reviews for: listing #89450 - Coronado, California House rental

Beach, Beach, Beach! 5Bed Beach House, slps 10. Pet friendly
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Coronado Cays
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $3,500 - $4,100 /wk
    $12,000 - $14,500 /mth

sort by:

The perfect beach house!!

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 10, 2013

After looking at many rental homes, we came across the Best Beach House and booked it for our week's stay on Coronado. Our son and his fiance were getting married on the beach by Hotel del Coronado and both the bride and groom's familys needed a place to stay. The home is spacious and lovely; we were very comfortable and enjoyed grilling out at night and coffee every morning on the patio. Being from the midwest, we soaked up the beautiful Coronado weather every day and the fantastic ocean breeze every night. The wedding was beautiful; and our stay at the Best Beach House could not have been more perfect. If we have the chance to travel out to San Diego again, we know where we will stay!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words. Glad it worked out for your family. We look forward to a return visit!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect for families!

Review submitted: June 8, 2013   Date of arrival: May 30, 2013

This house was perfect for families with young children. We were traveling with a 3 and a 2 year old and the house had everything we needed - making traveling so much easier and more pleasant. There were two high chairs and two pack n plays as well as a twin jogging stroller. The courtyard off the back doors was perfect for the kids to have a bit of freedom to play somewhat independently, too. We'd certainly stay again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: So happy you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to your return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mom's Farewell

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: May 1, 2013

my siblings, their families and mine all came together to this beach house to spread our mom's ashes at the ocean, which was her wish. What an awesome stay - the owners were so kind and accommodating - the house was perfect - there were 12 of us and at no time were we in each other's way. the home had everything we could need - the rooms were as spacious as the photos depicted - we bbq'd a few times and had a great backyard to enjoy. there were scooters and bikes for the kids - the pool was perfect and so close and we had plenty of beach chairs to enjoy a day at the beach. we were close to everything - our tribute to our mother was at Imperial Pier and a celebration of her life at Peohe's right on the Island which had fabulous food. I would be hard pressed to choose a different place in the future as we enjoyed this one so much.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is really heart-warming to read a review like this. We started renting the house for economic reasons but we get so much more back in return when we get stories of families coming together for both solemn and happy occasions. Hope you can return one day!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect for kids!

Review submitted: March 1, 2013   Date of arrival: February 14, 2013

I had my 40th birthday party at this house. I rented it for a week and had many family members (from different sides) stay together for six days. There is good energy in this house as everyone got along. My party was a huge success, complete with taco cart and even 37 children (mostly under the age of 5). What I loved about this house was that it was all enclosed outside so small children couldn't escape. The floor plan inside was spacious and had a good flow. There is a middle island that served well for the bartender to mix splendid drinks.

We unfortunately had to bring extra air mattresses as the mattresses in a couple of the bedrooms weren't comfortable, or even level. It was difficult pulling out the sofa bed in the downstairs room and when it was pulled out, the bed wasn't level, and didn't look restful in any way. The upstairs room with the daybed was also questionable. We had a guest sleep on an air mattress in there, too. The master bedroom bed was also not so comfortable as it sagged in the middle. However, we were not using the house to escape and get sound sleep so it was not a big issue for us. I would say that if you are planning on using the house to see the beaches and sight-see, then you are getting a wonderful house. Just bring a couple air mattresses if you are using those two rooms.

Tracy, the owner, has been friendly and welcoming. She is readily available and made sure that we had everything we needed (I actually never asked her for air mattresses, we just brought our own). I would rent from her in a heartbeat if I need a large house again.

The neighbors were also friendly. One came by at night just to say good-bye to us since we were leaving the next morning.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Stay

Review submitted: February 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 31, 2013

The beach house has everything that you need. The house was lovely and clean and so spacious. Shampoo, towels, gas grill, washing machine, dryer, bikes and even a little pink trike that my daughter just loved and spent hours on it outside. The house is very safe and no worries if you have young children. There are at least 5 TVs in the house, WII, DVDs, Videos - I could keep going on and on.. We had such a wonderful stay because the house had everything, so relaxing and in a great area. All the people in the area were so friendly.

On the property there is a little cafe called Calypso that does breakfast, lunch and dinner and even takeout if you prefer - a great plus so you don't have to worry about driving if you are having a drink. The pool was area was lovely and just a 2 minute walk from the house. The beach was just across road, you could also walk there (5 minute walk or drive and park) Four miles up the road and your in Coronado - what a place - so much to see there. Hotel Del is a must - We had the best meal there in the Sheerwater Restaurant and it was very good value, the staff were lovely. Downtown was about 15 minutes drive from the house and going the other direction (15 minute drive) was a great outlet on the Mexican Border. Mission beach also worth seeing - 20 minutes drive from the house. The only negative thing that I could say was that I found the price of taxis was expensive.

