reviews for: listing #89369 - Branson, Missouri Cabin rental

Majestic 4 Bedroom Log Home w/ Game Room-Wilderness Retreat
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Branson Cedars
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $350 /nt
    $1,200 - $2,100 /wk
    $4,800 - $8,400 /mth

sort by:

Outstanding Home

Review submitted: January 6, 2010   Date of arrival: January 26, 2009

We rented this log home for a family gathering after Christmas for five days. Our experience here could not have been better. The six flat-screen TVs, the pool table, the air hockey and the two jacuzzi tubs made everybody happy. The owners had even beautifully decorated the place for Christmas. The beds were great, and it even snowed for us overnight once, giving us a white Christmas. It was very nice of the owners to arrange this snowfall!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We hope this review was helpful. It was truely appreciated, however we can't provide snow but the cabin has just about everything else you might need.
Charles

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Family of 9 already planning the next trip

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: September 18, 2013

This trip was our 6th year in a row of visiting Branson and we have stayed at numerous places. This cabin will be the only place we stay from now on. The property was very clean and the owner even called on our second day just to make sure everything was going well. We had 7 adults and 2 children in our party and never felt cramped in the cabin. There is plenty of room to spread out with the game room downstairs or the great room upstairs plus the 4 bedrooms. We always go to Silver Dollar City, the drive from this cabin is only about 15 minutes so it's out of the way of the main strip but not too far.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Wow!!! What nice things to say. We are always excited to get repeat guests and really do hope you look us up again.
Sincerely
Charles

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Couples weekend

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 21, 2013

My husband & I, along with 2 other couples stayed in this lovely cabin while attending a conference in Springfield. A unexpected ice storm came on the day we were to arrive. The owner was so nice & told us if we could not arrive they would not charge us for that 1st night. We did however arrive with no problems. The drive way is a little down hill which was a little tricky to walk down with the ice but the owners have caretakers that brought salt to sprinkle on steps & porch which melted the ice. The cabin is so spacious & the fireplace made it so cozy. This cabin would be great for a large family. Kids would love the pool table & air hockey table. We loved staying here & would certainly book it again without any hesitation!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy your couples weekend was a success in spite of the weather. You were brave to plan a February outing in Missouri, but we are so glad you did and glad you chose our cabin. Thank you so much for taking time to write and let us know you enjoyed the cabin. I forwarded your message to Mary to let her know the ice melt was appreciated. We had a feeling it might come in very handy someday.
We hope you come back sometime very soon! (Maybe in the summer and enjoy the pool instead of the ice. ha)
Blessings to you,
Brenda and Charles

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellant Family Time

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

Great place for our family get together. We have been going to Branson with our children, their spouses and now grand children for many years. This was by far the most enjoyable because of the beautiful weather and the fine place we stayed. The Wilderness retreat was perfect. Away from everything and not too far from things. Enjoyed cooking out and eating in. Very much enjoyed the game room with the air hockey and Pool table. Will be looking forward to our next trip. Cody's Place was great.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you so much for sharing your comments. We work hard to provide an exceptional place for our guests and we love hearing that your family enjoyed it. Having a time of relaxation and making memories with your family is what we pray for our guests.
Blessings to you,
Brenda and Charles

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

This is our 2nd time to stay in this cabin and it is amazing! It accommodates our family for our Christmas celebration! Always clean, kitchen stocked, plenty of wood for the fireplace, not far from town and the environment is the most relaxing and peaceful place ever!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: What a Blessing it is to have our guests love our cabin the way we do and want to return over and over again. It is such an honor to have such Awesome guests.
Charles and Brenda

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great get away

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: November 6, 2012

This cabin was great.Far enough away from the downtown area that you had peace and quiet,but close enough you could be at the strip in 15 min. the cabin was clean and cosey. There was 8 of us in our group nobody had a negative thing to say about our exprience.The owners were very helpful and great to work with. We would stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your input on our wonderful log home. We appreciate our fantastic guests taking the time to write and inform others of their experience while staying in our place. We do hope you do come back someday soon and stay with us again.
Charles and Brenda

