reviews for: listing #89919 - Lahaina, Hawaii House rental

Pau 'ole Makai- Ocean View, Private Pool, Spa, & Waterfall!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $795 - $965 /nt
    $5,565 - $6,755 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful Home in an Exceptional Location

Review submitted: March 25, 2014   Date of arrival: March 21, 2014

I stayed here with my family in late March 2014 (4 adults and 2 small children). We have visited Hawaii over 10 times, and stayed in private homes rented through VRBO on almost all of those visits. And I have to say that this is one of our favorite homes. The view is absolutely spectacular, and the layout is ideal for a family with children. The master bedroom, which is removed from the rest of the house, is ideal for privacy. But it is the large lanai that is the selling point of this home. You can truly live both inside and outside here, and there is a beautiful outdoor cooking area. The pool is also perfect for families with kids, as you can easily monitor them from inside the house.

Finally, the location is just outside Lahaina, close enough for town amenities, but far enough away to feel like you are getting away. The neighborhood is clearly one of the best in the area. I only wish we could afford our own vacation home in the area!

I also appreciated the professional rental experience. Everything about the booking and arrival process was just perfect.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This home fit our needs perfectly

Review submitted: January 30, 2014   Date of arrival: January 26, 2014

We spent 6 nights here to celebrate our mother's retirement. She couldn't have looked for a more relaxing trip. Drummer was the sweetest boy. The house fit our needs perfectly- the view is amazing! Super comfortable beds as well. Our biggest regret is not staying longer.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spent most nights cooking here and living in spa

Review submitted: January 30, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

We had a great stay here! There are 6 of us altogether and for 4 of us, it was our first time in Maui. We did the hike in Hana, helicopter tour of Maui, ATV ride, among many of other fun activities. We loved Drummer hanging around with his coconut and the cute kitty Freckles. Not only did we spend most nights cooking here, but we LIVED in the jacuzzi.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wish we could wake up to this view...

Review submitted: January 30, 2014   Date of arrival: December 9, 2013

....each and every day. This place is amazing, we could not have asked for better! I love the animals too- Drummer and I are buddies and Freckles snuggles with me on the chair.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed Freckles and Drummer

Review submitted: January 30, 2014   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

The views were amazing! We also enjoyed the company of Drummer and Freckles (neighbor dog and cat) so much!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The views are breathtaking

Review submitted: January 30, 2014   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

Your beautiful home was perfect for our family vacation. The views are breathtaking and we took the most stunning sunset photos.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect honeymoon celebration

Review submitted: January 30, 2014   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your great home with us. It was the perfect way to celebrate our honeymoon. We could not ask for a more beautiful villa. We are already thinking of coming back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Even better in person

Review submitted: January 30, 2014   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

What a splendid two-week family vacation! Our first visit to Hawaii was so special thanks to beautiful Pau 'ole Makai. It was hard to believe it could be so incredible as it looked in the online pictures, as it was even better! We will miss the beautiful lanai and the ocean....we will just have to come back again! With thanks- Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a terrific and amazing time here

Review submitted: January 30, 2014   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

....in Maui. Everything with your house was perfect. It was our first family vacation in a house and we loved every minute! Thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful home! Memories for life. We loved Drummer- an added bonus.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

"WOW!!!!"

Review submitted: January 29, 2014   Date of arrival: January 20, 2014

Upon arrival, coming down the driveway, our first reaction was "WOW!!!" The home and the views are even better than the photos illustrate. This home is spacious, clean, and comfortable. It's in a great location- central to daily activities and close to the beach. Our 19-month old daughter, and the rest of our family couldn't get enough of this place. It was complete paradise.

MAHALO!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Do we have to leave!

Review submitted: January 29, 2014   Date of arrival: December 2, 2013

This much needed getaway couldn't have been spent at a better home and location. Everything we wanted to do and see was so conveniently close to the home. There were days that we didn't even venture out because just relaxing by the pool staring at the unbelievable ocean view was just enough to settle down from the daily grind back on the mainland. The worst part of our stay was having to leave. If your planing a vacation to Maui and want to live like a local and not in a hotel atmosphere I highly recommend this home which had all the amenities we needed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Place!

