reviews for: listing #9026 - Puerto Vallarta, Pacific Coast Condo rental

La Dolce Vita, luxury ocean-front condo.
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Punta Negra Beach
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $99 - $200 /nt
    $700 - $1,000 /wk
    $1,750 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

My 50th B-day escape

Review submitted: November 10, 2009   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

Yes my last linute decision for a getaway was a good one. With only limited time to prepare and find a place to stay I decided to try the Condo experience and selected the sonderful La Dolce Vita. The owner was the absolute best in her customer care. She totally made me feel at ease with my first on-line rental. The information package she provided was a great reference for some of the things to do and see. The Condo was fabulous, with absolutely everything you could possibly need available to you. Sitting on the balcony, with cocktail in hand, watching the sunset over the Bay is the ultimate in relaxation. Canopy Zip Lining, now there is how I got my excitement. Having been to PV several times over the years I have decided that this is the way to holiday. Thank you for allowing me to share this home and I have been passing it on to everyone I know already.
Until next time, Cheers.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Your vacation experience is as important to me as it is to you, Anything I can do to make it memorable for you, I try to accomplish. Future renters, you can be totally confident that this condo has all you need for your comfort, if you have a special request I will do what I can to help you.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Fabulous condo

Review submitted: February 16, 2013   Date of arrival: December 4, 2012

We recently had the total pleasure to stay at La Dulce Vida during the month of December. What a beautiful experience. So many thoughtful details. From the welcome greeting of a bottle of wine to the basic supplies to make coffee the first day, everything represents an owner who really cares about the happiness of their guests. High quality linens, extremely comfortable beds, lots of beach supplies and an impeccably clean condo made for a wonderful home while on vacation.

I couldn't have asked for more. The kitchen was well stocked with everything you could need to prepare any meal. We managed to prepare a full Christmas dinner , with all the trimmings. Wonderful. The location is ideal if you love the ocean, privacy and easy access to town. We went in every other day to the markets, and took a taxi home for 6.00. There are buses every 15 minutes and fun to ride. The view of all the New Years fireworks was spectacular. You can see all the way from Mismaloyan to Bucerias. It was amazing.

We all loved staying there. It was easy to contact Diane and she always responded promptly. The maid service is excellent and she became like family to us. I can't recommend this rental highly enough, and I hope we get to stay there again soon.

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review, I believe it helps people in making their decisions to read what previous guests have discovered about our location and fabulous beach, it is a part of paradise to be far enough from town to have total peace, and yet a short ride of 7 minutes to Old Town, or as is commonly known as the "romantic Zone".
I will look forward to your next visit.
Thank you.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The Suite life for a family of four

Review submitted: June 17, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

This is our second time to "La Dolce Vita" and it will definitely not be our last. It is perfect for our family of four. The location is excellent, it is just a ten minute local bus ride from the Southern part of the City (Romantic Zone). The location feels remote due to the tropical jungle surrounding the condos; however, all the amenities of a nice/modern hotel are available. The condo personnel are very friendly and the building is well maintained. The beach is great; one of the best in PV according to the locals (I agree). The pool is very nice and there are sufficient lounge chairs. This place is the total package! It has a spectacular view, nice accommodations and an excellent location. What else could you ask for except more vacation time!

Owners response: Did I overlook responding to your most welcome review, if I did, I am so sorry. I am looking forward to your return, we made a few changes in November to the windows, they all have security bars so the windows can stay open, it's a good thing to do.
Thank you for once more choosing my condo for your vacation.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Anniversary

Review submitted: January 12, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

What a great 10 days in paradise. My wife and two teenage children stayed for over a week over Christmas and New Years Eve. It was quite an experience to have Christmas in 75 degree weather. We are from the Pacific Northwest and it is usually raining and cold during this time. This condo had everything we could have asked for and more. The master bedroom seemed like an small apartment. We now want to get a king size bed and a walk-in shower for home. The guest bedroom was set up for single beds and even had a little sitting couch. The beach out front of the condo was our favorite place in Puerto Vallarta. It was clean, quiet, and had great waves for body surfing. We used the public transportation for the whole trip. We could catch the bus in front of the condo, which ran every 15 minutes, and pay only 8 pesos to get to town. If you do rent this condo, ask Diane for the information packet for first time travelers to PA. It is very helpful.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Anniversary in Paradise

Review submitted: January 12, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

