reviews for: listing #89848 - Sonoma, California House rental

Rose Cottage - Romantic Victorian Cottage in Wine Country
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Aqua Caliente Park
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $185 - $210 /nt
    $1,110 - $1,260 /wk
    $2,950 - $4,750 /mth

sort by:

A Jewel of a Place

Review submitted: January 14, 2014   Date of arrival: January 12, 2014

This is a great location that places you in the middle of the wine country action. The owners are super easy to work with and extremely responsive. My wife, my son and his wife all shared this comfortable, well-appointed cottage and had a blast. A couple miles down the road are major grocery stores, including a Whole Foods, where we scored most of our provisions on those nights we decided to avail ourselves of the spacious kitchen and roomy, attractive dining area. The back patio seating area is completely enclosed and beautifully landscaped. Definitely grab this place for your next stay in the region.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

CHARMING COTTAGE

Review submitted: July 4, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

My husband & I rented Rose Cottage with another couple in April 2013. It was wonderful! It is warm & inviting & feels like a home, not just a house. The home is well equipped & was perfect for our 3 day trip to Sonoma/Napa to visit wineries. The bedrooms are very cozy & comfortable. The bathrooms are spacious. We prepared breakfast every morning & ate in some at night. The kitchen in the great room was perfect. The owners were wonderful to work with. They were very prompt at responding to any questions we had prior to our arrival & let us know they were readily available during our visit. I would definitely stay here again & would recommend it to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Delightful and Enchanting Find

Review submitted: December 2, 2012   Date of arrival: November 23, 2012

The pictures do not do the interiors of Rose Cottage justice. It is chock-full of delightful surprises and aneminties that are certain to please the most discriminating guest -- from comfortable beds, cozy nooks, eclectic antiques, persian rugs, pine floors, Netflix, wi-fi and good reads ranging from biography to mystery to romance. Sooo much better than a hotel/motel. Almost immediately upon our arrival we discovered a Puccini CD and listened to opera while we opened up a bottle of local syrah. Rose Cottage is located in the heart of wine country, making it an ideal place to explore Napa, Somoma, Russian River, etc. Whole Foods is located about a 15-minute drive away. We loaded up on cheese, crackers, salads and sandwiches for picnics and easy dinners. If you prefer to eat out, we recommend The Girl and The Fig in Sonoma square.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our new "home' away from home

Review submitted: October 25, 2012   Date of arrival: October 8, 2012

After spending the weekend in San Francisco, my travel companion and I were so happy to pull into the driveway of Rose Cottage. We were instantly in love with the details. From the table beautifully set to the wine glass cabinet filled with all the glasses you'd need to enjoy your "finds". My companion enjoyed the robe in his closet, saying it was "so warm and soft".

We instantly found wines we loved in the wine cooler and hope the guests following us will enjoy the selections we chose. Because someone left a Coppola wine, which was yummy, we took a trek to that winery. Thank you!

As for our rooms....I adored the master bedroom. It was a great place to relax after a day of touring and tasting.

The location is far away from the hustle and bustle of Sonoma Plaza to make you feel like you are on vacation, but close enough to enjoy a few drinks with dinner at local restaurant and not worry about the drive home.

Another "thank you" to the guests who left restaurant suggestions in the folder. We left our maps as well for the next guests.

We were so sad to leave and kept calling it "our home". We will be back next year.....

Thanks to Bob and Diane, who are wonderful owners of an amazing place that you'll be happy to call "home".

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Gorgeous Home in a beautiful, peaceful setting

Review submitted: February 11, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

I cannot express how wonderful an experience it was staying at the Rose Cottage in Sonoma. The owners are a pleasure to work with and it is obvious they take pride in their home and the vacationers' experience. The cottage is exactly as described and better! The Rose Cottage is so charming and very well maintained. It is very conveniently located - just a few minutes from downtown Sonoma. I highly recommend the Rose Cottage to anyone looking for a peaceful and relaxing stay in the wine country.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Amazing!!

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 9, 2011

What can I say. Simply amazing! This was probably the best time we have had in Sonoma. Rose Cottage was beyond our expectations. Rob and Diana thought of everything. We stayed for a week and it felt like we were in our own home. We had some friends come up for the weekend from San Fran and they were delighted. It was really special and I recommend Rose Cottage to everyone. We are already planning our trip to Sonoma and Rose Cottage again next year! Thank you for making our vacation wonderful.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Great Reunion/Getaway for Two Couples

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

My husband and I and our two best friends spent a long weekend at the Rose Cottage just a week ago. It is just as depicted in the photos--maybe even a bit better. The master bedroom was extremely comfortable with its walkin closet and terrific, large shower. The smaller, second bedroom provided a cozy retreat for our friends and they enjoyed their own bathroom as well. The kitchen was nicely outfitted and was a pleasure to use when we prepared breakfasts and other meals. We also used the outdoor grill on the patio. The neighborhood is eclectic and cuturally diverse, far enough away from Sonoma Plaza to make driving there a brief but fun excursion but quiet enough to feel like a real retreat. It is also located within an easy drive of many Sonoma Valley wineries. Bob and Diana were very hospitable and gracious. They made everything easy for us. We would defiinitely stay here again, and would recommend to you, too.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

WONDERFUL RELAXING VACATION

Review submitted: August 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

We had a wonderful time in your lovely getaway. We were sorry to leave at the end of the week and couldn't wait to get back here at the end of each day of sightseeing. Very peaceful. Thanks for a great time. Being from hot, humid New Orleans, we certainly enjoyed the dry cool mornings and evenings.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

