reviews for: listing #90405 - Newport Beach, California House rental

Balboa Pearl-8 Houses from Ocean!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $325 - $385 /nt
    $1,850 - $3,150 /wk

sort by:

512894

Review submitted: February 25, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

I enjoyed my stay in your house . It's cozy and clean. I saw the house cleaner when we were leaving and I saw her changing all the comforters , bed linens, pillow cases . I look forward to stay in this house again next year with my family on our next beach vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanksgiving at the Beach!

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2013

This house was perfect for our family Thanksgiving weekend! We had people staying in all the rooms and they were all good. The living room has comfortable seating for everyone, the kitchen was well equipped and well working even for doing our big dinner. The front porch is awesome for morning coffee. Everything was also well-supplied and very clean. The beach is less than a 5 minute walk on a neighborhood sidewalk. We would love to do this again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Birthday weekend

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

We had a great guys' weekend celebrating a 40th birthday. The house was close to the beach, bars, and grocery, so there was no need to drive anywhere. Spent most of the time on the front patio, and beach. Great house, great location.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Famiy Vacation Spot!

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

My husband, myself, and two kids age 2 and 4 stayed last week and had an amazing time in Newport Beach! The house was great, having a washer and driver saved our lives. This house is in a great location, we walked to the beach in our bare feet. We rented Bikes from EZ bike rental who delivers bikes to your house and at a great price, we parked the car and didn't move it all week. Ate out at all the great restaurants, most are within a half mile to a mile. The only reason I can't give it a 5 star rating is that the family above us were very loud pounding up and down the stairs which go right over the master bed. Good thing we get up early anyways but still annoying. Overall great house to vacation at!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

We cannot wait to go back!

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

Great neighborhood, close to beach. It was very comfortable for 8 of us to sleep here for a week. Boogie boards and beach chairs were used several times. Cooked on the grill almost every night, just 6 blocks from complete grocery shopping.

The drive to Disney for 2 days was actually easy, we were going against the rush hour traffic and only took about 25 minutes each way.

The hide-a-bed is best for the kids, and the parking for any extra vehicles is pretty crazy.

Owners response: Glad to hear that you and your family had a good time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

The property was nice and clean. Perfect getaway.

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

We had an awesome time, didn't want to leave. Location to the beach was awesome, loved that the outdoor shower had hot water, big plus when you have kids going to the beach several times a day, Loved the casitia, gave us our own space.Other than parking and some noisy tenants, the place was perfect. Loved the access to everything, was close enough yet far enough from all the action. Never got in the car, wasn't necessary as everything was so handy. Simi brought us an extra cot for a 4 year old which was perfect and much appreciated. That way the family was all together. Many thanks.

Owners response: Dear Guest,
Glad to hear that everyone enjoyed their stay. Hope to see you guys again in the future. Our outdoor shower has been a great plus for families with children. Take care.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

We Found Our Gem in Newport Beach

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: April 25, 2013

On the basis of our family size and members requirements, we looked for a single story property within the first block tot he beach. We have been to Newport many times and based on our experience it is our first choice to find a house within the first block to the main beach. Crossing Balboa Blvd., during summer time is difficult and finding parking is not at all easy. This beach villa perfectly fit our many requirements. The front ocean view court yard was awesome and we spent our time outside to enjoy the view, breeze and tourists and locals walk-by. People were friendly including great neighbors. Property is so close to beach yet just outside the board walk to avoid noise. Not only we enjoyed out door activities but we found that the property was completely updated to inspire our stay and make this as our second home. We loved the out door hot and cold shower every time when we came out of the pacific Ocean nearby. The Wi-Fi worked great so that we can attend to our business while we are enjoying our vacation. Our family and friends had great time and we want to come back and book your place. On top of the nicely remodeled property, we received great services from the owner and property management. we found our Gem.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Weekend Trip

