reviews for: listing #89563 - Gulfport, Mississippi House rental

Perfect Get-A-Way! Pool, Hot Tub, on River! Sleeps 22!
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  20
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $329 - $995 /nt
    $1,995 - $5,400 /wk
    $7,995 - $20,000 /mth

sort by:

Great Place for a Family Reunion and Fun!

Review submitted: August 13, 2014   Date of arrival: August 6, 2014

What a great family weekend at this location with 25 people sleeping comfortably. Everyone had a blast and I think the house worked out perfect for our group. We enjoyed the river with kayaks and canoes, cooled off in the pool and relaxed in the hot tub. We played billiards at our full bar with our own beer tap till late in the evening and early mornings. We enjoyed the large kitchen for great family meals and gatherings. We celebrated birthdays and tried our luck at the local casinos BUT being around family under one roof was the icing on the cake!
The rental process was easy and everyone was so great to work with to set up or weekend. We will for sure visit this location again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Incredible Vacation Home In Gulfport!!

Review submitted: July 5, 2014   Date of arrival: June 22, 2014

We rented this beautiful home for our family reunion with guests driving from as far away as Michigan. The house was incredible. It has every amenity you could ask for and Patricia and Grady ( My Hero!) were so very accommodating. They are Southern Hospitality personified! We all enjoyed the pool and hot tub, and spent many evenings on the covered deck enjoying family time with our group of 23 and then quiet mornings watching the river while sipping our coffee. Imagine our surprise when we walked down the River Path and came to a charming covered sitting area with a swing, fountain and TV! Amazing!! The pictures on the websites are accurate but they do not do justice to the pure luxury feel of this home. We felt like we had our own personal hotel! Even after an 18 to 20 hour drive from Michigan our guests agreed it was totally worth it and they would love to do it again. Thank you again, Patricia and Grady!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just... "Outstanding!"

Review submitted: July 5, 2014   Date of arrival: June 8, 2014

Just celebrated a Family Reunion and couldn't have had a better experience. This house was just perfect. Everything you could want or need is there. 12 Adults/8 kids (8-15/yrs., plus two 2/yr olds) had wonderful week. Only spent one day at the beach because they were having so much fun in the pool! The hot tub was very popular too! Movie Theater family room was a hit. Everyone brought their favorite DVD. We even did "smores" in the new firepit. Site is convenient to both Walmart and Pizza Hut. We grilled almost every night. Grady and Miss Patricia couldn't have been better Hosts for our event. Mississippi Hospitality at it's best! My grandkids put it clearly, "Gramps, we have to do this again!" We are coming back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great Family Vacation.

Review submitted: June 16, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2014

Loved all features inside and outside. Loved the bar area, pool table and the sitting area. Kitchen was wonderful - very large and functional for large groups. Pool, hot tub and firepit were wonderful. Fishing was great for kids! Experience was wonderful and exceeded our expectations! Can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

May 5 Star Vacation

Review submitted: June 11, 2014   Date of arrival: May 27, 2014

The house was everything we expected and more! We really enjoyed our stay in this wonderful house. Although it rained on our vacation and we did not get to do the activities we had planned in gulfport, we were so thankful that our house was a vacation. We enjoyed the game room with the great bar, then to the swimming pool between rains and back to the hot tub for relaxing. Walks on the path,always spotted something we didn't see the first time. And Patricia was great to rent from, thanks Patricia!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Fabulous House/Property

Review submitted: April 28, 2014   Date of arrival: February 17, 2014

We stayed at the house for 2 weeks this past February. What an amazing house! The house had every amenity that we needed. The outside areas are also beautiful, and the owners were also adding palm trees to enhance the "tropical" feel. The owners were very helpful and accommodating. We hope to be able to return again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

A Wonderful Host with a very unusual situation. We HIGHLY recommend!

Review submitted: April 15, 2014   Date of arrival: March 26, 2014

Myself and a group of mostly retired NCAA football officials have gotten together, to take a trip, tell stories [the lies get bigger each year], kick back & relax and have some fun. We've traveled to Texas & Arizona, and this year we choose Gulfport, MS for some fishing and good seafood.

We found this beautiful home on VBRO, on the river, close to everything we were looking for. What we didn't expect, but received was a wonderful host who took care of 7 different sets of needs and expectations, and was more than far with us [read on].

