reviews for: listing #904347ha - Playa Hermosa (Guanacaste), Costa Rica rental

Come to Paradise!! Gorgeous Luxury Villa with Breaktaking Views!!!!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 300 - $ 357 / night
    $ 1,800 - $ 2,500 / week
    $ 3,800 / month
  • sleeps  9
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

What a place to spend our 25th wedding anniversary

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: April 11, 2014

The property was absolutely incredible with the pictures on line not doing the home and the views justice. The home was well stocked and very easy to move in for the week and enjoy ourselves immediately. We had the opportunity to take the snorkeling and fishing trip and had a great time, spent a few days driving to nearby towns for different beaches and shopping and just had an incredible time sampling the local food and spend the rest of time in the incredible pool
If you want to relax and get away from it all this is the place
We can't wait to come back

Owners response: We're so glad you enjoyed your time at our villa! The gorgeous view is the main reason we chose this particular lot on which to build our home. We tried to maximize those beautiful views from nearly every room in our villa when building it.

It sounds like our hosts took good care of you getting the snorkeling and fishing excursion put together. I'm also glad you got a chance to experience some of the different beaches, shopping, and restaurants in the area. At the end of the day, though, our favorite activity is always to relax by the pool and enjoy the scenery!

We hope you'll come visit us again on your next trip to Costa Rica!

Pura Vida!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wow - THIS really is paradise!

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 11, 2013

This house is absolutely AMAZING! The pictures do no justice - it is much larger, and much nicer in person. I know - I tried taking tons pictures and it for some reason they never really show how awesome everything is.

We are highly seasoned Costa Rica travelers - and this is definitely 'off the beaten path' even for us. The view is absolutely amazing, day AND night. You can see more stars than I personally have ever seen. Unfortunately, we did not see much wildlife on the property, but did hear the howler monkeys a couple times.

The hosts Arlene and Adrian were EXTREMELY helpful. We personally felt as though they truly wanted to help, at anytime. We had a few situations that were addressed well past 8pm - and they were still friendly and helpful.

The ONLY thing we did not like was that there was a limited amount of activities to do unless you drive a little bit - which we were well aware of. What did not help, and at no fault of anyone at Roma Del Mar, was the construction through Santa Cruz caused a 20 minute delay each way, and the road to Paquera was in REALLY bad shape, even for a seasoned Costa Rica driver. Eventually though, I'm sure these 2 issues will be fixed.

I could write a novel on how awesome the house is - the layout was perfect, the pool was well maintained and perfect, the furnishings were really nice, the bed was firm, yet comfortable, there were plenty of pillows and towels, there is a 'secret' outdoor shower which is super cool, there is plenty of seating all over, the whole house sound system was awesome, and overall, the whole atmosphere from the house to all the people, was just amazing.

We had a great time at the house and would definitely return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review, Mark! We're glad you and your family enjoyed our home. Especially're happy to hear you were well taken care of by our onsite hosts. Arlene did say you had done many of the things on our "adventure" list since you are a seasoned traveler already of Costa Rica, but we are glad you enjoyed the many features and amenities in our home. We took the time to work with the architect for a floorplan that maximizes the gorgeous views of the Gulf of Nicoya and amenities that would chose to make our vacation at home relaxing and enjoyable. We hope you'll journey back to our little slice of paradise soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Most Fantastic Relaxing Vacation Spot on Earch

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

We stayed here for a week over the holidays. We were really trying to get away from it all (and the cold) and it was the most perfect getaway place on earth! We never wanted to leave. Quiet, and relaxing with a beautiful pool and the house is large, clean and has modern conveniences like internet or TV ( not that I recommend using those while in Costa Rica). It's a short drive away from adventures and wildlife parks - although make sure to rent an SUV as the roads are mostly unpaved.

This is the perfect place for a family, couple or a group of friends to spend time together, enjoying the beautiful views and weather that Costa Rica has to offer. The beach nearby is very beautiful and quaint as well.

The best vacation we've ever taken!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We have a hard time leaving there too! We're happy you and your friends enjoyed our villa. Depending on where you travel, the roads can be a little challenging, and we would also recommend renting a 4-wheel drive SUV. We hope to have you all back sometime soon for your next getaway in paradise!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Rick and Tammy from Florida

Review submitted: March 4, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

WOW...that sums up our 2 week vacation at this property or in the "Jungle!" We wanted to get away and have some true R & R with privacy and we found it here in Costa Rica. Janet and Chris, the owners are a blessing to work with, have a wonderful, comfortable and inviting home..."Thank You" for sharing. Lars and Jenny, their care takers are splendid, making the statement "Ask and you shall receive" come true! We loved the open and airy feeling plus we had all the ammenities of home...a modern day "Treehouse!" The views of the Gulf of Nicoya from the covered patio were wonderful and were the perfect place for massages from Anja! The infinity pool was the perfect place to cool off and again the Gulf views were fabulous. The beach was about 1/2 block from the house and it was clean, quiet and very private. Being coffee lovers, the Diria Coffee Plantation, about 1 hour away, was an educational experience and we will never look at coffee the same way again...unbelievable the time and work it takes to produce coffee beans! We loved the Howler Monkeys and parrots, too! To help when visiting, we would recommend knowing some basic Spanish because that is Costa Rica's lanauage. We look forward to our return and would recommend this property. Thank you Janet and Chris for sharing with us this amazing property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You are more than welcome, Tammy and Rick! We are thrilled you had a great time at Villa Tranquila . . . our special “treehouse” (we love that description!)! Thanks for the tip on the Diria Coffee Plantation. We’ll have to put that on our list of “must do” excursions next time we are there. We would love to share our home-away-from-home with you again in the future, so just give us a call!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best vacation!

