reviews for: listing #89385 - Duck Key, Florida Villa rental

Villages at Hawks Cay Spa Villa Just Renovated
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Villages Hawk’s Cay
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $179 - $349 /nt
    $1,250 - $2,100 /wk

sort by:

Spring Break in the Keys review

Review submitted: March 25, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

Our family loved the villa we rented in Hawk's Cay, it was well appointed with updated TV's, Stereo, nice hot tub, modern kitchen complete with attractive dishes, tons of cooking utensils and sharp knives that chefs will love. The villa was conveniently located within the resort; only a few minutes walk from the main lobby/pool area and the marina. The resort offers an active family pool and lagoon area and adults also have the option to relax peacefully at the Adult Only Tranquil Pool. Hawk's Cay Marina offers fishing, diving, snorkeling, sunset cruises, jet skis, paddle boards, etc....You will not go wrong at this villa.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation

Review submitted: March 20, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

We couldn't have been more pleased with the house at Hawks Cay! We've rented using vrbo several times previously and this house was the best. The house was spotless, very well equipped, and centrally located. We particularly enjoyed the patio and hot tub off the canal. There were four of us (adults) and the size of the house was perfect. The little extras provided by the owner like the welcome basket and information book were very helpful since this was our first visit to the Keys. I highly recommend the property and hope to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Talk about hospitability this location has it all

Review submitted: February 22, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

We just left Duck Key also known as Hawk Clay after having a very enjoyable relaxing week at this Villa . it has it all, a modern up to date kitchen with Granite counter tops, three flat screen tv's . The moment we walked in we were greeted by w fun basket full of all kinds of treats. The place was clean and inviting. Looked on the back porch and there was our own hot tub! clean and inviting. Bedroom and beds to sink into a flower land of beautyTowels to snuggle up with, washer,dryer AND detergent for our use, WIFi , sterio, phones, If you chose you could stroll along a half mile dock and admire the boats in the inside water inlet lining the Villas. There was trolley service, unbelievable pools, exercise rooms, boat rental and fishing, it's all here, see to believe.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Don't want to leave !

Review submitted: February 3, 2014   Date of arrival: January 28, 2014

It was our first time to the Keys. The location is perfect as it is close to everything but far away enough so you don't feel crowded in.
Jarod was clear and helpful and responded to any questions we had in a speedy , polite manner.
The place is clean,comfortable and has all that you need.
We would like to return and next time stay longer.
Thanks for a wonderful family holiday !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation Getaway

Review submitted: January 7, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

Our first time to the Keys and we were not dissappointed. Jarod was awesome to work with and the Villa is exactly what is pictured and as described. The villa was very clean, organized and comfortable. The Hawks Cay resort staff was very friendly and the resort is well maintained. Our favorite restaurants were Sunset Grill, The Island Fish Company, and Boon Docks.
Thank you for the use of your rental!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great spot to relax and enjoy the Keys!

Review submitted: December 11, 2013   Date of arrival: December 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this gem of a property!
The photos do not do justice! The place is immaculate and equipped with everything! It is close to all ammenities. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer!
It will definitely be our first choice for future visits!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best of Hawks Cay

Review submitted: October 27, 2013   Date of arrival: October 24, 2013

My family & I have stayed at Hawks Cay many times throughout the years, and I must say, this was the best villa ever. We had all the comforts of home & then some. The house was beautifully decorated and the most modern we've seen. It's location is perfect, near everything. The beds were extremely comfortable. The details the owner has put into making this villa feel like home is why I would highly recommend this rental to all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Florida Keys Vacation Spot!

Review submitted: October 18, 2013   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

The Carter’s Harbor villa was amazing! We stayed for 6 nights in mid October and we were so lucky to have had perfect weather (highs in the upper 80’s and lows in the upper 70’s). The walk to the hotel pool and lagoon is not far. Our 2 year old walked it twice a day. We knew that when renting through a private owner you are not supposed to use the hotel pool or lagoon, however we had read that the hotel staff doesn’t usually ask for room key verification. We found this to be true and used the magnificent hotel pool every day. The pool towels that were provided in the unit match the hotel towels so you look just like all the other hotel guests. There is also a Starbucks in the hotel lobby! And there's a hotel shuttle that will take you back to the unit, if you so choose.

