reviews for: listing #90481 - Carlsbad, California House rental

Feels Like a Resort w/Awesome Ocean & Sunset Views!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $335 - $395 /nt
    $1,775 - $2,295 /wk
    $4,500 - $6,800 /mth

sort by:

perfect

Review submitted: June 15, 2014   Date of arrival: April 28, 2014

This home was perfect for our large family. It is big enough that we could be together, but still had our space to relax. The pictures really don't do the home justice. It is beautiful and we were very comfortable. We were able to enjoy ourselves and the amenities provided helped. Already planning on staying again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you Staci! I am so happy to hear you will be returning! And I guess I'll have to get some better photos done too...thanks for the "extra" about the house! Susan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Not a house but a Home

Review submitted: June 13, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2014

Spent a week at this Home with 6 grandchildren (ages 13 to 7) and mom dad with me, grandma, to round out the madness! The kids and adults had a great time. Plenty of room for everyone to spread out and not be falling over each other. This Home is fully furnished with everything you would ever need. Kitchen has everything needed to cook or grill. Patio is beyond wonderful and everyone enjoyed the jacuzzi. Kids loved the garage setup with games. No complaints at all. Susan is a joy to work with! Would love to stay again at some time!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks Paula! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the home just like "home away from home"! Yes, the house and patio with the garage fun center are great for family vacations and for all ages to come together and enjoy! We hope you will come back sometime too! :) Susan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Texas Girls Weekend

Review submitted: May 22, 2014   Date of arrival: May 15, 2014

Let me just say that the pictures do not do this house justice. The house is beautiful and the patio is simply amazing but the little things like not having to buy condiments, shampoo, paper products or soaps just made this trip a whole lot better. Most places don't even leave cleaning products in the house but this home had everything you need to feel comfortable just like at home. Susan left us a sweet welcome note with a veggie tray and fruit which was a big hit after a long day of travel and waiting for the Carlsbad fires to be put out. The location is perfect and the views are wonderful. We had 7 ladies staying over and we had plenty of room to spread out all those hair products and get ready to enjoy our day.

Thank you again Susan for your hospitality and allowing us to enjoy your beautiful home.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Carlsbad Rental

Review submitted: April 21, 2014   Date of arrival: April 4, 2014

The listing description was accurate. Photos are accurate. Property was clean and well maintained. Owner was very helpful. Would recommend to others. Plenty of room for all. Has a great patio with plenty of seating. Very enjoyable and great view. Conveniently located in North County - Carlsbad.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for the nice review and recommendation! I am so glad you enjoyed the house and your stay! Hope you come back again sometime!
:)
Susan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Hospitality

Review submitted: February 9, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

Our one week golf vacation to Carlsbad was enhanced with our stay at this very nice home. We enjoyed the room,patio, HOT TUB, location and all. Thanks Susan for making the "Fab Fores" vacation week special. We would certainly recommend the home for families, friends and golfers.

Owners response: Thanks guys! I really appreciate your quick review, and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the house, as well as your "Fab Fores" golfing vacation here to San Diego! It was a Fab February as well here for you all from Minnesota!

Thanks again for choosing our home and hope you can make it back next year!

:) Susan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Incredible place

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

We chose this place to stay for our annual church office getaway. The pictures do not do it justice. This was a beautiful place with a beautiful view.

Nine of us stayed here, which included a newborn, all the way to elderly people. All the amenities were excellent (decent kitchen, whirlpool, etc.). We would recommend this place to stay for large groups.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Even better than home

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

The home is very beautiful and the owner made it a special stay for us. My Family (wife, son, daughter-in-law, two grandchildren (6 & 4) and mother-in-law) had plenty of space to have the privacy we like and the communal living we enjoy as well. We arrived to find fruit and a vegetable tray to start our stay. The hot tub was immaculate, ping pong table had plenty of balls and paddles, fuse ball table grabbed the kids and the male adults attention. The instructions were extremely well documented and helpful. I'd return to this home if the occasion presented itself.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: November 15, 2013   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