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Forget Hotels

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 17, 2012

We loved staying at the cabin with all the comforts of home. The dining table was large enough for our whole family to sit and play games together, something we could never do staying at a hotel. Loved the back porch to sit on and relax in the mornings and having a grill was very nice. The only negative thing I can say is that one king size bed was a little bit worn, but still as good as some of the hotels we have stayed in. We were able to use the fireplace each night and firewood was provided. The bathrooms were very nice also with large tubs in 2 of them. The kids loved playing pool downstairs. Overall, it was an excellent vacation spot and well worth the money!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed the cabin and were able to spend that special family time we discussed. It is great to all be together!
I'm so sorry you were unhappy with one of the mattresses. They are actually all very new Simmons Beautyrest mattresses but unfortunately, if it difficult to get a style that everyone enjoys. We prefer the softer mattresses and tend to lean that way in our purchases. We will certainly consider some firmer ones when we replace these.
Again, we are so glad to share our cabin with some Okie neighbors and hope you return soon!
Brenda and Charles

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Modern updates with rustic charm

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

The "Wilderness Retreat" cabin is clearly not just a rental property for the owners. Great care has been taken to decorate and furnish the cabin home with every possible amenity any vacationer would need to meet the needs of every age.

We traveled with 2 adults and 3 children, two of which are teenagers. Not only did everyone have their own bedroom, but there were also areas for everyone to unwind after long, exhausting days of sightseeing. The kids loved the downstairs gaming area, which includes a pool table, full-sized air hockey table, and video games with a TV, not to mention plenty of comfortable seating. Meanwhile, we "grown ups" enjoyed being upstairs in the family room area, again with comfortable seating and a television. We were only disappointed that the weather remained a bit too hot to enjoy the outdoor seating (deck chairs upstairs, a swing downstairs, and even some rocking chairs on the front porch!).

The location was also ideal - close enough to be convenient, but far enough away to escape the commotion of Branson. It truly was a "Retreat" to return to the cabin instead of a cramped hotel room.

We used the kitchen less than we had planned, although I did make breakfasts frequently during our 8-night stay. There certainly was every pot, pan, dish, and utensil I would have needed to make any meal though.

Even the bathrooms were stocked with extras such as bath products, lotions, and powders.

The front door is secured with a key pad, and the area in general felt very safe. There were other cabins along the street (although reasonably spaced), with little, but enough traffic to feel we were not isolated.

Finally, I can not boast enough about how accommodating the owners were. They provided lists and information about the area, and were always friendly and helpful when replying to emails. With good reason, they take high pride in their vacation cabins. We've only been home a week, and I've already recommended their cabins to several coworkers! :-)

Owners response: Wow!! What can I say about such glowing comments. We are very flattered that our guests enjoy themselves and the cabins. We really feel that our cabins draw the best guests from all over the country and the world. We so often never meet the guests face to face but still feel they have become friends.
Thanks So Much Missy
Charles and Brenda

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best of Branson

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

There were four couples. The home was well beyond our expectations. The amenities exceeded our hopes. The home was clean, the bedding and towels crisp and fresh. The HVAC managed superbly the hot days. The location is perfect because you may enjoy the rural surroundings while being only eight miles from downtown Branson. The owners are friendly and Christian in their attitudes. With an upper and lower deck, you can get away from others or join as your desires dictate. The game room included a regulation size pool table and air hockey game. The kitchen was amply sized with plenty of storage for our food and beverages for the week. We saw four shows in Branson. Did a fair amount of shopping (the old five and dime is a hoot). Found several shops whose wares were from local artisans. We cannot say enough positive things about the rental and its ambience. It felt as if we were being welcomed home.

