reviews for: listing #89434 - Waikiki, Hawaii Studio rental

Prime Location-Ocean View-FREE WIFI
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  yes
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Diamond Head
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $90 - $110 /nt
    $630 - $770 /wk
    $2,100 - $2,520 /mth

sort by:

Perfect

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 13, 2014

We stayed here for four nights and it was perfect! We travel to Hawaii often and know exactly where we want to be. That's why this was perfect. We love being within walking distance of the action on Waikiki as well as enjoying the view of Diamond Head, the beach and park. The unit is small and cozy but adequate. Very clean and Well stocked. Beach towels and chairs for use as well as coffee maker, hair dryer etc. We will definitely return and hope this unit is open!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Exactly as described

Review submitted: October 15, 2013   Date of arrival: September 29, 2013

This studio is exactly as described. Perfect location at the end of the main strip in Waikiki within walking distance to restaurants and local shopping. Also close to bus stops (we traveled on TheBus. If you use the bus I recommend google maps, as it will map your bus route for you and is much easier to navigate than their website.) The studio was well maintained and located right across from the Honolulu Zoo. We had access to laundry and a nice pool. The morning views of Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach are beautiful. The room is also equipped with beach chairs, towels, and mats as well as a boogie board for beach enjoyment. They were doing some construction while we were there, but it didn't seem to bother us. The Hotel Wifi was pretty slow and we strangely had the best reception to it in the bathroom of the studio. This studio is small, but comfortable for two people and has everything you need. Julia was very helpful and provided all the information we needed prior to arrival. She was also helpful for us to find a shuttle service from the airport to the hotel. I would absolutely recommend this studio or stay here again myself. It isn't a five star hotel, but you can't beat it for budget and location. It's clean and taken care of!
Take the time to visit Diamond Head and hike to the top. Be prepared for a hike, take plenty of water and wear good shoes. The views from the top are well worth it. We tried to eat at small local places ( you must go to Sweet E's for breakfast, Rainbow Drive Inn anytime, Marukame Udon is excellent and a little far but u can walk there, Me's BBQ is also great but small and kind of hidden. If you like to try new and different foods you won't be disappointed. Safeway is the nearest full grocery store and exactly 1 mile. We walked, and other than the hot Oahu sun it wasn't bad. Also for Snorkel equipment Snorkel Bobs is in walking distance.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Pretty good unit close to the beach

Review submitted: August 3, 2013   Date of arrival: July 22, 2013

The unit is small but that was expected. It is a great location if you like the busy Waikiki area. There are a number of restaurants close by but not a lot for groceries within walking distance. The building itself is a little run down and there is no parking for bikes or scooters. I can understand not having parking for a car for free but for bikes is a little strange. The free wifi was nice but the speed varied greatly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Unbeatable location

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2013

The unit is smaller but is also breezy and open. Comfortable for a single parent and 6 yr old. The AC is great but the fan in the room didn't work. Also thought the tub could have been cleaner but we only showered anyway. Incredibly close to everything we wanted to do. Zoo, aquarium, scenic strolls, and of course the beach!! Both body surfing and calm waters are just across the street. Between you and the beach is an ABC(2 actually) and a very friendly and quick Starbucks. Upstairs from Starbucks is Lulu's restaurant. Reasonably priced breakfast/lunch/dinner/full bar+kids menu:) I defiantly ate here many times. There is a kitchenette, but I didn't use it except to store and reheat leftovers. The hotel is in a safe/cleaner part of Waikiki. I would stay here again :)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We North Dakotains LOVE Waikiki

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

The view is wonderful, the location, perfect. So nice to look out and see the Zoo and Park instead of other buildings. And walk one min. to the ocean. The size of the room was perfect for just the two of us who prefer being out doors. Only in the room to sleep and eat. Being we were there during a holiday, the music from the bar was really cranked up. After the holiday was over, didn't even notice any music. I loved the key-less entry, the 24/7 front desk attendant, Burger joint right there, and the ABC store and Starbucks. Cant ask for much more. Julia informed us that some of the Lanai s would be under construction and hence, some noise. We were out of our room by 8am and came home for a noon nap and by 1pm gone again. So we missed the noise. Can't wait to go back. Mahalo Juliea!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely stay at the Waikiki Grand

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Waikiki Grand. The room and hotel were lovely and clean, and overlooked Diamond Head and the Honolulu Zoo, with the beach being a close walk. It was in immediate proximity of many tourist attractions, and we thought the zoo was one of the best we had ever seen, with beautiful foliage everywhere and an excellent layout of exhibits. We enjoyed the nearby Lulu's restaurant, great food and live music, overlooking the ocean. Breakfasts there also were delicious and reasonable. We were pleased to find that the room met all our expectations, and was very comfortable. The owner gave us great customer service, and we would definitely stay here again!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Prime Location-Studio near Beaches