My husband, two young children and my sister & fiance just stayed here and it was awesome! More than enough space for 4 adults and two kids. The house is spacious and in a nice neighborhood that is close to everything, but we really didn't even have to leave. The outdoor patio with jacuzzi and bbq has the most gorgeous sunset views overlooking the ocean. The house has everything you need - we didn't worry about eating out at all (not something that's easy to do with little ones). Susan is very helpful and friendly and provides all the instructions from how to work the TVs to specific directions to parks, Legoland, SeaWorld, etc...(something we didn't take advantage of this trip, but next time!) BONUS - the game room in the garage! Kids LOVED it! Awesome family friendly, spacious, ocean view home - you can't go wrong. We will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the wonderful review! I am so happy to hear you all enjoyed your stay and yes, we would love to have you back again soon!
:) Susan

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

MILITARY RETIREMENT GUESTS

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: September 23, 2013

I rented the house for my family (9 total staying at the home) and they loved it. The patio area was the main attraction. The house was plenty big so they weren't all over each other and they had nothing but great things to say about the home. Future visits to southern California will be spent here provided the house is available. The price was outstanding compared to other rentals in the area, the owners are awesome, and they actually care about the occupants having a good vacation instead of making a quick buck. Susan, the home is awesome and that patio is beautiful, and I thank you from the bottom of my heart!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

30th Bday Get away

Review submitted: September 27, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

THE BEST RENTAL PROPERTY EVERY!! SUSAN WAS THE GREATEST!! THANKS SO MUCH FOR THE PERFECT HOUSE!! I CANT WAIT TO GO BACK!!

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Great! I am so happy you liked the house! Thank you for the nice guest book note, it sounded like you had a really nice time and 30th birthday celebration! And yes, come back soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Administrator

Review submitted: August 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

It's so wonderful house that cover everying.SPA,BBQ,Ping Pong table,nice kitchen---etc.I strongly recommend for experiencing by yourself. We will be come back. Thanks Susan!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank You & Yes, I hope you will come back soon! Susan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This house is just as described

Review submitted: August 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 18, 2013

Our family stayed here for a month this summer. All of our kids and grandkids were able to come visit and they all enjoyed themselves immensely. There was something for everyone to do right in the house (and garage). We also had a small mini-reunion (Carlsbad High School, Class of 1962). There were close to twenty guests for dinner in the patio.----PERFECT !!

The weather cooperated and every meal was eaten on the beautiful patio with a fantastic view of the ocean.

We plan to do it again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful time in Carlsbad !

Review submitted: May 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 11, 2013

This property exceeded our expectations and allowed our family to relax & celebrate our son's DPT graduation ! The house was clean, comfortable and provided all the tools necessary for cooking & entertaining. Our favorite area to gather was the outdoor fire pit ! We also greatly enjoyed the BBQ, hot tub & spectacular views at sunset! No regrets, no complaints, only THANK YOU'S ! :0)

Owners response: Thank You John for the very nice review! I am so glad you and your family enjoyed the house while here in San Diego for you son's graduation. We hope you will come back again sometime! :) Susan

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful time in Carlsbad !

Review submitted: May 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 11, 2013

This property exceeded our expectations and allowed our family to relax & celebrate our son's DPT graduation ! The house was clean, comfortable and provided all the tools necessary for cooking & entertaining. Our favorite area to gather was the outdoor fire pit ! We also greatly enjoyed the BBQ, hot tub & spectacular views at sunset! No regrets, no complaints, only THANK YOU'S ! :0)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family of 8

Review submitted: March 3, 2013   Date of arrival: February 24, 2013

Perfect in every way! Very comfortable and family friendly. We have4 young children and while the home was very nice, it was comfortable enough we didn't worry if there were spills or rambunctious children. Susan was great to work wit, very quick to respond and gracious with our requests. The hot tub was a bit strong on chemicals for the eyes, but it was really clean. We would definitely go again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so happy to hear that you felt very comfortable, and Yes, the house is very much accomodating for families with children! The travertine tile downstairs is so easy to clean. Sorry about the jacuzzi chems, I will be sure to keep that down and balanced. Thank you for your review and for choosing our Vacation Home for your family vacation with your parents! We hope you will come back again soon! :) Susan & Gary