Owners response: Wonderful comments from wonderful guests! Your entire group was a delight to host! Our guests are just the best! Thanks so much for sharing your gracious comments. We hope you can return very soon.
Blessings,
Brenda and Charles

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wilderness Retreat

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

I have rented cabin and resorts alot in the past 8 years and this is by far the best one I have stayed in. The owners are great people to do buisness with,and I would recomend this cabin to others if they are vacationing with a large group. I loved the feel of this cabin,the look,everything,and I will be renting this again in the very near future.It is close to all the attractions of Branson,and it is so comfortable. I stayed in the Fish Room,all I can say is WOW, I loved it,i slept like a baby and so did my daughters,and they usually have trouble sleeping in a new place when we vacation. I want to send a huge thank you to the owners and to say,I will be back.. I would rent this again in a heartbeat,rather I am traveling with a large group,or just me,my husband and 2 daughters.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We appreciate the kind words and hope other guests enjoy the cabin and their stay as much as you did Angela. We do look forward to your future visit.
Charles and Brenda

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spring Break March 2012

Review submitted: April 8, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

My mother, two kids, and I traveled to Branson for a quick spring break trip. This was the PERFECT place to stay. There was plenty of space to keep everyone happy doing their own thing (I have a 13 year old boy and a 7 year old girl~there's a lot of different ideas as to what is fun!), but lots of fun things to do together! I have stayed in numerous cabins and vacation rentals, but have never seen anything so well stocked. We have always had shortages of trash bags, paper towels, dish soap, etc. It's tough when you have to go out and buy supplies knowing you will only use one or two. Not a problem here! The cabin is spotless and nicely decorated. There is truly something for everyone.

If another trip to Branson is in my future, I will definitely want to stay here again. The owners were very nice and easy to work with.

Although the cabin is not technically IN Branson, it's a very quick ride up to shows, shopping, and dining.

Owners response: Thanks so much for your kind comments. We are so glad that our cabin helped to make your trip a good one and that everyone had fun. I will certainly tell Mary, our cleaning lady, and her staff that their efforts were noticed and appreciated. Hearing that from guests is certainly special for them.
We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Blessings,
Brenda and Charles

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

50th Anniversary Celebration with Family

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

We spent three wonderful days at the Wilderness Retreat cabin which is beautiful and so homey. Someone has spent many hours planning to supply everything you need to make your vacation complete. We were very impressed. Very clean, comfortable beds. Youth and adults enjoyed game room.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: We were very honored to have you celebrate such a wonderful event in our cabin. Thanks so much for your compliments on the cabin and the hours spent on it is very rewarding. We hope to host you again someday.
Charles and Brenda

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Branson Vacation

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 23, 2011

This cabin is clean, extremely well furnished, well decorated and just a wonderful home away from home. We (all 10 of us) had plenty of space and privacy as it was large and well laid out to be together, yet to have individual space as needed. It had all the comforts of home and more. The best vacation place we have ever rented. The owners, Brenda and Charles have put a lot of love and care into the cabin and were very accomodating for this vacation rental. It would be a great place to stay for a winter holiday vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Your comments brought tears. We do love our cabins and we work hard to provide an exceptional place for our guests. It is special when someone notices and appreciates it. Thanks so much for sharing. We hope you can come back again someday soon.
Blessings to you,
Brenda and Charles

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our Family Trip

Review submitted: March 18, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

This cabin is beautiful. It was more than I expected. It was clean and had all the amenities provided. The kids(even the big ones) had so much fun with the pool table and the air hockey. Thanks for letting us stay at your wonderful cabin.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Glad everyone had a great time and hope you are able to return soon. Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Charles and Brenda