(There are great bike trails and walking paths in the area. Also a kids park just minutes from the house and tennis courts)

Tracy and John, the owners of the house were so helpful and could be contacted at anytime. Due to flight cancellations we needed the house for another 2 days and Tracy and John were so accommodating, which we really appreciated. I would highly recommend this house to anyone going to San Diego. We will be be going in 3 years time and we will be looking up Tracy and John again for another stay in their wonderful beach house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review of 5 the Inlet

Review submitted: January 18, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

We had a really nice time at the beach house. Many used the various equipment available to them to go surfing. Had a little problem with the master bath, unfortunately it was extended because of the holiday. The facility was very clean, other than the sheets on the master bed, which had stains. The facility was perfect for our visit. Even with our problems, the owner was as prompt as possible for getting things fixed. I would recommend this to friends and relatives.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I had no idea about the stains in the master bedroom - will address ASAP. And yes New Years Eve is a terrible time to have a plumbing issue! Thanks for understanding. I'm so glad the wedding went well and fun was had by all! Look forward to seeing you again when you can really relax and enjoy the beach! Tracy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family celebration

Review submitted: December 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 17, 2012

Being a San Diego native, when our family came to celebrate my mother's 90th birthday, I just had to stay somewhere close to the beach! However, with children and grandchildren in tow, I needed a home to accommodate 6 adults and 4 young children. The beach house was a perfect fit ! It was walking distance to beach and bay, and a short drive to birthday activities. It had everything we needed-- an abundance of linens, washer/dryer, fully-equipped kitchen, cleaning supplies, beach necessities, toys, games, and enough space for the 10 of us to sit down and dine together ! We loved the tropical decor, as our heritage is Hawaiian. Our only regret was that the week went too quickly and none of us were ready to leave !! Thank you to the owners for meeting our needs and for keeping in contact with us prior to our arrival, during our stay and after our departure. We definitely want to stay here again and highly recommend the "Best Beach House" for a great vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanksgiving Stay in Coronado

Review submitted: December 6, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

Our family (two sets of grandparents, my sister-in-law, my wife and I and our two children) stayed for Thanksgiving week, which we all thoroughly enjoyed. There was more than enough room for all of us, not to mention that we were able to add another two sets of family friends who drove down to join us for Thanksgiving day.

We spent little time in the yard (which was well kept) as the beach, tennis courts, and horseshoes were a short walk through the neighborhood. We never made it into the pool, although the facility looked very nice) as our kids, 4 & 6, much preferred to take the scooters to play in the surf and on the beach. That reminds me that the washer and dryer in the garage as well as all of the beach and sporting equipment to borrow was great!

Although we found a few great places to dine in town, the vast majority of our meals were prepared at the house as we all enjoy cooking. The kitchen was fairly spacious and we had quite a few pots and pans, knives, etc., with which to work (we did bring some of our own tools of the trade though).

The property owners were gracious and accommodating with our questions (even providing some great recommendations for dining, and quickly responding to what we thought was a faulty light fixture (our error though). We even had a bottle of champagne for the adults and some sparkling cider for the kids in the refrigerator upon our arrival (nice touch)!

A final note about the price. Although it might seem like a lot (to be honest, I'm not use to paying such a sum when we travel), it was actually quite affordable considering 9 of us stayed for a week. If you think in the per person cost, not to mention that you have a kitchen, yard, beach within walking distance, etc., it's a great deal.

A gracious family, a great home, and a wonderful location!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Coronado Visit

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

Pros: The location of this house was great! We brought out two Mini Schnauzers. They loved the grassy backyard and friendly neighborhood. It's a great, pet-friendly rental.

Cons: The home had quite a lot of personal items both inside and in the garage. Although the grass was cut and trimmed, the remainder of the landscape could have been trimmed back significantly. The large palms by the gate, in particular. Travel through the gate was a little tricky.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Owners response: Not sure what personal items are the issue. Photo albums in a bookshelf cabinet, books on shelfs, personal photos hanging, office supplies in one spot...all the closets are empty, or have items for the guests, like gaming and toys . Garage does have stuff but 90% of what's there is for renters to use - wetsuits, tennis, beach stuff, baby joggers, washer, dryer..Landscaping will be addressed. Most people feel at home there.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great rental home location!

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

This home is located about 4 miles south of the Hotel del Coronado on the Silver Strand Beach. It is easy to get to from both the north and south, the neighborhood has a number of areas to walk dogs, ride bicycles, easy access to the beach, and is very comfortable. Three families (six adults, one child, and four dogs) stayed at this residence for a week.

