reviews for: listing #89955 - San Diego, California Studio rental

Secluded Sanctuary
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Casa do Oro
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $79 - $129 /nt
    $550 - $995 /wk
    $1,200 - $1,500 /mth

sort by:

Beauty, privacy, and peaceful

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: April 8, 2013

What a wonderful surprise to find such a charming place to stay during our three weeks in San Diego visiting our relatives. Deborah was the perfect hostess and the Casita had everything we needed for our comfort. Deborah made us feel at home so much so, that we had our family over for lunch so that they could enjoy the beauty that surrounds Deborah's grounds as much as we did. Waking up to the wonderful sounds of all the different birds that live here was a real treat and watching them from the private comfort of the loveseat in front of the Casita was a real joy. This is definitely a place we will recommend to others, and we are looking forward to staying at the lovey little Casita again when we are in San Diego. Thank you Deborah, for everything.
Charlie & Donna

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so happy that you were comfortable and enjoyed the peaceful surroundings during your 3 week stay. It was a true pleasure hosting you and also to have the opportunity to meet your nice family. You are always welcome to come back to San Diego and be my guests again. I will look forward to your return visit in the future! Deborah

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect getaway spot!

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

My husband and I had an amazing time staying in the little Casita while we visited San Diego in March. It is everything it is advertised to be and even more! Deborah has her darling little place fixed up to provide every comfort you could imagine. We looked forward to coming back to the oasis of the casita every evening after exploring the sights of San Diego. One of the things we were most delighted with in our stay was visiting a little with Deborah. She is a jewel! She graciously showed us her beautiful gardens and even gave me some cuttings to take home from her geraniums. It was fun to talk with her about our mutual love of gardening. Our only regret is that our visit wasn't long enough! We plan to come back and stay again in the Casita sometime when we can stay longer.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was such a pleasure to have both of you as guests and new friends. The Casita is an oasis, close enough to all the attractions yet far enough away to be peacefully quiet. I am glad you share the same passion for gardening as I do and I am always happy to share plant cuttings with my guests. I feel very fortunate to live in San Diego where something is always blooming through out the year. Take care and I hope to see you again! Deborah

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise in Casa do Oro

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 27, 2013

This property was everything listed and more. We were welcomed by Deborah and her companion Bear. After we were showned around we were left alone to un-pack and begin our vacation. We started our adventure walking for hours at the San Deigo Zoo. Then coming home every night exhausted we would sleep like babies only to wake up by the choir of birds. Deborah keeps her yard an oasis with so many plants to observe. An orange tree growing in the corner by the pool was amazing. My husband took pictures of humming birds in a nest and a beautiful sunset from the terrace as we dined with friends.
Old town San Diego with the Mormon Battalion Museum and various shops, open markets and lots of restaurants to choose from was a full day of enjoyment.
We would recommend this rental to any couple and will try to return as our schedules allow.

The casita was supplied with everything we needed. fridge was full of stuff and fresh fruit to enjoy. The bed was great! We got a great nights sleep every night. Eating breakfast oustide by the pool every morning was awesome.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was my pleasure hosting guests that were able to appreciate and enjoy my little paradise. Most of the hummingbirds have flown their nests now but remain in my yard feeding on all the rich pollinating flowers. It is so fun to observe them and all the other birds surrounding my oasis in San Diego. I will look forward to seeing you again! Deborah

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Luxury and privacy in one place

Review submitted: March 8, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

My husband and I spent the month of February in this wonderful little casita. We had previously stayed in a nice motel that we liked a lot, but thought we would try something new. It was a great decision.
This casita is very private and the surroundings are like being in an arboretum with beautiful foliage all around the yard. Inside, the main room is large with 2 comfortable chairs. It is furnished as though it was to be used by the owner. The decor is very nice and the towels are thick and plush. There are many extras, such as nice lotions and soaps. The fruit bowl was full when we got there.
Outside the front door is a very comfortable couch, plus several other seating areas. The pool is very large, although too cold to use in February.
Deborah, the owner, was very helpful, but kept out of our way and gave us plenty of privacy. I would suggest this place to anyone. We loved it.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words, I do keep high standards for the Casita. It was my pleasure hosting my first guests for a months stay and I am so happy you were comfortable and happy. You both were respectful and I appreciate you admiring my passion for gardening, I have a lot fun playing in the yard! I will look forward to seeing you both next year! Take Care
Deborah

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Cozy Casita!