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Reuinon Retreat

Review submitted: January 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

Brenda and Charles,
We have had a marvelous time here. Thank you so much for allowing us to be here. There was such a peace here when we walked in. Yes, this house is truly a blessing and we pray that God continues to bless you and your family.
It was wonderful to have met you all at your new cabin. I can certainly see that God has Blessed yur family with the gift of Hospitality.
This stay was the first family Reuion and everyone enjoyed themselves immensely. We had 7 adults and 5 kids. While the adults enjoyed the books, the kids enjoyed the pool table and air hockey.
It's sad to leave, but we will be back
Gary and Suzie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Game Room

Review submitted: January 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2010

Thanks so much for allowing us to use your wonderful home. It's a great home-away-from-home place. We had lots of room to play our favorite games. The men utilized the game room a lot. It was just absolutely perfect for the eight of us. We look forward to returning soon.
God Bless
Jack and Bobbie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderfully Decorated

Review submitted: January 6, 2011   Date of arrival: November 29, 2010

Thank you Charles and Brenda for a wonderful place to stay. This truely makes you feel like you are at home. We will be calling to visit again. God Bless you both and my comliments to the decorator. Curtis and Sue
PS: Had lots of fun in the man cave. It was epic. Thanks Trent

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Great Place to Escape to!

Review submitted: October 3, 2010   Date of arrival: October 30, 2009

My family just returned from a stay at this beautiful cabin. Our parents are in their 80s and my two sisters and I took them down to Branson for 4 days. The men (my husband, my father, and our son) enjoyed some guy time together at the go-cart tracks, while the girls shopped at Tanger. We saw two shows, but were always glad to be back at the cabin in the evenings. The cabin has every amenity you could ask for, including a flat-screen TV in every bedroom. The bathrooms were every girl's dream, and the pool table and air hockey game downstairs were my son's favorite part. This cozy home feels just like that...a home, not a rental place. The Chodricks were great to work with as we made our plans, and very helpful in sharing information about Branson in general. We would highly recommend staying in this lovely cabin, whether there be 3 couples or 12 family members. It will be a memorable time for all.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Stay!

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 12, 2010

We had a great stay! What a fabulous place. We could not have been happier. We were there with 5 adults and 5 kids, and there was plenty of place for all of us. The kids loved the games. We highly recommend this place.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for the wonderful review and glad you had such a good time.
Charles and Brenda

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Place to Share TIme with Family

Review submitted: June 29, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2010

The Chodrick Cabin was everything they promised it to be. My family felt at home from the moment we walked into their beautiful cabin. All of the "extras" like the game room complete with air hockey, pool table, karaoke machine, dvd player, board games and puzzles were enough to keep five childrens ages 1 to 7 entertained while all of the grown ups rested between various activities.

It was clear that the Chodrick's take great pride in their home and made themselves accessible and accomodating in every way with any questions we had before and during our week in Branson. If you are looking for a home away from home during your stay in the Branson area then this is it!

Our Checklist of Activities:
Trout Fishing in the White River in Arkansas (recommend Hot Dawg Guide Service)
Shephard of the Hills FIshery (free, interesting, doesnt take long)
Outlet Malls (liked Tanger the best)
Ice Cream on the Board Walk at Branson Landing (stay for the fountain and fire display!)
Pontoon Boat rental from Table Rock State Park (half day rental and tubing was wonderful way to beat the heat)
Ride the Ducks (good first day event to see the area)
Butterfly Palace (girls went while guys fished)
Dixie Stampede (kids loved the show and eating with their fingers...no bad seats so no need to pay for VIP seating)
Grand Country Fun Center (sort of like chuck e cheese...it's indoors so great for a rainy afternoon)
Shorty Smalls (good but not great bbq)

Needless to say we slept well each night!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your nice comments.
Charles and Brenda

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A spiritual oasis!

