reviews for: listing #897 - Mission Beach, California House rental

rent directly from owner and save$$$
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $275 - $357 /nt
    $1,925 - $3,000 /wk
    $3,500 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Safe place to stay in Mission Beach

Review submitted: August 6, 2008   Date of arrival: July 26, 2008

Walking distance to the ocean, restaurants, Belmont roller coaster, shopping and boardwalk. Kono's for breakfast is a must at least once. Property was clean and all appliances were new. The owner was friendly and helpful. I would recommend this property to a friend. Bring your own music devices- no stereo.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: The T.V. can provide music

Helpful votes: 7 / 9

 

Family San Diego Get Away

Review submitted: April 11, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

Our family enjoyed the stay at Mission Beach. Wonderful beach house and so close to the beach! We loved all the "gear provided:" bikes, boogie boards, kites, sand castle building buckets and shovels, and bubbles for our granddaughter! We made use of the gas BBQ for dinners at the house. Kitchen stocked with dishes and utensils. Close enough the Belmont amusement park- we walked and rode bikes. Property was very clean. Great outdoor shower and faucet to wash off from a day at the beach.

Would definitely recommend to friends and family and go for a return visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Beach House

Review submitted: April 4, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

This was our 3rd Spring Break at the house. Love the location and the bikes are great. House is very comfortable for a large family and grandma. You don't have to bring anything but your swim suit. Beach towels, beach toys, and boggie boards are there for your use. Best value on Mission Beach.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

"Fabulous"

Review submitted: September 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 21, 2013

We had a terrific time and the house was perfect for our family. We enjoyed the location and how very clean the house was. I just wish we could have stayed longer than 5 days, hopefully next time it will be longer. Everyone was so friendly, even the cat Punk came over every day to visit us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sweet

Review submitted: August 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

We have always stayed further south on Mission Beach...This was a very nice location, and a good change. There were 7 of us, we slept comfortably. I think with the size of the living room it would be better for a smaller group. The dining was not a problem at all, we used the nice outdoor table, or went out to the many restaurants close by.
We had 2 teenagers and a 21 yr. old, a 5 yr. old and his parents, and me. The bikes were wonderful to have, not to mention the boogie boards.
Anne was great to work w/ in the planning, and met her daughter when we arrived and equally as nice and helpful.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: There are chairs in the garage that can be used to seat multiple guests

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful family vacation stay

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Perfect weekly rental for large variety of groups! Close to everything needed. Lots of added amenities with bikes, chairs, boogie boards, umbrellas, etc! Clean and good sleeping arrangements. Problems with toilet that owner spent a lot of time with immediately to get it fixed! The only slight downside was the living room space that only had one couch so not much seating. However, being in San Diego for vacation, we didn't find much need for that room anyway! That would not deter us from staying here again and definitely recommending it to friends. Did find the door locks very hard to work with. Owner VERY pleasant to deal with!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: New big beautiful doors were installed in March 2014, new locks too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great rental!

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

This is a great rental, very clean and updated! Anne was very friendly and a pleasure to work with during the rental process. The sleeping arrangements in the house accommodated our group of 8 well, as all of us had beds. However, given the size of the living room (and lack of dining space and seating), I think it would accommodate a smaller group better. We generally stay further south on Mission Beach, but found this location very convenient for us. Overall, we very much enjoyed our experience!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Several of the amenities that were not mentioned was the 2 car garage that was able to accommodate their huge van and no need to rent bikes, boogie boards,beach chairs,umbrella's,skim board. There is also a dropdown table for added company although most people like to eat at the picnic table on the patio.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent location, gracious hosts

Review submitted: January 26, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

We had an awesome vacation and a large part is due to this rental. Seconds from the beach, minutes from restaurants. Very, very clean. We had 6 adults and 2 small children and everyone slept very comfortably. Again, can't say enough good things about the owners.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ou New Year's Trip

Review submitted: January 19, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

This was such a wonderful place. What a great location. So close to the beach and boardwalk. The owners were so friendly and accommodating. The place was very clean. We would definitely recommend this place to a friend! So many restaurants in walking distance.
The only downside were the door locks, they were extremely difficult to use, which seems to be the common complaint in the guest book at the rental house. This would not keep me from renting the place again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Big beautiful doors & locks were installed in March 2014!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful vacation experience

