reviews for: listing #90243 - Malibu, California House rental

Malibu Beachfront Luxury, Weddings & Family Stays
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $650 - $1,200 /nt
    $4,500 - $7,000 /wk
    $11,000 - $22,000 /mth

sort by:

Paradise for a week

Review submitted: December 15, 2011   Date of arrival: April 21, 2011

When planning a vacation, it is important to find a place that’s clean, beautiful and most importantly, serene. That was exactly what we experienced while renting in Malibu. The home was updated, stylish and in immaculate condition. With three bedrooms and 3 bathrooms, getting ready was never an issue. We enjoyed the wonderful deck outdoors overlooking the Pacific Ocean and the sound of the waves crashing onto the rocks below was more than pleasing to the ears. I would have to say one of the highlights to the wonderful home was waking up in the morning and enjoying a cup of coffee from the bedroom balcony while watching dolphins peak up through the water, truly an amazing sight. The home provided a bbq on the outdoor deck which made for great barbeques with the family. Bob was wonderful with providing us all the major amenities and was always in constant reach in case we ever needed anything. Overall, my family and I really enjoyed the home, location and options it provided. Whether barbequing outside on the deck or simply enjoying the wonderful view from the balcony, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and look forward to revisiting in the near future

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: I enjoy making people happy and what better time to do it than while they are on vacation. I pride myself in seeing to the needs of my guests. This designer house was built by me to eventually retire in, so I tried to equip it with every possible convenience. It is really wonderful that other people are enjoying it as well. Thanks Mike and I am looking forward to seeing you again in 2012. Happy Traveling!

Helpful votes: 6 / 10

 

Please BEWARE of this Owner!

Review submitted: October 9, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2013

Wasn't going to write a review, too many issues to document, but the owner provoked me with some very nasty emails! Yes, Robert appears accommodating at first...I was shocked to find out he's quite opposite. First off, he provides very few necessities in this large home. Bring your own toilet paper, paper towels, napkins, bars of soap, even trash bags for a short 1 week vacation. He expects you to take great care of his home but provides no supplies to do so!

The house shows many signs of distress and has major plumbing problems! Kitchen sink faucet was leaking our 1st night, got all our stuff on the counter wet! And NO napkins or paper towels to clean up, only a few hand towels that we wrapped around the base for 7 days...he said he'd repair it AFTER we left. Our 3rd day, the master bath showerhead spewed water out all sides when simply moving the arm to direct the flow. The connector fell apart and from then on, we couldn't use the master shower. We couldn't do laundry the whole week, the washer was broken, bathroom faucets had slow drips, toilets took 3 attempts to flush. Bath towels and blankets were stained with rust, the furniture is very stained, smells old and dirty.

We were still meticulous and responsible in his home. After we left, he actually blamed me for his plumbing problems! OMG, he said I broke the sink and shower! Are you kidding me?! Plumbing breaks only when it is old and worn, otherwise you need tools to pry it apart. He had no time to check and repair anything between all his guests and now he's trying to blame me for all this! It gets worse, he then threatened to hold my deposit until I gave him a minimum 4 star review! He even told me what to say, "pointing out only the good parts of the experience". He acknowledged the "real problems" we had in many emails and now wants to cover it up with a fake review. Unbelievable! Weeks later, finally got my deposit back, NOT, he kept most of it to pay for the plumbing, OMG!

The house is falling apart and he can't afford the upkeep! He'll endlessly remind you of how much every little thing costs to upkeep this home. But taking advantage of his guests like this is completely unacceptable! I'm sure he'll say all kinds of lies now about me, and my dog, but I'll withstand his lies to expose the truth about this guy and protect other innocent travelers. I have all his emails as proof, already filed a formal complaint against this owner and property, he'll get what he deserves.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Gorgeous Beachfront Home!!!

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: May 14, 2013

We have stayed at this beautiful home on our annual Malibu trip the last 3 years. It is perfect! The master bedroom is huge and the tempurpedic bed is so comfortable! My husband and I love falling asleep and waking up to the cool ocean breeze and the sound of waves crashing. We have a 1 year old and a 3 year old and feel safe with them in this wonderful home! We all enjoy the private beach! We are almost always the only ones there! Moonshadows is just a few steps away. They have amazing food and do great to-go orders if you feel like being cozy at home! From the decks, we saw seals, dolphins, crabs, and fish every day! I highly recommend this home to anyone looking for a relaxing time on the beach! The house is gorgeous and very comfortable! Robert, the owner, is very accommodating! We look forward to our next trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Dolphins, Seals, Pelicans and a Whale

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2013

What a lovely view form the three oceanfront decks. The sea life viewing is just amazing. And the 180 degree view is one of the best imaginable: you can see from the Santa Monica Pier in the East, all the way to the tip of Palos Verdes, then out to Catalina in the West.(This view is of one of the worlds most desireable and famous Strands called "The Queens Lecklace") Then look further west and see the Serpentene Tip of Point Dume(Home to Barbara Striesand and many Famous Movie Stars! You are directly Oceanfront, inside the house you have Walls of Glass and almost every possible amenity. The setting is just incredible.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

