reviews for: listing #9021 - Mendocino, California House rental

Spectacular Mendocino Coast Ocean Front:The Northern Riviera
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Irish Beach
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $250 /nt
    $1,500 - $1,750 /wk

sort by:

Simply WOW!

Review submitted: September 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we had to leave, we were enthralled with this beautiful property. The views are just stunning. The photos on this site are good, but are not to compare with the actual. It is quiet and secluded. We sat in the hot tub on the deck at night and simply stared at the Milky Way above with the sounds of the waves in our ears. The picture window in the master bath (facing the ocean) was off the charts. My wife and I cannot remember a comparable vacation taken in over 30 years of marriage.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A spectacular romantic getaway!

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 26, 2012

My husband and I rented this beautiful home for our trip to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We couldn't have found a more idyllic romantic getaway. From the Hwy, you do not even know this place exists. Once there, nestled in the cliffs, you've found a little piece of heaven: breathtaking views of the coast from every angle, a deck outside that allows you to sit and eat or hot tub while feeling like a part of the coast itself, with complete privacy. Inside, the house is clean, with simple but elegant decor, perfectly suited for the coastal locale. From the living room, you can sit cozily on the couch and stare out at the ocean. The large master bath (recently remodeled I am guessing) has a lovely, big tiled shower, the bed fantastic. I cannot rave enough about this place. We will be back!!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A house with a view

Review submitted: May 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

We had a great time and will be back very soon. If you are looking for a great house with a fantastic veiw, wide open space with seclusion from other properties this is it. Another plus the owners are very easy to work with.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Windows on Incredible Beauty

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

Our stay was absolutely wonderful - will long be a cherished memory. Only one problem: it was too short. Everything we needed to know about the house and the area was explained very clearly, the house is clean and well-maintained and it is so perfectly situated. Hot tub worked great and no better place to see the sun sink into the ocean. We walked down to the beach ( a good little hike but you can also drive down with the supplied pass), Called Irish Beach, it was wild and beautiful and one of the most interesting beaches we've experienced. We definitely hope to return to Northern Riviera.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This is our second stay here.

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: February 26, 2012

It's been almost 2 years since our last visit but it felt as though we never left. Sharing awesome views with great friends. We will definetly be back

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow! So beautiful and romantic

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: January 16, 2012

Watched the sea lions come by in groups, the storms and clouds pass through and the glorious sun emerge. Gorgeous views from the cozy warmth of the house with burning fire. Thank you we hope to be back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spectacular views all over

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 16, 2011

Beautiful house. Relaxing and quiet. We enjoyed every sunset over dinner, watching the ocean move. We did not want to leave the house for a minute. Thank you for sharing your piece of haven with us.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful week

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

It has been a wonderful week, mostly hanging out and starring at the ocean. Don't miss "queens" in Elk for a great breakfast and "Ledford house" for dinner. The market in Manchester had everything we needed for the week.
We travelled to the Anderson valley for a great day trip spent tasting wines and picnicking at the redwood park. Loved the point arena lighthouse and Mendocino.we saw a whale on our last day, great! The views are breathtaking and really enjoyed the solitude and serenity.
Thank

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Honeymoon

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 28, 2011

This has been a wonderful time and place.we will never forget spending our honeymoon here!. We were so thankful to have found this place we felt so comfortable and at home. Thank you for being a part of our special time and memories.
Much love

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Hidden Gem

Review submitted: May 1, 2011   Date of arrival: April 25, 2011

My girlfriend and I sought a secluded vacation property that offered relaxation, peace, tranquility, and seclusion. The Northern Riviera met all of our expectations and offered the perfect romantic coastal getaway in Northern California. While most of the properties in Irish Beach are clustered and are easily visible from the street, this property is perched above the bluff and is well isolated credited to the tall evergreens shrubs and plants in the garden. The architectural design and floor plan is spectacular. The property is spacious with exposed high ceiling wooden beams and large windows which create great dimension and a lofty, rustic feel. We were stunned by the huge window in the shower of the master bedroom overlooking the ocean. We were greeted by fresh cut flowers in a vase on the kitchen island. The sound system is amazing. We fell in love with a mixed jazz CD which we played on evenings and even danced in the living room to Madeleine Peyroux‘s version of "Dance Me To The End Of Love". We grilled a red snapper on the deck and paired it with chilled Riesling for dinner. As was already mentioned in the other reviews, the ocean views are breathtaking. The sounds of the crashing waves are very soothing. Regarding wild life, on mornings, it was not uncommon to see herds of wild deer grazing on the property. What’s more, one afternoon during horseback riding along Irish Beach we encountered two seals swimming along the shore with momentary pauses with piercing eyes fixed on us. We loved the nachos at Mendocino Café and the wings at Pizzas and Cream Restaurant at Arena Cove Pier. This was a memorable vacation for us. We, most certainly, will be back!