Review submitted: May 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

Overall a nice experience. Liked the 2 separate master suites but must admit that the bed mattress in the back master, not in the main house needs to be replaced. My wife and I were not able to get a good nights sleep. This is a great property for 2 couples because of the privacy. Having a garage was a bonus. Nice Clean Property and the management was wonderful. Nice beach access and could walk to stores, places to eat and etc.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Great Spring Get-Away

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Balboa Pearl Immensly! Denise was flexible about meeting our arrival schedule and was quick and friendly about showing us around when we arrived. We found everything to be clean and well stocked. My husband and I and our three children used the main part of the house, while an extended family member used the room with the seperate entrance. This worked out great. It was wonderful to have the kitchen and eat delicious meals on our vacation. We visited Disneyland, Balboa Island, the beach and Pier, Huntington Beach and the Fashion Island area. The location was great! The amenities were great! Having the laundry area was wonderful. It was a trick to get our mini-van in the garage. We somehow managed but it made it difficult to get in and out. The garage is too short for that type of vehicle. Loved the outdoor courtyard. The grocery was close-by and the neighborhood was quiet while we were there. Thanks for a great stay. We've already told our friends about this great little place at Newport Beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wedding Crew

Review submitted: March 16, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

This beach house was perfect for my family and I to retreat to for a wedding we were visiting for. The additional, attached master bedroom worked perfect for my Sister and her boyfriend providing them enough privacy, but keeping us all close. Everything you need is provided. We had a wonderful time and would revisit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the review and glad that you guys had a good stay! Hope to see you guys again in Newport!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a Wonderful Time

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: April 16, 2012

Thank you for letting us stay in this lovely house!
We really enjoyed ourselves..

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had A Great Family Vacation!

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

Very comfortable for everyone to relax and enjoy! The beach, the weather..everything was just perfect!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Memorable Holiday in the USA

Review submitted: October 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 24, 2012

Very Convenient! Excellent Accommodations! Furnished to perfection! Very Clean! Cooking Facilities Excellent! Must Come Back!
Enjoyed everything - house, beach and trips etc.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Really Worth It!

Review submitted: October 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 5, 2012

We surprised our father for his 75th birthday by renting a beach house. Flew in from Milwaukee, WI and had dinner at the Cannery. Stayed at this wonderful little house. Awesome weather, surfing lessons, walks, sunsets, food. We saw several dolphins, seals, pelicans. The Pavilion is a nice place for shopping. Really worth it! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

DO NOT STAY HERE

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2012

My husband and I have rented properties in Newport Beach for five years; we live 20 minutes from the area and are very familiar with rentals in this area. This property has elements of charm, but it is not a vacation home for individuals with kids or families. When the description indicates the following: “A third bedroom in the rear of the cottage has the added feature of a private exterior keyed entry – making it perfect for sharing with a second couple, extended family or visitors”. It means that the 3rd bedroom is in NO WAY connected to the main house, therefore the house in only a 2 bedroom, NOT A 3 bedroom home.

Secondarily, you will be staying next to a home where individuals/the neighbors party all night, bang on your doors at all hours of the night, leave hundreds of cigarette butts and use beer bottles outside the door you use to get in and out of the house. It is absolutely the most disgusting experience I have had on vacation in 5 years in Newport Beach, CA. WE EXPECT individuals to party and have fun, but this is to the next level. My parents were going to stay in the 3rd bedroom, but their door opened onto the door of the neighbor next door, after watching the individuals act so irregular and party all night long – they chose to stay in their own home (20 miles away) and drive back-and-forth. To reinforce this idea, we left one day early from our vacation because we could not stand it. When I indicated my level of frustration and our early departure, it seemed to be of little bother to the owner. I never even got an apology. I suggest you stay elsewhere; there are plenty of other lovely homes in Newport Beach that one could stay at.

