reviews for: listing #90139 - Kailua-Kona, Hawaii Condo rental

SPECIAL! Fantastic Ocean View PRIVATE yard, 2 Bedroom Villa
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Malulani Gardens
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $169 - $249 /nt

sort by:

WOW!!! best vacation ever.

Review submitted: February 4, 2014   Date of arrival: August 18, 2013

Aloha!!! This review is long over due. we traveled 3 adults and one teen . This honestly was the best decision I have ever made. our first time renting a condo. WOW!!! so much better then a hotel. It had everything even more then an average home. it in a quiet beautiful gated community with an amazing ocean and island view. The house was very comfortable equipped with beach gear ,snorkeling gear for everyone, bikes , towels,laundry soap I mean even tons of games that we ended up playing on our night in. The garden is a piece of heaven . the owner really put alot into this place to make sure you want for nothing. We found an array of spices and cook ware to make our meals easy. when we come back we will stay here.Thank you so much for putting all the extra touches and making us feel like home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing stay at Villa by the Sea

Review submitted: July 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

We stayed 11 days at Villa by the Sea. It was amazing, beautiful, and clean. The listing was better than described. It had all the necessary amenities including cooler and boogy boards. It was located within reach of the awesome Kona downtown. We loved the gated well kept private community. We went night snorkeling with the manta rays, swam with turtles at Hapuna and Kua beaches, and hung-out downtown at LULUs and Huggos on the water. We will definitely return to this rental. I would recommend this house to vacationers that want a place to relax . It is close to downtown, beautiful beaches, Safeway, and a farmers market. Thanks Shannon for being such a great remote host!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

My stay at Villa by the sea

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

When we arrived at our villa, it was just as described .
Very secluded gated community , great place , felt like it was my home away from home. Very tastefully decorated , came with everything we needed to have a great time, snorkel equipment , bicycles , beach towels , the works.
We enjoyed every minute of our stay here.
Shannon was very easy to deal with, and gave me a sweet deal on top of everything else. I would definitely recommend this to friends , and family , and will stay here again next year I am hoping :) I can't say enough about my stay here .
Jim Sweeney

Owners response: Mahalo Jim. We look forward to having you back :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Flawless

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

Stayed at the Villa by the sea with my fiance and her parents. It was an outstanding vacation rental in every way. The location is fantastic. It has it all: views, privacy, peace and quiet, a steady breeze, and it is very close to downtown attractions. Shannon and Neil have thought of everything. The house is extremely clean and modern. We did not see any bugs inside the house, which in the tropics, is pretty impressive and speaks to the high level to which this property is maintained. The rental included snorkel, tennis, and beach gear. There were also two bikes available. The dining room table (antique) broke while we were there and someone showed up within hours to fix it. Not that it mattered, because we ate every meal on the lenai, but the friendly and prompt service was appreciated. We are going back to Kona this year and I insisted on staying at one of Shannon and Neil's properties. Read the reviews...it really is that good!

Owners response: Mahalo for your kind words. Much appreciated

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Villa by the Sea

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

Excellent house with a view in a quiet gated community. The best "stocked" house of the 5 we have rented on the Big Island from kitchen to bed and bath. There was plenty of snorkel equipment but we did bring our own mask and snorkel(s). The house has a good supply of beach needs such as towels, chairs, and mats. Quiet and relaxing rear patio and the front lani was great for morning coffee and viewing the harbor and open ocean. The owners are very responsive to questions and needs. I plan to stay next year if possible.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Mahalo for your lovely review. Much appreciated. We loved having you stay at Villa By The Sea and look forward to your return next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Villa By the Sea Malulani Gardens

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: February 7, 2013

This was an exceptionally comfortable Vacation Home.We were 4 adults. Master bedroom had king bed and full ensuite. 2nd bedroom had Queen bed and was adjacent to the main bathroom. The views from the front porch / lanai were spectacular. As long as one has a rental vehicle it is accessible to everything in Kona. Close to the airport and suburban shopping / grocery stores( if one wishes to pick up items to make some meals) and tourist attractions on Alii Drive .