Review submitted: December 19, 2013   Date of arrival: December 5, 2013

This was my first trip to Hawaii and staying at pau 'ole Makai' made it that much more memorable and worthwhile. The house looks exactly like the pictures posted here; it is truly an exceptionally beautiful home with the most amazing views. The home is so nice, warm, welcoming, clean, well-decorated that you hardly have to leave (though we did, to explore Maui). The outdoor seating area, with an outdoor kitchen, the coconut tree, waterfall, pool, and spa - really, you could not ask for anything more! I enjoyed waking each morning to the blue, blue water, seeing ships on the horizon, sipping coffee outside and feeling as if I was in heaven. Evening time is fabulously relaxing and gorgeous watching the sunset from the spa while sipping on a cocktail.

We absolutely loved the visits from the animals - Drummer the dog was our buddy for the week and Freckles the cat loved to snuggle up with me morning or night on the outdoor chair - yet the animals will not enter the home because they are well trained. We also enjoyed the bunny rabbit and chickens.

Staying here felt like home away from home; I never wanted to leave!! Could not recommend a better place to be!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

REALLY loved your pool & hot tub

Review submitted: October 22, 2013   Date of arrival: October 16, 2013

Thank you very much for allowing us to stay in your beautiful home. We had a wonderful trip and our boys REALLY loved your pool and hot tub, the grass to run around on and, of course, the geckos.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect respite...

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

Our stay was a perfect respite before school, etc. Your home is beautiful and just what we expected. Hope to stay again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Getaway

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

Our stay in this lovely home was perfect....amazing views, close to beaches and just minutes from Lahaina and Kapalua/kaanapali resort areas. We spent the week with our two adult daughters, hiking, swimming, snorkeling and relaxing. This home was perfect for our family. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our fabulous stay at Villa Makai

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: October 10, 2012

This has been my 4 th stay at this gorgeous home. It is the perfect Hawaiian experience for those wanting be out of the typical hotel/condo experience. You almost feel like you live and belong there in that wonderful neighborhood. Not only is the house beautiful and the lanai, trees, birds, and fresh fruit delightful, when available, the view from this house is awesome, any time of the day with spectacular sunsets. There is a nice beach down the street, or you go to many other great beaches nearby, or just hang out at the house around the pool and waterfall. The owners are a fantastic family and you get to eperience their friendly animals and have fresh , delicious eggs each day from their free roaming chickens. It is a pure joy for my family to spend 2 weeks there and have a native feel. I always feel welcome and feel I have a home away from home. I never need or want to look to stay anywhere else. I highly recommend Villa Makai, it is my all time favorite place to relax and feel as one with the beautiful surroundings. The family who has the home are awesome as well. Don 't think twice for staying here. For us it is perfect and always leave wishing we could stay longer, but, know we will be back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful views

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

Every morning you wake up to a beautiful view of the ocean and the island of Lanai in the distance. Every evening you witness a beautiful sunset. You can watch the cruise ships and saliboats come in and the whales swin by when migrating from a panoramic viewpoint. The stars at night look close enough to touch. The mountains behind the house are ever changing with the cloud formations. Everything was perfect and they pay close attention to detail and every comfort. It's close to a trail that leads you back to a running stream. It's a close drive into town when the need arises. But who wants to leave this setting. There is a beach park down at the end of the road. Very convenient with surfing and a kids' shallow area protected by a sea wall. The swimming pool is a beautiful lagoon type pool with a waterfall and spa attached. It's all beautiful and I had a wonderful relaxing stay. I have been there twice and can't wait to return next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a wonderfuls stay

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

We all had a wonderful stay in Maui. Enjoyed the beautiful sunsets, weather, pool, BBQ, and the animals were well behaved and very friendly- a nice treat for our family! Location was great, Lahaina is a lovely Hawaiian town.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic Place!

