reviews for: listing #8960 - Boone, North Carolina Cabin rental

Authentic log cabin, 21 acres, rushing trout stream, hot tub
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $150 /nt
    $800 - $800 /wk

sort by:

Honeymoon Retreat

Review submitted: April 9, 2014   Date of arrival: March 24, 2014

A perfect place for a honeymoon week stay. Tuesday night 3/25 it snowed an inch and we woke up to beautiful white scenery. Boone is close by and we were able to stock the kitchen and utilize the facilities at the cabin. The grill and hot tub are must haves. We would like to come back for an anniversary stay.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A little slice of heaven on earth!

Review submitted: October 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 25, 2013

The Trout Retreat was perfect! What a lovely place in an absolutely gorgeous location. The trees were cool and calming. We were thrilled with the fabulous cabin and the lovely deco. Upon entering the cabin, we had a 'WOW' moment; it was so clean and inviting! We simply unpacked, relaxed and stayed on cabin time for the next few days.....some of the highlights included relaxing on the screened back porch, or sitting near the roaring fire in the fire pit while we watched our black lab play in the creek, relaxing in the calming and soothing hot tub, reclining in front of the awesome rock fireplace, and sleeping at night in the comfy bed listening to the creek. The kitchen was well stocked with everything for cooking! We are already planning on a return trip! Jackie was VERY helpful with everything we needed to know about the cabin.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great place to stay...

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

Trout Retreat made for a perfect vacation for our little family. We have 2 small children and we wanted them to be able to play in a gently flowing creek and have plenty of room to explore. This place was just that... The kids played in the creek one day and fished in the creek the next... The back porch was also a great place for them to hang out and play. The inside of the cabin was exactly what we expected. It had a cabin like feel with a nice kitchen and plenty of counter space. The KING size bed upstairs in the loft was probably my favorite part of the cabin. The windows that opened out towards the creek allowed us to hear the flowing water as we went to bed and again when we awoke. We used the hot tub as well as the grill on the back porch and they were nice. Just a short drive to Boone, but as one can expect in the mountains, the road is curvy.. I would stay in this cabin again without any hesitation, it is perfect for the wanna be fisherman and the family too...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Wonderful Graduation Present

Review submitted: April 20, 2013   Date of arrival: April 15, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time at this cabin. It was exactly what we needed. Very quiet and peaceful and it was nice not to have cell phone or internet service. A nice flat screen TV, with satellite, in the living room did provide us with access to the outside world. The cabin was clean and the surroundings were beautiful. It does take a while (30 minutes) to get to the property once you get off 421 and my husband never saw or caught any fish in the stream. Get your all you groceries/supplies before heading down the mountain, it's a long way back up. The king sized bed was very comfortable to sleep on. The screened in back porch was a great addition, this is where we played board games and cards. Loved hearing the water rushing over the rocks during the day and at night as we went to sleep. The other cabin is only a few hundred feet away from TR, and there were guests staying in it, but we hardly noticed them or heard them.

The cabin is not on as much land as you think and there was a gravel road in front that was more heavily traveled than we expected. However, it did not bother us. We were told that the water would have a smell but we never experienced that.

We can't wait to go back and bring our families with us!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Christmas at Trout Retreat & Creekside

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

Thanks for everything Jackie, our family had the best time ever! We all agreed on a scale from 1-10 it was a 10 family vacation and exactly what we had in mind. The place is great. It was clean, comfortable, and so cozy! Can't wait to return

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Another superb week

Review submitted: December 7, 2012   Date of arrival: October 28, 2012

Thanks for another superb stay at Trout Retreat. The weather was perfect the whole week for cozy days and evenings in front of the fireplace. Our Labs continued to delight in Elk Creek despite thirty degree temps and by the end of the day they were exhausted from romps on the property. Kudos to the new housekeeping staff as the cabin never looked better! We'll be in touch to plan our spring/summer return. Thanks again! Jane and Steve

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Awesome Mountain Cabin Getaway!