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay. It is definitely in a prime location and reasonably priced. It's next to the beaches and central to about every activity you would like to engage in. We enjoyed the Sans Souci beach for snorkeling. Our favorite restaurants were "House Without a Key" in Waikiki, Town in Manoa, and drinking a Starbucks coffee every morning, while watching the sunrise at the beach. Using a rental car, we visited the Kapiolani Saturday Market, snorkeled at Hanauma Bay and the Ko olina Pools; we enjoyed hiking to Kaena Point where we observed albatross and a monk seal. We also enjoyed hikes to Maunawili Falls and Waihe'e Falls. The studio was clean and well-maintained, however, there were a few minor repairs needed. The air-conditioning unit is in an inconvenient location, but the owner provided a fan that kept the place cool while sleeping. It is located on a busy street, but with ear plugs, we slept well through the night. The condo was also well-stocked with appliances, and bathroom and kitchen supplies, as well as a few beach items. The owner was professional and provided excellent customer service, especially regarding communication and keeping us well-informed; and taking care of questions and/or concerns. Yes, my husband and I would definitely recommend this property to a friend or relative.

Owners response: Thank you very much for your comments, I'm glad you had a fun visit to Oahu. As an update, we installed black out curtains today that not only will be reducing the early morning sun, but it also supposed to reduce outside noise by 40%. In addition, the building will be installing new windows in a few months,which should also substantially reduce the street noise. Maybe during the window installation process, we will have the opportunity to reposition the window A/C unit.
Again, thank you for your stay, it was a pleasure having you.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Location

Review submitted: February 20, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

The listing was accurate and the property was clean considering its age. Julia provided excellent customer service and answered any questions we had. We had asked her if there was a blender in the unit, so she personally went there to check for us. We loved the location and the price was fair. It is really close to all amenities and most importantly, the beach. The only thing that we were not used to was the traffic noise early in the morning, so we ran the white noise machine and AC fan at night, as well as using earplugs to solve the problem. The only thing we disliked about the area (which has nothing to do with the unit or the owner) is the amount of homeless sleeping on the streets closeby.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Waikiki Experience!!

Review submitted: November 5, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

This has been the best vacation EVER!!!
And I have been to almost every island, multiple times, since childhood. It really made us feel like we were at home in Waikiki! I have never stayed in a rental before and was so happy to have found Julia's place. Everything was exactly as shown on the website... very comfortable, and convenient. We had many meals in the room which saved us time and money since we were there for 2 full weeks. Everything you could possibly want from plates, glasses, condiments, beach towels, soap, etc....its described in detail on the website and was exactly the way we found it upon arrival. It was very clean and new, fully stocked with plenty of towels, sheet, pillows... I loved the tile floor it had. Easy to sweep up if you dropped some sand on the floor,, which is bound to happen because you are right accross the street from the beach. My husband could keep an eye out to see when the waves got big enough for him to shoot out there on the boogie board ! :) The location is unbelievable!! I love the East end of Waikiki,, The unobscured view meant no other hotel rooms looked in on you, night or day. Being on a busy street only 4 floors up was the only thing I could say some would consider a drawback. I like being lower to the ground, and all the other attributes FAR out weigh this. Closing the door and turning the AC on drowned out everything enough to sleep. This is a prime location and walking distance to everything. The Zoo, the Aquarium,, The MarketPlace, Shops, Restaurants. We met Julia on our last nite in Waikiki and were really happy we did. She is such a sweet, delightful person and was always available to us whenever we had a question or comment. We literally could not have had a better time on our Honeymoon!! I know we will be back to celebrate future anniversaries,, I'm sure!! Thank you, Julia!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great location

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

Great view of Diamond Head! A couple of blocks from the beach. You can hear the music and noise from the bar on the 2nd floor, but as other people have mentioned, turning on the a/c blocks out the noise when you want to sleep.

Property is very clean and has everything you need if you want to eat in. Lots of shopping and restaurants are within walking distance. Our favorite conveniences were the keyless entry, 24/7 laundry, and 24/7 front desk. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.

We did have an issue but the owner had it taken care of immediately. She is very responsive to emails and phone calls. We greatly appreciated her concern to make sure we enjoyed our stay.

