reviews for: listing #89406 - Hilton Head Island, South Carolina House rental

Recently Renovated - Beautiful 3BR/2BA - Sea Pines
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sea Pines
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $250 /nt
    $1,195 - $1,795 /wk

sort by:

Another beautiful stay in Sea Pines!

Review submitted: April 28, 2014   Date of arrival: April 17, 2014

This is our 14th year coming down to Sea Pines for the Heritage and some golf. Each year we look for a different place to stay to experience different areas of the Plantation. We will strongly have to consider ending that tradition and come back to 15 Pender Lane next year! Great layout and furnished and decorated beautifully! Your home worked out perfectly for four adults and two teenage girls! Wonderful location and the use of the bikes was great for getting to the tournament and to the beach.

Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy and Clean Family Home!

Review submitted: April 13, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

We enjoyed a week at the Read's cute HHI cottage. The interior was a perfect size for our family of five, with room to spare. The subdivision is within a bike ride and short car ride of the Beach Club, which has direct access to the beach. The Salty Dog Cafe and Harbor Town are just as close, and spots we frequented throughout the trip. The grocery store was also easily accessible--we cooked almost every night in the newly renovated kitchen. The house is located in a very quiet, shaded subdivision of Lawton Woods. You have direct access to walking and bike paths, with use of their multiple bikes. The whole family really enjoyed the house. Everything was clean and comfortable. The Reads have thought of every need you might have while on a family vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

December in Hilton Head - awesome!

Review submitted: January 9, 2014   Date of arrival: December 1, 2013

We were in this comfy home for an entire month and it was wonderful! Loved the patio outdoors with the lights. Loved riding the bikes every day and this saved us so much when our grandchildren came down. The home is spacious and practical. Would love to return. Liked not having to climb steps to bring in groceries, too. Very peaceful neighborhood with the Forest Preserve directly behind home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Sea Pines charmer!

Review submitted: October 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 9, 2013

My husband and I rented the Read's home from 9/9/13-10/9/13. What a treat to be able to spend a whole month on Hilton Head in this lovely, well equipped home!
The Lawton Woods location was very convenient, just a short bike ride(a good variety of bikes are provided by the homeowners !) to the beach, the stables and most of Sea Pines amenities.
We had everything we needed in the kitchen to make meal prep easy.
We are looking forward to returning next year! Kathy was terrific to deal with! She was very responsive to any questions or concerns I had from the beginning of the rental process right through our entire stay and beyond!
Thanks Kathy and David! You have a lovely home and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
Mitch & Denise Becker
Charlotte NC

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Perfect house for a small family or couple looking to get a place in Hilton Head. House provided bikes, which is a plus because they are expensive to rent. You can bike almost anywhere in Sea Pines, including a very short ride to the beach. It was close to all the key places in Sea Pines. Nice outside patio and charcoal grill provided a nice setting to cook out and hangout with friends or family. Owners make it very easy to exchange information and provide you with great instructions around the island. Very quiet, private neighborhood. TVs in every room make it nice to accommodate everyone. Highly recommend!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

A very nice place to stay

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

This is a nice place to stay. The rooms are decorated nicely and the photos accurately reflect the rental's appearance. It is just a short bike ride to the beach. The beaches along this part of Sea Pines are not crowded. The property was clean and well maintained. Sea Pines has a lot of things to do and the bike trails are also easily accessible.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great Location, Beautiful Home, Great Stay!