Review submitted: June 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

Just returned from a "get-away" vacation with my family, and we have only wonderful things to say about this cabin. "Thank you" to Charles and Brenda for providing such a fantastic place to stay. The accomodations were first-class and we truly were able to relax together in a beautiful setting. We cannot wait to return some day!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you QB and Judy for your kind words. We are pleased that you enjoyed yourselves so much. We too looked forward to your return someday.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Down Time

Review submitted: January 23, 2010   Date of arrival: June 22, 2009

We loved the cabin so much! It was everything we needed and more! The kids enjoyed the gameroom, and the deck provided some much needed "momma time!" We hope to come back here soon.
Thanks a bunch
Gayla

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Early Summer Vacation

Review submitted: January 23, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2009

We had a very good time in your cabin. It was a very nice location and the cabin was very nice. There was plenty of space. We also had the perfect amount of bedrooms. There was a lot of air hockey and pool played and the nice tv's made the nights good. We likd the patio. That is where we spent most of the nights.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Boomer Sooner

Review submitted: January 23, 2010   Date of arrival: June 6, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your cabin and Branson. The pool table and air hockey provided evening activities when not just enjoying the cool evenings on the deck. The 4 bedrooms were excellent for us, our daughter & her husband, and other daughter & fiance. We look forward to coming back to Branson.
Eugene,Judy,Derek,Jennifer,Deanna, & Dain

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spring Getaway

Review submitted: January 23, 2010   Date of arrival: May 17, 2009

Especially thank you for providing a Wonderland for little ones & peace for their parents and grandparents.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

October Get Away

Review submitted: October 26, 2009   Date of arrival: October 21, 2009

We rented the cabin for a few nights in October and we loved it! The owners are so wonderful to work with and their extra touches are evident through out the house.

The cabin was cozy, clean and felt like a home away from home. We especially enjoyed the two large gathering areas as we were there with a large group so there was plenty of room for everyone. The game room downstairs provided hours of entertainment for all ages.

You can enjoy the quiet of the country..the back porch complete with a swing overlooks the woods. Yet you are just minutes from the city so it is like the best of both worlds!

We highly recommend this Missouri get-away and its wonderful owners.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

5+ STARS!

Review submitted: October 19, 2009   Date of arrival: October 14, 2009

The Chodrick cabin was AMAZING! We walked in and instantly felt at home. The cabin is so inviting, clean and spacious. It was stocked with virtually anything we needed. There were 4 children under the age of 7 that stayed with us at the cabin and they had enough to do. The kids movies were great and the adults loved playing the DVD games! We spent a lot of time at the cabin enjoying the wood burning fireplace and the beautiful fall colors. Charles and Brenda are FANTASTIC to work with!

We're already planning our trip back to the Chodrick cabin next year. :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Perfect Getaway Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 16, 2009   Date of arrival: June 6, 2009

This cabin was excellent. Exactly what we wanted. It was perfect for our family and our young teens. The added touch of the game room was a rare find in Branson. It kept the kids occupied on our "down time". The bedrooms were very comfortable and the twin beds made it great so the 12 year old boys liked their own beds. We didn't need the sofa beds but it was nice to know if someone wasn't getting along, they had another option.

The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. Even the group coming in after us was nice enough to ship a cell phone that was left behind.

I would give this cabin 5 stars. I would definitely recommend this cabin to others.

The only down side to some might be the 10 minute drive back to the strip. (We live in the country and drive more than that to town each day to work so it didn't bother us at all.)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Tranquility

Review submitted: April 18, 2009   Date of arrival: April 8, 2009

Charles and Brenda, mere words cannot describe how much we enjoyed our stay at your beautiful cabin. There was such a wonderful tranquility that almost immediately we were able to leave the cares of home and work behind and truly enjoy our vacation together. We must commend you on your decorating and all the thought that was put into making sure that your guests would have a variety of relaxing indoor things to do from reading, watching movies, playing games or just sitting in front of a warm fire. We have been to Branson many times and enjoy the shows, shopping, etc. but at times it does get a little hectic with the traffic and crowds and after a day of spending time in Branson it was such a pleasant short drive back to the solitude of your cabin. We are so looking forward to our next trip.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review