reviews for: listing #89826 - Manhattan, New York Townhome rental

Spacious Stunning Harlem Townhouse, 3 or 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $300 - $300 /nt
    $1,800 - $1,800 /wk
    $5,000 - $5,000 /mth

sort by:

Great Host, Great House, Great place

Review submitted: August 9, 2014   Date of arrival: July 16, 2014

Will is a great host because we had 4 hours of delay with our plane ! After calling him to

notice the delay, he was in the middle of the night (2am) at the entrance of the house to

welcome us very kindly, ready to listen and explain very well all the usefull things to

enjoy our stay.
He was always avalaible by email (or phone if necessary).

The house is totally conform to the description and the reviews already written. We

enjoyed a lot staying one week there at 7 people (we used the 3 bedroom and the sofa in

living rrom). The backyard was awesome to take the breakfast or the pre-lunch drinks

(beware of some mosquito bites).

Everything was ok for us we have a good time in new york and partly thanks to this house,

she's extremely clean and lovely decorated and we felt it has a "real soul".

Only one negative review to be precise is that we heard some noise the morning (7-8 am) in

the bedroom due to the street (in bedroom2) and the music of some neighbor in the bedroom

1 and in the living room.
Anyway it's common for a TOWN house and we didn't go to NYC to sleep until noon ;-)

It's definitely a excellent place to be in NYC.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT SPACE, AWESOME LOCATION

Review submitted: November 19, 2013   Date of arrival: November 13, 2013

William's brownstone in Harlem was a great find. I spent several weeks weighing the pros and cons regarding the different locations to decide to rent and this turned out to be beyond perfect. We were a short 15-20 minute drive from LGA, 10 minutes from Times Square, and were a block away from Marcus Samuelson's Red Rooster restaurant, among other great dinning spots. The space itself was incredible. There were separate areas to lounge, eat, watch the game, and even do some work for those traveling professionals. Sleeping accommodations were as expected; very spacious, plentiful, and comfortable. The rental was tastefully decorated and warm and cozy, a sharp contrast from the cooler weather outside. We cooked our own breakfast after taking a trip out to the recommended markets but as stated earlier we were minutes from restaurants. There's an ATM around the corner as well as a barber shop which we used a few times. There was also a Planet Fitness a few blocks away that a few of us used. If you are still in the market for a place to stay in NYC then your search ends here. I highly recommend William's rental and will rent from him again on subsequent visits.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Nice Place / Good Location

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

We arrived on Saturday around 3pm. Will met us at the townhouse and showed us around. He provided a binder full of recommendations for restaurants and things to do. He was a great host. The townhouse is conveniently located just 2-3 blocks from the subway red line. The immediate neighborhood and walk to the red line subway always seemed safe.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great house, great location

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: August 6, 2013

My family and I were a little 2 minded about staying in Harlem as it was our very first time in NYC from Australia but turns out we were very very impressed!!
The house was fantastic, with everything you need!!!
Only a few blocks from the subway. Super markets and Restaurants were walking distance.
The Neighbours were so friendly and very helpful.
Just a great place all round.
Would defiantly stay again if we came back to NYC!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming home

Review submitted: July 4, 2013   Date of arrival: June 25, 2013

This was a family vacation with our 3 teenage/young adult sons and my sister and brother in law. First, it is indeed a charming home. We arrived 2 hours before check in and William was so agreeable with letting us leave our suitcases at the home while the cleanup was being done. We immediately made our way to Sylvia's who's is just around the corner on Lenox Ave. The fried chicken and waffles and meatloaf--awesome! Upon checking in, Elizabeth showed us around. The home was wonderfully decorated! The upstairs rooms are so delightful and the hard wood floors are so warm. The basement had a spacious room and that is where the washer and dryer are. My only recommendation is that a rug be added to the room since the tile floor is cold and a rug would make room more inviting! And the backyard was a treat with the lounge chairs and the great landscape! The kitchen had everything you needed. Secondly, location. Yes, it is in Harlem. I did a lot of research before renting the home. It is located close to where the famous restaurants and nightlife is so yes, it is safe. The subway is a short 3 minute walk! Harlem Rooster whose famous chef had write ups, is just around the corner and fun ace! But get reservations! We didn't go too far from this area since we had such a busy week planned but we did go to some local markets and it was so convenient! To give perspective, by subway, Times Square is 10 minutes and West Village around 25 minutes and 911 Memorial about 40 minutes. But the plus is that after the freneticness of the day, to come home to quiet and a large space is lovely! Thirdly, value. Slam dunk---it is if you have a party of more than 4! William was easy to work with and such a pleasure to have his friend a private Driver available as well for airport ride. We miss NYC already!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