What a great week in paradise. My wife and two teenage children stayed for a week over Christmas and New Years Eve. It was quite an experience to have Christmas in 75 degree weather. We are from the Pacific Northwest and it is usually raining and cold during this time. This condo had everything we could have asked for an more. The master bedroom seemed like an small apartment. We now want to get a king size bed and a walk-in shower for home. The guest bedroom was set up for single beds and even had a little sitting couch. The beach out front of the condo was our favorite place in Puerto Vallarta. It was clean, quiet, and had great waves for body surfing. We used the public transportation for the whole trip. We could catch the bus in front of the condo, which ran every 15 minutes, and pay only 8 pesos to get to town. If you do rent this condo, ask Diane for the information packet for first time travelers to PA. It is very helpful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow, thank you so very much for this review,I sooooooooooooo appreciate it, I will always do my best to make everything available for your comfort, a future renter told me she only chooses by the reviews so that is the reason reviews are so important.
Thank you

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Idyllic Trip to Puerto Vallarta

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 10, 2011

We spent a fabulous week in Puerto Vallarta. It was our first trip to Mexico and this was a perfect location. The condominium is bright and comfortable with a great pool and steps to the beach. The wireless internet was great to keep our cell phone data plan costs down. The kitchen is well stocked with basics and dishes and we had no issues cooking breakfast and lunch just about every day. We were there with another couple and there was plenty of elbow room; the bedrooms are at either end of the condo and there are two separate bathrooms. The balcony is roomy and wonderful for breakfast every morning overlooking the ocean. We swam in the ocean every morning, took a dip in the pool then took one of the numerous tours or took the bus to Puerto Vallarta. The bus is super easy (and we don't speak Spanish!); it picks up right outside the condo on the opposite side of the street and is very inexpensive. The condo is on the only drive to Puerto Vallarta so you can't get on the wrong bus. Puerto Vallarta has lots of restaurants and we felt safe everywhere. We had no issues with the water. The condo has filtered water so you can drink from the tap and most of the restaurants are the same; we even ate at a street cart one night (mmmm). The boardwalk in PV is crowded with families, tourists and vendors at night; it’s a fun outing. The only suggestion I might have is that if you are a light sleeper and aren't used to the sound of crashing waves you may want to bring earplugs; you are that close to the ocean! I wish we could have stayed longer and we'll definitely stay again.

Owners response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review, I welcome you back anytime and will always do my best to make sure that you have everthing promised.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a Fantastic Place!

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: December 2, 2011

We love staying here. The unit is beautiful with a charming local feel. It is very clean and well maintained , kitchen is well equipped and the amenities (dish washing, washing machine) are so nice to have. The beach is the best around: It is peaceful, the water is beautiful and the beach is sandy. Vendors are few and far between and there aren’t all sorts of boats around mucking up the water with oil and offering noisy activities like parasailing. I also really like the location. It is far enough from Old Town to be quiet, and yet close enough to get downtown with a 10 minute bus ride (costing about 70 cents). It is also a very quick bus ride to get to other beaches like Mismaloya when we do want to have a more active beach experience.

Owners response: What a lovely review, thank you so very much for taking the time to do this.
Diane

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredible experience

Review submitted: July 8, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2010

From the moment we walked in we felt at home. There is nothing like being right on the beach with the sounds and smell of the surf. We were there for two months and were able to truly enjoy the Vallarta experience. The condo is located a short easy bus ride from Zona Romatica with all the restaurants and nightlife you could want which we enjoyed thoroughly. We would sit on the deck and have a drink in the evening watching the sunset and then cross the street and head to dinner and our evening out. At the end of the evening we would take a short inexpensive cab ride back. On some evenings we would decide to just stay in and enjoy dinner on the deck.

The beach in front was enjoyable to walk each day and there were many people swimming in the ocean. What I liked most about this beach is how uncrowded it is and the only time we saw any vendors was on Sundays when the Mexican families would come to enjoy the beach.

The staff was extremely helpful from the moment we arrived. The owners were easy to work with and represented the property accurately in the descriptions. We look forward to returning at some point in the future. Check it out you'll love it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Better than home

Review submitted: December 31, 2010   Date of arrival: November 1, 2010

From the moment we arrived you could just feel the all stress just leave your body. The sound of the ocean could be heard from every room in the condo which was perfectly outfitted for our two month stay. It is located away from all the noise and yet just a short drive or bus ride and you are in the middle of the hussle and bussle of PV. Being right on a vendor free beach was such a nice experience and on Sunday's in Mexico it is family day and the beach would fill with locals enjoying their family and fishing, boogy boarding or just swimming, since I live in mexico it was really nice to see.

The staff was excellent. They were doing some building maintenance while we were there and needed access to the unit and were very respectful when requesting and scheduling time to come in. Another big plus is the security, there is a guard on at all times who was helpful in obtaining a cab or directions.

We've rented many vacation rentals and this is one of the best we've rented thus far. We look forward to returning.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice condo

Review submitted: November 18, 2010   Date of arrival: October 24, 2010

The condo is spacious, fully equipped, and really quite nice. I'd say the pictures don't do it justice. It's outside of the town, on the 7th floor with views overlooking the bay. It's on a very private beach, which was great. The whole experience was very calm and relaxing.

