reviews for: listing #89512 - Hilo, Hawaii House rental

Affordable Vacation Rental
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $69 - $89 /nt
    $414 - $534 /wk
    $1,200 - $1,600 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Affordable Vacation Rental

Review submitted: March 28, 2014   Date of arrival: March 23, 2014

We enjoyed our short stay here in Pahoa with you. This is really an ideal location to see many sights and we got used to the nightly frog concert real quick :) Your condo really surprised us with it's space and well stocked and kept interior. Thanks again also for your patience and accommodation with payment from Europe.
Mahalo, Birgit, Yuome & Harald
(Thank you for the lovely artwork! Trish)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Affordable Vacation Rental

Review submitted: March 28, 2014   Date of arrival: February 10, 2014

We enjoyed our weekend here very much - we left a box of fruit for you from our friends land in OphKikau, enjoy! Proverbs 3:5,6. Mark
(Thank you for the fruit it was ono! Trish)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hidden gem

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

This is a great, well appointed place with every detail met and beyond. Fully equipped kitchen, bathroom and laundry area. Great hosts that give you full privacy. Very good location - close to Hilo with all the shopping, not far from Volcano Park and other great attractions. And if you feel like staying in - there is back porch to relax with a glass of wine and watch the birds in the nearby forest. Would definitely stay here again.
Mahalo! Val & Mike, Canada

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Affordable Vacation Rental

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: April 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The house was clean & well equipped. Great location! The internet worked which was greatly appreciated. The description of things to do was really detailed and we had a great trip to Waipio Valley. Thanks, Andrea/Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Affordable Vacation Rental

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

Great cottage to explore the east side of the island!! This is a return visit to the area for us & the cottage was so clean, easy to come back to each night and having such a well equipped kitchen and laundry is wonderful. The notebook is a good tool too. Get fish & Chips from the place near Subway & Maloma Market area - YUM! Thanks for an an excellent place and for making sure everything was ready for us when we arrived. Cheryl & Gary

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Affordable Vacation Rental

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 21, 2013

We had a very good time in your nice house and did not miss anything. Your introduction on webb site is understated, the house is much more luxury than described! Aloha! Mahalo! Marina/Jorg/Josh/ Germany

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Affordable Vacation Rental

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 4, 2013

This Cottage gave us the opportunity to be really lazy and just go or stay as we felt. Definitely a relaxing vacation and we are rested up and ready to go home and get busy again!

Trish and Doug were very good hosts with any information we needed, and we so appreciated it. We take many happy memories home with us.

Mahalo - Cher & Brad, British Columbia, Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Affordable Vacation Rental

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: February 4, 2013

Thanks for having us! A very comfortable, well laid out Cottage. We enjoyed the Country part of the "Big Island". We had many great memories. It is hard to leave. We will tell our friends and family about your cottage.

Dave & Lynn
Larry & Judy Austin Texas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Affordable Vacation Rental

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: January 20, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to the Big Island & your Cottage was a nice refuge after our busy days of cruising around and visits to relatives.

I liked the layout of the house with two bedrooms and bathrooms.

We would definitely return here & recommend your place to our friends. Aloha! and Mahalo nui loa, Lisa, Stacey & Sumia

P.S. We really loved the resource binder!! Very helpful with a lot of good information.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Affordable Vacation Rental

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: January 16, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Cottage. We had everything we needed. I enjoyed the sounds of nature. Thank you for sharing such a lovely place.

Sharon and Mike "60 COWBOYS"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Affordable Vacation Rental

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

Thanks a lot for allowing us the pleasure of this cottage. We love living in a residential area with lush green areas around. The cottage is very spacious, the kitchen was well stocked, and there was a lot of tourist info available right here.

Doug and Trish were very generous hosts, and helped us with information whenever needed.

The only glitch was the lack of internet/wifi. Thanks again for a great stay.

