reviews for: listing #90323 - Tahoe Donner, California House rental

8 Master Suites, Views, Spectacular!
  • bedrooms  8
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  11½
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  35
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $999 - $2,999 /nt
    $3,999 - $24,999 /wk
    $14,999 - $49,999 /mth

sort by:

Perfect location for our corporate retreat!

Review submitted: December 21, 2013   Date of arrival: December 17, 2013

Wow- what a house! The location, view and amenities were fantastic. This property provided the best of both worlds for our retreat: we had all the team players under one roof- YET- with the house having 8 suites, and various levels, there was enough privacy to keep people from getting cabin fever.

The kitchen is amazing, the chef service that was referred to us (Hey Chef!) was outstanding and they knew their way around the property. The bar and spa area were a treat.

The owner of the property was very helpful and available when needed.

I was not prepared for all of the stairs- this house would not be appropriate for people with disabilities or those who cannot easily navigate stairs. You cannot get to any of the suites without taking stairs.

If the furnishings were upgraded, this property would be 5++ stars. The views were spectacular, we were really happy to have snow while we were there, a winter wonderland- yet a bit scary getting up and down that hill- 4WD for sure in winter.

This house did not disappoint. Two of our participants are considering renting the place and I hope to use this property for future retreats!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful place for large gathering of friends

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

We had a group of 30 friends from all over the West Coast meet in Truckee for a weekend of fun. Everyone was blown away by this awesome place. The view from the 3 levels of patio/balconies were spectacular. The bedrooms were large and some could easily accommodate air mattresses, as well. The kitchen was well-equipped and the bar was a great place for everyone to hang out. The hot tub could've easily fit 8-10 people, and everyone else can could go enjoy the sauna and steam rooms. Everything was clear well-kept, and as described in the listing. Vladimir was pretty easy to reach with any questions/concerns.

We want to come back for a North Tahoe Lodge reunion next year, so we hope we'll be able to book it again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

WOW.........we're impressed

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: April 30, 2013

We were fortunate to spend a week at North Tahoe Lodge with family and friends as a nice get-away. The Lodge views are spectacular and the decks are big and roomy. Our adult children enjoyed the sauna, steam, hot tub and especially the plunge pool with a waterfall. Many nights were spent in the bar area as our main gathering area laughing, talking and watching television. We can't say enough about the bedrooms as everyone was pleased with their views and privacy. The waterfall off the billiard room was pleasant while reading. The kitchen & dinning room were large enough to accommodate 13 without bumping elbows. Everything we needed in the kitchen was ready and waiting. The Main Gathering room was busy with the kids playing and adults reading. Our daughter enjoyed having the Inn Keepers Suite for her 1 1/2 year old as it was far enough away from the noise and activity to allow peaceful naps. We highly recommend North Tahoe Lodge and look forward to our next stay there.

Henry & Donna........Independence, Oregon

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

There's nothing like it

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: May 1, 2013

This place has it all -- luxury accommodations, hot tub, plunge pool, sauna, steam room, bar and lounge, theater room, and others amenities too numerous to mention. There was plenty of room for our party of more than a dozen adults to have meals or drinks together and later pull away to spend quiet time in our own suites.

I found the place to be exceptionally clean and well-maintained The views from the great room windows are stunning. After a most enjoyable week with friends I left very well refreshed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

North Tahoe Lodge - 5 star indeed!

Review submitted: March 22, 2013   Date of arrival: February 11, 2013

Our big family of 2x people from Hong Kong spent 4 days in this house from Feb 11 - 15. Although the cleaning ladies are a bit late and are still there when we arrive at 6pm, the house is truly a very pleasant place to stay.

All the rooms are fabulous, kitchen is fabulous and the big dinner table is what we need to feed 2x people at one time! The kids love the place, and my son spent his time watching NBA from the bar table (like a grown up). The Jacuzzi (although I did not have time to try) was great and the bathrooms are clean and tidy.

The only suggestion I have is to add a Ping-Pong conversion table for the pool table so that it can be both a pool table and a ping pong table.

We give it a 5-star rating and our family had such a wonderful time.

Owners response: A good suggestion for adding a ping pong table top to the pool table, however our pool table is a full size professional table and it is just not possible. It would be like putting a ski rack on top of a formula-1 car....

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing House!

Review submitted: February 22, 2013   Date of arrival: February 21, 2013

Thank you again for the stay this past week. The house is amazing and more than satisfied all family's needs. Thank you

Shakira

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Spectacular House

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

This place far exceeded expectations. It was perfect for a large group and had everything you could imagine. It had a full espresso bar, steam/sauna rooms, jacuzzi, pool table, fooseball table, and much more. The views are incredible and the house was very up to date with the amenities.

This is the perfect get away and only 10 mins from town. I would highly recommend this for large groups and hope to return someday.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Friedns & Family Retreat

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 30, 2012

My family and friends had a wonderful time at this house. The indoor and outdoor amenities were amazing and we were all able to relax and enjoy the spa! I also loved that we could walk out the front door and hike to stunning views of Donner Lake!
I will definitely be back to this gorgeous home and have already recommended to other friends!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing views and amenities

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

I stayed here with a large group of people and it was perfect. There are enough rooms everyone has a place to go to get away. The views were amazing from every room. I really liked the kitchen.. they have everything for large groups and plenty of space to eat. Pros: ice machine at bar, lots of areas to hang out, spacious bathrooms, big hot tub, XM radio with speakers throughout the house. Also, we had about 9 people taking a shower at the same time and everyone had hot water! Cons: some things were not working when we were there and would have liked to have known prior, but it was no big deal, just the griddle on the stove, the fire pit and the jets in one tub. The property manager was very helpful though. Noise travels pretty well through this house, probably because of the beautiful tile and hardwood, not really a problem, but just made us put certain people who would be awake first in rooms on the bottom (you can hear people walking).