We definitely will rent here again when we return to Hawaii!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Not the best start for our 1st vacation :(

Review submitted: October 13, 2012   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

This is a tough review to write as our dealings with the owner, Julia, prior to arriving were fantastic and we were so excited to be staying in her unit. When we arrived it was perfect, it was exactly what the pictures showed, the finishing touches with decor added that much more and the price was fantastic. Unfortunately the second night we discovered there was bed bugs. We saw two large bugs on the comforter, smaller ones along the corners and the mattress seams had several black feces spots. We contacted Julia right away and she immediately sent over her cleaning lady. She offered to clean the room daily including changing the sheets each time and once our stay was finished she was bringing in pest control. We decided we didn't feel comfortable staying as the cleaning lady had mentioned she vacuumed those spots off the mattress before we came so that told us the bugs had been there for awhile and came back very quickly. By no means was this the fault of Julia's or anyone else's but we had now wasted a day of our vacation, had to find another hotel quickly resulting in us having to pay more than budgeted, had concerns that the bugs may have contaminated our luggage and though we were refunded our money, it was only for 4 of the days, we were still charged for 2. Julia did follow up with us, informing us the place was been treated and the linens were being replaced for the next guests. The situation was handled the best it could have been but nevertheless it was an experience I do not wish upon anyone. Not the best start to our first ever vacation :(

Owners response: I was just as shocked about the bugs in the unit as our guest. Especially, since the mattress, boxspring, drapes, A/C, all linens and all furnitures were purchased brand new just a few months prior to her arrival and we take great pride in the cleanliness of the unit. We now have a montly professional pest inspection as well as preventative treatments each month using environmently friendly chemicals and we have had nothing but happy guests since.

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Great condo in perfect location

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

This condo is incredible! Very comfortable, very clean and a perfect location just one block from Waikiki. The kitchen is stocked with everything you need to fix meals at home. You can leave the front door and be right in the middle of the shops and restaurants in minutes. I'll certainly be returning to Honolulu and I'll definitely be staying here again. The owner, Julia, is amazing and a pleasure to work with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our stay in Waikiki

Review submitted: June 30, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2012

We thought we rented a one bedroom condo but it was really a studio. The pool that was displayed on photo did not have water in it. The view was amazing and the walk to the beach was one minute away. It was pretty noisy so ear plugs and the "white noise" machine definitely helped. We would stay here again because of the location. We enjoyed quite a few meals made in our own kitchen....had to buy roach hotels though. We both grew up by the beach so that didn't bother us much. There is a gay bar on the second floor two floors down that didn't bother us either.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for your review. As an update, the pool is now fully functioning, it was closed for only one week for the yearly maintenance. This unit is advertised as a studio, all related descriptions state that it is a studio and all photos display unit as a studio.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Steps from the Beach

Review submitted: June 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 6, 2012

This was such a great location! We were able to get in the water twice a day, jump on a bus to do some hiking, or walk to restaurants whenever we wanted. There is a market a couple blocks away on Kuhio, and a Safeway just up the road a little farther. We don't mind walking, and it was nice to not have to get a car.

The room was clean, and had all the little extras you could want: beach towels and chairs, a drying rack out on the balcony, dishes, and pots and pans. We cooked breakfast a few times in the room.

There were some city noises from the street, but not enough to bother with, and honestly, we're in a city, so it's to be expected.

This was an awesome place for our first trip to Hawaii, and I would not only recommend this room, but Home Away to do business with.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful location

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2012

The owner of this pleasant apartment, Julia, is a delight to deal with - helpful, polite and well organised. We have stayed in the Waikiki Grand Hotel in which the apartment is situated on the fourth floor, on a number of occassions. The hotel, which now is mainly privately owned apartments, has had mixed reviews over the years. And with good reason - apart from its excellent position at Diamond Head and opposite a magnificent park and zoo, management was poor as was maintenance and cleaning. In the past few years, ownership of the building has changed and very much for the better. New elevators have been installed, the bulding updated including repainting and it is now quite an attractive building with just about everything you need nearby. Julia's apartment is spotless with a well equipped kitchen, a very comfortable bed and lovely views - not as extensive as the upper floors, of course, but this is reflected in the pricing. The owner's thoughtfullness extends to little things that matter - e.g. a proper towelrack on the balcony,oddly, a first in my experience. This saves wet towels, swimmers etc. being draped over chairs or railings. The beach is a stone's throw away and is superb. Whilst tourists bake in the sun at the other end of Waikiki, this end is blessed with a magnificent park with shady palms to lie under to dry off after a swim. Pure magic.
The apartment has an attractive & practical balcony table setting and is perfect for a beer after a swim or dinner for two watching palms and sunset. There are plentiful crockery, cutlery, pots etc. to do this and a good supermarket several blocks away for fresh food but a trip to Ala Moana will yield better results. China town, not so easy to get to, has great fresh produce too.
A slight drawback is the occasional noise from the bar several floors below. The hotel management should investigate better soundproofing. However, shutting the balcony door and turning on the air conditioning or fan solved that easily for a good night's sleep.
Nonetheless I have no prpblems in recommendation this apartment; you will enjoy it. And thank you Julia for a lovely holiday.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Waikiki Stay