We all loved the home and the setup. We had planned to do some gulf fishing, but what we didn't plan on for a March trip, was the 2 day heavy downpour of rain! An unusual event for this area, this time of year. Our gulf fishing was cancelled twice, and while we were all out, trying to have some fun at the casino's, despite the rain - our hostess calls us, and says, "Hey, you all might want to get back to the house and pack up! It's rained SO MUCH, the river may get out of it's banks, and though while you're in the house you'll be fine, you may not be able to get to your cars to go anywhere without walking through a bit of water. Further she offered us a refund of the nights we didn't use! We were told there was a "chance," we might get water. Because of our work situation, we couldn't afford to take the chance to not be able to fly back home, so our hostess "very graciously" offered us a refund for the nights we couldn't use." She didn't have to do that.

The seven of us - found that gesture to be very gracious and kind of her. While to some, that may sound like the least she could do, we would disagree. We found Patricia to be more than fair to us. Given the situation, we had little time clean up our mess [7 guys - do the math]! We left food that we had just bought behind, and couldn't take with us. She tells us, "no worries."

There's more, but suffice it to say, IF we get the chance to come back ... to this house - we will. Thanks Patricia!

It's a lovely home, with a lovely setup, and your lovely Southern Hospitality.
And you have the BIGGEST kitchen I've ever been in - in my life! DO NOT show that to my wife!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Four Night stay to celebrate my Dad's 70th birthday!

Review submitted: February 10, 2014   Date of arrival: January 30, 2014

Our family of 14 ages (1-70) stayed at the Great Escape River House over Superbowl weekend for four wonderful nights. First, Patricia is the most responsive and thorough owner I have ever dealt with in renting properties over the past twenty years. She goes out of her way to be sure your visit is perfect. Secondly, the home is gorgeous. Our entire family found activities to entertain themselves (pool, hot tub, strolling, games, wining & dining). Of course, we watched the Superbowl on the endless tvs and never missed a moment, even during restroom breaks (there is a tv in the bathroom!). The kitchen is the most impressive space of the entire home and is every woman's dream. We would love to go back one day - go and you will have a wonderful time!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Stay

Review submitted: January 24, 2014   Date of arrival: October 6, 2013

We stayed at the Great Escape River House for Crusin the Coast. The house is amazing. There was so much room and everything is just like it is stated. We could have not asked for a better place. Patricia was excellent to work with. We hope to stay again this October.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What an amazing family vacation spot!!!!!!

Review submitted: November 1, 2013   Date of arrival: October 20, 2013

This house met and exceeded all of our expectations. We planned a family trip to unite my parents 4 grandchildren together for the first time(ages 6, 6, 4, & 2). With the grandchildren living in New York, California, and Mississippi this vacation rental gave us an opportunity to have everyone meet to get the kids together. The location was awesome. Easy access to the airport in Gulfport, restaurants, grocery stores, golf courses, an easy drive to enjoy Bourbon Street and New Orleans for a day, alligator swamp tours in Pascagoula, MS, this location gives you the ability to enjoy so much the area has to offer. The 4 grandchildren had a blast chasing one another around the overwhelming spacious house while adults enjoyed the bar and game room area. The house was well supplied with anything you need cook family dinners or barbecuing. We had such a wonderful time I would definitely make the trip again from San Diego. The owner Patricia was wonderful with communications and making sure our stay was pleasurable. I would easily recommend this house to any family and friends looking for a one of a kind vacation destination. Thank you again to The Great Escape River House for providing such an amazing experience to my family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Unbelievable House!

Review submitted: October 18, 2013   Date of arrival: October 2, 2013

It is hard to actually describe how incredible this house is. Rented for an annual 8 person golf outing, we were not prepared for what the Great Escape River House offered. Pictures do not do the place justice. Everything, and I mean, everything is in this house. From extensive glasswear (including chilled beer glasses & mugs!) to a kitchen that is better than many small restaurants. Four our annual guys trip you, we could not have asked for more. Spacious, spotless and comfortable. Despite being slightly out of Gulfport, was conveniently located to the city, any stores required for shopping (read: food and beverage) and all the quality golf we could handle. Our trip goes someplace different each year, and, as the trip organizer, I am now left scratching my head as to how I am going to top the accommodations offered by the Great Escape River House. If you are at all interested in the Mississippi gulf coast and what it has to offer - and you have a decent size group - do not hesitate to rent this place. Bravo!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BEAUTIFUL HOME

