reviews for: listing #90202 - St George Island, Florida House rental

One Particular Harbor -
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $295 - $412 /nt
    $2,060 - $2,880 /wk
    $4,100 - $11,536 /mth

sort by:

aewatso@gmail.com

Review submitted: October 15, 2013   Date of arrival: September 28, 2013

We had such an amazing stay! The house is wonderful- very clean, extremely comfortable, and right on the beautiful beach. We saw dolphins very close to shore, found starfish and sand dollars, even witnessed a water spout on a rainy day! We ate locally caught seafood and out a couple of times. We had great experiences with all of it. The owners are extremely nice and helpful, making the renting process very easy. We had 2 young kids, my husband, myself, and my parents during the stay. It was very enjoyable and relaxing for all of us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was great having you and we hope to see you back for more of our "magic medicine". Thanks for taking good care of our home. Susan & Jim

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just Wonderful!

Review submitted: August 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

It was the most relaxing time we have had in years. The house was perfect, the weather was perfect, the water was warm, and the beach was wonderful. We were three generations; my 76 year old mother-in-law, my-sister-in-law and her teenage girls, my husband and I, and our two teenage boys. The house was just like the pictures, clean, comfortable and beautiful. Everyone was able to find their own space and yet come together. The kids were on their own vacation schedule [translates to woke up late and went to sleep late] yet swam every day. We cooked in the house and we walked to town and listened to the band at Eddy Teach’s Raw Bar. One night we built a fire on the beach and made s ’mores. Some days we found sand dollars, one day we chartered a boat, on another we went to Apalachicola and ate wonderful oysters. One day we bought shrimp at the fish truck and cooked it on the grill.
The porch with its overhang and view of the ocean was perfect, early morning, late evening, and just about all day. Yes you can watch the dolphins – no exaggeration. This is one of the best rentals on the Island. Location, location, location. Also note the art work in the house. Owner is a resident artist – quite nice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's just great to hear this from people who are new to the Island. Hope you'll be back next year. Susan & Jim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun for all

Review submitted: July 21, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

One Particular Harbor is an amazing house! The view is incredible! From the moment we arrived until our sad departure everyone had a blast! We spent a lot of time enjoying the area under the house where the gulf breeze was fantastic! Already looking at the calendar for next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Really glad you had a good time. Thanks for choosing our "magic medicine". Susan & Jim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Old Florida Paradise

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

One Particular Harbor was a dream come true vacation house. The house was so beautifully decorated and had all the conveniences of home. All we had to do was buy groceries and we had everything we needed to spend a fabulous week on the beach. To tell you how special it was we only went off island one evening to do dinner in Apalachicola, which is a beautiful, quaint Old Florida town with some fabulous seafood restaurants. We had three couples on our trip, it was a graduation gift for my sons and their girlfriends. One Particular Harbor and its expansive back deck facing the ocean made for several evenings watching the dolphins and the sunset and lots of good time chatting and laughter. Our dog was feeling like it was home after only one day at the house. His favorite spot was on the deck also, for his mid-day nap. The assortment of movies, and Jimmy Buffett cd's were fabulous for entertainment in the evenings after darkness fell and we were tired of chasing crabs on the beach. Had a bonfire one night on the beach and it was just fabulous. Everyone in the town and other tourists were so friendly and made our trip special. We even made it in time for the annual Blue Parrot Island Bar - Mullet Toss, in which all of our clan participated. It was alot of fun to throw a fish for prizes. I would recommend this house for any family, those with young children, teenagers, or just some 50+ folks like ourselves that want to spend a relaxing time on a great island. We love St. George Island and would love to call it home some day.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Great having you guys and hope to have you back on your next trip to the Islañd. We'd also love to have you as neighbors some day. Jim & Susan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

One Particular Harbor

Review submitted: May 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 24, 2013

This house was everything the pictures show you on the sight. It was perfect for a small or large group. Plenty of space and the great room is so nice. A place for all to sit and talk, play games, eat and have fun all together. The downstairs room is so nice for two guests to be on their own in case they are get up early go to bed late people. They have their own space.
The board walk to the beach is nice and the deck the length of the back of the house facing the gulf is the best. Lots of seating with awesome views. The master bedroom opens up to the deck and it was a place to stand in the middle of the night gazing at the sky looking at the stars and full moon reflecting on the water. It was something I can not do at my house, also watching early morning sunrises was that much nicer from the deck or walking along the beach.
We would recommend the house to friends and visit again.
Just remember to bring bug spray if you are susceptible to insect bites the noseeums will get you. (really small bug you do not even see or feel)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Great having you.
Hurry back for more "magic medicine". Susan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic week at "One Particular Harbor".