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: January 31, 2011

I was so happy to find this home in this location which is not a typical tourist area. Playa Narjano is one of the best places in Costa Rica if you want to be part of the country. We loved hanging by the pool and hiking all over the grounds and beyond. I loved going to the local market for food and being part of the country and culture! This place is off the beaten path and we felt so pampered in the house!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: My husband and I are so glad you enjoyed your vacation! The things you mentioned - one being "not in a typical tourist area" - is one of the biggest reasons we love Playa Naranjo! I'm glad you enjoyed our villa as well. We hope to have you and your family visit again soon, Chris!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome Villa!

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

Larry & I took a chance by coming here during the rainy season and we were totally blessed with awesome weather. It only rained once!! This whole week has flown by, of course, we knew it would. We explored the grounds and saw a family of monkeys. We drove out to Nicoya and Samara to see the beach, but honestly our favorite thing was to just stay home and hang out at the pool with the awesome surround sound stereo system. Only 3 more hours and we have to take the ferry back :( . We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay here in paradise and hope to return soon. Ralph, the caretaker, was great and made sure we had everything we needed.

Anja gave a very relaxing massage and a beautiful pedicure. Everyone was very friendly & helpful, thank God, because we really don't speak Spanish except hello & goodbye :) . We celebrated Larry's 40th birthday and then 4 days later he proposed - wow - what an unexpected surprise!

Thank you for everything!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

Where to begin - what a beautiful home - inside and out - watching the ferry on the deck, cooking up fun meals with fresh fish and shrimp.

Lars was always so helpful with everything. Agnes bakes some sinfully delicious pastries. Anja spent an awesome evening with us doing massages and pedicures. Such a great time!

Mitch was a great tour guide to Tortuga with a few great sites on the side. To more great times in Roma del Mar! Cheers!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

Thank you for letting us have a wonderful holiday at your beautiful home! We enjoyed it a lot and hope to come back soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: March 10, 2010

Beautiful and comfortable house. We enjoyed the relaxation! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: August 30, 2009

Loved your villa, Janet! It was amazing - the views, the time spent relaxing around the pool and the people were SO friendly. Lars & Jenny were so helpful. They set up our canopy tour, which was wonderful and exciting. A day of fishing with Capt. Mitch. What a blast. And also the relaxing massages by Anja. She was terrific. Did I mention we saw 3 whales & a sea turtle? That was neat. The monkeys came close by two times as well. We felt like we adopted Leelo the dog. I will miss her. She greeted us every morning, saw us off when we left & was waiting for us when we returned. I love that dog. We are looking forward to another trip here. There is so much more to see & do! Thanks Janet & Chris for sharing your home with us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Villa Tranquila: A Paradise in the Rainforest

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

Villa Tranquila is an absolute paradise! The luxiourious interior amenities, such as roomy "great room" , up-to-date kitchen appliances, spacious bathroom & kitchen counterdrawer space (great for socializing) complete with all the appliances and comforts of home,and cozy bedding & living room furnishings made the Villa Tranquila a fabulous home-away-from homein a tropical & lush rainforest environment!

The interior of the home was spotless upon check-in, and the pool/ landscaping was beautifully maintained & manicured! The local hosts (Jenny, Lars, Ralf) were not only friendly, but were extremely accomodating to our needs! And the local mini-mart had everything we really needed to cook at home!

We loved cruising around the ATVs to check out all the beaches & rainforests! And the in-home message/manicure/pedicare was A-mazing! The boat tour to Isla de Tortuga was one of our best snorkeling experiences ever!

As Island travelers, if you asked us to compare our experiences in ,Hawaii, Mexico, Virgin Islands, Bahamas and Bermuda to that of Costa Rica, we would rank Costa Rica's Roma Del Mar as our most favorite & most memorable vacations!

The Costa Ricans are genuinely friendly and we found them to be the least assertive with pushing their wares or services to tourists overall!

For tours: We recommend the local tour to Isla de Tortuga through Roma Del Mar's own Captain Ralf, Wave Expeditions' Balsas White Water Rafting tour, "Mirimar" Canopy/Zipline, La Fortuna Waterfalls, Mount Aranel Volacano and the Suspended Bridge tour to name a few!

Photography enthusiasts should bring their long lenses- there are amazing opportunities to take images of wildlife in Roma Del Mar!

As you can see, our experience in Costa Rica was an unforgettable one~we'll be back!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you had such a great time! We would love to have you back. And thanks so much for sharing your pictures - Mike is an AWESOME photographer!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2009

Dear Chris and Janet,
I just wanted to send you a quick note saying how much we enjoyed ourselves at your home. It was ultimate relaxation. Your home is beautiful and really exceeded our expectations. Ebi was there to let us in when we arrived as it was later than we expected to be. Everybody was so very nice, we felt like we were home.

Our first morning, the howler monkeys were in the trees at the back side of the house, parrots were in the trees by the pool and butterflies all over, it was heaven. I cooked a couple of meals and you were right, the kitchen is awesome.

After we left your place we drive to Nosara area, still having two more nights. We were so spoiled, we couldn't find a place acceptable enough to stay in, but we finally did settle down. We thank you so very much for opening up your home to us. I can't wait to visit again.

Steph

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review