Review submitted: September 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

BEAUTIFUL PLACE TO GET AWAY. OUR FAMILY GETS AWAY EVERY LABOR DAY. PATRICIA DALTON IS A GREAT PERSON TO WORK WITH. SHE TAKES GREAT PRIDE IN HER HOME. WE LOVE TO COOK AND SPEND TIME TOGETHER AS A FAMILY AND THIS HOUSE GAVE US PLENTY OF ROOM TO DO THAT. VERY CLEAN. LOVE LOVE THE HOUSE. WE WILL GO BACK.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Property

Review submitted: September 17, 2013   Date of arrival: February 21, 2013

This is an amazing place. It's spacious, comfortable, and very clean. We had a dozen people and were never felt crowded.

The location is ideal. Close to the airport, golf courses, and restaurants..

The house has it all; great kitchen, recreation room (with pool table and bar), Jacuzzi, huge deck. It was a great place to chill out after a day of golfing.

Patricia, the owner was very helpful and responsive.

We are actually planning our next golf trip in 2014 and will renting the house again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Far exceeded our expectations.

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 21, 2013

Our group of ten (10) golfing buddies have traveled throughout the U.S. This place absolutely had the best accommodations that we've ever experienced. We will return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great Reunion House

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

ur large family booked this rental for a one week reunion. We were pleasantly surprised by the facilities provided. Upon entering, you immediately see a 20 foot granite bar with its own beer tap, which is well appointed with glassware and a dishwasher; a pool table, and 4 large screen TV's. When you survey the home you will see at least 12 TV's (maybe more - I lost count), a very fun loft sleeping area with 3 queens and 2 futons (great for the teens) one bedroom with a king bed, two bedrooms with double-size bunks (6 total) and 2 more bedrooms with queen beds. The house easily sleeps 22. However, the most amazing part of the house was the kitchen, with 2 granite islands, 2 dishwashers, and almost anything you need to feed a large crew.

The location was quiet and located right on the Biloxi river. We brought our own kayaks and enjoyed paddling to appreciate the Southern Mississippi scenery. Outdoors, the pool and hot tub were a welcome distractions for the younger children. The yard had flat grassy areas well suited for both croquet and volleyball, and the raised home provided a large covered area that would still allow outdoor play even if it was dark or raining.

We would definitely consider coming back to this amazing rental.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

High School Girls Weekend

Review submitted: May 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 1, 2013

Myself and 8 high school friends stayed for a long weekend at the "River House", the house is beautiful,
more beautiful than the pictures, we had a fantastic time, very spacious and accommodating, it rained alittle but we still had a few good days, great place & a great time was had, we will go back :)

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent House with a Charming Price

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 13, 2013

This house is an extremely upscale house for the money. We had 8 in our group and it was affordable, quaint and screne for our golf trip in the Gulfport/Biloxi area. The kitchen is huge and well equipped for what you need. There are enough beds for both small and large groups to feel comfortable. The outdoor space provided fishing, swimming, hot tub and tailgating games. The indoor space has a very nice pool table, theater style movie set up and TV's all over the place. You aer 25 mins from the airport, 25 minutes from the casinos and an hour and 10 minutes from New Orleans. The casino golf courses were nice and so was the Oaks golf course. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this house to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place!!

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

I really cannot complain about one thing. This place was awesome and our church group had a really good time. We had such a good time that the students requested to go back this year on our spring retreat. So we are booking it again! I would recommend this to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place!!

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

I really cannot complain about one thing. This place was awesome and our church group had a really good time. We had such a good time that the students requested to go back this year on our spring retreat. So we are booking it again! I would recommend this place to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best place to stay near the gulf coast!

