reviews for: listing #89604 - Helen, Georgia Cottage rental

Spectacular Mountain Views
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $95 - $95 /nt
    $570 - $570 /wk

sort by:

Great Place!

Review submitted: August 11, 2014   Date of arrival: August 7, 2014

This is a great place to stay! My wife and I came here for our 5 year wedding anniversary (with the pup and baby). We had a great time. The house was comfortable, well-kept, well-appointed, and in an ideal location for away-from-it-all-but-not-too-far-away relaxation. The creek down the drive was peaceful and the mountains were surprisingly beautiful. The owners are very kind and helpful. We plan to come back if our schedules will allow it so don't tell too many other folks how wonderful of a location this is.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful stay!

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: July 13, 2014

Thanks to all the positive reviews, we decided to give this cottage a try... And I am SO thankful that we did! All of the comments about how nice Brenda and Don, they are 100% true :) The Guest House was just as pictured, along with being neat and clean as stated by many of the guests. I loved the flowers around the house! Everytime I would walk outside the smell was beautiful, it was great! Brenda was even kind enough to bless me with flowers to take home, now I've got a wonderful memory of our stay in my yard!
We enjoyed walking down to the creek so the kids and dog could play in the water. Plus the location of the cottage was perfect for all the activites we had planned. We spent a day in Helen, tubing down the Cool River, checked out Anna Ruby Falls, along with swimming at Unicoi Lake. We also hiked to Raven Cliffs Falls- it's a long trail, but very nice. To top it off we went rafting on the Chattooga (section III)- Eric with Southeastern Expeditions was a great guide!
Having the jacuzzi tub was perfect to relax in after our excursions! I can't say enough about how nice our stay was at the Guest House. The whole vacation was wonderful, and I believe it started that way because of the generosity and care from Don and Brenda. We would definitely recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a place to stay while visiting the area. In fact, if we are to visit again, I know where we will be staying ;)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect family getaway

Review submitted: July 17, 2014   Date of arrival: July 10, 2014

We are so lucky to have spent a long weekend at the ranch. The owners are amazing and super friendly, and the property is breathtaking! We have 3 year old twins, and they loved "their room" with the twin beds and window seat, as well as visiting the horses and swinging in the yard. They also loved playing checkers at the table during afternoon rain storms. The house was spacious, yet cozy and had all the amenities you need for a relaxing stay. We made several meals at the house during our stay, but we also had an amazing dinner at The Copper Pot in Clarkesville and a quick lunch in Helen at the Meeting Place across from Betty's Store. We explored Unicoi State Park and Anna Ruby Falls two days and would definitely recommend a visit. We can't wait to visit again next year!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything We Hoped For And More!

Review submitted: July 15, 2014   Date of arrival: May 2, 2014

This review is long overdue. My fiancé and I visited the Helen/Sautee-Nacoochee area for some pre-grad school relaxation and for some time away to focus on wedding planning. What we found when we arrived was way more than we ever anticipated! After many unfortunate and irritating delays (we were supposed to arrive in the area around 2-3pm and didn't get in until almost 8pm) our excitement for our trip had been somewhat dampened. But it didn't take long for us to completely forget about the 4+ hours of airport and traffic delays we had just endured.

The drive through Sautee-Nacoochee to the property alone was enough to brighten our spirits; absolutely gorgeous! Despite all the delays, Don and Brenda were still there waiting to meet us with the most welcoming smiles and salutations. They were/are the very definition of "southern hospitality"; kindhearted, generous and made us feel right at home. They went above-and-beyond in helping provide us with the exact experience we were looking for and making sure we were happy and enjoyed every minute of our vacation. As far as the property itself goes...WOW! Quiet and secluded (there are a couple other houses around, but you cannot see them from the rental). It was very, very clean and well maintained. Furnished with everything we possibly needed. The beauty of the view and the surrounding area is stunning! I feel the best ringing endorsement I can give to how beautiful it is, is: My fiancé and I had booked to have our engagement photos taken around Helen during our stay in the area and ended up taking half of them around the property!

We were so pleased with our stay that we have not stopped telling our friends about this hidden gem. Everything from the neighing wake-up calls from the horses in the field, the morning jog with the neighboring dog Bandit as your running companion, the little picturesque creek you have to cross when entering the property, to the swing in the front yard perfectly positioned for an evening glass of wine and a view of the sun setting in the mountains just adds to the incredible charm. We fell in love so much with the place, the people and all that is Northeast Georgia, that we decided to have our wedding in the area! Date set and venue booked!