The beds were comfortable; the splash pool out back was very warm, all of the kitchen equipment worked well as did the wifi. We cooked most of our meals in the unit but did try out the Island Fish Co restaurant (which was nice). We loved the Dolphin Research Center, which is perfect for little kids: they have a splash pad and with just the price of admission ($25 for adults), you get to see all of the dolphins in the water, getting fed & doing flips. The turtle hospital in Marathon was also fantastic. Our kiddos (ages 2, 4 & 5) loved the tour and feeding the turtles. We would love to come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Couldn't be happier!!

Review submitted: October 10, 2013   Date of arrival: October 2, 2013

First of all let me say THANK YOU to the owner for providing my boyfriend and I with such an amazing place to stay for our first vacation together! I truly could not have asked for more!

The place is immaculate and clean. It provides everything you need for a relaxing vacation. The Villa is right on the water, so we spent most of our evenings fishing off of the dock, (and for you fisherman looking... you can catch a lot of fish off of the back...snapper, catfish, sharks, jacks..etc ) and the dip pool was perfect for unwinding before bed. The beds were very comfortable, I was disappointed to return home to my own.

We spent a lot of time looking for places to stay before deciding, and I think that we made the best choice. On Duck Key there wasn't a lot to do after 9-10pm, which was okay for us we were looking to strictly RELAX! We did take one afternoon to check out the resort itself..which we were not impressed with. Hawks Cay was okay, but the customer service was not as friendly as we had hoped, and I don't feel that we missed out on anything by not being allowed to use all of the amenities which the resort itself offered.

We chose to cook at home for the majority of our stay, however I would definitely recommend checking out Hideaway Cafe which is located behind the Rainbow Bend resort. Keys Fisheries was also very good.

All in all, if you are looking for a relaxing, clean, well located place to stay on you vacation, this Villa is EXTREMELY recommended. The owner was very friendly and quick to respond to any questions I had. I look forward to hopefully being able to make it back down and staying here again. For the price.. you get an amazing deal.

Thank you again for allowing us to stay.. hopefully you will be hearing from us again next year! =)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Villa and wonderful ammenties

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

We loved this villa. Everything was beautifully decorated and a welcome basket of goodies and places to go and eat were on the counter when we arrived.

You want be disappointed if you stay in this villa trust me it was beautiful and had everything we needed!!! The beds were so comfortable and flat screen TV's in every room. The kitchen was incredible and we ate dinner in so it had every pot, pan, dish and silverware you needed. The washer and dryer was nice too so we could wash clothes and bathing suits if needed. The outside area was fabulous. Coffee outside watching the boats go in and out of the canal was a nice way to start the morning. Very quiet though, we took many naps on the lounge chairs and enjoyed the afternoon sun.

We enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this villa. If you don't need to use the resort pools or restaurants this is the place for you. Absolutely beautiful and well maintained!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent rental property

Review submitted: August 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at the villa. In fact, we enjoyed it so much, that we decided to extend our stay by an extra day (fortunately, it wasn’t booked).

The villa is in an excellent condition – very clean, almost immaculate. It has a nice, upscale look and feel to it. The kitchen is fully equipped. The villa was fully stocked with kitchen and bathroom supplies when we arrived. Nice Samsung LCD TVs in all rooms. All electric switches are labeled for your convenience. Overall, you can tell that the owners did not cut any corners and really wanted their visitors to have a pleasant and worry free vacation.

The villa is co-located with the Hawks Cay resort that occupies the Duck Key Island. This is a big plus, actually, as it further improves the overall experience. The island properties and the landscape are well maintained, there is a free electric golf-cart-bus that you can hop on for a ride to catch a nice evening breeze. The entire resort is covered with free Wi-Fi (believe it or not). The villa provides its own, private fast Wi-Fi.

Geographically, the Duck Key Island is close to, arguably, some of the most picturesque destinations in Florida Keys. Make sure to visit the Bahia Honda State park. The sign at the park entrance says that one of its beaches was awarded “The best beach in the continental U.S.” in 1992. Also, on your way to the park, you are going to cross the scenic “Seven Mile Bridge” (remember the famous scenes from “True lies” and “License to kill”?).