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 13, 2012

We had been planning a trip to San Diego to celebrate our son and nephew's graduation from Marine Corp boot camp. I was so excited and starting searching the web for good deals and such. The only problem was that my husband had just had surgery on his shoulder and was in a sling. We were going to be spending 10 days somewhere and I knew with him hurting he would not like being in a crowded or noisy hotel. So I found this secluded studio. What a fantastic find! It was not only very private but it felt like home. It is extremely clean and is stocked with everything you may need. You have your own drive-way and entrance. We felt very safe and we were close to all the attractions. We were amazed at the lush gardens around us even in December. We woke up each day looking for Bear, Deborahs dog. He meanders the property and you just become friends with him right away. Deborah is the nicest person, she accommodated my husband with a chaise lounge chair that she brought in the casita so he would be more comfortable. We could not have had a better time or stayed at a better place. God bless the Casita!!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was such a pleasure hosting you both as guests. I am so glad that you enjoyed your 10 day stay in the Casita and more importantly felt safe and at home. I want my guests to feel comfortable and I was happy to help accommodate in any way that I am able. I hope to see you again for another visit.
Deborah

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We're so happy we found this!

Review submitted: December 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

We're a couple from Germany and stayed at the Casita for 8 days in August 2012.

We first contacted Deborah, the owner, by mail. She was very friendly and forthcoming when we made the reservation and we felt good vibes already.
When we arrived after a long flight, she sent us straight to the Casita and assured us that the formalities could wait until the morning.

The Casita, located in a beautiful setting, is nice and super clean. The pool, right outside, is very well maintained and inviting. All around the Casita and the pool, there are many places to sit, roofed by an impressive variety of gorgeous plants.
All provided products are carefully picked and of the highest quality. Wireless Internet access is free and works flawlessly.

The Casita is only a couple of minutes from the main drag but far enough to be nice and quiet. We felt very safe there. A parking spot is provided inside the gate.

Deborah is an incredibly considerate person. She left us alone when we didn't contact her but was ready to help any time when we had questions.

Problems were taken care of immediately--before we had even noticed that the pool pump had stopped working it got repaired. Deborah went out of her way to make sure we weren't bothered by the presence of the repairman.

We truly felt that the Casita was a home away from home. This was the first week of our three week journey and the Casita remained unmatched. We were very sad to leave and we wished to be back there when we stayed in a horrid hotel room in Monterey.
If we ever get the opportunity to come back to San Diego, we will definitely try to get a reservation here. Deborah's Casita is highly recommended.

Right after our trip we sent Deborah a mail, thanking her for the "wonderful place to stay that turned out to be the shining light of our entire vacation". That's exactly what it was.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was my true pleasure to host such a special couple and I appreciate the kind words. I have high standards for the Casita and I am so happy that you were so comfortable and enjoyed your stay here in San Diego. Bear and I will look forward to seeing you again, he misses his watermelon treats!
Take Care,
Deborah

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ideal honeymoon getaway

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 5, 2012

We drove to the Casita the day after our wedding, and stayed for 6 nights. Several things stood out to us: The space was carefully arranged with a perfect balance of art and utility. The more days passed, the more we appreciated the thoughtfulness that Deborah put into the Casita. Every time I have moved into a new place, I have been surprised to find how many little things I use throughout my daily life, and how many of them I have forgotten to bring with me. Deborah foresaw them all, and had everything we could need within reach, in a clean and organized way. I especially appreciated the toaster oven and fresh, filtered water!

We are planning on coming back to the Casita next year for another San Diego vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so happy that your expectations were exceeded, I want my guests to be very comfotable. I am also honored that you choose the Casita as your honeymoon destination and I will look forward to seeing you again for your first anniverary celebration. You two make such a nice couple and you are always welcome back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A botanical oasis

Review submitted: November 1, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

Our stay at the Casita was splendid. The casita is very well maintained, clean and well equiped for every need. Deborah is the perfect host and a very special person. The grounds are covered in many different exotic plants and flowers. There are 3 different breakfast areas that provide everything from glorious views to cooling shade.
I highly recommend the Casita to anyone who wants to get lost in a little paradise for couple of days.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: It was a pleasure to have you both as guests for your romantic get away! I am so happy you were able to slow down and enjoy the peaceful garden areas and experience several attractions in San Diego. I hope to see you again!
Deborah

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fond Memories!

Review submitted: September 30, 2012   Date of arrival: September 13, 2012

We fully enjoyed ourselves during our week-long stay at this unique sanctuary. The casita is a traveller's dream - a private getaway to nights of restful sleep or a day of relaxation. It's located away from the hustle and bustle of the city, and yet a short drive from downtown and major places of interest in San Diego. With the help of a rented car and GPS, we had no problems at all getting around.

We are pleasantly surprised with the beautiful landscaping and gardening within the casita. Deborah is so nice to allow us use of the several open spaces by the pool, and every morning our vacation already feels complete simply by drinking in the interesting sights of plants and flowers, and the lovely sounds of the hummingbirds!