The town is about a 15-20 minute taxi or bus ride. It was easy getting there and back, so it wasn't inconvenient being outside of the city.

I would definitely recommend this condo.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice condo

Review submitted: November 18, 2010   Date of arrival: October 24, 2010

The condo is spacious, fully equipped, and really quite nice. I'd say the pictures don't do it justice. It's outside of the town, on the 7th floor with views overlooking the bay. It's on a very private beach, which was great. The whole experience was very calm and relaxing.

The town is about a 15-20 minute taxi or bus ride. It was easy getting there and back, so it wasn't inconvenient being outside of the city.

I would definitely recommend this condo.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous location, beautiful condo

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

My parents and husband and I spent a blissful 5 days at Diane's condo and it was absolutely wonderful. The building is right on the beach and we woke up to a beautiful view of the ocean every day. The building manager was very helpful. Gave us restaurant reviews and helped us out when we needed to contact Diane about the flush not working in the bathroom (which was fixed immediately).

The bus stop is opposite the condo building, and the bus service is quite frequent so we took the bus everyday. Cabs are quite cheap, I think about 70 pesos to zona romantica.

I would absolutely recommend this condo to anyone. Thank you Diane for a wonderful holiday!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

PV's Best Kept Secret

Review submitted: July 18, 2010   Date of arrival: July 8, 2010

This was our 7th visit to PV. We have stayed in the marina area, hotel zone, old town and south of town. This is by far the best location; close enough to town but far enough out with a no-vendor beach. The water was warm and clear. We saw lobsters, a turtle, jellyfish and all varieties of fish while out snorkeling.
The condo is furnished with everything you would need for the beach (and everything else for that matter). It's just beautiful - from the furnishings to the view off the 7th floor balcony. We were in heaven!
It was a wonderful trip - and we will be back!

Regards,
Steve & Marilyn

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Each year I try to add to what we offer, it seems at this point there is little else to add since the condo has everything a family can need.I work to everyones satisfaction as I want you to have a wonderful vacation with lots of great memories, if you have a lovely condo to stay in then you are half way there.So welcome to my home away from home, it is a paradise treasure.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Left with wanting more of La Dolce Vita

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: June 24, 2010

For our fifth visit to Puerto Vallarta (yes we love the area) we wanted to stay somewhere away from the marina and the hotel zone. Also after visiting San Jose de Cabo last year we realized we were missing out on nice Mexican beaches by staying in the northern end of PVR. So after extensive online searching I found La Dolce Vita. This spacious two bedroom condo is located right on the sandy beach south of town. The condo has two flat screen televisions and a library of dvds however the view is tough competition and we chose to spend our time "unplugged."

It was wonderful to stay in location that was along the bus route (we took the bus every day) and quite literally beachfront! The view from the balcony was incredible and we enjoyed watching the pelicans literally fly by (located on the 7th floor) before diving into the waters below. My husband & I also appreciated the 24 hour security (they would greet us as we came and left) and the fact that we would often be the only people at the pool. The condo is very private and quiet yet close to town.

Communicating with the owners was easy and professional. We received our damage deposit back in a very timely manner and I especially appreciated the owner's notes on their experiences and tips on good places to go. So many incredible restaurants in the area, kind and friendly people, and a beautiful location all make PVR the place to go. We will definately be back and look forward to bringing our kids next year for an extended stay; making La Dolce Vita our second home too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Could live here forever!!!

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: December 12, 2009

This place is everything advertised and written about. We found it bigger then it looks. Very clean and bathrooms are new and spa like. Beds very comfy. Balcony is big and views great. We read on the beach or on the balcony sipping our wine or margaritas. The local bus stop across the street is great. We took the bus to the zoo where my kids (19 & 20) pet baby tigers. Also took the bus into town for dinner in town and shopping and parasailing. Took the bus to Tomitlan and then the water taxi to Yelapa. Very fun. We will be back as soon as possible.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review, I am sure readers will feel more confident with what they are getting, if the information given is from a previous renter.
I do try to provide everything to make your visit as great as it should be,
Please call or e-mail me for possible specials and special off season rates.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nolan/Miller stay

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: December 27, 2009

The condo was JUST like it was described/pictured on the website. Even better than expected. It was comfortable, right on the beach, and close to town, but still felt away from the rush. We would definitely stay again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

My acation in La Dolche Vita

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: December 20, 2009

The location of the property is great. It's tranquil and right on the coast property and still have a great communications to the city of PV and Mismaloya.
Service people are very friendly and helpfull.
The property is well furnished . I got everything what I need in this type of vacation. Nice beach, privacy and Wi-Fi was very helpfull for me.
I will recommend this property to my friends.
Thanks Diane and Nick