To sum it up: the villa is an excellent rental choice. We would like to come back some day and stay a bit longer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Nice Stay

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 13, 2013

This quiet Hawks Cay villa over looking the canal was just right for our family of 4. The location is perfect for exploring up and down the keys. The villa itself is nicely appointed with very comfortable beds. We slept like babies after full days of exploring, scuba diving, snorkeling sailing and of course dining on great sea food.!
We highly recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Fun in the Heart of the Keys

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 31, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Hawks Cay. This Villa is very well equiped, clean, comfortable and modern. Jarod left snacks and a wealth of information on our arrival, which was a nice touch. It is located at the heart of the keys which makes for easy day trips to Key West, Islamorada and Marathon. It was nice to soak in the splash pool at the end of the day before you retire. Also, we would recommend the Dolphin Research center only 2 miles south. Stay for a few of the shows, they are informative and entertaining. Key West is only 1 hour away with plenty of shopping and water adventure tours.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Vacation at Hawks Cay villa

Review submitted: July 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

We had an excellent time.
The villa was magnificient, clean and beautifully decorated, and stocked with everything we needed.
I would recommend this villa to my friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Beautiful

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

Our family of four had a wonderful time during our week in the Keys. This Villa has everything you could ask for; very clean, comfortable beds, and all the amenities of home. Being right in the middle of the Keys made island hopping during the week easy. Great restaurants and beaches are close by. The resort is nice but we spent most of our week traveling. It was so nice to come home each day to this Villa and relax out back in the splash pool or fish off the back dock. We highly recommend this Villa to anyone looking for a great place to stay in the middle of everything.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice vacation destination

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at your Villa - it was just as advertised. We stayed with another adult couple and it was very comfortable and relaxing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Honeymoon

Review submitted: May 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 6, 2013

My new wife and I just returned form our trip here, it was wonderful. I pulled my boat down with me for the week and everything about the trip was fantastic. Hawks Cay is beautiful and so is this condo, this place is perfect. I had everything we needed and then some, I couldn't keep my boat directly behind this condo b/c its a no parking zone but the guys at the marina rented me a slip about 200 ft from it so it worked out perfect. Jarod has thought of everything, we forgot to bring some everyday items and they were there already in the unit for us to use. the beds are great, the decor is perfect, we really enjoyed sitting in the splash pool after a long day of being out in the ocean. I would change anything about the trip, and we will definatly be back, thanks Jarod

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing, beautiful, and very comfortable!

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 20, 2013

We are a family of two adults and three children. We stayed in March 2013 for 4 days. The villa looks professionally decorated. It is neat and very comfortable. Everything you need is there. The process of reserving the villa was a breeze and all necessary information was provided. The kids especially enjoyed the small jacuzzi in the patio. The security deposit was returned ASAP after our stay. I only have good things to say about this villa and hawks cay.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect in Every Way!

Review submitted: March 21, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

We stayed in this lovely villa from March 10 through March 14, 2013 with our adult daughter. There isn't much I can add to the reviews that have already been written. As others have said, the villa was spotless, quiet, comfortable, well furnished and well stocked. Everything is just as you see in the pictures. Jarod was very responsive, payment was simple, and our security deposit was returned promptly. We couldn't have been happier with the entire experience!

Recommendations in Marathon: breakfast at The Stuffed Pig (don't let appearances deceive you - they have a lovely outdoor dining area in the back); Sparky's for beer, bar food, and lively atmosphere; Cabana Breezes for a delicious and reasonably priced dinner (vegetarian options and great Key Lime Pie); Publix rather than Winn Dixie for groceries (and a much more extensive beer and wine selection); No Name Pub on Big Pine Key (a local legend) for beer and pizza; Bahia Honda State Park for the beach experience; Hemingway's House and Truman's Little White House in Key West for a little slice of history.

Enjoy!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome week of vacation!

Review submitted: March 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 3, 2013

From my first contact with Jarod, he was extremely responsive. Our week here truly let us unwind, enjoy our family time, and just chill. The property is just as advertised. Very comfy, up to date, centrally located for day trips and just the right size for the 4 of us. We took a day trip to Key West, spent one day at Sombrero Beach and spent the rest of the time just hanging out at the pool or in the spa. Everything was well stocked and clean upon our arrival. I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing centrally located place in the Keys. Thank you for sharing your home with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very Nice Stay!