A nice retreat

Review submitted: March 28, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

We arrived at our destination after driving all day and the house was beautiful. It was located in the perfect location, not too isolated and walking distance to almost everything. We arrived after dark and Robert had put the light at the front door on for us. When we went in the front door I said to my husband 'this is awesome'. The house was nicer than the pictures. Everything looked so perfect, I could tell someone cares a lot about his property. We had a week to enjoy this wonderful area. I could hardly believe the Malibu Country and Golf Club has a $55 afternoon rate! My husband and I played twice. What a great course. One day we stayed at the private beach all day and we saw a seal, dolphins, pelicans and with our binocs we saw the whales swimming by. Robert loaned us his fishing pole and we caught fish right from our balcony! We did not want to leave!

I highly recommend this property. We will definitely be back..

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We always look forward to making your trip one of your best trips ever!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

What you see is NOT what you get

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: October 8, 2012

The pictures don't do it justice. It was dirty and all the furnature is old and worn out.. Rugs are stained. Small Laundry machine acts up and doesnt work right. Windows are filthy. The owner did tell tell us about lack of parking. you have a very small space in the front of the property and the next store neighbor had our car towed during the night. Cost us over $350 and the owner would not reimburse us.

There are other much nicers homes right near for rent!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car

Owners response: I have been in business for 33 years in Malibu and have always tried to give people a great value for their vacation Dollar. Once in a Blue Moon we get someone who does not care about anyone but themselves. They park in front of the neighbors garage, then do not answer the phone or come to the door when they are asked to move. Since the neighbor has to go in to work, she has to tow the car blocking her garage door. I ask you, whose fault is that? There are parking spots for 2 cars in my driveway, not 3. There are 7 more spots 80' away on the private beach lot. This guest wanted me to pay for her towing,an act which is direcly attributable to her lack of responsibility. Then she says she will write a bad review if I did not pay her the tow money. That is extortion. I refused, so she decides to try to ruin my business with an inaccurate review. But her tactic will not work because good people will see right through that. I ask you, what would you do. I am barely breaking even because I offer the best rates, what should I do, raise my rates? No, I refuse to make good people pay for someone elses mistake!

Great News!!The house is beautiful, the furniture is 3 years old and beautiful and all the bathroom rugs are new! Those are the only rugs in the house, there is Berber Carpet in the Master and Travertine Marble and Hardwood on all the other floors. The laundry machines are standard size and are side loading machines. I was told that side loading is much easier on the clothing and doesn't wear it out as fast as normal washers.

In conclusion, I welcome anyone to view the property for themselves in advance If they want to. I am very proud of this property and look forward to making all my guests enjoy a trip that is one of their best ever!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Best Property I've stayed in.

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: December 4, 2011

This has to be the best vacation rental I have stayed in. As a doctor, i am constanly stressed out but when I came to this house for a week I felt the best I have in 10 years. I love this house and everything that it comes with. I really want to come back soon because Rob is such a nice guy who took my vacation and made it the best it could be. He really went out of his way to make me and my family comfortable and I am excited to rent this house in the future. Moonshawdows which is a world class restuarant is legitemently a 3 minutes walk from the house! I didnt have to worry about having a few adult beverages and driving which was so amazing. I love this house so much i wish it was mine. You should rent this house, you won't go wrong with this one!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am gratified when my vacationers have a superior experience. Service is the name of the industry. Happy Traveling!

Helpful votes: 6 / 9

 

Amazing House, Great Price!

Review submitted: January 1, 2012   Date of arrival: November 6, 2011

This house was perfect for my family and I. I cant not find the words to describe how amazing this house is. This house was so clean and so well maintained i wish i owned it! The owner is s nice and helpful, it ade me and my family feel very welcome. The house is very close to anything that you would want such a markets, restaurants, beautiful beaches, hollywood, and stars houses. I would recomend to all of my friends and family!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Vacations are very special things, so we make sure our valued guests have wonderful experiences. It makes us proud when we add the sweetness to people's lives. After all life is short, you have to enjoy yourself when you get the chance!

Helpful votes: 4 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great House to write a Grammy Winning Album at.

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

Yes, it is true. Maroon 5 rented the house July 2006. They had the whole band complete with their Guru. My wife and I got to personally see to their every need. The only thing was, we had never heard of them before. Their fame started 6 months later. I always thought that the time they spent here got their heads straight and helped them focus. This is an amazing place to cool your jets!

Their guestbook entry went like this. Dear Rob, Thanks for the fabulous rental. We loved the beach and the firework show. We will always remember how you took care of us, sorry about the stain on the carpet in the livingroom, we got a little carried away! Stay cool and many blessings to you in the future. The Boys of Maroon 5.

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review