The room is clean and well-maintained, and comes with an extremely cozy bed and shower room, in addition to other facilities such as TV, fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. It also has more amenities than we would have needed - complete sets of utensils, shower lotions, towels... We also appreciate the welcome snacks and fruits, and the available brochures to help us better plan our trip itinerary.

Many thanks to Deborah for being such a wonderful host throughout our stay! And Bear is so friendly - he comes out to welcome us home every night we return to the casita!! Have fond memories and will return here again if there is an opportunity. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was my pleasure to host such special guests. Thank you for the kind words and I am so happy you were able to enjoy the peaceful surroundings and all that San Diego has to offer. I try to make my guests feel comfortable and at home. I hope to see you both again!
Deborah

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Breathtaking!

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

You will regret passing up an opportunity to stay here!! The pictures do not do the location justice. When my husband and I arrived for our honeymoon, we were delighted to find a basket of bananas, granola bars, little nectarines from her tree, and heart-shaped chocolates. The Casita was clean, well-organized, and quaint. A TV, DVD player, microwave, minifridge, picnic cooler, and kitchen utensils are available for use. Towels, shampoo, and lotion were also provided. Deborah makes this vacation rental unique by adding all the little things that make the place special. She made sun tea for us one day. She also has a little bin full of toiletries you may have forgotten. She was so cheerful and it was obvious that she loved hosting us.
There are three different dining areas on the property. One is on the pool deck right in front of the Casita. The second is under the pergola-like structure covered in straw that functions as a gorgeous green house without walls (because weather is perfect!). The third is on a little patio that sits above the pool that overlooks the western sky (perfect for viewing the sunset!)
The pool is absolutely gorgeous and we had it all to ourselves. All of the palm trees and plants make the place feel very secluded and tropical. We have already recommended the Casita to our friends and family and plan on returning for anniversaries! This place truly made our honeymoon perfect! THANK YOU DEBORAH

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was such a pleasure hosting such darling newlyweds, the love filled the air. I am so glad you enjoyed sitting and relaxing in all the 3 distinct gardenl areas. I always honor my guests privacy staying in the Casita and while they are in the pool areas. I have plenty to do in my own house and out in the backyard. I will look forward to seeing you on your one year anniversary!
Deborah
PS: I will be posting new, updated photos very soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

An amazing oasis!

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

The Casita makes you feel like you're in a secluded getaway. We fell asleep with a gentle breeze every night and awoke in our beautiful surroundings with the sounds of birds chirping. We had breakfast right outside of our room where we could enjoy the amazing scenery. It was wonderful to spend time relaxing in the pool and the rest of the property in complete privacy. The room and bathroom are clean and equipped with everything required while on vacation. Thank you Deborah for going out of your way to help us feel welcome and for the snacks! Say hello to Bear for us. We look forward to returning to our new favorite destination!

Juan & Millie

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so glad you enjoyed the complete privacy the Casita and pool area has to offer my guests. I have high standards for cleanliness and order. I spend about 6 hours cleaning and laundering all the bath and bed linens including the mattress pad, pillow protectors and bedskirt. It's always a pleasure to host such wonderful guests that are able to appreciate and enjoy my unique and beautiful property. Bear and I hope to see you again when you are able to return to San Diego.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxation station!

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

Wow, I can say we were pleasantly surprised!! So laid back and just 15 min from downtown San Diego. Beautiful casita and gorgeous landscape gardens. We were given complete privacy and felt like the whole place was ours. My husband and I are mid-twenties and thought this place was perfect and secluded enough to relax and enjoy the best weather! Deborah is so sweet and accommodating...we will know where to stay when we come back! Thanks for a great vacation location.

-Ember

**Tourists- include these on your To-Do List:
Watch sunset @ Sunset Cliffs
Kayak @ La Jolla Cove
Go Car tour in the city
Harbor Excursion
USS Midway
The Zoo

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was my pleasure to have you both as such wonderful guests. I am glad you were able to enjoy the privacy and the pool. I always hope my guests can feel at home and relax. Usually you don't even know I'm here, I have plenty to do in the house and up in the backyard area. I do have a special place and I am so happy to share my little piece of paradise with my guests. I'll look forward to seeing you again!
Take Care,
Deborah

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful and lovely place

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 19, 2012

We really love this place. It is so quiet, beautifull with all the flowers and plants. It is a little paradise.

The bed is very confortable, the bathroom very modern and clean. We really enjoy the swimming pool and all differents terraces at disposal.

You won't find a better place with a cosy garden in San Diego as the Casita.

We strongly recommend the place. The owner is very friendly and let you feeling at home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so happy you both were so comfortable and were able to relax in the quiet privacy of the Casita. I am glad you felt at home and were able to enjoy the view deck, the botanical deck and the surrounding garden areas. It was my pleasure and honor to have you come from so far to enjoy the Casita and the pool. I hope to see both of you again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very Relaxing!