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: February 24, 2013

We just returned from our stay at your wonderful villa and enjoyed it so! The place was very clean and well cared for. The pictures were reflective of what the villa was like, only it's even better in person! We had a very easy time communicating with Jarod and he was super quick to respond to our questions throughout the process. We would absolutely reccomend to anyone considering staying here. We enjoyed the in ground spa on several occasions and even saw several manatees in the canal one morning. We enjoyed walking around the resort and in particular enjoyed our visit to the Dolphin Conneciton there at Hawk's Cay Resort! Highly reccomended!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very Relaxing Stay

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 18, 2013

My husband and our son and daughter-in-law spent 4 nights at this villa last week. The condo was very tastefully decorated, the beds were to die for and the kitchen was very well equipped. We especially loved the spa on the patio. We were in it every night! While I wish you could grill outside on the patio we did enjoy grilling one night down at the marina. It was a very pleasant setting. We would definitely recommend this to anyone coming to Hawk's Cay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Great Few Days

Review submitted: February 25, 2013   Date of arrival: February 18, 2013

My wife and I met our son and his wife for a three-night stay at this condo. We were immediately impressed w/ how clean and well-equipped it was. The owners have provided everything you could reasonably want and all the appliances appear to be brand new. The bedrooms are on the second level; the master has a private bath and the front bedroom has a door that opens to a small balcony providing a wonderful breeze. We very much enjoyed our stay here and would gladly return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

President's Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: February 20, 2013   Date of arrival: February 14, 2013

Our stay at the Villages at Hawks Cay was wonderful. Our family of 4 were extremely comfortable in the very well equipped villa. The owners spared nothing in their attempt to welcome us into their home. The unit was clean and modern and the facilities at Hawks Cay are great. This was our second visit to the Keys in 2 years and hope to return in the future and stay in this Villa.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Family vacation

Review submitted: January 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our vacation to the Keys, and we were very pleased with the condo. Dealing with the owner was great. He was very prompt with all communication and gave a lot of extra information about the area, which was very helpful. The condo is extremely well stocked and comfortable, and the decor is lovely. We will definitely stay at this condo in the future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Liked the villa and Hawks Cay Resort

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

This is a good value in the Keys...you save so much $ vs. renting through the resort. Great kitchen equipped w/ almost everything you would need to cook just as you do at home. We only ate out twice as there is so much good seafood to try. The resort is very nice and there is a lot to do there for adults and kids. Located about 1/2 way b/w Key West and Key Largo, which makes it convenient if u want to get out and see other reefs/beaches. Owner was very quick to respond to all emails before and while we were at the villa.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Canadians

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: November 7, 2012

We stayed at the villa from Nov 7 - 10/2012. From the moment we opened the door to the villa we were thrilled. It was everything we expected and more! The pictures on the vrbo site really showed the villa as it is. Very charmingly decorated and well "kitted out". Spotlessly clean. The location in the Hawks Cay Resort is lovely. We only had 3 days at the villa (came into Ft. Launderdale off a cruiseship from Quebec City). On our last day we walked through the Resort and we were very pleased to be an audience (just us) to the dolphins being fed and trained around 4:30p.m. What a show! I corresponded with Jarod and he was most helpful and answered all of our questions promptly.
We can recommend the Sunset Grill in Marathon (just before 7mi bridge, turn left) to have a drink & dinner and watch the sun go down. Also, lunch at the Key Fisheries.....delicious.
We rent very often from the vrbo site and we can highly reccomend this villa with an enthusiastic "two thumbs up" and will do just that whenever we have family or friends visiting the Keys.
Thank you for sharing your "slice of paradise".
Mike & Lorraine....John & Leslie
Vancouver, B.C. Canada

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome base for exploring the keys