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Property, Great owners

Review submitted: October 28, 2009   Date of arrival: August 25, 2005

Great Property, Great owners. Love the location. Close to town but still feels like a little bit of paradise. Has the exclusive feeling as though this was your second home, not just a tourist spot. Road the bus everywhere, lot's of fun. No need for a taxi. The beach was very nice for swimming with lots of sand. The pool, staff, and residents were very nice. We've booked for next year already. Oh yes, my wife loved it too!!! signed Happy

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our home away from home is a wonderful paradise to take a break from routine. Surround yourself with the beautiful view of the Banderas Bay , whales at play and awesome sunsets, all of this from your balcony, I do all I can to make your stay as memorable as it can be, it is as important to me, as it is to you, that your vacation is all that you want it to be.
Please contact me for current rates and promotions.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Take Us Back to Vallarta!

Review submitted: May 6, 2009   Date of arrival: April 26, 2009

We have just returned from a week at La Dolce Vita in April 2009. This was our 3rd visit to PV but the first time on the south end of the city.
This condo was nothing short of fabulous! How much better can it get? Right on the beach. Bus stop across the street. 8th floor view is awesome. Just the right distance from the city for every activity you could desire- the shopping, marina, the beach restaurants, the airport. Further south of the condo ride the bus on to Boca and Mismoloya and hop on a boat to Yelapa for the day. Don't be intimidated- seek out all of these beautiful sites and experience it all!
Our favorite restaurant, Lindo Mar, only one bus stop away. We ate there numerous times because the staff, the view, and especially the food were so great! Diane, the condo owner, makes sure you are comfortable and have everything you need to enjoy your stay.
The furnishings in the condo are comfortable and well kept. The kitchen and bathrooms are updated and clean.
Doris, the building manager, speaks fluent English and can help you out with any information or advice you might need. She'll make phone calls and get information for you.
The building is secure, with a night watchman who is always right there- though I never once felt I would need to call on him.
The beach is near private. Only an occasional vendor strolling by, unlike downtown. Very few people and the sand is perfect for leisurely walks or a dip in the water. Truly peaceful. The swimming pool and surrounding area are immaculately clean.
The area is truly beautiful and the people who surround you are polite and kind. The sunsets appear to be orchestrated just for your pleasure, beaming brilliant orange directly onto your private balcony each and every beautiful even you are there.
We will definitely come back to La Dolce Vita! Tomorrow if we could!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: After reading this and my other renter reviews, you surely can feel confident that everything promised is delivered, you will find a very comfortable home away from home, I so appreciate all of our renters who have all taken such great care of our home.
Don't let June and July months prevent you from coming, yes, it is the off season, so you save a lot of money, yes, it is the rainy season, but it doesn't rain that much,let's face it, there are no big crowdsand you really get special treatment, why, they need your money because business has slowed down. Sure,it's a bit warmer, you are right on the ocean with an air conditioned condo, so what if it is warmer. August still seems popular with some renters, a little more rain,a bigger discount if you call me.
Everything is up for "bargaining" off season, Merchandise, trips etc.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Untitled

Review submitted: September 11, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

We spent a week here in August 2007, and had a great time. The photos of the condo were spot on. The amenities list was as well. We had no surprises. The owner sent us a lot of information before we left home, so we had great recommendations when we got there. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Helpful votes: 7 / 9

 

Heaven on Earth

Review submitted: June 13, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

Our family spent 2 wonderful weeks at this condo last August. It was everything and more than we expected. We had our own private beach and pool as well as easy access to town.
We had such a great time getting to know Puerta Vallarta and surrounding area.
The condo itself was totally equipped with everything we needed and our reservation plans and holiday were exceptional. This condo was located at a very scenic spot with excellent views of the ocean from the balcony.
Great food, lots to explore and friendly people.
Also we went in August and had great weather despite that it was the areas "off" season.
We will go back in a heart beat since there is so much to see and experience. Getting into town was so much fun since the buses ran frequently and right in front of the building. This is a very inexpensive way to travel the coastline which we did often. We have such fond memories and this vacation is at the top of our list for family vacations....we are planning our next trip.
Our hosts provided so much information before we ever went to Mexico and when we arrived there was more information in the condo's guest book.

Our family would recommend "La Dolce Vita" to anyone who wants a great vacation!!!

Edie U.

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

Paradise Found

Review submitted: April 30, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2003

What a great location this condo is for the traveler who wants to experience all that PV has to offer, but yet just a few minutes away from the downtown. Cabs and buses come by every few minutes, wonderful view of Banderos Bay. Very clean and amenities are just what you need. we especially liked having our daily breakfast of fresh fruit, tortillas and eggs on the balcony overlooking the beach. Security and cleaning service were great too. Cant wait to go again.

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review