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

From the moment we arrived at “One Particular Harbor” we knew we had made the perfect choice for Spring break with our family. Susan’s description of the home, the views and the facilities are described to a “T”, all the way down to watching dolphins from the deck and seeing the shrimp boats pass by. You can tell that Susan takes immense pride in the upkeep and decoration of the house. Everything has been thoughtfully selected to make sure the house has a perfect “Island” feel. The house is extremely well equipped and has literally everything that you could possibly want during your stay. The kitchen is a good design and would work great for a crowd. The great room is amazing! You cannot beat those views! There was a good selection of up to date DVD’s for those lazy nights in and plenty of books and music to relax with. The beds, linens were great and over all the home had such a “squeaky” clean feel to it. We didn’t use Jimmie’s hideaway as we didn’t have need for the extra space. Susan had warned us that its not suitable for young kids in that it has a separate entrance. I would certainly agree with that. I think it would be fine for teens but I am not sure I’d have wanted our adult guests to sleep there. The Island is a real jewel of a place. Our trip reminded me of old fashioned beach vacations we went on as kids where we built sand castles, flew a kite and swam in the ocean. It’s a very low key place, so if you are after rest and relaxation you are in store for a treat. Our older child loved the fact that it was a mere 10 steps to the beach and it was so quiet that she referred to it as “our beach”. The water was quite chilly in April but certainly not cold enough to deter anyone from taking a dip. Our 5 year old could not get enough of the waves and took up boogie boarding like a natural. It was hard to keep her out of the water! There is a wonderful paved path that runs the length of the Island. Its perfect for runners and bikers of all ages. We sampled some of the local fare at the Blue Parrot (great drinks and a decent grouper sandwich). We also bought seafood most days from the mobile van that parks on the main drag every day. There is a decent children's play ground on the main drag that we visited a few times and we enjoyed climbing the lighthouse and eating ice cream at Aunt Ebby's, All in all I highly recommend “One Particular Harbor”. I was so glad we chose that spot and can't wait to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Sorry your Dad couldn't make the trip but looking forward to having him on your next visit. He would love our magic medicine. Susan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent House // Great location // Great Island

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: April 18, 2013

I just spent a long weekend at One Particular Harbor on SGI. I'd absolutely recommend this island and house to anyone looking for a week long getaway...or simply a long weekend. The house has an excellent view of the ocean and the beach is private and peaceful. The property is well maintained and had everything we needed for our time there. It is also walking distance to all of the restaurants if the weather is nice. Jimmy's hideaway turned out to be an excellent perk as it offered privacy in a house w/ 4 other people. The transaction w/ the owners was also very succinct. Don't underestimate this place; I'd absolutely return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the great review and thanks for taking good care of our home. Looking forward to your next visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Perfect Magic Kind of Medicine

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

The Perfect Magic Kind of Medicine

JB, Chicago, IL
Review submitted: July 31, 2012 Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

One Particular Harbor was the perfect vacation beach house for me and my family. We ranged in age from 17 to 81, and everyone, including the dog, was thrilled with the house and the beach.

The house was ideal for us. The spacious great-room, large kitchen connected to eating area and living room, was perfect to ensure that no one was left out of anything happening, as well as being a great place to watch the dolphins swim by almost every day.

The 17- and 22-year-olds appreciated the wave runner rental location that was about a 1/2 mile walk down the beach, and the Blue Parrot has great grouper dishes and a fun beachside bar.

The owners clearly and accurately represented their property and were extremely easy to work with.

I recommend One Particular Harbor to anyone seeking the perfect family vacation home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Perfect Magic Kind of Medicine

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

One Particular Harbor was the perfect vacation beach house for me and my family. We ranged in age from 17 to 81, and everyone (including the dog) was thrilled with the house and the beach.

The house was ideal for us. The spacious great-room (large kitchen connected to eating area and living room) was perfect to ensure that no one was left out of anything happening, as well as being a great place to watch the dolphins swim by almost every day.