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 27, 2012

My husband and I had an absolutely wonderful time at Trout Retreat! The whole environment, indoors and out, is simply amazing and was even more than we expected. The cabin is authentic but with so many nice modern amenities like the soft down comforter on the king size bed, the spa like bath linens to the gas grill, dishwasher and gas fireplace. A beautiful relaxing southern North Carolina screen porch overlooks the river - you could always hear the rushing water over the rocks! The hot tub was wonderful under the stars at night and the HD TV was outstanding! I just can't tell you what a great three days we had here and how nice it is of you to share your stunning cabin! We definitely hope to come back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Exceptional, Awesome, Fantastic

Review submitted: September 14, 2012   Date of arrival: September 9, 2012

Charming, water rushing down like a waterfall coming off mountain into the stream was awesome,screened in porch spacious, very comfortable seating and plenty of it. Clean, clean , clean. hearing the waterfall and rushing water over the rocks was so delightful and relaxing. Opened windows upstairs to hear the waterfall and it put you to sleep. Sitting area opened to the bedroom area was lovely ( this is where you could enjoy the sounds from the stream. Open the windows and here mother nature at her best.) This place is so awesome , landscape to relaxing. fire pit by stream inviting and enjoyable plenty of seating here. Birds sing all day and night. Grounds are well manicured to enjoy all the outdoors around the cabin. I highly recommend this place to all..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Trout Retreat -- Five Stars

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

We have rented cabins in North Carolina for the past several years. Trout Retreat is our favorite. The cabin itself, the creek and field for us humans and our dogs, the screened in porch, and the excellent/cooperative/professional management made our two weeks in the NC mountains absolutely perfect. The grass and fields were well manicured and that made for most pleasant use. The smaller cabin near Trout Retreat was rented by a couple of families while we were there and we hardly noticed. (We have also rented that cabin and it was also wonderful.) If someone is looking for a relaxing atmosphere that is still 20 minutes from civilization, this is the place. Don’t expect great cell phone reception – but, that’s one reason to go to the mountains. Owners Bill and Nancy can count us in for next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

My week-long cabin stay

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

I recently stayed at Trout Retreat with my two dogs who loved the creek. The cabin was very nicely furnished for a rental property and the television had recently been upgraded to a large flat screen. The cabin was clean with a very large screened in back porch and a new metal roof had just been installed. There were a couple of surprises upon arrival that are either not mentioned or creatively represented in the description and pictures. The cabin is not on a secluded site, the pictures of the front of the cabin were taken from the road. It literally sits 25 feet from a busy county road with gravel trucks running by every hour during the day, if you have the front door open you will get a cloud of dust inside as each vehicle passes by. The "authentic" cabin is a modern built log cabin and not a 100+ year old log cabin. I don't know if the cabin actually sits on 21 acres, if it does it appears to be 1 acre deep and 21 acres long... what you see in the pictures is the total depth of the lot. It shares that acreage with at least one other cabin. It wasn't uncommon to have come back in the evening or wake up and find locals standing in your backyard fishing and parked on the property and walked up next to the cabin or between the cabins on the way back to their vehicle. I rated the cabin a 3 of 5, of any issue I had with the cabin the only one that would keep me from renting again is the proximity to the road, otherwise it would have been rated a 4. I had to watch my two dogs a lot more closely than I had anticipated. We never did find the 60 foot waterfall mentioned in the ad.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: I am happy to see that things were nice and clean for your stay. I tried to reach you by phone to discuss the issues you have listed. Owner has 21 acres there and it is advertised that there is another cabin there and available to be rented together. There is new construction down the road apparently, so we can not control what vehicles come and go on a public road. The cabin was built by a local family with real logs. That is why we call it "authentic". We never said it was 100 yrs. old. We have taken the waterfall out of our description. It is on an adjacent property and we have been able to have our guests hike it if they like. NC stocks the creek so that leaves locals to wander on creek. We have taken steps to ensure this does not happen in the future. We appreciate your feedback and work toward making our guests stay a memorable one.

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Tucked away cabin - escape the noisy world around you

Review submitted: October 7, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

My husband and I just recently stayed at Trout Retreat and we could't have been more happy and pleased with our stay.

Unfortunately, it seems that previous renters did not have a nice stay, perhaps they didn't carefully review all the information that was given to them immediately after reserving the cabin. Does the water have a smell, yes, you're on septic in the mountains...bring a gallon or two for coffee and for your teeth/face, etc. Little bottles will do just fine for everyday use. The TV?? Has DirecTV with over 150 channels - you need to press "Guide" to see all the channels. Another cabin nearby, yes, but small, so you would't have large parties (we had a family of 4 there the weekend we were there, quiet).

That all being said....hiking nearby....not really, go NW from the cabin in to Boone, and hope on the Blue Ridge Parkway - seriously, 25 minutes from the Parkway. Plus, if you bring dogs - as we did - they will have a blast and be exhausted at the end of the day.

The atmosphere, serenity, and disconnection from the outside digital world (no cell phones or internet here) was a welcome retreat for my husband and I.

So, go, visit, enjoy. Open the windows upstairs in the bedroom, listen to the creek at nightime, and if you're lucky (as we were), hear the rain tapping on the tin-roofed enclosed deck.