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Wheatland/Munro/Kovacevich vacation

Review submitted: February 27, 2013   Date of arrival: February 21, 2013

This home is lovely. I will make this my home away from away. I never would have imagined the place to be this nice. Everything was easy breezy....check in and check out were hassle free. We were all pleasantly surprised at how nice this home was....even better than the photos.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your comments and I am so glad you enjoyed the house and your stay! Yes, please do make us your home away from home & come back soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Wedding/Reunion

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: December 19, 2012

We were so grateful to be able to use this beautiful home for the gathering of our family who were visiting for our daughter's wedding. It was conveniently located between San Diego and Oceanside where the wedding and reception were held respectively. When we arrived we found a fruit bowl, vegetable tray and cookies along with a nice welcoming letter from Susan. What a beautiful welcome and so nice to have after a long trip from Washington State. The patios were gorgeous and we wished we could have enjoyed the ammenities there a little more than we were able to. We did enjoy two nights of hot tubbing, a couple of nights by the fire, and one barbeque over the week that we were there. We also were able to have great times with our grown children playing ping pong, darts and pictionary! We were so grateful for the fully stocked kitchen and all the little things that are found in a home that we hadn't planned on needing, i.e. tape, scissors, tools, paper products, beach toys and chairs, etc. etc. etc. This home truly had everything a normal home would have and it made our stay a lot less stressful because of that. We were able to do lots of laundry as well in the new washer and dryer that was provided. Prompt attention was given by the owner when concerns came up. We would definitely recommend this property to our friends.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Dave & Anne for such a really nice review! And wow, I am so glad to hear about your stay and experiences at the house, I am so glad you all enjoyed it! And congratulations to you and your daughter who got married during the stay with family all being together. I am sure this review will prompt many new guests and as well I look forward to having you and your friends and family back for another vacation as well. Best Wishes to you and your family! Susan

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Anne Merrill

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 19, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay in this home. On the day of our arrival we found cookies, fruit and a vegetable tray that were very much appreciated after our travel from Washington to Carlsbad. Susan left a very nice welcome note. We arrived 1/2 hour early and were able to talk with Freeman for a few moments at which time he showed us the home and instructed us on a few housekeeping items. Susan and Freeman were both extremely helpful and welcoming. We appreciated all the instructions for TV's, traveling to sites, internet information, etc. and felt we were equipped with the information we needed to have a great time there. Our only difficulty was when the shower upstairs broke and caused a leak into the bathroom downstairs. It happened on the night we had the most people in the home which left us with one shower to accomodate 10 people but we understand that these kinds of things can happen in any home. For the most part, our stay was enjoyable and we loved being able to have our family all in one place. Thank you very much.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Terrific!

Review submitted: November 5, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

We were here for our son’s wedding and couldn’t have found a better place to stay! There were eight of us and between the couples and the individuals, the sleeping arrangements worked out perfectly. The back patio was a perfect location for a wedding and photo opportunities. We took our own pictures (and even though I am not a professional photographer) with the backdrop of the fountain, the fellow at the store where I had pictures made was leery that I was trying to rip-off some copyrighted photos. It was so nice to all be able to be to gather in one place and not have to sit on motels beds. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook our own meals (saved LOTS of money that way), the living room table was the location of some wicked card games, and the jacuzzi was a perfect place to relax in the evening. This was so much better than staying at a motel and if we are ever back out this way again, we will most certainly try and stay here again. It was great!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy and honored to have provided the setting & location for your son's small family wedding. Yes, I have to agree, the back patio is a wonderful setting! The pictures are awesome and everyone looks fabulous! We hope you will come back again soon! :) Susan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Luxury in the Sun.