The 17- and 22-year-olds appreciated the wave runner rental location that was about a 1/2 mile walk down the beach, and the Blue Parrot has great grouper dishes and a fun beachside bar.

The owners clearly and accurately represented their property and were extremely easy to work with.

I recommend One Particular Harbor to anyone seeking the perfect family vacation home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank You. We look forward to having you back next year and for years to come. Our "magic medicine" really is perfect for most anything. Susan & Jim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent rental beach house

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: May 23, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed One Particular Harbor. No problems with the property or the owner. We had two children under 6 and two seniors over 75 with us. Clean, well maintained & a great location. We'd stay at the property again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was great having you and meeting you both. Hurry back! Susan & Jim

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fun in the Sun

Review submitted: May 5, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

The place was more than we expected. We had 2 families for a total of 8 and were very comfortable. The two teenage girls had their own place in Jimmy's Hideaway and loved it. The home was even more spacious than we imagined and we never felt crowded or cramped. Everything was clean and ready to go. The interior photos on the website don't do the home justice. Jim and Sue even stopped in early on to make sure we had gotten settled and that all was ok-a very nice & unexpected personal touch! The location was awesome and in walking/biking distance to everything. We felt totally safe letting the girls and the 6th grade boys walk for ice cream, to shops etc. Definitely the adult highlight was the Oyster Bar and buying fresh seafood daily! We didn't venture off the island, but enjoyed the beach time relaxing and fishing. We hope to come back again soon. Thanks for a great vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank You for your comments. We enjoyed having you and always love to hear that others enjoy our home as much as we do. Hurry Back! Susan & Jim

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Location, location, location!

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 17, 2012

The view you first have when you pull in the driveway is spectacular. But then that is exceeded by the view from the greatroom. And then that is exceeded by the view from the master bedroom. What a wonderful, beachy place that has an absolutely magical calming effect on your soul.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank You for staying with us. We call it "magic medicine". And everybody needs some. Susan & Jim

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

SENIOR TRIP SPRING BREAK 2012

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

WE LOVE One Particular Harbor, we have stayed here before, several years ago with family and cousins..the house was as nice if not nicer then the last time. We love the Jimmies aprtment down stairs was the perfect place to put some 18 year old girls, they could stay up all night and not bother us!!

Thanks again and we had a great time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was great having you. You had the Best Weather so far. Look forward to having you back again for more "magic medicine". Susan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

SPIRIT MEDICINE!

Review submitted: November 18, 2011   Date of arrival: January 13, 2011

We have visited many times during different times of the year and it's always perfect. Accommodations are great and the minute you walk in, you feel like you are home. Sunrise walks on the beach, watching the dolphins while sipping a cold drink on the porch, and grilling something yummy for dinner while watching the sunset.....all are fabulous memories of a perfect vacation spot on the Gulf. Our stress flies away with the breezes and our spirits soar with the seagulls, pelicans and herons. One Particular Harbor reflects Our Point Of View! It is truly medicine for the spirit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: And What a "Point of View" you must have. Thanks for enjoying our "Magic" Susan & Jim

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

It's All True - this is paradise!

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 24, 2011

We stayed at One P April 24 - 30, 2011. Have been back many times over the years, and it is one of my favorite places on earth. What a beach! Good seafood places nearby, for those like me who are too lazy to cook. Love the lighthouse and the shops, too. A friendly, lovely island and a very comfortable, beautiful, well-appointed house. Oh, and almost forgot: biking is good here, too, both on the bike trail and on the roads, all the way to the State Park!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We hope you continue to come back year after year. We hope it just keeps getting better. Susan & Jim

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Vacation in Paradise

Review submitted: October 31, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

One Particular Harbor is a comfortable, well-appointed beach house with a gorgeous location right on the Gulf of Mexico. We woke up to see dolphins trailing a shrimp boat close-in, collected a bucket of shells before breakfast, fished off the beach and caught dinner by lunch-time! The house was well-maintained and the kitchen was conveniently stocked for cooking or eating. Great artwork and a beachy atmosphere. We would definitely recommend this rental home to anyone looking for a beach vacation away from the crowds or high-rises!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank You and we're glad you came and hope to see you back year after year. It truly is a "magic kind of medicine". Susan & Jim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

One Particular Harbor

Review submitted: October 31, 2011   Date of arrival: April 24, 2011

Fabulous Time. Fabulous House. What a view!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review