BLISS

Review submitted: April 17, 2010   Date of arrival: March 30, 2010

Everything to make you feel "at home" away from home. Lovely patio in back with gas grill which we used to grill some fresh aspargus. Great location, very quiet but close to lots of wineries and parks with hiking trails. It was great to have that first bottle of wine out of the wine cooler after a day of travel. The hosts have thought of everything. Can't wait to stay again. Couple vacationing from Wisconsin.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Charming, Colorful Sonoma Cottage

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: March 18, 2010

What a delightful time we spent in Rose Cottage. Located in an older part of Sonoma, the owners have obviously spent considerable time, energy, and resources to making Rose Cottage extremely welcoming. They have provided for the visitors every need plus lots of extras. The beds are comfortable, the kitchen is well stocked, everything works ... we really enjoyed Rose Cottage. Rarely do we go with a five star rating; Rose Cottage earned it.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cozy Cottage

Review submitted: October 6, 2009   Date of arrival: September 28, 2009

Cottage was charming, cozy and clean. It is located in a quiet and safe neighborhood - close to Sonoma Plaza and wineries. Since we were traveling with a young child, we visited some kid friendly sites. The house is not too far from Train Town and is an easy day trip to Safari West and the Jelly Belly Factory. The home provided everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The owners were very accommodating and friendly. Would definitely recommend this home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Sonoma Sensation

Review submitted: June 6, 2009   Date of arrival: May 21, 2009

Wow! What a peaceful cottage. The way the owners put style into this property was very tasteful. Everything we needed was there, clean and operational. I loved our walk-in shower and the claw tub/shower in the 2nd bath was a big hit with everyone else. There where 4 adults and a teenage daughter and we where all very comfortable. Sonoma and surrounding area is such a great place to explore with mostly mom and pop shops all with unique items you'll never find anywhere else. The variety of restaurants was like we've never experienced before yet it was affordable for excellent food. We highly recommend this property for a very relaxing, wine tasting get away.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: May 7, 2009   Date of arrival: May 7, 2009

Rose Cottage - we love you! Three ladies vacation for first time in wine country. This house was very spacious for all of us, our luggage, and the many bottles of wine we bought. The location is absolutley perfect to visit Sonoma wineries (especially for first timers to wine country), Sonama City Plaza, and Jack London National Park. It is also perfect for a day trip to San Fran or a trip to the coast (Bodega Bay or Point Reyes). The amenities were a pleasant surprise. The nice surprises were the white book full of qpons and things to do (must see wineries and restaurants); the soap, shampoo; and little conveniences of home (like coffee and teas; phone and web service - including the PC). The house itself is beautiful landscaped, with front deck and back patio to enjoy a nightly glass of wine, and the interior is so beautiful with bright colors and wonderful decorations. Bob and Diana were superb in communicating with me before and after the trip. Bob and Diana provided the best customer service - with lovely notes and even their personal mobile numbers in case of emergencies. It was a great decision to stay at Rose Cottage. We loved it!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely home

Review submitted: April 17, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

Lovely 2-bedroom house on a quiet street 3 miles from Sonoma. The home was beautiful and clean. The kitchen was well equipped, and there's an outdoor grill that can be used as well. The owners were very friendly, taking my call at 10pm when I took a wrong turn getting there then staying on the phone with me until I knew where I was. This is a great place from which to explore wine country, and is an easy day trip to San Francisco, hiking, etc. A car is needed, since it's not right in the village of Sonoma.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: April 9, 2009   Date of arrival: April 9, 2009

Rose Cottage is so beautiful both inside and outside that we plan to come back and spend more time just enjoying the house and garden. There is so much to do in Sonoma, of course the square, but lovely hikes and bike paths, and of course, the wineries. It was just delightful; our hosts had thought of everything, including rose napkin rings and a rose grandfather clock! Just a lovely place, we highly recommend it. David and Marina, Portland, Oregon

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Honeymoon in Sonoma

Review submitted: March 31, 2009   Date of arrival: September 27, 2008

My husband and I spent our honeymoon here last September, and had the most amazing time at this cottage. Bob and Diana were so helpful and friendly from the minute we contacted them about renting the cottage the previous spring. The accomodations themselves were everything we could have asked for, from the wine fridge, to the sunny back deck (where I enjoyed a LOT of time reading, especially due to the library of books they keep the place stocked with). Plus, the cottage was the perfect proximity to the wineries and the center of Sonoma, while still being out of the way and quiet. Plus, the rates were incredible, and Bob and Diana were very gracious. We had such a great time, and we are really hoping to come back with some family and friends!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very comfortable!

Review submitted: November 23, 2008   Date of arrival: November 6, 2008

Rose cottage was great. What an adorable place. The kitchen/livng area was nice and open, the bathrooms were new and spacious and the outdoor area was very pretty. We were really comfortable here - it was a great home away from home. We highly recommend this property!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: August 23, 2008   Date of arrival: August 23, 2008

Our family just spent a wonderful two weeks at Rose Cottage. It was quiet, elegant and comfortable. We loved the birds, roses, and close proximity to wineries, hiking, and shopping. The Sonoma Farmer's Market is great...don't miss it! And be sure to get up to Jack London Park and see the newly renovated cottage and trails.
Thanks Bob and Diana! We had a great time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 12, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

My wife, sister and I just spent a wonderful spring
week in Sonoma at the Rose Cottage. The
accommodations were first rate. The owners, Bob
and Diana, were very responsive to our needs. The
location was perfect for trips into the wine country,
San Francisco, and beautiful scenery. It's always
nice to travel when you have such a nice "home
away from home".

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 2, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

The Rose Cottage was perfect for our vacation! The house was beautiful and clean and in a perfect location to wineries! We had a great time!

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review