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights, there was 8 of us over for a wedding. the house was amazing, it had a warm welcoming feel to it,much more than we expected. the rooms where great lots of room, the kitchen and sitting room where well laid out and had all the amenities. The patio was brillant it had loads of space. The bar, fire pit and the BBQ was brillant for have guests over. The hot tub was so good for relaxing in after a hard day enjoying the sun. In all house gave us a home from home and a great place to explore from. Everyone in our party loved the place and didnt want to leave.
Again we would like to thank Susan for the opportunity to share their house with us. It was beautiful place, well worth a stay.
Thanks again,
Dave

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Hi Dave! We are so pleased you and your family from the UK to attend a family wedding really enjoyed your stay at our Vacation Home while here in San Diego. We do really take pride in the comforts of our guests and to give that "home feeling". Yes please do refer us and come back again! :) Susan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Inviting, large home

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 23, 2012

We rented this home for the occasion of my daughter's wedding in Carlsbad. Eleven people stayed at the house ranging in age from a 4 1/2 year old child to a man nearing 80. Everyone enjoyed their stay. The patio allowed for a festive barbecue, the beds allowed for comfortable sleep, the expansive home allowed for quiet talking and reading as well as happy play for the child. We used the available car seat and ping pong table. The kitchen and dining areas were spacious and easy to work in. Susan, the owner was generous, kind, and available for questions. Extended family that visited for the barbecue were so impressed, they inquired about renting the house for another stay for themselves.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Inviting, large home

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 23, 2012

We rented this home for the occasion of my daughter's wedding in Carlsbad. Eleven people stayed at the house ranging in age from a 4 1/2 year old child to a man nearing 80. Everyone enjoyed their stay. The patio allowed for a festive barbecue, the beds allowed for comfortable sleep, the expansive home allowed for quiet talking and reading as well as happy play for the child. We used the available car seat and ping pong table. The kitchen and dining areas were spacious and easy to work in. Susan, the owner was generous, kind, and available for questions. Extended family that visited for the barbecue were so impressed, they inquired about renting the house for another stay for themselves.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place For A Large Group

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

What a wonderful place. It was like being at home only better. We had a group of 10 (6 adults and 4 children) and we had plenty of room and privacy for everyone. Each adult couple had a nice bedroom (we had that great master BR) and the 4 grandchildren all styed in the 4th BR. We just loved the back patio and had all our meals out there and spent our evenings and mornings out there as well. The house is really well stocked with "stuff" that you might have forgotten. TVs in all the rooms (6, I think) and the hot tub and the ping pong table as well as a garage! And we certainly made us of the washer/dryer! We also loved being able to eat at "home" and save all that "going out to eat" money. And close to our top destinations (Legoland and the beach). Thanks for a great "home".

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow, thank you so much for sharing that you really enjoyed your stay at our Vacation Home! I am so glad that you and your family with children and grandchildren felt it is a wonderful place that you loved to be at. You got it right on the nail head! I feel the same way, when I lived there and had my family all come and stay, and it was always "a really comfortable, fun, have your own space, kind of feeling. Thank You and we hope you all will come back soon! :) Susan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great back patio

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

We had a family reunion and stayed at the house. It is clean and cozy, but the best part is the back patio, it is perfect for a group gethering and cook-out, with plenty of seats, and a great view. Everyone liked the place. I might also add, that this is one of the rare houses of this size that the owner allows you to have a less than one week rental in the summer season.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, comfortable home

Review submitted: August 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

Our family reunion of 14 children, young teens, adults and seniors enjoyed our stay at this home. The home feels luxurious yet comfortable. The needs of every age were met from baby equipment, toys, Xbox, to the hot tub. The surrounding neighborhood is quiet; the view beautiful. Shopping and recreation are nearby. The owner was a dream to work with. This family will use any excuse to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Kathy! I love to hear that the house and everything I have provided for my guests is so appreciated! I know the house is a great family "reunion" home (as I have done many myself), I am so pleased for you as well. Yes! Please do come back soon, and I welcome you and the many more families to enjoy the home & experience! :) Susan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thank you