Review submitted: December 24, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

We had a great stay here! The house was better than the pictures! Very clean and well maintained.
The owners even had a keg of beer waiting for us upon arrival! We will definitely return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Eagle

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: November 6, 2012

The best rental home in North America. Our golf group has rented homes in Scottsdale, Palm Springs, Myrtle Beach, Orlando and Riviera Maya, Mexico and this by far was the best rental home of them all. So many amenities to mention and the pics on the web-site don't due it justice. We have been telling everyone about our trip and the story always starts off with,"you should have seen this house"!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfect for a guys trip

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

My buddies and I stayed at this house for our annual golf trip. We originally had 12 guys, which was chopped down to 7 due to babies being born and nagging wives, etc! There are like 5000 beds in this place and I could have slept in a different one each of the four nights we were there. All of the amenities in this place are top notch and if your group of guys can think of something this place is missing, you're a better man than I. We were roughly a half hour away from the 4 different courses we played (90 minutes from Magnolia Grove in Mobile). The only negative I can think of was we were like a $40 cab ride from the casinos in Biloxi, but between 7 guys it's really not bad considering! All in all, the place was perfect, including the guys sitting in the hot tub watching the Sunday Night NFL game. If you are a group of 8-16 guys, this is the place for you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Time

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 5, 2012

What a great time my family had at the Great Escape River House! Patricia and Grady worked their bottoms off getting the house ready for our stay which was less then a week after hurricane Isaac. The house looked exactly like the pictures, but you won't believe how big it is until you see it! Unfortuantely because of Isaac beaches and Ship Island were closed. We still were able to enjoy the local casinos, deep sea fishing and visited the dolphins at the Institute for Marine Mammal Studies in Gulfport. Although, we really didn't need to leave the house, plenty to do there! If you have military (retired or active) with you, we suggest taking advantage of what Keesler AFB has to offer. Hope to return again next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place to Stay!!

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

I really try to investigate a vacation rental. patricia (owner) was very very helpful and great with all my questions. The Children (ages 4-17) really wanted to stay on the beach but with so many of us it was impossible to fine one place. On the second day my 13 year old son walked up to me and said Mom I'm glad we stayed here and not on the beach!! Than was worth it all!!! During our stay we never left the house other than 1 day we went to ship island! That was all the kids needed and they were ready to come back to the house! Great for large families and it is absolutely home away from home! I would highly recommend staying here!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place for a Family Vacation.

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

The house and property was beautiful, spacious, and functional. The kitchen was fully stocked with any type of cookware you may need. The kitchen was large enough for several cooks to work at the same time. There was plenty to keep the 8 children occupied. They were either swimming, walking the trails by the river, playing pool, playing x-box in the media room or dancing to the stereo. The adults enjoyed the spacious balcony with its cool breezes, beautiful view and in the evenings the hot tub. The house was only a short distance from Gulfport and Biloxi. We took the Ferry Boat to Ship Island and its beautiful beach. The sand is white and the water is clear. The children enjoyed watching the sting rays swim around and all the hermit crabs. Some of the adults enjoyed a night out at The Isle of Capri Casino in Biloxi. We did some great fishing with Bay Charter Fishing and caught our limit of White Trout. The children and men enjoyed the trip to the Alligator Farm in Pasacoula. They were able to hold a baby gator and ride an air boat through the swamps. We have great memories of our trip to Gulfport and the Great Escape River House.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous!!

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: April 16, 2012

We did a family vacation with 16 of us varying in age from 22 to 55. The house and amenities were fantastic. Place was very clean and well maintained. Enjoyed the large deck, pool and hot tub. Owner met us when we arrived and gave the tour. The kitchen was the best part. It's huge!! Did some golfing in the area. Lots of nice courses near by. We also enjoyed the casinos in Biloxi. They were only a short drive away. Really enjoyed and would absolutely recommend you stay here.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

ABSOLUTLY PERFECT

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

This beautiful house was perfect for our large family. The pool, the river, the pool table, the large kitchen, all was just wonderful. Our kids and grandkids just loved everything, from swimming in the river to riding bicycles under the house. It was very close to the beach and casinos. We could have easily just stayed at the house and been perfectly content!! Thanks Patty and Grady for a wonderful week!. We all say this was the very BEST place we have every stayed for our family vacations!!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely Awesome Place!