Thank you so much Don and Brenda! We will most definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great cottage in the mountains

Review submitted: June 25, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

I recently rented the guest house for a girls weekend away with my sisters and friends. We loved the location. The cottage was as meticulously cleaned as stated in other reviews, not a speck of dust anywhere. It was also larger than it looks in the pictures. We stayed for 3 nights and had six people on one of those nights and we were not at all crowded. My only complaint was I wish the view from the deck or the patio were of the mountain instead of the woods. And no fire pit for smores. Other than that it was a good trip. I recommend highly that you take Don's directions and NOT the GPS. If you have an SUV, drive that instead of the car as there is a fairly steep incline and a small creek you have to cross to get to the cottage. I did see some other cars make it but I'm glad I was in the a truck. However, minus that we had a great time in Helen, lots to do and the cottage wasn't but a 10 minute drive away from all the action. I would definitely recommend renting this cottage to anyone looking for a nice place to stay while in Helen.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guest House

Review submitted: May 24, 2014   Date of arrival: May 16, 2014

The cabin was wonderful. The view was amazing. It was clean and quiet. The owners were very friendly and there for any questions. I highly recommend this cabin to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay!

Review submitted: April 10, 2014   Date of arrival: March 23, 2014

Everything was wonderful. The house and the views were beautiful. The house was exceptionally clean and in good order. Thank you for a great stay for our anniversary!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome

Review submitted: March 16, 2014   Date of arrival: March 13, 2014

First off we are from South Carolina and knew nothing about Georgia. We got lost (didn't have a GPS), called the owner and they eventually got us to the house by meeting us at a Wendy's in Helen. The nicest people we have ever met. They went out of their way to make sure we got to the guest house. The house is exactly as described. Comfortable in everyway. It was like being at home. Their directions to everything were right on. Had a great time. Will be returning again. Thank you for your understanding with us getting lost.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Much needed getaway

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Paso Fino Ranch for a much need getaway. We loved the seclusion. The home was very roomy and quite. It was very cozy. It was within distance to everything. We will diffently stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

LOVED IT!

Review submitted: March 6, 2014   Date of arrival: February 28, 2014

PERFECT place for a couple with kids. EXTREMELY clean. Owners are very very nice. My daughter's, husband and I had an EXCELLENT time! Spacious and within perfect distance of Helen.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Window to Mother Nature

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 21, 2013

This was such a wonderful experience! We were 4 adults who thoroughly enjoy the house and the hospitality! The hosts, Don and Brenda were so very nice to us and provided us with lots of information of the surrounding area, and what was available, along with their suggestions! Everything they suggested turned out to be very accurate and very enjoyable!!! Thank you for your help! As for the house...it was lovely! Gorgeous view, beautiful setting, and everything we could want in the house, including a very comfortable bed!!! Everything was super... we would definely go back again if we return to Helen! Thank you so much for a great stay!!! Susan

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great family vacation

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

Thank you Don and Brenda, this was our family time and it went very well. We will remember you and your nice vacation home that you offered to us. The house was
Thank you for everything.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great stay

Review submitted: February 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

We had a great stay! The guest house is immaculate and Brenda & Don are so friendly and helpful. Views amazing we will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Weekend !!!!!

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

My sister and I went to Helen for my birthday. At arrival the owners met us at the property. They were by far the NICEST couple I have ever met. We had an unexpected snowfall of about 3 inches and they came over several times to check on us to make sure we were fine and to see if we needed food etc. The cottage was perfect and spotless. They are animal lovers (horses and a big ole furry dog} I give them extra points for that. Anyway it was such a plus dealing with owners. View was Great of the mountains. No close neighbors, and close to Helen. I hope to go back this spring. Folks this is a KEEPER. We didn't do much in Helen but we went to relax.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

My family had a wonderful time staying at the Sautee Paso Fino Ranch. Don and Brenda welcome you with smiling faces and make you feel right at home at the cottage. This is a great property to stay at with young children, the property fit our clan with two young children just perfectly. The cottage is very well maintained inside and comes fully equipped with all kitchen necessities.
The views from the cottage are magnificent and the location is ideal. We found it to be very convenient to Helen and the surrounding areas. I would definitely recommend this property!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: December 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 15, 2012

I can't say enough wonderful things about my stay!! This home is by far the cleanest rental that I have ever stayed in. The owners were wonderful, from the first email I sent, until the day we left. The location is wonderful. I would recommend this property to anyone!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Feel like family!

Review submitted: November 24, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

Prior reviews were absolutely correct about Don and Brenda, you could not ask for more when it comes to their ability to provide everything you could need or want in a rental. They are one of the kindest, generous and most humble people I have ever met!

