reviews for: listing #89894 - Lake Anna, Virginia House rental

Time to book your fall week, boat rental stingray 185 ls
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Thelma Winston
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $160 - $275 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,900 /wk

sort by:

Memorial Day Weekend

Review submitted: June 21, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

We stayed here 2 years ago for Memorial Day weekend and had a great time. The kids caught so many fish off the dock. We loved the boats that were provided. Steve was awesome. The fireplace was broken was Steve immediately provided us with a new one. We def. will be staying here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

5 Days Of Serenity

Review submitted: May 8, 2014   Date of arrival: May 1, 2014

I Totally enjoyed my stay at this property for the first five days of May. When I arrived the residence was clean and everything was in working order. I brought my waverunner with me and was constantly on the lake enjoying the sights and warm waters of the private side. I never did get to take advantage of all of the toys that were hidden away in the storage building but aside from my own PWC I took advantage of the jacuzzi and basked in the roominess and comfort of this lakeside retreat. I sure hope to take advantage of this place once again before I leave the D.C. area enroute to another Military assignment. Steve, I thank you for making this a very affordable venture and answering any concerns that I phoned you with! I'm sure that after I left, your cleaning crew probably wondered if I ever showed up as I try to leave things better than they were when I arrived! This property comes highly recommended to all...

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

My relaxing stay at Lake Anna

Review submitted: April 9, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Steve's lake house in Lake Anna, VA. The house was right on the water and my 4 girlfriends and I really enjoyed our stay there. Steve provided kayaks and a paddle board for my friends and I to use and we really had a blast with that. The house had a brand new kitchen and it was lovely. When the sun went down, my four friends and I sat around the fire pit and chatted, and it was very quiet and peaceful. The only thing that I wish would have been different would have been the weather, but other than that we had a great time. Steve answered the phone whenever I called and answered every question I had. This vacation was a great escape from a busy work schedule. I would recommend this house to anyone who would like a private getaway. Thanks Steve. :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: The kitchen has been completely renovated.

Check out the pictures on the site!!!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Nice Fall Stay

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

My wife, youngest son and I came out the end of September for a long weekend. It was nice to stay on the warm side of the lake where the water temp was still 84 degrees. When the evening turned cool and the fire had died, we moved into the hot tub. The fishing was great right near the house. We would consider this place again is we come down for a fall visit.

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

Wonderful Weekend Getaway !!!

Review submitted: December 23, 2013   Date of arrival: December 20, 2013

I and my 5 adult children arrived on Friday afternoon to a very spacious, clean, beautiful property. My kids are all in school and/or working and it is very difficult for us to all be in the same place at the same time. We decided this year, instead of gifts, we would spend our money on the things we needed most. Time together and rest. What a perfect place we found! I love the way the house is laid out, it is so spacious and plenty of room for us all to be inside and not on top of each other. I brought all of our food and everything I needed to prepare snacks and meals was there in the kitchen. The weather was very nice so we thoroughly enjoyed the lounge area on the dock. In the evening we enjoyed time around the firepit, then went inside and enjoyed a couple movies on the "big screen" (for us!). We could all hang out together in the living area and play games or watch TV, and we could also walk down beside the lake or enjoy the decks if we needed space. We never went anywhere else, we had everything we needed there and plenty to do. And it was the weekend before Christmas. This has become one of our fondest memories and hope someday to be able to spend a whole week there in the summer. The owner was great to work with also. I would highly recommend this place to everyone I know!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 