Review submitted: July 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

Fantastic house, so many amenities! We had a family reunion at this wonderful house, and couldn't have been more comfortable! The pool, the river, the pool table, the hot tub....the kitchen that went on and on and on...one could never say, "too many cooks in the kitchen" in this house!! It has room for all the cooks and kids and company!! Beautiful rooms, comfy beds, luxurious bathrooms, and that bar!!! Oh my, that amazing bar!!! One of our party said, "This is the most well appointed house we have ever stayed in!" Convenient to Gulf Coast attractions, but private and secluded feeling!! Great, just great! I live on the coast and had no idea this place existed! I discovered it by accident and am so happy I did! My family came from all over the US: WA, AZ, NE, TN, SC, MO, TX. All were impressed!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great River = Great Family Fun

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 3, 2012

We traveled to Gulfport for our family reunion. It was great to be able to have the whole family stay together in one location. The house far exceeded our expectations. Everyone had a great time whether they were hanging out on the dock, swimming in the pool, relaxing in the jacuzzi, playing billiards, or just watching any one of the many tvs!!!! There was something for everyone and so much space that our family did not feel like they were top of each other. This house is definitely on our list of places we must travel to again!!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Happy Family Reunion!

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 27, 2012

The Great Escape River House was a fantastic place for our family vacation. We had an amazing time and everything was perfect for a large family gathering. We especially enjoyed the pool and deck, the spacious kithen, the fishing dock and the bar/pool table, just to name a few We hope to come back again for another family reunion. Thanks so much, Patty and Grady!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great option for families!

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

We recently stayed at the Great Escape River House. We had four generations at the house at one time including 6 children from ages 1 to 9. The house is very well done and truly feels like a home and not some sparsely populated rental house. It met and exceeded our expectations. It was very quiet and we couldn't think of anything we would do to add to our experience. Between fishing at the river, the pool and hot tub, pool table and numerous tvs everyone was happy. The house is quite childproofed and we the kids loved the deck. The owners were very accommodating and did a great job in making sure our vacation was seamless! Definitely recommend this one!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

AWESOME VACTION HOUSE

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 4, 2012

we all want to thank you for a great vaction house.Your website is great,but the house is better in person.It was great that you took the time to greet us in person,to give us a personalized tour of your home.The house is big enough that we all had our own rooms,yet cozy enough that we all could sit around and enjoy everthing that you have to offer.We all enjoyed the pool and hot tub area's,

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Corporate Escape

Review submitted: April 13, 2012   Date of arrival: January 5, 2012

This place was made for entertaining people. I had twelve guys from all over meet here to spend some time together. Every where you looked there was another TV. I think I quit counting TVs at around twenty. The kitchen is huge and the entertainment room with the pool table and bar is set up like a MAN CAVE. I swear the entertainment room was set up like a sports bar. We had a great time. I highly recomend this place for a family or corporate gathering. I will be renting this place again and will recomend it to all of my friends.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great getaway

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 11, 2012

I just returned from a golf trip to Gulfport, Ms. Besides the great weather and courses to play, the stay at the Great Escape River House was perfect.
This is a great house with all the extras. The hot tub and pull were ready to go and very enjoyable, the kitchen and entertainment areas were huge with everything you could want. We only had six golfers but we could have had twice that and been plenty comfortable. I would recommend this house to any golf group or for a family vacation. The owner met us at the house and went through everything with us to make our stay and use of the place as easy as possible, she was great to work with and very easy to get in touch with to answer any questions. We will be making this trip again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Awesome house for a golf group!

Review submitted: March 6, 2012   Date of arrival: February 16, 2012

Had a group of 10 golfers and the house was ideal. Lots of room for everyone, great kitchen, living room and hot tub. Ideal location for golf courses, casino's, restaurants etc., all within a short drive. Pictures on website don't do the house justice, we were amazed when we walked in.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing house-perfect for golf group

Review submitted: March 6, 2012   Date of arrival: February 16, 2012

This house is incredible, the pictures on the website don't do it justice. Recently stayed here with a group of 10 golfers and all were impressed with the accommodations. Great location for a short trip to numerous courses, casino's, restaurant's etc.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome vacation in Mississippi at this beautiful river house!!