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

My wife, Mary, and I thoroughly enjoyed our month stay in Sea Pines. It is a great location with easy bike rides and walks to beach, beach club, stables, the preserve and the many activities at Coligny shopping area. Our favorite thing to do was getting up early and riding the bikes on the fantastic bike trails that are all over the island to a coffee shop. The trails are all blacktop and since the island is very flat, it is easy riding. There are many excellent restaurants within a very short distance and we tried many of them. The home is very clean and comfortable in a very quiet neighborhood and there was plenty of room to accommodate our adult children visiting for a long weekend. The fact that this home is located within the Sea Pines Plantation which has security entrances meant there was never a concern about safety. The arrangements were very easy and Kathy and Dave were very responsive on an questions or concerns. I strongly recommend this home for anyone looking for a Hilton Head stay and we will definitely try to stay here again if we are ever back to Hilton Head Island. Thanks Kathy and Dave for sharing your home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Comfortable & centralized in Sea Pines, Relaxing stay

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

Quiet neighborhood, clean comfortable accommodations, precisely as pictured. Beach easy walk, same for nature preserve and even shopping at Sea Pines Greenwood Gate entry. Ten previous monthly rentals and this one we hope to repeat again & again. Would fit most families, but found home well suited for seniors like ourselves. Thank you Dave & Kathy for your hospitality.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

relaxing retreat

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

This home was everything we expected. Relaxing, clean and beautiful. Was close to everything but yet tucked away in a quaint and quiet area. Our family had a great time riding bikes everywhere, on the bikes that were provided for us. The beach was super close. Many of the tourist areas were only a short bike ride away. Nearby there is a horse farm where the kids enjoyed feeding animals and riding horses. The home had comfortable beds which you need after a day on bikes. The kitchen is well equipped. Family dinner was fun to make and serve out on the back patio under twinkling white lights. On our cold nigths we enjoyed the fire pit and making smores! you can't go wrong with this one!!!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You have a lovely beach house

Review submitted: September 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Email from Guest....
Kathy-
I just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed ourselves at your house. You have a lovely beach house. You did a great job remodeling! I hope all of your guests take care of it. You also did a great job of leaving information and labeling things- so nice and easy!....What a great find the house was- great location, great neighbors... we just had a wonderful time!.......when we go back to sea pines, we are staying at your house again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Last beach trip before school started

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 23, 2012

The house was clean, great updated furnishings, charming, had just enough space for mom, dad, grandma, two boys and a dog to stretch out and enjoy a few days at the beach. The neighborhood was quiet. The boys loved the kids' room, with the bunk beds. The bikes were great, as was the bike trailer that we used to transport our things to the beach. The beach ride was fairly quick, and the kids loved passing all the alligators and water fowl we saw along the way. My youngest loved seeing all the Carolina Anole outside by the fire pit.
We had a nice dinner at the local Truffles. But the Crazy Crab wouldn't be recommended by us - cold food, typical fried seafood. We enjoyed the closer beach access to the house, it wasn't really crowded at all on Saturday, but the club access was horribly crowded (friday)- though for access to bathrooms/outdoor shower for the kids that was more convenient. We like a more private beach day without being 6" from the next family. We had one issue getting the dishwasher started, and the owner was super quick with her response, which got it working for us. We would definitely recommend this house to our family and friends.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Home - Great Location - Great Price

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Just back from a stay at this home and it was exactly as advertised. Photos and description are 100% accurate but what you can't tell from the photos is how comfortable this house is. The bedrooms are 5-star and the beds are so comfortable you could spend the week sleeping if you don't set an alarm. The entire house was super clean. As nice as the interior of this house is, the best feature is the location. I have been to HH 7 times and the close beach access listed in the description is the best beach spot on the island. This spot is uncrowded but you are a short 5 minute bike ride south to the ocean club for treats/snacks/lunch/pool or 10 minutes north to Coligny Circle for the same. Two great golf courses are less than 5 minutes away, bike rides to the pools and Harbourtown are easy and short, you can walk out the backdoor to the lake and fish (use shrimp for bait and the kids will catch something with almost every cast), you could walk to the forest preserve and lawton stables but riding the bikes are more fun. The bikes provided were great and the bike trailer made trips to the beach super easy. You are basically right on the bike trail. You are also near the Sea Pines entrance so getting out to other parts of the island (restaurants, etc.) is very easy. This location is so close to everything you can fill up your day with all kinds of activities and still have time for an afternoon nap. The owners were super responsive. I exchanged a few emails with them and I usually had a reply to my questions before I even logged off my computer. This is a bargain at this price. Hope to come back again - Thanks Kathy and Dave!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A great family get-away home!