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 12, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights and could not have had a more pleasant experience. We've been to San Diego a few times and have always stayed at a hotel. This time we did not have the kids so we decided to give this a try. While slightly farther away, the casita was better than the hotels in every way imaginable. Deborah was super nice and made sure that we were comfortable and at home with the place. My wife and I really especially enjoyed the bowl oranges (off her own tree) that she left for us. Everything was very clean and the furnishing were all up to date. The property was very private and has been beautifully landscaped with all sorts of plants and flowers. Very relaxing!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the kind words about my special property. It was a pleasure to have you as guests and my old dog adored you! I am happy you enjoyed the oranges from my tree, I always have a bowl of seasonal fruit waiting for my guests. I am also glad you were able to relax in the private pool area and were able to enjoy a romantic get away. I will look forward to seeing you both again.
Sincerely,
Deborah

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Incredibly Relaxing!

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 23, 2012

Words cannot describe how pleased we were with our stay in this property! It was so relaxing, private and peaceful. My husband and I are from Canada and stayed for 10 days. Deborah's location was absolutely perfect...15 mins to everything (Sea World, Zoo, Airport, Beaches). Little Mexican taco shops and every other amenmity you could want only a 2 minute drive away. The room is super comfy; the pool and grounds are spotless. If you have read this far and have seen the pictures...look no further! It will exceed your expectations! Enjoy!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was such a pleasure having such respectful guests that were able to appreciate the special sancturary my property has to offer. I am so happy you were able to enjoy your own private pool and have the surrounding gardens to sit and relax in. Also, I'm glad you slept well on the new queen size bed and enjoyed the privacy of the Casita. I look forward to seeing you again!
Kindly,
Deborah

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Weekend

Review submitted: May 4, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

La casita was my first experience with vacation rentals and I must say that I am more than satisfied. Deborah greeted us on our arrival and made us feel right at home. The casita is very peaceful, you can sit outside and enjoy hearing the wind and the birds. It is great to get out from the city noise and enter this secluded sanctuary. I will definitely be back. I hope my husband and I can plan another trip to San Diego. Thank you Deborah for everything and especially for sharing la Casita.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was such a pleasure having you both as my guests on my special property. I am so happy you enjoyed both the privacy and the peaceful setting that the casita has to offer. What a wonderful place you chose to celedbrate your birthday and have a romantic get away vacation. I will look forward to seeing you both on your next visit to San Diego.
Kindly,
Deborah

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A wonderfull place

Review submitted: April 12, 2012   Date of arrival: April 4, 2012

La CASITA is a magical place, starting with the owner, wich is an amazing person, she makes sure you will feel better than at home or anyplace. Has a beautiful garden and of course instalations. Its near to downtown SanDiego and several Malls. Theres no place like la Casita, and you wont regret it. We are planning to spend our summer here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was such a pleasure meeting such a nice couple. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the beautiful grounds and privacy. I will look forward to seeing you again during your future visit this summer!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Stay very SPECIAL

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

We are a Spanish couple, we have been for 10 days and the experience has been very very satisfactory. The Casita is very cozy and quite very clean. It has a magnificent swimming pool and a precious garden. The place is very calm. The owner is a wonderful person, she is hanging of that everything is nice and it is charming.It has been an authentic pleasure to be able to know her. We wish that everything is OK. We are going to miss the Casita. .You do not hesitate to go there if you go to San Diego, you will not find anything better.
Thank you very much Deborah.

Owners response: It was a true pleasure to have both of you as my guests and to share my little piece of paradise. I look forward to seeing you again in July for another visit.
Kindly,
Deborah

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Awesomeness:)

Review submitted: December 15, 2011   Date of arrival: December 1, 2011

Staying here made me feel like Tony the Tiger…GR-R-REAT!!!!! I travel a lot for business, what I liked about my stay was that it was like coming home every night. It was definitely not a hotel. When I travel I stay at top of the line hotels as a preferred guest. If my travels bring me back to San Diego I will be right back here. It’s quiet and very serene, close enough to everything, yet far enough away. I was able to get downtown in about 15 minutes. I got to the airport, La Jolla, and Coronodo in about the same time as well. Everything was very clean and readily available. You will NOT regret your stay. If you are coming to San Diego or you just want to get out of the city for a night or two, this is a MUST! Enjoy!!!!!!!

Wilmer S.
Co-Founder of a publishing company
Pennsylvania

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Wilmer,
It was a pleasure to have you as my first guest and share my little piece of paradise. I look forward to seeing you again on any future visits to San Diego. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay in the casita.
Sincerely,
Deborah

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review