Review submitted: March 2, 2012   Date of arrival: February 16, 2012

House is absolutely incredibly!! Beautiful lay out, amazing bar and lounge room and even more incredible kitchen. Very spaciously laid out for a large ground of travelers. Only a few minutes drive from Gulfport and Biloxi but yet tucked away on a secluded dead end road on the Biloxi river. Owner of the home was very helpful and friendly and answered any questions we had about the area and gave some good pointers. Impossible not to enjoy!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great for Family Reunion

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

We really enjoyed celebrating our annual family reunion at this house. It was plenty big enough to visit with everyone, but you could also find some quite spots to just relax. The kitchen was beautiful had two of everything you needed. We even use the kegerator at the bar. It had TVs galore. The house was very clean and management helped us out whenever we need something. There was an outdoor elevator that could be used (with management permission/access only) to allow a diabled person to get to the main floor. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Anniversary Party

Review submitted: February 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

We stayed absolutely loved this house I was perfect in every way you can imagine. I would love to bring my family back again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We WILL be back!!!

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 2, 2011

Absolutely fabulous stay!!! We rented for the weekend for my husband's company party. The kitchen and bar are so well stocked. They thought of everything, including laundry detergent!!! The beds are super comfortable. Plenty of pillows. LOTS of TVS... Felt like being home. We have created a new tradition!!! We WILL be back!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We WILL be back!!!

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 2, 2011

Absolutely fabulous stay!!! We rented for the weekend for my husband's company party. The kitchen and bar are so well stocked. They thought of everything, including laundry detergent!!! The beds are super comfortable. Plenty of pillows. LOTS of TVS... Felt like being home. We have created a new tradition!!! We WILL be back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A perfect getaway for a large crowd!

Review submitted: December 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

Our family of 17 spent a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday here. This is our 4th family vacation in a big house, all in different cities, and this was the best experience we've had. The house is spacious, comfortable, and well stocked. There was room for everyone to gather together and also place to get away by yourself. Everyone spent fun time in the man cave; the hot tub was a favorite spot; the giant kitchen made meals enjoyable; everyone enjoyed outdoors with the decks and river view. So roomy and quiet, we felt as if we were really getting away from it all, yet we were only minutes away from amenities. This was a great location for everyone, all 9 adults and 8 children - including two teens and kids from ages 2-8. We hope to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Time at the Great Escape!

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

10 Plus Star Rating. The listing, photos, description and the pleasure of working with Patty, sold this place to me. I had a large party and wanted to make sure everyone was comfortable. The property was clean and well maintained. Patty and Grady are wonderful to work with and very accommodating! They thought of everything, no need to bring anything, but the food and the family.
I rented this for a girl’s night out and then had everyone's family over the next day for a BBQ. Everyone was so impressed with the house and its furnishings. We had a "Fantastic" weekend at the Great Escape! Everyone wanted to stay for a life time, no one wanted to go home - even the small ones wanted to live there forever. Close enough to everything yet far enough away to give you solitude. Casino's, shopping, no need for a restaurant however, there are plenty to choose from. We will stay here again and will recommend to friends and relatives. Thank you Patty and Grady!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing!!!!

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

This rental propety was amazing. Plenty of room for lots of people. We really enjoyed sitting in the hot tub and watching multiple football games at the same time!!!! Thanks for having our group. The house was awesome. We will definately return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Total Experience Absolutely Wonderful!!!

Review submitted: October 31, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

No mis-representation what-so-ever about this house...It is "all that" and more.
There is so much to do and enjoy; TV in practically every room, pooltable, pool, hot tub, fshing on the river, awesome bar, very large living room with huuuge sofa for all to watch the game, huge deck, quiet and private bed rooms, lots of parking and so much more. Very, very, clean. Owners were wonderful, most cooperative, and very kind. Our family couldn't have had a more enjoyable stay..... Sincerely,
Mary and family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mary, it was such a pleasure meeting you and all your wonderful family. I know all of you get together annually and that this was the first time everyone got together on the Mississippi Gulf Coast. I sure hope it's not the last! The Great Escape River House will always be here for you, your family, and anyone you refer. It is people like you that make being in the Vacation Rental Industry an absolute joy. Thank you again for choosing the Great Escape River House for your family get together. ~ Patricia

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

The best getaway in Gulfport!!!

Review submitted: October 25, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

This was the most beautiful river house i have even been in. We had rented it this past weekend for a few coaches and parents while playing at gulfport sports complex. It was so perfect for the group we had. There was so much room and definitely well planned when built or remolded. Would absolutely recommend to anyone that loves to cook and hangout with people they love! The best feature of the house is the beautiful kitchen that makes it so much fun to cook and entertain. Can't wait to rent again in the future! Thanks for the great weekend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

It was like a dream, too good to be true. But it WAS true!