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 13, 2012

I had a bachelorette weekend in San Diego and stayed at this house. We loved the location, how clean and well-supplied the house was, and how easy it was to rent. Anne and her crew were very helpful and gave us everything we needed. We comfortably slept 8 girls in the house. I will definitely try to rent the house again, during my next trip to California.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent place for a family to stay

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Perfect beach house for a family! We used the boogie boards, bikes and beach mats! Nice, clean house with everything you need for a great vacation. Was able to park two cars in garage so we didn't have to worry about street parking. Great location between Mission and Pacific beach. Quiet area and very secure. We will certainly be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great House!!!

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

This house is a very short walk to the beach. It was well kept, clean and updated. Everything we needed was already there. My family enjoyed using the bikes, boogie boards and the two car garage(we fit two SUV's inside). Anne, the owner, was so nice and easy to work with. Thanks for a fantastic family vacation. We plan to come back.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sister trip

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

We had the most enjoyable weekend. One block from the beach and our beach house was fully stocked with beach towels! It was very clean with 2 baths, kitchen with full size range,refrigerator and dishwasher. Also included a washer and dryer. We can't wait to come back for another visit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing Time

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

My family and I enjoyed a week of fun and great weather. The location is perfect, we had a blast on the bikes and spent a lot of time on the patio getting to know the locals. The owner and her family are very helpful and accomodating. I cannot wait to go again next year. Thank you for sharing your home with us.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay and play

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

We are a family of 7 and this was a great place to stay, play at the beach and hit Sea World! The beach is close, the house had toys, boogie boards and bikes to play with. Kitchen was very user friendly. Highly recommend!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for the great review and also for choosing our beach house, please come back again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: October 1, 2011   Date of arrival: September 7, 2011

I stayed at this house in Sept. of 2011 with my family. It was a lovely house, very clean, comfortable, and plenty of room - so much nicer than staying in a hotel!!! The location was ideal - only a block each way to the ocean or bay. You're within walking distance of restaurants, bars, shops, grocery stores, beach rentals. Everything is a short walk. Plus it's very close to attractions, such as Seaworld. It was nice to have some extras included, such as bikes, boogie boards, beach towels, chairs, and umbrellas as well as games. It was also nice to have a two car garage and laundry. I'm really glad we stayed a short distance from the ocean, because it was so much quieter than being right on the ocean. If you want the excitement, it's right there, but if you're ready to relax, you can do that, too. There's a really nice deck to sit outside and the area felt very safe. And, most important, the owners are so easy to deal with/hassle free. They're easy to reach and the deposit was returned very quickly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent location at Mission Beach.

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

We found this house to be nicely decorated and very well kept and clean.

This house is in a great location. It is far enough removed from public parking and facilities that the beach is primarily local residents.

With three bedrooms and a bath upstairs and one bath downstairs, there was ample room for the six of us.

There is a large, well-equipped kitchen downstairs with a huge double door opening to the patio and walkway. It was very convenient to have the washer and dryer in the garage.

It is a short walk to the beach, as well as several nice eating places close by.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Loved the beach and the location

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 19, 2011

I Recently spent nearly a week in this fun house and we had such a great time. I had my young adult children with me, along with a couple of friends, and we had plenty of room for all of us. Being able to walk down that cute pathway to the beach in less than two minutes was such a treat - we did it every day! Riding bikes on the boardwalk was also a lot of fun. I had never spent time in MIssion Beach before and I felt like I was right in the heart of it. The house had some very nice amenities too - the furniture was very nice, the kitchen was laid out well (though we could have used a few more wine glasses :-) ), and it was so much fun to sit outside in the little patio area. It was also a really good layout with the bedrooms upstairs. I will definitely come back and stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Convenient Mission Beach location

Review submitted: January 1, 2011   Date of arrival: December 21, 2010

This property is very conveniently located (a 2 minute walk to the beach), and has all the amenities needed for a stress free stay. The attached garage provides a hassle free place to keep your car, as well as the use of washer and dryer. 4 adults and 4 kids stayed comfortably in the house for 3 nights. A welcome winter getaway!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect beach house!!!