Review submitted: May 18, 2012   Date of arrival: May 6, 2012

I usually don't write reviews, but my husband and I had such a nice vacation that I wanted to share our positive experience. The condo was well furnished, comfortable and clean and the views from the lanai exceeded our expectations. The location was wonderful, we couldn't believe how close everything was from the building. This was our second trip to Waikiki, but the first time staying in a vacation rental, and we had a lot more fun this time. We enjoyed walking to the market to pick up fresh fruits, talking to the local people and just relaxing on the beach. We did rent a car for a day to drive around the island and watch the waves on the North shore. The free wifi and the keyless system were a nice plus. The owner was very helpful and quick to respond to our questions. We will certainly recommend this condo to our friends and family. Mahalo!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Nice unit, convenient location, but noise made it unpleasant.

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 29, 2012

Unit is exactly as pictured in the photographs. All the things you need for a rental: small refrigerator, microwave, toaster, small electric grill, utensils, etc. Wifi was fine and TV was clear with plenty of channels. Bathroom is clean, a small closet, with beach chairs and towels. Unit was a little grimy: baseboards, walls, and cabinet fronts need a thorough cleaning.

The unit is on the 4th floor above a bar/club and, seemingly, the busiest street in Waikiki. I had the worst sleep of any trip in recent memory. The noise from the buses (every 15 minutes), the trucks unloading at 6AM, the bar thumping loudly, made me go out and buy earplugs. The lanai is useless as the traffic noise is constant. The only way to avoid it is close the windows and turn on the air-conditioner. Another downside is the curtains for the windows are sheer and do not cover the entire windows nor block sunlight. Each morning the sun was too bright to sleep.

If you don't mind noise then this unit would be fine. It is convenient and parking is a good deal at $17 a day. The hotel common areas are clean and security good.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Felt like home

Review submitted: April 29, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

Dear Julia,
We really enjoyed your condo. Tracy wanted me to tell you that she really appreciated all the little touches you put in to make it like a home. She really liked your wine glasses. Thanks again for everything!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 20, 2012

This was the perfect place for us to stay for my first trip to Hawaii. It was clean and perfect for 2 people. The owner provided excellent service to us while we were staying here. If you have issues just call them and they will fix same day. I would for sure recommend this to anyone looking for an affordable place this is it.. Great views and we enjoyed the balcony every morning and night. You are close to everything from the beach to shopping to eating. You must try the Freddy's Burgers located in the hotel on main floor. The people that live here are super nice and love to talk and get to know tourist. There is parking a couple blocks away well worth the walk if you have a car.

Only down fall for me coming from Texas is I like to sleep in pitch black. The street lights are right there so bring an eye mask if you like to sleep in the dark. Other then that it was PERFECT!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

wonderful time

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 12, 2012

Eight glorious days in this beautiful city. The room was as advertised, awesome view of Diamond Head and the pier. Such a short walk to the beach (under a minute if you don't have to wait for the crosswalk) you can go for a quick swim in the morning and make it back before the coffee is done. The owner was very courteous. Would definetly book this room again if returning to Honolulu.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a wonderful vacation!

Review submitted: February 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

I have been meaning to write and let you know how much we enjoyed your condo. Great location and the condo was very comfortable. If we are able to return to Hawaii next year, I will certainly try you again and see if you have availability. Thank you for everything!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect place to stay

Review submitted: January 13, 2012   Date of arrival: December 31, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at this condo over the Holidays and it was just perfect! The unit was very clean and well equipped with a comfy bed and with beautiful views overlooking Diamond Head and the ocean. We really enjoyed sitting on the lanai, drinking our morning coffee and looking at the view.
We were amazed, at just how close the beach was to the building, but even Starbucks, restaurants and shopping are minutes away. We also loved the burger place that's right on the first floor.
We rented a car for a few days, and were able to park in the building for an additional fee, which was not a problem.
The free wifi and the key-less entry system were huge plus! We would certainly stay here again next time we are in Honolulu or would recommend this place to our friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We'll be back!

Review submitted: December 17, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

We just spent 10 wonderful days at this condo. The unit is well equipped and comfortable enough for two people. The location is really as great as described, we just loved staying here. Another plus is the key less entry system, which made getting in and out of the unit very simple. We will definitively come back again.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review