Oh...if you're a fan of doughnuts, hit up Dixie Donuts on Hwy 268 (just after you exit in Wilkesboro). Small business, support local shops - excellent donuts!!

For stops along the BRP, the Moses Cone Park and Julian Price Park (MP 294 and 296) should not be missed, plenty of hiking available.

Also remember there's a thing called "wind-chill" when you're going along the Parkway. Ummm...a bit unseasonably cold when we visited, weren't totally prepared (gloves & hats are good).

Have a great time!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

For Nature Lovers

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

We spent 7 wonderful nights in this cabin and have a lot of great memories! Our days and evenings were spent exploring the area, playing and fishing in the stream, and enjoying the hot tub and deck. The cabin was comfortable and had everything we needed. I was a bit disappointed that the "Creekside Cabin" is right next door to the "Trout Retreat Cabin". Fortunately, we only had neighbors 4 nights during our stay and they were gone a lot of the time. Renting both cabins would be a perfect vacation for families/friends!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Disappointed

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed for a week in August. POSITIVES FIRST - Awesome outdoor setting, huge screened porch, 4 person hottub on deck with large barbecue grill - all overlooking creek, rocklined firepit beside creek, and lots and lots of yard. NEGATIVES - This is more of a weekend place due to its location (7 miles off "old route 421" down a narrow and very windey road), and lack of "week long" amenities, e.g., no music system, limited tv stations, no cell phone service, no wi fi, and the hard wired phone does not permit long distance calls. The water was also unusable - even had to take short showers due to very bad smell and had to get bottled water for drinking and cooking. We were also disappointed in the purported "cleanliness" of the cabin. Had to call caretaker to come in and clean (which she did right away); lots of dust bunnies that take a while to develop, cobwebs, threadbare rugs. Ran out of propane while cooking steaks - no replacement tank on site. Reading was difficult due to very bad lighting with broken lamps and shades and only 60 watt bulbs everywhere. There is very limited hiking nearby. Also disappointed with requirements upon leaving; after paying for "cleaning fee," we were required to wash and dry towels, strip beds, bring trash to dump, wash dishes and put everything in its proper place. The cabin has great potential, but as it is - not really user friendly for stays beyond a weekend.

Helpful votes: 9 / 14

 

Wonderful relaxing atmosphere

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

Our family had a wonderful time playing and fishing in the creek and hiking up to the falls on the property. Our two boys aged 8 and 10 had a blast skipping rocks and trying to catch the small fry in the creek with their hands. It was nice to be disconnected from the outside world (no cell or internet service) for the weekend and great to get the boys outside for playtime. We really enjoyed the surroundings and the cabin was perfect for our vacation needs. The hot tub was a nice bonus for soaking after a long day of trail hikes. We'll certainly keep this place in mind if we decide to visit the Boone area during the fall or winter.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Anniversary weekend

Review submitted: May 8, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

A great place for a quiet weekend. Deep pool in creek just behind the cabin had a school of 12-14 large brown trout. Bed and linens very comfortable. Cell phones do not work! Either take a phone card (recommended by owner) or be prepared to ride around to get a signal. I would rent here again (and plan to). There was a small area of 'sandy beach' next to the creek but this is probably subject to change depending on Mother Nature.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Serenity Now!

Review submitted: December 7, 2010   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

Just had a romantic weekend getaway at the Trout Retreat cabin. We had a wonderful time. the cabin itself is gorgeous; the surroundings make it even more enjoyable. The kitchen was well-stocked and clean. Both the king-sized bed in the upstairs loft and the futon in the living room were really comfortable. And the gas fireplace did a great job at keeping us toasty on a cold winter's night. Do yourself a favor and sit outside in the hot tub once the sun has gone down; you can almost reach up and touch the stars! And to top it all off, the sound of the rushing stream really does complete the picture. We will definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Tony

Review submitted: September 23, 2010   Date of arrival: September 19, 2010

My wife and i had the most enjoyable time at the Trout Retreat ,everthing you read about it is very accurate,we have stayed at a lot of cabins over our 46 years and this was the most delightful,extremely clean,everything you might need and want it there,the screened-in back porch was a stroke of genius.Will be returning again and again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 16, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

Wow! This is a great place to spend a vacation. The cabins are nice, the stream is beautiful, and the owner is great to work with. Be sure to hike to the nearby falls, it's well worth the walk. Our whole family- human and canine- had a wonderful time! It's the kind of place you'll want to return to again and again.

Helpful votes: 21 / 21

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review