The home itself has an open floor plan, is very spacious, and it has everything....a toaster, microwave, stainless steel refrigerator, washer and dryer; it has a nice-sized back yard for animals, and beautiful landscaping. All of the dishes we needed were there, and we even located flashlights for nighttime walking.

The garage is full of "stuff". Some of the items were needed, like tennis racquets and balls, scooters, cleaning products, but there also was a big jogging stroller that took up a lot of room. We could only get one vehicle in their two-car garage, but we rarely had a parking issue. There seemed to be plenty of room to park on the street, or we blocked our own driveway with one of our vehicles, which was not a problem.

The owners were at the ready when we needed them. John came by and mowed the lawn during our stay, and provided bath mats that were not available to us (the shower stalls were very slippery.) Tracy was available by phone to answer any questions we had.

We grilled food in the backyard twice, and lit the tiki torches for a nice tropical feel.

Our three families came and went as we liked....we visited Sea World, the Zoo, ate at several different restaurants in San Diego and on Coronado, and we rented segways and toured downtown San Diego. Truly, we had a blast!

I would say the only downfall we experienced was the home was dirty. The carpets were filthy on the stairs, and the bedroom carpets had stains on them. The couch in the family room was visibly soiled. We questioned just how clean the entire home was. There are a lot of Tracy and John's personal effects still in the home; photo albums, books, items stuffed under the beds....it's like they quickly vacated the home and moved out.

The beds were comfortable, and the neighbors were even nice to us renters. I would consider going back to this vacation rental home, but I would confirm that they have enough turn-around time between tenants to thoroughly clean the home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: We contacted the renters the day after move in to see if they wanted the carpets and furniture professionally cleaned as we realized upon turnover that the previous people that had been in for a month had left it in poor condition. They prefered not to have that done during their stay. We did it the day they moved out per their wishes. As to the personal effects, every closet and furniture is empty, there was no rush in moving out, just moved into a smaller home. Will make sure garage can hold two cars, the baby jogger was purchased for renter use and can be moved into the large yard area if need be.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Trip

Review submitted: April 29, 2012   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in Coronado. The house was perfect for the 3 couples plus one single. Beds were comfortable and plenty of towels. Kitchen was well stocked with just about everything you would need, pots, pans, bake ware, tupperware, dishes, classes etc. We had no trouble finding items we needed. We made a few suggestions about knives not being sharp enough but otherwise great. Location was not bad at all. Unfortunately the weather was not good enough to walk to the beach but we did go into town and walk around. Used the ferry to go into San Deigo which was great also. Thank you.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Girls Getaway

Review submitted: February 9, 2012   Date of arrival: January 23, 2012

My four sisters and I had a girls getaway to visit my niece who lives in San Diego. We thoroughly enjoyed the property, especially the great kitchen, 3 full baths with double sinks (perfect for 5 girls) and the privacy! The full bath on the main level was an excellent provision for us since one of my sisters was recovering from a fall. Thanks!!!

Recommended for: people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home away from Home

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful week at this fabulous rental. The location and setting was perfect for a vacation with our our three sons and their families with young children. Our grandchildren enjoyed playing in the enclosed backyard as well as at a nice park a few blocks away. The guys took advantage of the nearby tennis and basketball courts and we all enjoyed the beach and walking/biking path which runs from Coronado to Imperial Beach.
The home had everything we needed plus the extras! John and Tracy were extremely helpful and accommodating. We would highly recommend this beautiful home and area with so much to do!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Place!

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

We stayed here for 11 days and it was wonderful! It easily accommodated the ten of us; seven adults and three little ones plus a golden retriever. You couldn't ask for a better location as it is only minutes to anything there is to do in San Diego and the surrounding areas. Tracy and John are great people to work with and they helped to make our special trip fabulous. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location, with lots of room and privacy

Review submitted: October 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

We stayed there last summer with extended family. It offered all the ad said. My kids loved the big yard and Wii. Having the heated pool so close and being basically accross the street from the beach was the best! No parking issues like other places we've stayed in Coronado. Didn't bring our dog that time but will next time. Owners were easy to work with and responsive to needs. Would recommend and stay again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Friendly!

Review submitted: October 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 3, 2008

Amazingly spacious and well-appoined home with all the extras a family needs for an extended stay in San Diego! We were traveling with our family of four and a nanny and had plenty of room to host another couple and their son as well! We loved the ease of the location during the busy high season. We could escape the chaos of the Village and yet benefit from all it had to offer. Cannot say enough the fond memories we have of our time there!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review