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

Thank you so much Susan! Your lovely house looks like 5 star mini-hotel! We stayed for 8 nights with our friends( 3 families). We loved this beautiful place with nice friendly owner! Our kids ready can not wait for next summer vacation! Thank you again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You are so welcome! I am so glad you enjoyed the house for your summer vacation, and thank you for the wonderful complements! And thank you's to the kids for their very nice notes too! Yes, we will look forward to your visit next year! Enjoy the rest of your summer! Susan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 27, 2011

Although our stay was some time ago now, we still wanted to say what a lovely home and some great facilities, don't look at any other properties this is the best!! We are a family from the UK who unfortunately were only able to stay at this great property for a few nights but while we did had the best time, too many things to enjoy, we need to return and stay for 2 weeks to really apprecitate everything this home has to offer, the views are brilliant and the outdoor area is amazing!! Humming birds are beautifull! Susan the owner is really helpful from the booking to helping with anything you need or need to know about the area or what to bring, thank you so much for helping us to enjoy our stay, we will definately be back and stay longer and will not hesitate to recommend your lovely home to everyone we know.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank You Sindy & Family! That was some time ago(already), but I also enjoyed meeting you and your family, and I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our vacation home! Thank you for the wonderful review and comments, I really appreciate it! We look forward to having you come back from the UK and stay longer next time! :) Susan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place for a family vacation

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 28, 2012

We rented this great 4 bedroom place for a long weekend trip and couldn't have been happier. We were 4 adults and 4 kids (ages 4, 3, 2, and 8 months) and the house accommodated our unwieldy crew perfectly. The house is spacious and nicely decorated, with a gorgeous deck and beautiful kitchen; yet it manages to feel homey and comfortable with a gaggle of kids in tow. The deck was our favorite spot: hot tub, grill, fire pit, and heat lamps made it a great place to hang out. The view from the deck is hard to beat. The kids loved playing on the deck (and the older ones enjoyed the hot tub) and the adults had a great time eating and relaxing on the deck after bedtime. The front patio is also very nice; the landscaping is lovely.

We only stayed for a few days, but you could definitely set up here for longer. It's well-located, especially for Legoland and the other Carlsbad-area attractions. It's about a 30 minute drive from the San Diego airport and downtown. (You do definitely need a car; it's easy to park two cars in the driveway). The house is very updated, especially compared to other rentals we've had in the past. All the appliances are not just functional, but new: washer/dryer, dishwasher, fridge, and outdoor stuff are all nicer than what we have at home. The kitchen is also more stocked than most rentals we've been in: tons of spices and all of the basics ingredients like cooking oil, sugar, etc. This is a nice bonus when you are buying groceries. If you are traveling with kids, this house is great: they have a high chair, pack and play, exersaucer-thing, stroller, and lots of toys for all ages, including a trike, a ping-pong table, and plenty of games.

The owner is also extremely responsive and helpful. She replied to emails quickly, was happy to give us an inventory of kid stuff in the house so we'd know what to pack, and even dropped off a bag of smores ingredients so the kids could roast marshmallows over the fire pit as a special treat! So kind! I also really appreciated that she didn't have a giant list of things to do before we checked out; this made it so easy on our departure day.

All in all, we give this house our highest recommendation. San Diego has so much to do for families, we will definitely be coming back, and hopefully we'll stay in this place again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Wow, Thank You Shannon! I really appreciate your wonderful review of the house and I love hearing about your stay! And thank's too for the great email the day after getting home, that was so nice! :) I know your families were "on the go" in the day...Legoland, the beach, Safari Park, and then enjoyed the house, upper & lower patio decks and all the amenities in the evenings as well as the mornings too.... Wahoo! I'm so glad you did use and appreciate all the "extra's" that I do have for a complete "homey" family vacation. I hope you can come back soon! Have a great Summer! Susan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family get-together

Review submitted: March 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

My husband and I rented this beautiful home to attend a family wedding in Carlsbad in March of 2012. We were joined by our grown children and some dear old friends. It was so wonderful using this home as a base for the festivities. The home is spacious and comfortable throughout, but we spent most of our time on the lovely patio with its awesome views. A real winner!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank You Annnette & Bob and Family for your wonderful comments and review of our vacation home! We did talk while you were here and we were so happy that you loved the house and "feels like a resort" experience! We will look forward to your return visit next time! Susan & Gary

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceeded my expectations!