A Tucked Away Secret

Review submitted: December 5, 2013   Date of arrival: November 24, 2013

We started a Thanksgiving week tradition 4 years ago of going to Lake Anna for the week. My wife is a school teacher and she gets that week off, so getting away then has become our "thing to look forward to" in the fall. Our previous 3 Thanksgivings were all fabulous, with this being the first time we stayed at this lake house. Hands down....THE BEST! What sets it apart? Several things. The house is beautifully laid-out--very open and conducive to entertaining or just keeping track of what the kids or dogs are doing. Kayaks, canoes, water toys, yard toys, fishing gear....all there for use. We have 2 Dobermans, so having a place where they can run and have fun without scaring the neighbors was important to us. Lots of space. Especially nice were the multiple sitting areas near the water and pier....the dogs could have fun and we could sit and relax. We will definitely be back to enjoy it again next Thanksgiving, but we are going to include a week there this summer...it's just got too much to offer to limit it to just the fall for us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 21 / 21

 

Hollyoak Lake House

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

We arrived on Saturday August 31, 2013. There were six adults on this vacation trip. We loved the outdoor area. There was a great firepit and only steps to the newly built dock and outdoor furniture area. We enjoyed the grassy area by the lake as we watched three of our vacationers catch many fish!
The house is located in a cove that was quiet, relaxing and peaceful. One of the best outdoor areas we have ever had on vacation!
The house was roomy and spacious. We didn't spend a lot of time indoors because of the outdoor ammenites and Lake Anna!

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 23 / 23

 

Cozy and Quiet

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

I have stayed at Steve's place several times and we absolutely love this place! We live close by but love going to this place for a stay vacation the kids have friends up and have a ball. Our friends brought their boat up and the water temp is perfect this time of year. Our favorite thing to do is kayak which Steve provides with life jackets. the hottub is a plus at nights and we love the firepit. My most surprising addition this year was the big screen tv in the bedroom which I require to sleep by thanks! And the lounge area on the deck. We love this place and can't wait to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 

One of the best family vacations

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

My family and I spent a week at Steve's property. What a fantabulous location. It had ample space to accomodate our large group and 2-3 dogs. There was plenty for everyone to do; kayaking (provided by Steve), water trampoline (Steve again), fishing and water skiing(we had our own boat). The house had everything we could ask for and Steve is very easy going and easy to work with. He is very responsive, if there is an issue. The home is located in a cove and is very private; but very safe. I have recommended this location to my friends and I would definitely rent this house again next year.

Rani Zarnegar

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 21 / 21

 

For a good time , you must try this !!!!

Review submitted: August 18, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at Steve’s lake house with 5 of our grand children ages 7 through 22 and had a wonderful time, Steve’s place is rustic and accommodated the 7 of us with ease. I happen to be a 71 year old bilateral double amputee in a wheelchair and had no problem getting down to the dock and to our boat in my power chair which I left outside the entire time we were there and used my manual chair inside, just a quick scoot across the front porch was all that was needed to transfer from outside to inside. We never heard one complaint from the grand children the entire time we were there, we all enjoyed the fishing, swimming, tubing and slow boating around the biggest lake I have ever been on, we sat around the fire pit in the evening roasting marsh mallows and chatting about the days experiences . Everyone enjoyed the kayaking which Steve provided, we brought our own tube even though Steve had 2 or 3 that was available and we never had the time to use the water trampoline as there was so much to do that we didn’t have time to take advantage of all the things that he provided. No one wanted to use the very nice hot tub because the water at Lake Anna was 90 degrees. Steve was great to work with and responded to any questions that came up almost immediately. JUST A GREAT EXPERIENCE!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 

Great Location

Review submitted: June 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

We had a wonderful week and the size and the
location of the house was perfect, direct access to the lake and a
virtually empty lake made it awesome for wakeboarding, tubing and
kayaking. My kids fished off the dock every day and caught (and
released) a ton of fish of all sizes. Everyone from 5 - 45 took the kayaks out for a spin. Great exercise and a little quite time for the moms.
The laptop was a great asset for checking emails. The x-box and games and dvds also made the non-boating time fun. The water trampoline was a huge hit! Having a grocery store was awesome as well and the marinas for boating supplies weren't too far either. My husband said the boat whips were awesome and wished that all the houses that we stay in had them…definitely saved on the sides of the boat. Thanks much for sharing your lake house with us for our family vacation. -AnnMarie

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 26 / 26

 

Great for the perfect weekend getaway

Review submitted: March 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

I planned a very last minute weekend with several of my close friends, and we could not have asked for a more enjoyable time. The house was beautiful with an incredible amount of porch space and down by the water, a picturesque dock complete with a table and chairs. We loved heading down by the water to drink our coffee in the morning. Our favorite part of the property had to be the indoor jacuzzi. It was perfect for the chilly nights, especially after sitting outside by the fire pit.