Owners response: We apologize for the inconvenience our Guest had the last night prior to their departure. The rear bedroom is not a part of the main house, but it does not open into the house of our next door neighbor, no doors open into another house on the next lot, this is too much exaggeration, Balboa Peninsula homes are beach homes with tight quarters with surfers who party of Friday & Saturday nights, the empty beer bottles and cigarettes are left in front of the next door neighbors house and not on the door of the vacation home(incorrect and exaggerated information). Once again we apologize for the inconvenience. All of the reviews from our previous guests speaks the quality of the rental and the affordability.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best place for a week end with friends and family

Review submitted: September 27, 2012   Date of arrival: September 11, 2012

This place was great, really clean, great location, neighbors really nice and the top is the renting people, who were kind and really nice. I rented two houses during this time because I had a lot of people coming for our wedding and I regret so much to not go thru with this company only!!
So for everything that they offer, you definitely get you money worth twice!!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place near a great beach

Review submitted: September 9, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

The Balboa Pearl is a charming little place near the beach. Location is great if you want to enjoy body surfing, beach days, newport pier etc. The only challenge we had was that we were there on a busy weekend and due to the closeness of the homes it was a bit loud but closing the windows did make a big difference and everyone was very polite and freindly. Had a wonderful time with the family cooking , grilling and just hanging out.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a Great Time with Family and Friends

Review submitted: September 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Can't wait to do it next year!...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the place!

Review submitted: September 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

We loved the place! We called the front part, the main house, and the back room, the chateau. Enjoyed just hanging on the patio. Just a walk from the beach and bike ride to the pier. What an amazing, relaxing week!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We'll be back...

Review submitted: September 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 26, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Girls Weekend

Review submitted: September 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 19, 2012

The Best Birthday & Girls Weekend at Newport Beach..Ever!
Even thought the weather didn't cooperate we enjoyed the patio(for 4 days)!! Very comfortable place to stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place

Review submitted: September 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 29, 2012

Great Place! We took lots of good walks on the beach....

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

week in s calif

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

all went well !!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Time At the Beach

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

We had a great time using "The Pearl" as a home base. We had a great time at the beach and had fun at Disneyland as well. Thanks for being flexible with us. We loved being here!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house on a great beach

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: April 11, 2012

A very comfortable house only a block and a half from a gorgeous beach that was great for swimming in the waves, surfing, strolling and running (either on the beach or along a paved trail). The beach also had friendly volleyball players.

We are all gourmet chefs and the kitchen was well stocked with a BBQ, pots, knives and utensils, so that we could cook for the seven of us all week, which we prefer to restaurants. The large Pavilions grocery is only 8 blocks away.

Check out the old-fashioned boardwalk on the east side of the peninsula. Great ice cream. There is a good play park for tots on Balboa Blvd. between 38th and 36th. Alta Coffee on 31th Street has delicious baked goods. Near Pavilions get gelato at Whimsical Gelato.

Note that one of the three bedrooms, the master-style bedroom, is down a pedestrian alley from the main house separated by the laundry room. This worked well for us because one set of grandparents could watch TV late into the night without waking the baby.

The host for the house was warm and friendly and very responsive when we had a little trouble starting the furnace early in the morning. (Thanks, Denise.)

We had a great family vacation and so much more comfortable and less expensive than a hotel.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Spring Break Vacation

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

We loved staying at Balboa Pearl! It is nicer than what the photos show. We loved being so close to the beach and walking to nearby restaurants and shops! The property manager was extremely nice and helped us feel right at home. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much, we will see you guys again some time soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

House is Adorable

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

Thank you for your house over the Thanksgiving Holiday. We built wonderful memories. The neighbors were very nice and the kids enjoyed walking to the beach every day. This house is adorable and very nicely renovated.

The Loppicolos -- Carson City, NV

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Chris M

Review submitted: January 21, 2012   Date of arrival: January 4, 2012

My family and I stayed @ the Balboa Pearl Rental in January 2011. It was a brand new rental, nicely done (whoever the designer is) , the price was so affordable you can't beat it. Having a TV in every room was really nice. Since my inlaws stayed with us, it was nice to have a exterior bedroom with a separate entry. The owner has renovated it nicely to include a hot/cold shower on the alley way of the rental. We loved the easy access to the beach. The rental was better than it was in the pictures actually. Looking forward to coming back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review