Review submitted: March 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 12, 2012

I did a lot of research before picking a place for a family reunion for six people from ages 30-92, from three different states. I arrived before my adult children and was trilled that I had found the right place.
The night our "children" arrived we had the fireplace going and the beautiful lights glowing on the plants, etc. in the large back patio. The pictures do not do justice to this property. The hot tub is very large, the lighting is awesome, and the eating area outside could not be nicer. The large outside heater was great for a cool March night when most of us sat in the hot tub, while grandma sat outside, nice and warm, and listened to us tell stories of our childhood. I was voted to cook several meals and found everything I needed, including a crock pot and blender so I could throw in things in the morning and return after a long day to whiz up some soup. Susan even brought a special tub bench so my mother could use the bathtub (no walk-in shower), The only thing I would improve is the window covering in the bedroom so it is easier to open/close and it is room darkening. I always sleep in a dark room, but that week I wanted to get up early! I only mention this so you know this is a rea/honest review.
We got coupons on-line for horse-back riding on the beach, Seaworld, and some stores at the nearby outlets. It's an easy drive to the freeway and not that far to San Diego. My kids went to Nordstrom's Rack twice! and shopped till Mom dropped. The condo was quiet and though we coudn't really see much of the ocean, no ones cared. We stayed at the ocean once and it was cold and noisy. I'd prefer the large hot tub! We liked the Poseidon restaurant, in Del Mar, where we ate at sundown looking at the ocean. I hope we can all come back next year. : ) Mom

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi :) Mom, in Northern California! Thank you so much for the very heartfelt review! I am very pleased that out of many choices and three different States tht you did choose ours and San Diego! Your review is especially nice to give details of enjoying the fireplace with landscaping lighting all aglow! And I have now added new rings for the drapery that was hard to open & close, very helpful to know, So thank You! I know I said before that I really enjoyed getting you and your family all reserved & set up and talking with you on the phone. I am so sorry we didn't get to meet, but hopefulley next year! Thank You!! Susan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The perfect getaway location for our large family!

Review submitted: March 6, 2012   Date of arrival: February 23, 2012

This was the perfect getaway location for our large family we had visiting from out-of-town! The back yard area not only had a great view but the amenities were perfect! We enjoyed Barbequing with the build in BBQ grill and sitting around the bar area, were able to relax in the hot tub mornings and evenings and even finished the day making smores over the backyard fire-pit.
This was a great location as well for what we wanted to do with family in town. We enjoyed a day whale watching on the San Diego Bay through Hornblower, walked the Oceanside pier, and then on our "down" day, found a hiking trail just a few blocks from the house which had a great view, a challenging path and was of course great exercise. It's the perfect getaway if you want to be near activities but there is also enough right at the house if you just want to lay low.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: OMG Thank you Krista, Thank You! And I did respond when you sent this so I don't know why it didn't post! I really appreciate your wonderful review thank you! And Yes! We do have some great trails all around the area. Carlsbad is fabulous for providing those trails. Plus if you do a walk from the house south then East on Cortinia Up & Up you have such a fabulous ocean view of all of the Pacific and the East County! As well you can do the Hornblower bay cruises in San Diego Bay too, or Bike rides in Oceanside at the pier.. WE lvoe our Carlsbad home and so glad you and many can come to enjoy too! Please do come again! Susan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Hospitality and Accommodation in Carlsbad!

Review submitted: December 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 3, 2011

My husband and I, our 3 young children, and my Mom recently stayed in this property (early December 2011) and could not have been happier! Within the first 24 hours of arriving we said we would love to make this our place to stay whenever we come to San Diego! Susan did an excellent job of communicating from the very beginning - she always was very prompt with answering my emails and was very clear on the entire process of reserving the home, payment, lockbox, etc....There were never any unanswered questions and we were even able to text back and forth when we did arrive - this gave us such a peace of mind to know we could contact the owner when and if we ever had an issue or question.