Review submitted: August 31, 2012   Date of arrival: August 20, 2012

This home is easy to find and the street pulled up just fine on our Garmin making navigation simple. There is a keypad on the door which is awesome and so much easier than carrying a key around. The home is well kept and the interior furnishings are awesome. The TV is huge and beautiful for watching movies on. The master bed is super comfy and the kitchen has everything you need. The back patio with splash pool is fantastic. Temperatures are perfect and it's so secluded and quiet. The resort itself is cool to check out, though technically the pools are off-limit. We still managed to try all three of the pools and the saltwater lagoon. We recommend Annette's Lobster house for her homemade desserts and had a relaxing romantic dinner at Butterfly Cafe. We checked out Sombrero beach and Bahia Honda, though living in Florida, the keys aren't the best for beaches. Spent a day down in Key West and signed up with Fury for Island Day Adventure which included snorkelling, kayaking and a sandbar out in the ocean (gorgeous beach experience that was missing!). We would definitely try to come back for another stay in the keys :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful vacation home

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Our family really enjoyed staying at your home for our vacation. It was very clean, beautifully decorated and even better than we imagined!! We loved taking a dip in the splash pool after a long day of sightseeing. Also our boys had a great time fishing off the dock. This is the perfect location to visit either Key West or Key Largo. We recommend eating at the Conch House in Key Largo and the Island Fish Co in Marathon. We also recommend snorkling at John Pennekamp State Park and going out on a fishing trip with Captain Jim Griffith from Angler Management in Marathon. We look forward to staying here again when we visit this area in the future. Thanks for everything!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing getaway in the Florida Keys

Review submitted: August 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 31, 2012

we had a wonderful week at this very clean, well maintained villa. Its all you need for a relaxing stay and in a great location right in the middle of the keys. We were even able to drive to Key West two days to site see and some of the Fury adventures down there. At Hawks Cay we swam with the dolphins, fished, and did the snorkeling trip. Lots to do here, cant wait to go back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfection in the Middle of Paradise

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Our family of five recently stayed at this beautifully appointed and immaculately clean townhouse on gorgeous Duck Key and loved every minute of it! The owners were very accomodating and let us check in a bit early since we had a car load of groceries and they also increased the temp of the spa so we could enjoy it in the rain! The kitchen is completely stocked with everything you need to cook any type of meal. We enjoyed breakfast, lunch and even one home-cooked dinner there! It had it all! The bedding was so comfortable and the teens even said that the sofa bed was incredibly comfy (and they have slept on a lot of sofa beds over the years). Hawks Cay Resort is a first class establishment and the grounds are amazingly manicured and the staff were so friendly. The kids enjoyed kayaking and paddle boarding. We were even able to swim off the docks behind the condo and even saw a sea turtle swimming back there with us. Cannot wait to go back! Highly recommend renting this unit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Backdrop

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

Thank you for sharing your villa with us. Hawks Cay was a wonderful backdrop for our family's first 4th of July. We had access to a boat and made time to head to Coffin's Patch Reef, this was a wonderful site in 10-20 feet of water for snorkeling.

We enjoyed Leigh Ann's Coffee House in Key Colony, as well as the Hideaway Cafe for dinner. Leigh Ann's has a great bakery and coffee as well as a downhome feel. We would recommend it for a stop on your way south.

We can't wait to return. We look forward to future stays in villa 7030 at Hawks Cay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

We had a wonderful family vacation in the Keys. This villa is amazing.

We loved Bahia Honda State Park and Anne's Beach was beautiful. One of the best experiences was the Dolphin Encounter at the Dolphin Research Center.

We can't wait to come back and stay here again sometime.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Stay

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 18, 2012

This has to be one of the most enjoyable vacation trips we have ever been on. The villa was one of the best parts. Felt like we were in our second home. Very nice, clean and furnished. Would definitely recommend and come back. Went fishing on the Main Attraction III with Capt Zack, caught 5 Mahi in an afternoon, recommend this highly. Drove down to Key West, spent the afternoon and evening on Duval Street and the Harbour Boardwalk. Wish we had more time to stay, not ready to leave the warm weather!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A welcoming experience in Hawk's Cay

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

My family and I travel to Hawk's Cay every year for a family vaction and I have stayed at a number of different condos in the past but this unit was nicer then any in the past! It was well appointed and provided everything you would need for the week. Extensive thought went into the decorating and amenties in this condo. The owners did not cut corners when it came to providing extra supplies such as body wash for the shower, garbage bags for the kitchen, paper towels and toilet paper. The condo was just renovated with high quality tile floors, counter tops, beds and furniture. Thank you for the attention to detail through the condo. It made our stay relaxing and enjoyable!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very Nice Villa!