Review submitted: August 26, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

We had an absolute great time at this very well maintained and clean beach house. The owner was great to deal with. She treats you as you are family. The additional items such as the boogie boards, bikes, beach towels and beach toys were definitely a huge bonus. Could not ask for a better location. Walking distance to everything, the beach(of course), restaurants(have to try the fish tacos at the Shore Club), Belmont Park, grocery store. Would highly recommend this house to family and friends. Will definitely stay here again on our next San Diego vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pleasant surprise

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

The house had everything needed for a pleasant stay. Some extra bonuses are the availability of bikes and boogy boards as well as the "Ralphs" grocery store tags.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Hopefully after your visit this year you will give us 5 stars

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfect place for a large family with kids

Review submitted: June 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 17, 2010

This house was perfect. It has everything you need except the food. The kids loved the yard and the beach toys. You can let the kids play in the yard and feel safe. You can go to the beach or the bay in just a few minutes. The property is clean and well maintained, the owner is very helpful. We left behind some take out menus, Ocean Pizza is great and just around the corner, Saturday is a Farmers Market and is in the same parking lot. We walked every where except Seaworld and the Zoo. The 2 car garage is great. The neighbors were very friendly and helpful on were to go and what to see. We hope to come back next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Winner! You Will Love It Here! Highly Recommend This Location.

Review submitted: June 18, 2010   Date of arrival: June 10, 2010

This was my first time renting a vacation home in San Diego and the owner to this property on Yarmouth Ct. made it very easy and affordable. The house is located a few houses from the Ocean Side. Very close walking distance to the Ocean, grocery store, restaurants, and bars.

The pictures portrayed the house perfectly. The property was clean and well maintained. There are two bathrooms, three bedrooms and an adjoining balcony on the second floor. My favorite feature was the front door. It opened up the house out to the outside. I kept it open as much as possible. I also loved the Kitchen and the upstairs Skylights in the hallway and bathroom. It was also great to have a garage because I was able to park the rented mini-van in a secure space.

The owner herself was very nice and helpful. She was in constant contact and answered all of my questions and concerns. We communicated through email and phone and I knew up front how much everything was going to cost me before I agreed to sign the contracts. While in San Diego, the owner made sure that I had a contact while I was staying in the house in case there were any emergencies. Her contact was friendly and made sure all of my concerns were addressed.

I highly recommend this location. The two story house gave enough space for the seven of us to enjoy each other's company. In order to cut down on expenses, we bought groceries and cooked breakfast, a few lunches, and a few dinners. Having a vacation home gives you that opportunity.

Best of luck in your search. Hopefully, you will have a great experience at this location like I did! I am definitely returning to the house on my next visit to San Diego!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 1, 2009   Date of arrival: September 1, 2009

We had a fabulous time at this beach house. It is very close to the beach, just a short stroll. We had 2 toddlers with us and it was so easy to just get up and walk to the water without having to pack everything up. The beach toys were great, as was the WiFi. Anne and her daughter were always available when we had questions about the rental. We look forward to renting again next summer. Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 29, 2009   Date of arrival: June 29, 2009

We just returned from a wonderful week at this house. The location was fabulous and the house was in great shape. We had three little ones with us and really appreciated all of the sand toys and beach chairs - the girls made us carry the giant bucket full of the them to the beach every time we went. Neighbors were great as well - we will definitely be back! If you go with kids definitely have a meal at the Green Flash - incredibly kid-friendly!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 21, 2009   Date of arrival: May 21, 2009

We enjoyed this home away from home with our children and grandchildren. The beach house is comfortable and attractively decorated. The location is ideal, close to the beach, and attractions and shopping. We would all love to come back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 8, 2009   Date of arrival: May 8, 2009

Thank you for helping make a fantastic long weekend. The location is great, near to pretty much everything in Mission Beach.

We'll be back...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful place for a vacation!

Review submitted: July 25, 2008   Date of arrival: June 14, 2008

We spent a wonderful week here during June. We could not have asked for a better house. It was very clean and very well maintained. In less than two minutes you can be out the door and on the beach. The area can be a bit noisy on weekends, but I've stayed in much noisier hotels! Our son just loved the bunk beds. Very nice to have tv and dvd player in each bedroom. If I were going to spend a week in San Diego again, I would definitely stay here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review