5 Girls hit NYC!

Review submitted: June 9, 2013   Date of arrival: May 30, 2013

I would like to start by saying that everything about our stay here was excellent. The owner, Will, helped us finalize details like transportation from the airport and how best to get to a Yankees game! The house itself felt like a home. It was clean, well appointed and big enough to allow 5 ladies to relax and sleep well after a long day of sight seeing. New York was unusually hot for that time of year and the air conditioning worked well to cool us off. The house is located close to two subway lines which made transportation very easy. The neighbourhood of Harlem is vibrant, friendly and inviting. We shopped at the local stores (we highly recommend "Brownstone" on 125th) and we ate at local restaurants (we really liked Red Rooster - the music was amazing!!). We felt safe at all times, even when walking home from the subway late at night. Thank you for opening your home to us. We will never forget it!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Room to Relax + Outdoor Space

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 16, 2013

We stayed at William's Harlem Townhouse while in town for my son's graduation from Columbia University. After using the car service recommended by William to get from the airport to Harlem, we were greeted by his lovely girlfriend, Elizabeth who explained everything about the rental. What a relaxing place to come home to. Plenty of room to spread out. Good restaurants nearby. We enjoyed Sunday Jazz Brunch at the Red Rooster and a delicious dinner at Corner Social. Both within two blocks of the rental. Plenty of stores nearby if you've forgotten something. Subway 2 short blocks away. We took a free walking tour of Harlem which was one of the highlights of our trip. William and Elizabeth were very reachable for any small concerns we had. All in all, a great place to stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect place to use as a base to explore New York City

Review submitted: May 18, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

We visited NYC with our kids and their spouses, and this place was fabulous. The house is just as nice and spacious as the pictures show. The three bedrooms were large and comfortable. The bathrooms were updated and immaculate as was the kitchen. An added bonus was the charming backyard. After spending the day sightseeing, we loved having a place to unwind and visit. The kitchen gave us the option of making breakfast or snacks. We traveled all over the city by subway. There are two lines within walking distance of the house. We had reservations about staying in Harlem, but the area was very safe and friendly. It definitely has a neighborhood feel. We came home most nights after ten and never had any problems. The neighborhood itself had several really great restaurants, a small grocery and drug store. Will, the owner is super. My kids wanted to surprise me with flowers and ingredients for my favorite drink. They contacted Will in advance, and he took care of everything. His friend Freddy provided us with transportation to and from the airport which was very convenient. I would highly recommend this place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Home from Home

Review submitted: April 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

I stayed at this house for 8 days everything was perfect the location was excellent so close to Metro the neighbourhood was safe even at night Will could not be more helpful. I wanted a cake for my friends 50th birthday not only did he get one but had it delivered to the restaurant we were eating in. He then informed me it was a gift from him to me. He also arranged for airport pick up I cannot speak too highly about this property you will not be disappointed. I will recommend it to all my friends and relatives. Good luck Will

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lolo

Review submitted: March 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

Nous avons passé un excellent séjour. William est un hôte très à l'écoute qui répond très rapidement à toutes demandes. L'appartement est bien situé près du métro, des commerces et beaucoup de restaurants à proximité. L'appartement est très propre, bien équipé, les lits confortables et au calme pour recuperer après les journées de visites. Excellent séjour

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

If your dates are available BOOK THIS RENTAL!

Review submitted: December 17, 2012   Date of arrival: December 9, 2012

Our exprience in this rental simply couldn't be improved upon! When we walked in the door it just felt like you were coming home. The house smelled amazing and was so clean that I was comfortable walking around barefoot (something I didn't do in the last house I BOUGHT for 3 months!). The kitchen and laundry facilities were a wonderful addition and the fact that this unit has 2 (did I mention CLEAN) bathrooms was fantastic! The location was perfect and I felt totally at home and safe. We returned late and walked from the subway (just blocks away) and I never felt nervous or uncmfortable. The connections to the subway and even bus routes were quick and easy. Will and his family were a delight to work with and he was always very quick to respond to any emails or texts I sent. Again, if your dates are available you'd be hard pressed to find a better rental, book it now!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Elegant townhome close to EVERYTHING!!

Review submitted: December 12, 2012   Date of arrival: December 4, 2012

We can not say enough about our stay in this classy and very clean Manhattan town home, not to mention the kindness of the owner, William, and his family! When I read the reviews "before" we went there, I thought, "there is no way a place/person could be so perfect!" I was wrong, it literally was perfect! We took our five kids and one daughter-in-law, and everyone loved it. When we got there, we had no idea what we were going to see when we stepped inside. Every one of us began to oooh and ahhh immediately. William even sent his driver to the airport so that all eight of us could be transported from the airport together. Another plus since we were a little nervous about going to New York for the first time! We were close to everything, including the subway, which we took everywhere we went. What an amazing experience we had. We will definitely go back, and we have already told everyone to stay here when they go to New York. The people in the neighborhood were friendly, and the restaurants had some of the best food we ate when we were there. We give God all the glory for our stay in New York, and especially praise Him for placing us right where we were...at William's place. Thank you William for making our stay so sweet! :-) We miss New York!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Brownstone