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

This was our family's first experience at renting a vacation home and this home helped make it a perfect week! There was plenty of room for five adults, the kitchen was fully equipped for eating an occasional dinner in and we could all comfortably watch the Olympics together every evening! During the day, the bikes and cart allowed us to pack our gear and head for the beach or we could enjoy golf and shopping in the nearby outlets! We absolutely loved being in the Sea Pines area...it was a very peaceful neighborhood and so close to everything we needed! Everyone agreed it was a very relaxing week!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome Week!

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at 15 Pender Lane in Sea Pines! The pictures don't do this place justice - the rooms are much bigger and lots of skylights add to the space. There was plenty of room for our group - 3 girls and 4 guys in our late twenties. We really enjoyed the patio areas although we'd recommend bringing bug spray if you're sensitivite to bug bites. The bikes were a great way to explore and the beach is a fairly short walk away. Sea Pines has lots of rental options, but we were very happy with our choice. Thank you Kathy and Dave!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sea Pine Getaway

Review submitted: June 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

We just enjoyed a week away from it all, and found this home and location to be just perfect. The home is extremely comfortable and the newly remodeled kitchen was just right for the family dinner at home. The main bedrooms are spacious and the beds made for a great night's sleep. The home's location was great, it was a quiet family subdivision. We enjoyed a casual stroll to the beach, simple bike rides to Harbour Town and South Beach, and two GC's were just around the corner. We could not have asked for a better home in a better location, this is definite a home to come back to.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Hilton Head Getaway

Review submitted: June 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

We just enjoyed a marvelous week in the Sea Pines community with another couple. This house is so charming, comfortable, and freshly renovated. The newer kitchen was nice enough that we even enjoyed a night cooking at home. The home's best feature is its location: it is nestled in quiet out-of-the-way subdivision, but is perfectly situated for an easy stroll to the beach, a casual bike ride to Harbour Town and South Beach, and not to mention a couple golf courses just around the corner. The home amenities, to include six bikes and the big patio out back were a big plus! Finally, as a pet-friendly home, the dogs loved the easy walks to/from the beach for night time runs. This is definitely a come back to home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Winter Stay

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

This is the first time we have stayed in the Lawton Woods section of Sea Pines. It is a very quiet neighborhood. We liked that it was only a short distance from the Sea Pines Forest Preserve, beach and bicycle paths. The interior was very bright and open, and the kitchen has all the supplies you could ever need. The master bedroom was very comfortable The owners did a great job on the remodel and update of this home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

It's our fifth year in HH, and this property is our favorite so far! House is very clean and beautifully decorated. We'll definitely try to rent it again!
Thank you!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely area, lovely home

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

We've been to Sea Pines before, but have never had the pleasure of staying in Lawton Woods. It is a lovely area, and best of all quiet! We were there during one of the busiest weeks of the year, and were so happy to have this home to enjoy amidst the chaos only a short distance away. The house is beautifully updated, and very comfortable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful House, wonderful time!

Review submitted: March 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

The home was very clean and just the right size for a larger family. It was decorated very nicely and all the appliances were up to date and worked very well. We only stayed for Thanksgiving and the weekend after, but I wish we had had more time to stay and enjoy Sea Pines and the area. The house has a couple bikes to use which was very fun and the beach is only a short ride away! There are trails every where and it's very easy to navigate around. I had so much fun and I can't wait until we go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Getaway!

Review submitted: March 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

We so enjoyed our stay at your lovely home in Hilton Head! The house feels warm and welcoming and is beautifully decorated. The entire space is open, fresh and very clean. The quiet, wooded setting was perfect for walks through Sea Pines, with the beach just a few minutes away. We had a blast with the bikes, tooling around on the many trails, and discovered some fun places on our rides. The great weather, even in November, was a pleasant surprise, and we spent some cozy outdoor evenings relaxing by the fire in the fire pit. Thank you for sharing your comfortable, beautiful home. We can't wait to get back in August!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

....We enjoyed your house so very much!