Feroze & Sabiha

OWNER RESPONSE: As of April 17, 2013 DSL will be in the house, we apologize to our guests prior to that time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Affordablevacationrental

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

This cottage is beautiful, clean and very cozy. We enjoyed our stay here saw great things and had a blast. Trish and Doug were very helpful and gave us some great tips. If we get the chance to come back we will definitely stay here again. Thank you; Dennis & Lisa

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Affordable Vacation Rental

Review submitted: August 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 7, 2012

We enjoyed the stay at your cottage. It was so nice and clean and the amenities were awesome; washer and dryer, towels, snorkel equipment, site seeing information, flashlights. The Kitchen was stocked with everything we needed! Trish and Doug are great, very caring and friendly. We had a great time. Thank you. Kathy and George, Patsy and Crestal

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Affordable Vacation Rental

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

Thanks so much for letting us stay here. The accomodations were comfortable and spacious. We loved the binder of info, it helped us tremendously.

Mahalo, Ken and Kathy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Affordable Vacation Rental

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 28, 2012

Thank you for letting us stay at your lovely cottage! We really enjoyed the info in the binder, we were able to explore areas unknown to many tourists. We love the black sand beach and the hot pool. The Thai Restuarant in Pahoa was fabulous! Thank you again, Christa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Affordable Vacation Rental

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2012

Thanks a lot for your very usefull and clean cottage. We had a good time in your beautiful island!!

Mahalo, Merci, Laetitia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Affordable Vacation Rental

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 5, 2012

We had a great time in Big Island and we're glad that we found this nice little cottage! Spacious and clean, has everything we need. Location is great, Trish and Doug are very friendly and helpful!

Mahalo, Anita and Hao

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Affordable Vacation Rental

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 28, 2012

Thanks so much for the use of your wonderful cottage! It was good to have such a spacious, welcoming atmosphere after our days out. It really felt like a "home away from home". The binder with all the information on what do do on the Big Island, and all the planned day trips with helpful tips was amazing! We structured quite a few of our days based on those planned trips, and discovered so much because of it! So thank you once again. Naomi, Amy and Casey

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Affordable Vacation Rental

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: January 30, 2012

What a great spot to use as our "base camp" as we explored this island. The cottage is spacious and comfortable with everything we needed to really enjoy our stay. Trish's tourist info. was a great help.

Thanks again, Deb and Roy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Affordable Vacation Rental

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: January 31, 2012

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay in your house! We were comfortable and benefited from your many thougtful details. We loved the binder and used it often during our stay! Thank you again for your thougtfulness and the wonderful stay!

Lindsey

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Affordable Vacation Rental

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

Great place to stay! Very clean & spacious! You were a wonderful host; will return here.

Mahalo! Lisa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

affordable Vacation Rental

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

What a treat to stay here!! Trish & Doug were the greatest hosts, being so friendly, patient, and full of fun travel tips. The cottage was amazingly clean and comfortable, and I look forward to a future stay here!

Mahalo! Lucy, Ann & Jim

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Affordable Vacation Rental

Review submitted: December 13, 2011   Date of arrival: December 1, 2011

Mahalo! This was a very relaxing environment for me to decompress. Very peaceful, and after a long day of running around we looked forward to coming home to a wonderful cottage.

You are a great host. I look forward to my next visit and will bring my family this time. Cottage is very clean, spacious and well maintained.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Affordable Vacation Rental

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

We decided to go with you guys because of your helpful tips and friendliness, it really sealed the deal. You were just as kind and friendly when we stayed. Thanks for a great time. Vijay

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Affordable Vacation Rental

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: October 12, 2011

We really enjoyed the feeling of being on a remote island and yet the stores were just 5 min. away. A great place for resting after running around sightseeing. We enjoyed it so much we extended our stay! Thanks. Alex

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Affordable Vacation Rental

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: May 23, 2011

Your lovely vacation rental is a real gem. Our stay here was so relaxing...It's in a nice quiet neighborhood and it's so spacious and comfortable for our little family. We thank you for the opportunity to stay in your home. We will definitely return on our next trip back to Hilo:) Mahalo Mahalo! Paula, Anthony and Nyla

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Affordable Vacation Rental

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: February 8, 2011

We enjoyed exploring the Puna and Hilo areas from this conventiently located house (closer to Puna, which is what we liked more!). We enjoyed the snorket gear in the laundry room. Thanks. Dave and Melissa

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review