Review submitted: December 1, 2012   Date of arrival: November 12, 2012

We loved our stay in William's Harlem Brownstone. My parents, my two kids (age 4 and 8) and my husband and I stayed a full seven days and it was wonderful. William's brother Carlos met us to show us around the spotless three story apartment and when we had questions, William always responded immediately throughout the week. We took a cab from La Guardia which cost about $30 and met up with my parents who flew in from another city. We bought seven day unlimited metro cards and literally never stopped during our week. I have lived in Manhattan for a few years so we weren't the typical tourists. We enjoyed not being in Times Square/Midtown and felt like in this beautiful apartment we could spread out! We are definitely booking this place next year. Maybe twice! I just hope it is available! Thank you William, Carlos and your family for sharing your home with us! It was a great value and we'll be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Incredible location and experience.

Review submitted: November 8, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

Just about everything about this place was perfect. Six of us came from Wichita, KS for the NYC Marathon (that ultimately got cancelled). The Brownstone is located very close to the 125th St. 2 and 3 trains, so getting anywhere in the city is really not an issue. Don't let the fact that it's in Harlem deter you from considering this property. While we didn't explore the neighborhood that much, we never had any issues walking to and from the subway, hitting a couple of bars and restaurants, or doing some sightseeing (Apollo, Lennox Lounge, etc...) by foot. The neighborhood was awesome and everyone in it was great. And come on, if six white people from Kansas can feel safe in Harlem, then it is probably nothing to worry about!

The inside was perfect. Everything was up to date and nicely decorated. Two of the bedrooms were without television, which is probably the only possible complaint I can come up with. The owner was extremely helpful in our stay. He even arranged for transportation from the airport for us.

I'll be back for the marathon next year. If I have a group of six or more, I will absolutely be staying here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

First Trip to NYC

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 21, 2012

My husband and I took our teenage (13 & 14) sons to NYC for Fall Break. This was our first time visiting. Will was wonderful to work with & offered great helpful information. We were looking for a place that would get us away from the downtown area and give us more room. This beautiful townhouse was a great find! The photos reflect exactly what you will find, it was clean and well-maintained and the subway is literally half a block up and 2 blocks over. We felt safe and never had any problems walking the neighborhood at any time of day. If you go make sure to check out Dinosaur BBQ in Harlem, we bought 7 day Metro passes which include bus transport and were able to catch the bus just 2 blocks from the townhome to the restaurant. I would highly recommend this property. Will is awesome and a wealth of information! My only suggestion, make sure to take washcloths if you use them for bathing, they provide towels, but not washcloths.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: July 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

My Wife and I traveled with 4 of her piano students. We found the townhouse completely comfortable and just as advertised. It was clean, roomy and very accomodating. Will, the owner, was most helpful and eager to ensure that our stay was everything we hoped. It was and more. It is walking distance to 2 different subway lines and I found the area to be nice.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place to stay

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 9, 2012

This was a great place to stay! We spent three days in New York City in May. The townhouse was clean, spacious, and conveniently located to the Subway station. William was very helpful and we did use his friend to transport us. That worked great! There were six of us and we loved that all of us could sleep in an actual bed. The amount of rooms for the price can't be beat.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Awesome

Review submitted: May 8, 2012   Date of arrival: May 3, 2012

This rental is amazing I will never stay at a hotel ever again. William the owner was the best and goes beyond to make your stay a great one. My brother injured himself two weeks before our tip and had to have surgery.Willam was so reassuring this wouldn't damper our stay and got us a wheel chair to use to get around the city. Harlem is full of so much culture and diversity. The neighborhood is not only diverse but also safe. We definitely will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for your kind words Irica. Please come back soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

One smile - coast to coast

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 28, 2012

Our visit included 6 people, a daughter and son-in-law from California, son and daughter-in-law from Syracuse and my husband and I. The photos and description online was exactly what we found on our arrival. The property is clean and well maintained and the owners are helpful and very friendly. This is a rental that anyone would fine desirable for location and ease of getting around. Thanks for the warm welcome, we will pass our "find" on to our friends....and we will return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your kind words Gerry. Please come back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Harlem in our hearts!

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

We did not really know what to expect since it was our first time in NY and also the first time we rented a private apt. The only thing i can say is that this accomodation beats any 5-star hotel you would think of. Also the neighborhood in Harlem turned out to become our favourite on Manhattan, especially when we arrived back from our tours to the crowded places downtown each day. It felt like coming home. Relaxing and nice people saying hello to you on the streets. We walked all the way to Times Square through Central Park à couple of times so it is really not that far if you have good shoes. Subway of course also worked perfectly. Will is a wonderful host and he really made all efforts to make our stay as good as possible.