Everything in the home was clean, and we had plenty of space to spread out. The kitchen was fantastic for cooking big meals and its central location connecting the dining area and family room gave the house an incredibly open feeling. This house was amazing for my group of 20 somethings, and I cannot imagine anyone having a bad time there.

Steve is a great homeowner and made booking the home easy and painless. The only negative I have is there was not a large amount of firewood ready to go. We spent a good amount of time collecting small branches because the saws could not cut the larger logs. We still had a good time stick hunting, and it didn't diminish the trip at all. I can only imagine how much fun the house will be when it's warm out and the lake worth swimming in. I know my friends and I would love to return and will hopefully try to soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 33 / 33

 

Great House with Perfect Location

Review submitted: March 7, 2013   Date of arrival: January 4, 2013

I've rented this house for the 3rd time now and each time I come out pleased. My friends and I really enjoy the stay here everytime. The house is in a private location so it's a perfect spot for my friends and I. The dock in the back is perfect for a hang out spot. The fire place is nice at night times. Plenty of space to do whatever you want along the sides of the house. The house is always clean on arrival and the hot tub has now been fixed. Steve has updated many things including the stone patio outside perfect for bonfires.

I always have a great time here and will def come back during the summer.

Helpful votes: 37 / 37

 

Dirty house

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

I planned a surprise party for my dad and envited several folks to this house . When we arrived the house was very dirty we cleaned it for three hours upon are arrival. I was 8 months pregnant and there was standing water and black mold in the basement . The hot tub could not be used and looked liked it hadn't been cleaned like the house for a very long time. When I contacted Steve regarding the house being dirty he advised if we didn't like the house we could leave and I would have but plans were set months in advance and people were arriving the next day. The house is a great location but just like the house the dock was very dirty and needed cleaned the trampoline had a hole in it and didn't work. The house looked like guests had stayed several times without a maid service coming in. The maid service actually stopped by and told me they had not cleaned the house in at least a month they offered to clean it then but at that time it was to late we had already done as much as possible to make the house nice for my dads party. We spent 100 on cleaning supplies that Steve agreed to reimburse me for and to date I have not seen any money. It's not even about that I rent houses from lake Anna every summer and this was by far the worst we had ever stayed in. We Will not be returning . To lake Anna yes not this house.

Owners response: I had some struggles with the cleaning service last summer. I will be interviewing a new cleaner this spring, and hope to have better service.

Helpful votes: 9 / 15

 

Great Fall Experience!!

Review submitted: December 2, 2012   Date of arrival: October 14, 2012

My husband and I rented Steve's house the third week in October, 2012 and had a wonderful stay! The weather was gorgeous the entire time we were there, and the trees were in full Fall colors...absolutely beautiful.

We caught a bunch of bass brim, and catfish from the dock and along the expanse of property Steve owns on one side of the cove.

We took our "geriatric" Lab with us and he really liked hobbling down the boat ramp and getting in the water to swim.

Our kids loved the kayacks.

I can see this would be a great party place for summertime when the temperature is a little more conducive to swimming.