Downside: Although the back patio / lanai off the kitchen was beautiful, tranquil, and private, there was NO B.B.Q. and we would have liked to have had one to B.B.Q. for dinner. There was also no Private Pool or beach nearby, ( ie: in walking distance ). We did go to beaches but they were a fair distance away and we had to drive. We also did 2 day trips to Hilo and Volcanoes National Park. Left early in the a.m. and returned late at night. It was great to have the well equipped kitchen to make breakfast and snacks to take with us on our day trips, and something to eat when we got home late in the evening.
As electricity is expensive on The Big Island / Hawaii we had to arrange for A.C. and pay $10.00 / day for this prior to our arrival. It had not been turned on prior to our arrival as I had requested. Fortunately I was able to contact the owner by phone and she arranged to have it turned on. By the time we returned from our day trip the next day the house was comfortably cooled. (There are ceiling fans in the rooms, but I really need A.C.for a health issue.)

We enjoyed our stay here, and would recommend it to others as long as having a Beach and /or Pool at your doorstep is NOT a priority !

I strongly recommend that the owners get a B.B.Q.
W

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Villa

Review submitted: February 23, 2013   Date of arrival: February 14, 2013

We stayed in this two bedroom house with another couple and were delighted by the accomodations. There is a beautiful view of the sunset over the Pacific from the front lanai and the layout of the kitchen, dining room & living room are very open. The back lanai is quite private, a lovely place to grill and eat dinner outside. We greatly appreciated use of the snorkeling & boogie boarding gear. (We replaced a set of fins that we damaged). Thank you for the opportunity to stay here; we'd love to return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

The past 5 years we have come to Kona to vacation, this is the first time we rented a home.
It was the most relaxing time we had, we felt it was home away from home,even the neighbors welcomed us. Everything as seen in the pictures were exact, clean & beautiful.
We will be returning, thank you for your lovely home.
Anton& Linda

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

I may never stay in a hotel again!

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

We stayed at "Villa by the Sea" for 8 days just last month. I chose this property due to its close proximity to downtown Kona thinking we could walk downtown. We ended up not ever doing that as we were always out exploring the island in our car so we just stopped downtown on our way back to the house. A fit person definitely could walk down there if they wanted although the walk back up the hill would be a good workout! Our son walked and biked downtown by himself nearly every day we were there.

The house was very comfortable, clean, is well-represented in the pictures and had everything we needed. The beach chairs, boogie boards and snorkel equipment are great features! We used the cooler every day as we packed our snacks and headed out to explore the island. The view from the front lanai is awesome as it is in the pictures and the neighborhood was very quiet and felt safe... we actually slept with the doors open and screens locked each night. I enjoyed walking through the neighborhood each morning with my Kona coffee. The street is quite steep in parts and it provides an easy way to exercise if you walk down to the gates and back up a couple times.

The owner was very responsive and apologetic to two extremely minor issues we had while we were there: 1) the bicycle tires were flat. So we bought a pump at Walmart and sent the owner the receipt. The reimbursement check was waiting for me when we arrived home! 2) A handle on a kitchen drawer came loose so we just left that drawer open and it's probably already been repaired.

Overall, I'm very glad I chose to stay here and would absolutely stay again and recommend it to anyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Kona retreat

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: January 3, 2012

My family and I stayed for one week at this lovely property. It provided us with everything we needed during our stay. It was a pleasure to return to this peaceful home, after each day of exploring the Big Island. This was far preferable to staying in the crush of the tourist areas of Kona.
We will return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.
Your kindness is appreciated. Always with Aloha

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Kona Rental Property

Review submitted: February 18, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

This rental property was first rate and in sucj an excellent secure location. We will stay there again in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo for taking the time to review our property. Much appreciated.

Always with Aloha
Shannon

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review