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Hey Kathy!

....We enjoyed your house so very much! You all did a GREAT job decorating your new place. We loved it! It was so nice to be in HH again. I can't believe it's over. It always goes by so fast.

I can't thank you enough for a wonderful and comfortable stay. We miss it already.

Lisa :)

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Outstanding Vacation Home!!! They aren't lying!!! Completely updated, great location, great value!

Review submitted: August 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

This home was absolutely beautiful. It was completely remodeled and up-to-date. We found everything to be in perfect order when we arrived. The house was immaculate and very tastefully decorated. I commented all week about how I wish I could move in permanently because everything was of the highest quality. What a kitchen!!! What a master bedroom!!! What a living room!!!

We also found the location to be well-suited for our needs. We enjoyed many of the recreation opportunities that Hilton Head offers including biking, golfing, miniature golf, the beaches, and going out on a boat in search of dolphins.

Finally, the owners were very responsive to my initial inquiries and were very efficient in booking this property for me. When a small issue came up regarding my reservation they responded immediately.

I would definitely recommend this property for anyone considering Sea Pines in Hilton Head.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Nice, clean and affordable. Loved all the nearby trails and ammenities...perfect for a family!

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

We loved our week in Sea Pines!! The house was complete with everything we needed to feel at home. Having a washer/dryer was a huge plus for us and the kitchen to cook in a few nights was a great time/money saver. We were able to ride bikes as a family almost every day and it was a very short bike ride to the beach each day. We did not have to rent adult bikes as well as the house has two that are available to use for the adults.
We were also able to enjoy the pool one day as part of our package price and that was a nice break in the middle of the week. The individual TV's in each room were a plus at night when we each wanted to watch our own movies, etc. and a huge plus when Mom and Dad wanted to sleep in! We hope to be back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 30, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Absolutely amazing!!!
Just as it said on your listing your house has been completely remodeled and updated. It's hard to believe but your place looked even better than in the pictures online.
There were 6 people in our group from age 4 to 74 and we all enjoyed your beautiful home. The kids loved having their own beach themed "bunk room" with a nice TV and DVD player to keep them entertained in the evenings (the blocks, puzzles and games were a welcomed surprise!) The adults felt like they were staying in an upscale resort with the new plantation style bedroom suites.
The location was EXCELLENT!!! Everyone including the 4 year old with training wheels on his bike was able to ride to and from the beach (which was not crowded) with ease (5 minutes each way). If we did not feel like riding bikes we could easily walk to the beach or jump in the car and go to the beach club ---- lots of options which was good. We also took advantage of the pool at the Plantation Club - which like everything else about our stay was in one word EASY and hassle free. We ordered lunch at the restaurant and ate out by the pool while the kids played and swam. It helped that the pool area was not crowded and surrounded by beautiful palm trees... which made it very relaxing. Riding bikes to Harbor town and the Beach Club (which it turns out is right across the street from the pool) was both easy and fun. Dinner at the Beach Club was definitely a highlight. While we enjoyed dinner the kids enjoyed dancing and playing on the sand in front of the live musician who kept us entertained. Last comment about the location - while it was extremely convenient to everything - we loved that you are on a quiet street - very peaceful and serene with beautiful trees - kind of a little oasis.
A few unexpected surprises -
LOVED the patio and the accent lighting you have around the patio area
Too warm to use the fire pit but enjoyed the seating area next to the firepit and grill
Your Beach Bikes were great and meant we did not have to rent bikes for two adults in our group
The lake at the end of the street is very nice and the forest preserve is HUGE - will have to explore more of that next time.
I could go on and on about our stay but can sum it up in one word PERFECT!!!
Thanks again for everything --- we will definitely be back to stay with you again and will absolutely recommend your house to our friends and family that were not able to join us this time.
Dorothy R

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review