My husband and I have rented a lot of vacation houses in the past, but Steve is the most friendly and easy person we have ever had the pleasure to work with.
We highly recommend the experience. =0)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 29 / 29

 

Great Get-A-Way

Review submitted: November 9, 2012   Date of arrival: November 2, 2012

Rented this house for a guys get-a-way(long weekend). There were about 8 of us and we had a blast. The house was perfect to host a guys weekend with plenty of space. Having the ramp and boat dock was perfect as a few of us brought our bass boats. The house was comfortable and very well laid out. We will be coming back in the spring for another guys weekend. However, several of us have decided it would also be a great rental for family vacations or long weekends. It is perfectly situated in the back of a cove for the family. Plenty of things to do and tons of amenities come with the house to accommodate any ones ideal of having a good time. Kids would love the dock area and playing in the cove. The fishing was a lot of fun with several 5 fish bags in the double digits.

Steve the owner was fantastic to work with and has earned our appreciation and we will reciprocate by make more use of his home in the future. I really can't wait until spring to bring the family down.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 35 / 35

 

private oasis

Review submitted: November 7, 2012   Date of arrival: October 14, 2012

I have stayed here several times and the kids loved it. Catching fish, kayaking, playing on the little beachy area. They also loved the hot tub which worked fine. We roasted marshmallows on the fire pit. Plenty of room for everyone to sleep. And the house was freshly cleaned. Had a great time would return again.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 35 / 35

 

I do not reccomend staying here

Review submitted: September 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

The problems started as soon as we arrived. Upon unpacking we discovered that the place was dirty
cabinets were broke ,lights didn't work
sticky stain in the master bedroom floor
glass table top looked like it was going to collapse
standing water in basement mold smell 2 family members have mold allergys
hot tub dirty and non working
water trampoline flat Were warned to not electracute ourselves blowing it up Leaks made it unusable
we called owner to complain and he sent handy man who only fixed ac issue.
Were also informed by the owner that we may run out of water at anytime.
After driving 3 1/2 hrs we had to clean the house before we could unpack and eat.
It took a month and a half to get my deposit back and that was only after threatening to get a lawyer.

Owners response: I have a cleaning service, they made a scheduling mistake. First time in the 8 years I have owned the property. They did arrive later that day after check in and did clean after I called them.

This renter has an axe to grind. His rental period was August 5 to August 12, he cashed a returned security deposit check on September 12th (attached). The rental agreement clearly states that security deposit is returned within 30 days. I do not know how he concludes 6 weeks. I have a handyman that handles any issues , he was there and took care of his issues is pretty timely fashion. The handyman also fixed the leak in the water trampoline. I have no idea about his reference to running out of water. I am on well water right on the lake......not sure what he means.

I am planning to up date the kitchen, and hot tub room over the winter, and will post pictures of those improvements.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Family & Friends Guys Trip

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

There are usually 8 or so of us guys including folks from 35 to 65 and this house had enough room and amenities to accomodate everyone. The layout of the home and the property is perfect to allow folks to relax and nap while at the same time allow others to use the dock and deck. All of us plan on bringing our families back because it is the best setup you can get with room to dock your boat. Many sunfish, catfish, and bass where caught from the property including many nice 15"+ bass off the point. Convenience store is mile down the road and Food Lion 5 miles.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 50 / 50

 

Fantastic Family Relaxation!

Review submitted: April 12, 2012   Date of arrival: April 4, 2012

Our family had an incredible 4 days of relaxation at this home (our first time at this rental). It's situated in a private cove which made it ideal for our two kids. They were able to use the kayaks on their own, while staying in the cove - without the threat of high speed boat traffic (love the fact that it's a no-wake zone).

Even though it was the beginning of April, our son was able to go for a quick swim because the house is located on the "warm side" of Lake Anna - this was a great high point for him!