Thanks Cecilia

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Views, views, and more views!

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: December 6, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the "Northern Riviera" for our honeymoon in December. It was perfect for us. The area is very remote and private. The wildlife was spectacular (we woke up one morning with two deer sleeping in the yard). The bathroom was awesome A great stereo.

I do agree with one reviewer regarding the somewhat outdated furnishings... But it was kind of cool and retro in my opinion. Besides, the views trump just about everything else. Oh, did I mention the hot tub? Unbelievable!

It was truly a magical place for us... as I'm sure it will be for you!

Thanks Cecilia :-)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Northern Riviera Review

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: June 27, 2010

We highly recommend this home for your next vacation on the Northern Riviera. The home offers breathtaking panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, whale and pygmy deer watching and a nearby private beach. We were enchanted with immense drift wood and expansive sandy beach at Irish Beach. We also kayaked on the Navarro River and swam in the warm swimming holes there. Typical northern California wind prevented us from venturing into the ocean.

The home is cozy and comfortable, with lovely art and interesting reading material. The kitchen is convenient with all amenities. We used the BBQ located on the deck to grill local fresh fish purchased at the Albion Grocery. We explored the charming town of Point Arena, the lighthouse and nearby Stornetta Land Trust. All a must see!

It's a great romantic hideway but spacious enough if you want to bring the kids. After dark, be sure to check out the stars from the hot tub as the super dark sky offers great viewing of even obscure planets.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

incredible views

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: April 12, 2010

This house is just amazing, the views are breathtaking, you can see the ocean from every room in the house. The house was very clean and the furniture is cozy. We loved the deck with the hot tub and spend evenings watching the waves and sipping wine. The kitchen is well equipped and there is a grocery stores 10 minutes away with everything you need. we highly recommend the house and the location.

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Dramatic views

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: February 15, 2010

Wow, wow we could not believe this house. It is perched right above the surf. Waves crashing, ocean sounds, mist... all too beautiful. The house was very nice, good beds and cozy furniture. We spent most of the looking out at the ocean from the living room and the master bedroom. The master bathroom has a big shower overlooking at the ocean could not believe it.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic view

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: April 12, 2010

We could not believe the views from this house. Every room had fantastic views of the ocean, all of them very private. The house was great, clean and cozy. The hot tub ob the deck was a dream and the walks on the beach were great. Very tranquil and peaceful. We will be back.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing Get-Away from It All!

Review submitted: May 3, 2010   Date of arrival: March 31, 2010

If you are looking for a quiet, getaway retreat, this is definitely the spot for you. This house had perfect views from every room, even the master bathroom. It had all the necessary amenities and was very clean. The beds were soft and comfortable, plus the sound of the waves lulled you to sleep. The only negative, which is very minor, is the decor and carpeting are outdated, but this is very easy to overlook with the surrounding tranquility.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect For Romance and A View You'll Never Forget

Review submitted: October 27, 2009   Date of arrival: October 15, 2009

We just returned from a week in this amazing location and we cannot wait to return! Our mission was to find a place we could relax and destress, but still have plenty to do should the mood strike us - this home was the perfect choice! The owner provided great directions for finding the home, and then detailed instructions on everything from how to enter at night (bring a flashlight!) to how to operate the hot tub. The home is well-equipped with everything you need for feeling right at home. 3 comfy beds to choose from gave us a change of scenery to wake up to as the week progressed - the linens were clean and very comfy. Particularly appreciated the flannel sheets since the nights tend to be a bit nippy, especially with the screen door in use so we could hear the surf (very soothing!) The home itself is situated on the bluff in such a way that you can see several magnificent views of the coastline from virtually every room - it's difficult to describe the beauty of the surroundings adequately. A family of deer has decided that this is their home, as well, and can frequently be seen on the grounds and rocks below. Rental of the house includes a pass to the very private beach below, Irish Beach, which is well worth investigating. Bring a hooded jacket, though - it gets windy and chilly along the water! The home is located in a perfect centralized location to explore up and down the coast, and you will definitely want to! We took day trips to Mendocino (charming, picturesque, a bit touristy) and the Point Arena Lighthouse (spectacular!) and the rest of the time explored without a set agenda. There are many restaurants up and down the coast - our only regret is that we did not get to try them all. Queenie's Roadhouse in Elk is great for cheeseburgers & breakfast, the Little River Inn in Albion is charming with a terrific view (sit at the bar) and Bridget Dolan's Pub in the Griffin House Inn in Elk is quaint with fantastic wine and nightly specials. Since the home features a full kitchen, we stocked up at the grocery store in nearby Manchester and ate many meals at home, as well, which allowed us to drink more of the local wine than the drive home on Highway 1 allowed! The only 2 drawbacks to this home is that it is in need of a good pest control service - the bugs were plentiful - and the carpet is definitely ready to be replaced. Neither of these issues would prevent us from returning or recommending this property without reservation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review