I rented the guest house for my son and his family, to stay over the Thanksgiving holiday. Don and Brenda made them feel right at home and I feel like I have made new friends for life! When I need a place for family to stay in the future, I will always go first to the Paso Fino Ranch.

In addition, having lived here for several years myself, I know that there is quite a lot available to do in close proximity. Lot's to do for people who like the outdoors; many parks available for hiking and places for the kids to run around! Atlanta is close enough that you can go check out the museums and attractions as well.

Thank you again, Don and Brenda, for sharing your beautiful guest home with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a fantastic experiance!!

Review submitted: October 8, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

Lets start things off with what a pleasure it was meeting Brenda and Don. They have come up with the perfect system for wanting people to come back to stay at there property again and again. Its called great product, great service and well worth the money. They have a home in a great location, its so beautiful up on that mountain. Helen is a short drive away and there are two other towns withen a short drive away. I highly recomend this property to everyone from familys to couples, its very nice. We brought a dog along and they had a kennel available for use. A spacious kithen and living room. It has a gas fireplace that would be very cozy during the winter. I cant say enough good things about the owners and this rental property. You will be very satisfied!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A chance to escape

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I wanted to get away from the city. This was the perfect place. Tucked away from noise, nature all around you. It was so much better than any hotel we could have possibly booked. We were at home with all of the amenities available to us. Don and Brenda were amazing and so kind to let us stay in their guest house. I can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to relax!

Review submitted: July 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

Our entire family enjoyed the Guest House. Very spacious and comfortable. My husband and I loved sitting on the deck in the morning with our coffee and watching the birds. Beautifully landscaped, secluded and quiet. Our daughters loved chasing fireflys at night, playing in the creek and meeting their friendly dogs and beautiful horses. The owners are just wonderful, made us all feel at home. Would stay there again. I Highly recommended this home.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 3, 2012

It was a nice trip to Helen,GA we enjoy the amazing weather. The most thing we like is the hospitality of Don and Brenda. They were greeting us when we arrived and they give us the best price in that area. The guest house was very very clean, huge and very nice. It is a good place to stay and very close to a lot of attractions. I never enjoy staying in any property like this time. Thanks Don and Brenda. I promise I'll visit you agin and again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Welcome rest!

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 16, 2012

When I arrived to the Guest House, I was greeted by 2 tail wagging, happy dogs! Don and Brenda were on site, awaiting my arrival. They gave me a tour of the home and made me feel as if I were a longime friend, coming for an overdue visit. The house is very quaint and furnished nicely. It is definitely off the beaten path! If you are looking for peace and quiet, but being close enough to town to enjoy the amenities of Helen, then this is the place for you. Don't be put off by the creek... I would highly recommend this rental to anyone. I'm counting the time until I can make my way back to spend more time with these kind people, their dogs and horses, and the peaceful time I enjoyed there!

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

New Years Weekend

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

We arrived the evening of the 30th, and was greeted by Don and Brenda and one of their dogs to show us there cottage. It was nice to be greeted and not be known as just a number. It has breath taking view of the mountains, very secluded and quiet. The cottage was beautiful and very comfortable. We had 2 couples and an 11 yr old in our party and had plenty of open room. We also had our small Dachshund with us and he loved it. Don and Brenda are were very friendly and made us feel right at home. There home is located just over a small hill from the cottage but you would have never known they were there. The town of Helen is about 15 min from the cottage and it is so cute. It is like a small Gatlinburg in Tenn. If you have ever been there, very warm and friendly. (If you have a dog with you take him to town with you they are very accepting of dogs on leash.) We enjoyed our stay and brought in a nice quiet New Year.
Thanks Don and Brenda for opening and renting us your cottage for a wonderful weekend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Spectacular!

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

The Guest House was wonderful. The owners greeted us upon arrival and showed us the guest house. They welcomed as if we were family. We were even greeted by two of the dogs. It was very peaceful. We arrived during the night, so we had not seen the view. The next morning we arose to a beautiful mountain sunrise. It was in our front yard!I am a photographer and grabbed the camera to take pictures. The owners had planted beautiful flowers all around. After hot chocolate we headed out on an adventure. Caught up with the owners at a festival and once again we felt we were talking with family. Later that day they allowed us to see the horses. They were beautiful! We got to feed them apples. I took pictures of them as well. It was as if we were not on vacation, but at a retreat....a home away from home.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A nice quiet weekend at Sautee Paso Fino

Review submitted: October 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

We throughly enjoyed our weekend at Paso Fino.
Don and Brenda live close by so where there to show us the guest house.
They are very friendly, helpful and polite.
The guest house is very quiet and secluded, yet only 10 or 15 minutes from Helen.
We will stay there again.
Thank you Don and Brenda

Gene

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review