Relaxation and fun abounds at this home such as:
* Hanging out and catching some rays on the dock
* Fishing (caught many bluegill and a 10-12" catfish - which made great appetizers for dinner!) - And these were caught from the dock!
* Watching the wildlife (saw several, beautiful blue herons)
* Kayaking (plenty of family races in the cove - along with relaxation/tanning. Even our Yorkie enjoyed kayaking on the open bow kayak!)
* Canoeing (family trips around the lake and exploring the area)
* Nights around the campfire - with an amazing moonlit view over the water (picture perfect!)
* Playing horseshoes
* Playing basketball
* Xbox 360 for the kids during down time + DirecTV

With enough to do at this rental, our kids had no desire to tour the area of Lake Anna. They were content to stay at the home and explore - only enhancing our opportunities to relax.

There's only one neighbor next door and we never saw them outside during our stay! It was like we had the entire cove to ourselves!

The updated appliances were a huge plus considering we cooked all our own meals. Plenty of counter space, utensils, pots and pans. The open kitchen/living area was perfect and the home is spacious enough for large families or groups. No fights over the bathrooms either considering there are 4 in this home!

The Food Lion is approximately 5-6 miles away which came in handy during a last minute medicine run. This same shopping center has a liquor store, Subway, vet, pizza place and Chinese restaurant. There's even a country store/gas station just a few minutes away for those quick conveniences, fish bait and tackle, ice cream cones and gas for the car before heading home.

The owner, Steve, is quick to reply to questions - and always with a pleasant and friendly attitude. It was a pleasure renting this home from him! I'm sure we'll be going back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 61 / 61

 

Great GetAway Location

Review submitted: April 8, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

This is a perfect house to get away from everything and just enjoy time with family and friends. It's a great private location with plenty of space to yourself. There's a dock right behind the house for great chill time. There are plenty of activities to do outside including basketball. The house is amazing on the inside, too. The rooms are very spacious and the whole house is very fit for a family type group or for just a group of friends. Grocery store is less than 10 minutes away, which was great for us.

When we went earlier in the year, we definitely enjoyed our time there. No one had any complaints about the place. We liked it so much, were heading back early June.

The owner is very friendly and reachable, making this house a no-brainer.

Helpful votes: 62 / 62

 

Perfect Family Get Away!

Review submitted: January 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

Our family had the most wonderful time at the lake house. We wanted a house where we could relax but there was also enough activities for our three teen-age children. We found it all. We were able to relax on the dock or the screened in porch but also were able to do a lot of stuff on the water. The kids enjoyed the trampoline the most! The house was perfectly equipped for our needs and slept us all quite comfortably. I also appreciated the convenient location to the new grocery store and the internet cafe.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: This home is geared toward meeting family needs.

Helpful votes: 64 / 67

 

Great Family House

Review submitted: December 6, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

Our group stayed at this house for the 4th time in October 2011. Our group is the Old Town Tri Club, Alexandria, VA and we have participated in triathlons in the area. Steve is always super helpful and accomodating.

The location works perfectly for us and we love the open floor plan. The kitchen, living room, dining room and sun room all open into each other which makes it awesome for a group like ours. Having 4 bathrooms is super helful for a group too.

A large grocery store just opened nearby in spring 2011. It's in a shopping area that also offers a few eateries.

We haven't used the lake access since we are generally there in the off season but it's very nice to walk down to the lake. I imagine in the summer it must be great. We have used the fire pit and have enjoyed it.

The hot tub hasn't worked at any time we've used the house but that hasn't bothered us. You just might want to be sure to ask if it's in working order if that's something that is important to you.

All in all this is a great family house at a value price point. Our group will continue to stay here. Oh - and we LOVE that it's pet friendly!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 59 / 61

 

Fantastic rental house

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

I have rented this home from Steve on 4 seperate occasions!! The location could not be more ideal. The home is tucked away in a semi-private cove on the "private side" of the lake, and is located on a large wooded lot with total privacy.

The house itself is great for families or couples looking for a relaxing weekend and easy access to boating and other water sports.

There is a General Store and gas station right down the road which is very convenient for picking up basic grocery items, and also has a new ice cream shop which is fantastic for the kids.

A low-key place for a low price!

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: This appears to be a duplicate

Helpful votes: 56 / 58

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review