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

This is an exceptionally nice villa at Hawk's Cay Resort. It has recently been updated and it had everything my family needed for our week long stay. My only wish was that the weather would have cooperated more so that we could have done more fishing and snorkeling.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

VERY nice property!!!!!

Review submitted: April 27, 2012   Date of arrival: April 18, 2012

This House was perfect Thanks for a relaxing week at your house all you will need to do is stop at a local market and get a few groceries and you are all set
Went fishing with Capt Zach came home with Mahi Mahi and let the shark go had a Blast
went out diving with the crew over at the Marina

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location and Very Comfortable Villa

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

My husband and I and our 12 yr old daughter had a wonderful spring break at this lovely property. The villa itself is set up very well with all the comforts of home. The kitchen was fully stocked with cooking appliances/tools to allow eat in options and the owners provided a great list of recommendations for going out. The sunset pool was great and we really enjoyed the splash pool on the back patio. The location in Duck Key was really convenient- about in the middle of the Keys. 2hr drive from Miami airport and about 90 min to Key West. Owners were very responsive and easy to work with. Definitely recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spectacular Villa at Hawks Cay

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

My family and I just came back from a wonderful stay at this villa at Hawks Cay. It is beautifully decorated, comfortably furnished and spotlessly clean. We loved staying here, didn't want to leave and can't wait to go back. We love Hawks Cay anyway, but this villa makes the trip even better. The outdoor space is comfortable and private and we really enjoyed walking the dock to the hotel and other resort places. The keyless entry was fantastic, I didn't have to worry about my kids losing a key and it made for easy check-in and check-out. This villa felt like home, it was so comfortable. The restaurants at Hawks Cay are expensive and the food nothing special, so we recommend eating out. We love Herbie's and Key Colony Inn in Marathon. My kids loved the dolphin encounter, but reserve space early. Can't say enough great things about this place! I highly recommend this for anyone who wants to experience the Keys in a nice, relaxing, quiet, beautiful spot!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful villa in Hawks Cay

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

My family and I just finished a vacation at Hawks Cay at this great villa. The home is beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and the furnishings extremely comfortable. The location is perfect, no need to drive anywhere with the tram stop just outside the door. The outside space and spa is beautiful and private. We loved walking the dock to the hotel and other locations. The keyless entry is fantastic, as we didn't have to worry about losing a key, check-in and check-out were seamless. Can't say enough great things about it and can't wait to go back. The restaurants at Hawks Cay are nothing special, we recommend going to Herbie's and Key Colony Inn. But this villa is fantastic and recommend it to anyone who wants to see the Keys but stay at a nice, quiet, relaxing and comfortable home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Villa at Hawks Cay

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

My family recently stayed at this villa at Hawks Cay and we loved it! The house is beautifully decorated, the furnishings very comfortable and it was spotlessly clean. The location is great, we loved walking the dock and the tram is also very convenient for getting to the rest of the resort. I recommend this spot to everyone looking for a relaxing, comfortable home to stay in. We've always loved Hawks Cay and this villa was perfect. I especially loved the keyless entry system - my kids could come and go without the fear of losing the key or getting locked out. I can't say enough about how wonderful it is! We can't wait to go again. The restaurants in Hawks Cay are not that great - but we love Herbie's and the Key Colony Inn in Marathon. This villa is a must for anyone looking to experience the Keys in a nice, relaxing place.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