All in all, an amazing house and we will definitely be back to stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: The Viking 48" stove griddle burner stopped working during the prior groups rental and the part was ordered and since replaced. The jets on the tub were out because of a popper GFI breaker, which has been reset. The property is professionally maintained, however periodically, as in any property thing do break, and we repair them as fast as possible.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

The house is amazing. The owner is wonderful, and readily available if necessary. There was so much to do that we need to make another trip back to explore the remainder of the features of the house. Couldn't have had a better vacation at this house!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing stay at North Tahoe Lodge!

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

We just had a most unforgettable stay at the lodge! As we were driving up, we were so charmed by the area and the stunning views. The house was magnificent from the outside and when we went in we couldn't believe our eyes. So grand, majestic, beautiful, but also cozy. The views are spectacular! We were already so impressed with the main floor with the amazing kitchen and huge dining area, but as we started exploring the house (3 more levels) we just kept getting more and more blown away.

There are so many amazing unexpected touches too. The foozball table, keyboard and jacuzzi were a major hit with the kids and adults alike... Everyone got really excited about the luxurious bath robes and slippers :) I loved how everything was labeled and easy to find/navigate.
Coffee lovers were so excited about the various coffee machines.
I loved how there were 5 kinds of oil and all kinds of other things we didn't need to buy like paper towels galore, garbage bags, saran wrap and foil, spices, sugar, cream, and so on.

The bathrooms were state of the art! Jet sprays and multiple shower heads. Beautiful finishes all throughout the house.

There was even a laundry room which really served our guests who were in between 2 camping trips.

The 2 dishwashers in the kitchen were priceless, they got filled after every meal.

I can't say enough amazing things about this place. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beyond my wildest expectations

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

My jaw hit the floor when I walked into the North Tahoe Lodge. Absolutely beautiful, spacious, and breathtaking views. The huge well-equiped kitchen was great for preparing big meals, and the dining table fit all 22 of us around it! The bar area downstairs was wonderful for lounging and socializing. And then there were the awesome surprising perks, like the full-on steam room and sauna, and plunge pool, and huge hot tub. And heat lamps.

We had the most wonderful time there, and everyone was raving about the place from the minute they walked in to the minute we had to (sadly) leave.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

If Your Travels Take You to Tahoe, I Highly Reccomend This Place

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

I don't know where to begin, but WOW! comes to mind. These guys have thought of everything, what an amazing property. We had a large group and this met our needs perfectly.
Vladimir and gang hit a home run on this one.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

An Excellent Wedding in an Amazing Location

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: October 6, 2011

We had 20 adults and 7 children stay in this fabulous home for 4 nights. On the last night of our stay we had our wedding ceremony and reception here with about 80 people.
They house is beautiful, clean, spacious. Lot's of good gathering space but privacy in the bedrooms.
The house guests and weddings guests alike were amazed by the stunning views and the details of the house.
We cooked our rehearsal dinner for 45 guests in the kitchen at the Lodge. For the wedding, our caterers were overjoyed to have so much space!
The 7 young children had room to play in the Game room and movie room.
We took jogs and walks on the very nearby trail (1/4 mile away), and took day trips to Lake Tahoe.
We stayed here as bed and breakfasts guests a few months back and also enjoyed that experience.
Highly Recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

We expected it to have the hot tub, but the sauna and steam room were a very nice surpriseā€¦

Review submitted: August 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 8, 2011

We rented this property for a BBQ / Game day get together. We expected it to have the hot tub, but the sauna and steam room were a very nice surprise… There were a number of TV’s in the house, but we spent most of our time at the TV by the polo bar. This was our favorite room and it was nice to have adult time, while the kids were in the movie and game room. This place is huge…

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great place!

Review submitted: August 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

Our group of six couples with kids rented this property for 4 days. We had a great time. The place is set up with everything we could have wanted and exceeded our expectations. We loved the extra touches such as bath robes and toiletries that were provided. They also had a crib we could use and high chairs for the kids, so next time we will not need pack ours. It was very convenient to have a bathroom in each bedroom and a small fridge in each room. We had a great time and will definitely return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Loved it !!!

Review submitted: August 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

The views are spectacular! The place is brand new and everything is top notch. I loved cooking on the large Viking stove and having three ovens. I want one for my kitchen now. I loved the sauna and steam room and just sitting on the deck watching the views. We rent a property each year for our family reunion and this was the best we’ve seen so far. They thought of everything, from having a TV in each room to having enough pillows. I highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect vacation

Review submitted: August 3, 2011   Date of arrival: June 14, 2011

Great rental! Rooms are specious. Very clean and organized. We rented it for a friend and family weekend and it exceeded our expectations. Each room had its own TV and fridge, as well as big TV’s in the movie room and game room and bar. There was no fighting with the kids about watching the game or movies. The dining room and kitchen were plentiful to cook for our large group. We loved the views and the property that we opted to cook dinner there rather than going out as we originally planned.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

First Rate Bed and Breakfast

Review submitted: May 18, 2011   Date of arrival: May 16, 2011

Our party of five (including a 4 year old) had a wonderful experience at the North Tahoe Lodge. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the facilities are excellent for a small inn. The views are stunning, and the kitchen/dining area, living room, sauna/hot tub/steam room and the polo bar are superb amenities. The inn keepers were very friendly and helpful. The lodge is spotless and well-stocked with all the goodies a visitor would want. The yummy breakfasts were a great start to our daily tours of the Truckee and Lake Tahoe area. We will definitely return to the lodge again

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review