Thank you Will, i am sure that we will come back sometime.

Fredrik with family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your kind words Fredrik. Please come back soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Convenient location

Review submitted: February 22, 2012   Date of arrival: February 12, 2012

We had a great three night stay in Will's rental. Very clean and well maintained property with a great kitchen and lots of living space. Hard to find in NYC! We found the location easy to access the subways and bus system. Will and his family were most welcoming and helpful throughout our trip. They handled a minor plumbing issue quickly and efficiently. We hope to stay in this rental again. It was a GREAT property for our group. Thanks, Will!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for your kind words Cecilia. Please come back soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

I already miss the place...

Review submitted: February 14, 2012   Date of arrival: January 23, 2012

What can I say... this home (because it's not only a house, it feels like you've lived there for your entire life) is everything the description mentioned, and much more.

Big enough to accomodate a lot of people, our first sight of the place was stunning. The living room, the kitchen, the rooms upstairs... everything was just perfect. We received the house in great conditions, totally clean and tidy. It doesn't feel like a short term rental, I'll tell you that. Everything has that 'Family vibe' to it. Just an example: Watching Conan O'Brien in the living room with my girlfriend and friend, on that amazing sofa, while having pizza and beer was priceless.

The location may be misleading; someone could think that being in harlem is a disadvantage, but that's far from true. It's located just 1 block away from the 2-3 subway line, and those get you to Times Square in about 10 minutes, given they are express lines. If you want to get this comfort and space in the center of the city, it would cost you 3/4 times more. And being in Harlem ended up beautifully well: at the end of the day, when you want to keep away from the noise and craziness of the center, being in a quiet place is bliss.

And William, the owner... I don't have enough words to describe what an amazing host he is. Always available, kind and well-mannered, he was there whenever we needed him. He suggested us things to do, places to visit, and typical attractions. He even offered us a taxi service from/to the airport, an SUV pretty comfortable and big enough to carry all our luggage (and we DID some shopping :) )

We were really lucky to find this home far away from home. I'm definitely going to recommend this place to any friends or relatives planning to travel to NYC.

I suggest you to do the same! Won't regret it!

Hernan and Nerina

Owners response: Thanks for your kind words Hernan. Nerina and you were excellent guests and great people. Please come back soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

better than a suite at a hotel

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 28, 2011

Three of us went to Harlem to visit my brand new grandson, and this townhouse was perfect for our situation. If we had used a hotel, we would have needed two rooms or a suite, which would have cost much more than we paid for this beautiful two story townhouse just four blocks from my son. The rooms are spacious, well decorated, and the kitchen has all you need to make breakfast, lunch or a good sized dinner. William's recommendations for restaurants, sights, etc were helpful and would have been invaluable for a first time visitor to New York. He is obviously putting a lot of effort into making his guests feel welcome and even pampered. The neighborhood was friendly and safe. Nobody hassled us in any way, and we were on the streets at all hours. Since the subway station is only two blocks away, our trips downtown were quick and easy. Trips by cab were fine, too, so the townhouse would be a good choice even if most of your visit was not in Harlem.

Owners response: Thanks for your kind words Byron. Please come back soon

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfection! Safe Neighborhood close to everything, large bedrooms, very clean. Loved it!

Review submitted: November 17, 2011   Date of arrival: November 8, 2011

Let me just start by saying what a beautiful apartment this is! It looks exactly like the pictures if not better. Everything was tastefully furnished, clean and very spacious. The bedrooms were huge! William promised us a home away from home and that was exactly what we got. Full kitchen, clean linens, clean surroundings, comfortable beds, everything as promised.

For those of you who are concerned about staying in Harlem, let me assure you that there is nothing to worry about. Harlem is very gentrified now, and you can see people of all sorts walking on the streets late at night. The apartment is very centrally situated - about 5 mins walk to the subway, and 2 mins from 5th Avenue and the bus.

William was a pleasure to work with and made me feel very comfortable with choosing his Harlem townhouse. The entire house is kept perfectly clean and organized. We fell right at home. I felt completely safe and everything I could ask for was right there. There is even a washer/dryer RIGHT inside the apartment. There are great coffee shops in the neighborhood, our favorite was a great little neighborhood cafe (Cafe Latte) right on the corner of 120th and 6th. Harlem is a charming community and the people were all very warm and friendly, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. I've been to New York several times and this was the first time I got the sense that I was living like a local.

All in all, 5 stars from me for William's apartment and for Harlem. I would definitely stay there again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your kind words. Please come back soon.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Very Good

Review submitted: November 17, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2011

Overall, we had a very good experience. The place is beautiful. The owner was very accommodating. We had a great time. Improvement: more silverware and extra blankets.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review. We have labeled the linen closet better to indicate where the additional blankets/linens are and purchased additional silverware. Please come back soon.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review