reviews for: listing #90245 - Monarch, Colorado Chalet rental

1st Chair Chalet
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Chalet
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Garfield
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $175 /nt
    $750 - $1,050 /wk
    $2,875 - $4,025 /mth

sort by:

Stay here!!

Review submitted: July 11, 2014   Date of arrival: July 9, 2014

This place is great! The river and hot tub just out the back door are awesome, not to mention being able to go to sleep with the rushing river outside your window. The cabin was perfect for a family with very comfortable beds. It was very clean and has all the essentials plus some. We will absolutely stay here again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great value and best rental home, yet!

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 20, 2012

I was reluctant to write this review because I didn’t want to competition when we return.

This wonderful home was the perfect place for our reunion with friends. I can’t say enough about how clean and comfy the home was, but the BEST thing is the way the home is situated right on the river. The views are amazing. The deck has wonderful views of aspens, pines and mountains PLUS the sound of rushing water…it doesn’t get better than that!

Even after four weeks, we are still reminiscing about our very memorable stay. What a special place, and Bruce was very accommodating and helpful.

Our best Vacation Rental, yet!

We’ll be back.

Steve and Mary
Littleton, Colorado

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks Mary! We hope you can make it back next year. Guests like you make it fun to share our cabin. We are up here working on it today, refinishing the front door and painting the porthole trim. New kitchen cabinets are the next project!
yours, B & T

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great Vacation Rental

Review submitted: October 1, 2012   Date of arrival: September 20, 2012

What a great rental - clean, comfortable, and a great quiet location. Close enough to Salida for some dining and shopping. Close to so many hiking, biking and jeep trails (and to Monarch ski area for skiing). The deck and hot tub above the mountain stream made for some great afternoons and evenings. There were four of us plus our dogs, and we all had a great time at the chalet. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Pam! Great photos! We are glad you got to enjoy the foliage. Fall may be the best time of year up here.
-The Hayes'

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great home in the high mountains

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 4, 2012

Four of us spent four nights over the 4th of July at the 1st Chair Chalet. It was a great trip with plenty of beautiful scenery, peace and quiet, and some good music in Salida at the park (thanks Bruce!).

The chalet is in a beautiful, low-key location close to hiking and 4wd trails, streams, rivers, the Monarch ski area, and a couple of very nice Colorado mountain towns.

The deck overlooking the stream was a favorite spot for everyone. Morning coffee, a beer in the afternoon, or a nice soak in the hot tub in the afternoon or evening under the stars was great. The wood stove on the first level is very nice and made for a cozy evening a couple of nights when we had some showers and cool weather.

The house was very clean, well maintained, and had everything we needed for our stay. The bedrooms upstairs had plenty of room and the beds were very comfortable. We cooked in three nights and ate dinner one evening in Salida at the Fritz (best burger I've had in a while). After dinner we walked across the street to Riverside Park for Bruce's solo show. Great music on a beautiful summer evening! Went back to the Chalet and went to sleep to the sound of the stream just below our window, ahhh......

While we were there we went up to the Tunnel of the West and Billings Lake, Taylor Mountain, and the Bonanza area just south of Pagosa Springs. Lots of mining history throughout the area and beautiful scenery and solitude wherever you go. Might have to bring the fishing gear next year, the Arkansas River looked phenomenal.

All in all, a great stay at a really nice place, in a great location. We'll be back again next summer for sure. Might try to sneak another trip in before then if we can!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great home in the high mountains

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 4, 2012

My wife and I, and brother and sister-in-law spent four nights over the 4th of July at the 1st Chair Chalet. It was a great trip with plenty of beautiful scenery, peace and quiet, and some good music in Salida at the park (thanks Bruce!).

The chalet is in a beautiful, low-key location close to hiking and 4wd trails, streams, rivers, the Monarch ski area, and a couple of very nice Colorado mountain towns.

The deck overlooking the stream was a favorite spot for everyone. Morning coffee, a beer in the afternoon, or a nice soak in the hot tub in the afternoon or evening under the stars was great. The wood stove on the first level is very nice and made for a cozy evening a couple of nights when we had some showers and cool weather.

The house was very clean and had everything we needed for our stay. The bedrooms upstairs had plenty of room and the beds were very comfortable. We cooked in three nights and ate dinner one evening in Salida at the Fritz (best burger I've had in a while). After dinner we walked across the street to Riverside Park for Bruce's solo show. Great music on a beautiful summer evening! Went back to the Chalet and went to sleep to the sound of the stream just below our window, ahhh......

While we were there we went up to the Tunnel of the West and Billings Lake, Taylor Mountain, and the Bonanza area just south of Pagosa Springs. Lots of mining history throughout the area and beautiful scenery and solitude wherever you go. Might have to bring the fishing gear next year, the Arkansas River looked phenomenal.

All in all, a great stay at a really nice place, in a great location. We'll be back again next summer for sure. Might try to sneak another trip in before then if we can!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

This house is AWESOME!!!!

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 31, 2012

We LOVE the 1st Chair Chalet! We spent 5 days in Monarch, and did different activities in Salida and the surrounding area... Hiked up to Water Dog Lakes, horseback riding, fly fishing, and shopping in Salida. We even had a chance to see Bruce perform in Penrose!

The house is roomy, with a great kitchen area that has all the utensils you need. We used the gas grill outside one night - perfect. The beds are very comfortable, and the entire house is clean and cozy. The Garfield/Monarch area is quiet both night and day, and beautiful scenery all around. We brought our two dogs ( a lab and a golden retriever), and they stayed in their transport kennels at night inside, and in a travel pen on the back deck during the day - very pet friendly! The view of the creek running below the back deck is awesome, too...

We WILL be back, and hopefully one year in the winter time... We're from Texas and don't know any better, but we'd love to see this place in the snow... :-)

Thank you to the HAYES for a great stay!

Boyd, Terri, Erin, and Warren Shepherd

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Boyd, Hope you can come again. We are glad you were able to squeeze in so many activities including the great hike to Waterdog lakes, no easy feet coming from Texas elevation! yours, Bruce & Trina

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!!

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

The 1st Chair Chalet was perfect! We loved it. It was so comfortable and so well thought out from the linens to the kitchen. We cooked many meals and had everything we needed to put out a spread. There was more than enough space and we were so happy we could bring the dogs.

We skied two days and were so thankful to be so close to Monarch and to get back after a day of skiing and get in the hot tub!

The area is beautiful and the cabin is right on the river and we loved listening to it at night. Just perfect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Beth, We're glad you will be returning so soon! That's great that you liked the sheets enough to order your own. We have new fleece sheets and micro-suede comforters on all the beds now.
yours, Bruce & Trina

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Heaven on Earth

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: September 8, 2011

Greetings!
I most recently enjoyed a fall interlud amidst the aspen and pines alongside a cascading creek in this quaint and rustic chalet. I had a wonderful soak in the clean and odorless spa after meandering along the creek where I sat on a rock and pondered to the sounds of the rushing water. We fixed a scrumptious meal in the fully equipped and modern kitchen. Proceding to the cozy area off the kitchen, we picked' music well into the evening, not worrying about disturbing anyone. The beds were most comfortable, the hotwater plentiful, and the ambience was priceless. I would recommend this accomodation without reservation. I am looking forward to a repeat this winter during the ski season.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review