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

Thanks so much for the stay at this beautiful villa! Amazing ocean views and sunsets and a fantastic place for us all to spend our Maui vacation. This was a special trip for our moms- their first visit to Hawaii and it was a memorable one. Even though we are heading back to Chicago, St. Louis, and Pittsburgh today we will keep the vacation alive with all the photos and memories from here.

Aloha and Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home away from home

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

We are having such a blast in this house! And such a blast in Hawaii as well.

Such a beautiful view, an amazing pool, and comfortable home-away-from-home!

We love the dogs and the kitty as well! They are so fun and great to have around.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Views out of this world!!!

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

Many mahalos for sharing your home with us. Views and the pool/spa were out of this world. Breezes, pool, and lazy/casual life style will be missed. Along with the scent of plumeria and taste of tropical fresh produce such as apple bananas, avocados, etc.

Animals were trainable, including the 6 chickens who visited us daily the first part of our vacation. Pau 'ole Makai provided us with much quiet and relaxation. Exactly what we were looking for on this vacation! We hope to return to Maui and Pau 'ole Makai some day soon.

Until then....

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a wonderful house!

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 2, 2012

What a wonderful house! The pool, hot tub and views are fabulous! We loved cooking out and watching the beautiful sunsets. Pau 'ole Makai was perfect for our family. We will miss Hawaii, but we are leaving with very special memories.

Aloha and Mahalo

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Getaway

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

Pau 'ole Makai is an adorable getaway tucked up on the hill with an amazing view and plenty of amenities.

We had a great stay and love Maui the most!

Thank you for your hospitality.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Missing Maui Already

Review submitted: October 13, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

WOW! Words cannot explain how much we loved staying at this beautiful home. Great location, great ammenities- everything we needed was provided from the fully stocked kitchen to the beach towels and beach chairs and coolers. Cannot wait to return again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing home, amazing views, amazing everything!

Review submitted: October 12, 2012   Date of arrival: September 10, 2012

We honestly could not ask for a better home for our Maui vacation! The views were incredible and we enjoyed watching the sunsets each night from the lanai or from in the spa/pool. The waterfall and tiki torches were just extra great touches. The location couldn't have been better- close enough to everything without being stuck in the crowded resort areas. The owners are really helpful and are quick to answer any questions we had prior to our arrival and the walk through at check-in was really helpful in getting to really know the house and area- she was very helpful in suggesting places and things to do as well! This home would be great for all- couples or families.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Only Gripe Was the Weather Was Not Cooperating

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

Wow! So amazing! Words cannot describe how awesome this place is. Breathtaking views, whales, fantastic accommodations, all made for the perfect soul soothing, smile evoking vacation. The best part, though, was our ohana!! Mahalo Nui Loa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Returning Hawaii Residents Now on Vacay

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 18, 2012

Thank you for opening up your beautiful home to us. We have truly enjoyed our stay and have really made us homesick to move back to Hawaii. Aloha and Mahalo!

What an amazing week we have had at Pau ole Makai! We loved everything about this place....the house itself, the pool, the view!!, and the company of Drummer. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Honeymoon

Review submitted: November 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 11, 2010

"This house is unbelievable. The views are amazing. We loved watching the sunset over the ocean from the lanai. Not to mention the rainbows over the mountains behind the house! We loved the location as well. Could not have been more perfect! This house made our honeymoon so special, and we'll never forget it. Thanks for letting us stay here!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceeded our wildest expectations!

Review submitted: November 4, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2010

"You never know really what you're going to get when you rent a home for vacation. Let's just say this home exceeded our wildest expectations. Just the lanai itself is stunning enough- but throw in this incredibly beautiful home and you have perfection!

We snorkeled, whale watched, went water rafting, attended a luau- it goes on and on.

We made a lot of memories here. Hopefully we can return in the future.

Thank you for such a comfortable, gorgeous place to stay. We didn't want to leave!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Breathtaking!

Review submitted: November 4, 2011   Date of arrival: August 10, 2009

"This house was breath taking! From the outside pool, BBQ area & views to the inside comfort and modern touches we say we will be back. My favorite was Drummer, the rental dog. The cat was cute too! Thank you for everything!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review