for games or conversation. It was clean, comfortable and had pretty much everything we needed.There was plenty of room for parking too, which is sometimes an issue with group members coming and going. The owner was great as well, and very attentive to our needs. We would definitely consider this haven again. Loved it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great property for large group!!

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

Our youth group of 24 stayed at Safe Haven Retreat July 8-10 and we had a wonderful time. Everything about the property is top notch, from the kitchen to the bathrooms to the bunkbeds that didn't squeak. There is a large rec room on the bottom floor that is perfect for group exercises/discussions. The owner, Robert Phelps, was such a pleasure to work with - he and his wife are retired school teachers who invested their life savings into this property to provide youth with exactly what the name implies, a "safe haven." We have stayed at many retreat sites in the past, and this was the best one yet. We will be back again next year!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review