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 29, 2011

We have had retreats before, but this one far surpassed anything we have done in the past. This is due in large part to the Great Escape River House. It was wonderful to have accommodations large enough to house our whole group. And we had beds to spare! The kitchen was well equipped, with room for everyone to work together. I had toured the house before agreeing to rent it and was duly impressed. But after walking in on the first day of our rental, I was wowed all over again. I look forward to renting from the owners of this place again. They were gracious to us and willing to help out with any problems or needs we had. Can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Restoration Weekend with 20 ladies!

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 8, 2011

We had a Restoration Weekend with 20 ladies from 3 different churches. We all joined together to spend time growing in relationships with new and old friends and to spend some time with learning to rest in God's word. We had a wonderful time on the walking path where we had a time of prayer together. We also had a wonderful time floating around in the pool. The house was larger then any picture you see. Plenty of space to get away and not be on top of each other. Beds are big, even the bunk beds, all very comfortable. We are all looking forward to return next year to do it again and pray for more people to join us as Patty and Grady add to their accommodations with a renovated house next to this one. Again great time by all of us ladies, we ranged from 23 to 80. God's blessings on Patty and Grady for their hospitality and making sure that we had everything and more that we needed.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect for everyone!!!

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

Your search is over. This is the one!!! The Great River Escape House is tucked away in a very peaceful setting, yet close to restaurants, grocery stores, the Gulfport beaches and casinos. The house is huge, comfortable, clean, has a kicking air conditioning unit and everything you desire. The mattresses are great quality and anywhere you choose to relax there will be a television and remote nearby. This house is equipped to provide as much action or serenity as you desire. If you think the pictures make the house look spacious, wait until you see it in person. My family loved it! We cooked in the beautiful gourmet kitchen, watched movies, played pool, whipped up some frozen pina coladas at the bar, swam, and went in the hot tub. The deck at the river was great for fishing. We caught perch and bass and had a fish fry for dinner. My family has used VRBO to find vacation rentals for a few years now and we would definitely rank The Great River Escape House at the top of the list. The owners, Patricia and Grady, were extremely easy to work with and very down to earth. They helped to make our summer 2011 vacation a wonderful and memorable event.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

50th Anniversary family get together

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

I rented this house as a gathering place to celebrate my parents' 50th Anniversary. My brothers and their families joined us along with my parents. The house was larger than we needed, but it gave us plenty of room to spread out and have quiet time as well as family time.

The large kitchen allowed the Italian and Cajun women to get in there and work our magic! We ate well and really enjoyed our time. We had plenty of room to all be in the kitchen at once without getting in anyone's way.

The pool was a refreshing way to start each day and the hot tub provided much-needed relaxation.

Patty and Grady were awesome and responsive to our needs. The family all agreed that the expense of renting this house was a great value and well worth it! We plan to send our friends and other family members here for their vacations and we hope to return here for another vacation in the future.

We were close enough to shopping, casinos, and the beach to keep everyone happy; although we would have also been just as happy never leaving the house!

I HIGHLY recommend spending some time at the Great Escape River House....it truly is a GREAT Escape!

Thank you Patty and Grady for some wonderful memories!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very Nice Place

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 13, 2011

Patty and Sean you have a really nice place. Everything we needed was at hand. The pool and the fishing was great, the kids loved it. Kitchen was amazing. Beds were very comfortable. Could not get a response to voice mails left for your management team concerning some issues before we left. Please contact me or have your team contact me.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: As soon as I received this review, I emailed this guest to inquire about her stay and received some good insight into her experience at the The Great Escape River House, below is an excerpt from her emailed response to me:

"Let me say this, your place is one of the best I've rented.  You provided more than any vacation rental owner have ever provided that I've dealt with over the years......   One day soon we would love to come back and hopefully all the kinks are worked out with your management team."

This is my first review and I'm very diappointed that it was not a 5 star review.  Especially disappointed because the  house lived up to  and exceeded this guest's expectations, even if the management team I choose, didn't.  I promise to improve on the response time and while the management team will continue to have their 24 hour contact number posted in the house, I'm instructing them to also have my cell number right under it.  My goal is meet or exceed every guest's expectations.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review