An Excellent Place to Stay--We Didn't Want to Leave

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 25, 2012

What a fabulous villa Jarod and his family have to offer! We were seriously sad to leave it. It was absolutely perfect for our family of four. It is newly renovated, and the kitchen is beautiful, as is the tile work in the bathrooms. That half bath on the first floor was a great idea. Not having to run upstairs to the bathrooms was a big convenience. It is not huge, more than 4 might be too tight. Jarod was wonderful from the beginning. I had a lot of questions and he took his time and shared with me all his favorite places and activities. This helped us choose our daily outings. I am very grateful for the time Jarod took to share his input about the Keys. My daughters' favorite spot was the private spa on the patio. Every day my 16-year-old couldn't wait to get back to the villa so she could get in and soak. A few nights she asked if we could get carry out instead of going out to dinner because she preferred to be at the condo. There was a pool service that came out every day to clean and tend to the spa. They were very nice. Also the three HD televisions were an extra-special luxury. There are a few great DVDs in the living room. I can't think of anything negative to say about the villa. A huge thumb's up! As far as Hawk's Cay goes, we loved the resort. It was huge, and the grounds are beautifully maintained. The Saltwater Lagoon and Tranquility Pool were very impressive. I was not entirely thrilled with the Sunset Pool, which is the only pool that is expressly permitted as part of renting this condo. It is beautiful and you are allowed to take a cooler with drinks. Those are good things. However, it is not easy to find--there are no signs indicating the pool. The tram driver drove past it repeatedly, even though we told him Tram Stop 6. It was crowded (completely full) the days we visited it, and it was definitely not quiet. Very noisy, in fact. There are no resort towels on hand at this pool, but you can bring your own beach towels (unlike the hotel pools). It is NOT close to the villa, and there are NO bathrooms. Also, the water fountain wasn't working. I don't think I'd recommend the Sunset Pool over the other pools. The boardwalk just outside the back of the villa was fabulous. What a beautiful stroll around the complex. The store at Hawk's Cay had all the goodies we needed in a pinch. We were not able to visit any of the other Hawk's Cay facilities. We wish we had more time there. We really didn't want to leave.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Doc's Fishing Trip

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay, stop looking you found it. I have stayed many places in the keys and this has it all. We were a party of four in for a quick four day fishing and relaxing trip. Everyone in our party agreed the place was much more than we expected and we look forward to coming back next year. Not to mention the owners made it so easy and stress free.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ontario, Canada

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: December 31, 2011

We would like to thank the Carter's for a lovely Villa. We stayed from Dec 31st to Feb 25th and the villa was like everything you see in their pictures. Everything was new and the kitchen was a delight to cook in especially when you have good cooking utensils. My husband and I went fishing once a week on the Marathon Lady and then he went out on some Charters. The weather was very warm. Went to Key West for a couple of days. I want to thank Jarod especially for returning or answering my calls immediately if I had any questions. It was a pleasure knowing you and it was very nice meeting your dad, John Carter. If your looking for a lovely,clean and well maintained place and the pictures truly reflect that what you see is what you get, then this is the place for you. Thanks again for sharing your lovely place with us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Villa in Paradise

Review submitted: January 12, 2012   Date of arrival: November 15, 2011

We visited the keys to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. This truly was a memorable trip! We enjoyed staying at this Villa and especially enjoyed relaxing in the private spa each evening. Everything in this Villa was brand new and it was exceptionally clean and very comfortable. The furnishing were tastefully done, the kitchen was well equipped with new appliances and included everything that we needed. The washer and dryer were also nice features that we used. The area was really quiet while we were visiting. The owners were easy to work with and answered all of our questions about the area. The information book in the villa provided the owners' restaurant recommendations and other helpful information. Jared also provided recommendations for fishing boats. We enjoyed reeling in a great swordfish, then letting it go; catching dinner then bringing the fish to Tom's Harbor House at the Hawk's Cay Marina for the "Hook & Cook" dinner. We loved the beautiful views in the area and the tropical weather. We felt that the Villa was conveniently located for visiting various attractions in the Keys. We would highly recommend this villa to others and would definitely return during our next visit to the Keys.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Villa

Review submitted: December 26, 2011   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

My husband and I along with our 2 college age kids spent a fabulous week in this wonderfully appointed villa. The property was well decorated, clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed the hot tub on the patio as well as the sunset pool at th resort. We also ventured out of the resort to several state parks and enjoyed sun bathing on the beach and canoeing through mangroves. The owner was very easy to deal with and respoded quickly to any questions we had. We highly recommend this property and look forward to returning some time soon!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful and memorable stay..

Review submitted: December 1, 2011   Date of arrival: November 25, 2011

The property was very good, very well maintained and furnished. Whole hawk's cay resort is well kept and we felt great whether we were inside the home or outside. My son had a blast during the stay with the TV :) (with on-demand x-finity) outside spa at the villa and the sunset pool at the resort.. Owner was also kind enough to accomodate an early checkin since we took a red-eye flight from california.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review