When we arrived at the home, we were shocked to find snacks as well as a handwritten welcome note - who does this anymore?!? We are big travelers and have never had such a great first impression of a home. This was in addition to the home being totally clean and spotless! It was extremely warm and cozy with plenty of room for relaxing. Everything looked just as it did in the photos and was very accurate. It was GREAT to have a washer and dryer (with detergent provided) and also a ping pong table!

The kitchen was spacious and I was very thankful that there were already a handful of spices and food items there for cooking (I cooked a big pasta one night and it was so nice to not have to buy a whole thing of olive oil and spices, etc..when I only needed a tablespoon or so). I also really appreciated the details - a little bowl of gumdrops, candles to light, etc....The beds and pillows seemed more comfortable than what we have in our own home (really!) and the loft area was perfect for the kids. There were even a handful of toys available which was wonderful! The Wii and Xbox were obviously a bonus too.

To see the photos of the outdoor area doesn't do it justice - it truly makes the place "feel like a resort" with the gorgeous ocean views, fire pit, bar and grill area, hot tub, and beautiful landscaping. It was very tempting to skip the "sights of San Diego" when we had this beautiful backyard to relax in! We didn't really ever want to leave!

Overall, I can't say enough about how happy we are we stayed here! It makes such a difference (especially when you're traveling with children) to be able to have a warm, comfortable home to come "home" to at the end of a long day of sightseeing. It added SO much to our trip! Susan was just the best and we can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank You so much Sally & Mike! Wow, I so much appreciate your very positive review! I am so happy to know that you really enjoyed your stay as well as how much my extra efforts are appreciated too! I am so glad I was able to meet you, your mom and beautiful children, in between your exploring San Diego and a "Wedding"! I do hope you will be back next year or sometime soon! And thanks for sharing your pictures! Susan

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

What a great location and owner!

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

We had an awesome trip to Susan's house in La Costa. The place was great with tons for the kids to do and great views to enjoy off the back deck and Jacuzzi. The location was perfect to get to nearby attractions without the congestion of being downtown or right on the beach. Susan was great to work with and everything went very smoothly. I would definitely recommend this place to friends and family and would welcome the opportunity to come back again!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Darin & Stacey, thank you so much for your very nice review! I am so happy you and your family enjoyed the house and appreciated my special touches, so your welcome! It was so nice to have met you, your "very happy & excited" children, your family dog "Wasabi", as well as your brother and two nieces. I will look forward to booking your next trip down to Carlsbad in 2012!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice Place for Families to Visit LegoLand

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

We (2 families of 4 adults and 5 children (age 8 to 12)) needed a place to have a family Thanksgiving diner while visit Legoland during Thanksgiving weekend. The house is nice, has everything we need to prepare our special meal and room, TV, games for the kids to unwind after whole days at LegoLand and San Diego zoo. We really appreciate the welcome and "personal touch" that Susan (the owner) shown us during our stay. Our only regret is that we did not have enough time to tryout the BBQ and hot tubs in the backyard.

Owners response: I am very pleased you appreciated the home for your Thanksgiving dinner and that you took advantage of the full kitchen & dinning room to have your holiday dinner! Thank you for noting the comfort of the house for "after day trips"as well. When you come back next time, yes you will have to use & enjoy the BBQ & Hot Tub too!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Vacation Yet

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: October 26, 2011

No need to look any further. Seriously you can stop looking and book this place right now. This is the perfect vacation home period. My family did not want to leave! Susan thought of everything to make our stay perfect. We arrived late and were greeted with a lovely card and note. Susan left some snacks for the kids and cereal for breakfast which was greatly appreciated. We plan on staying again and would recommend this place to anyone. My kids had a blast playing WII and XBox. The adults enjoyed being outside in the hot tub and BBQing. The cozy beds were so comfy that we didn't even notice the kids sneaking into bed with us! We will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much Nephi for the very very nice review. I so much appreciate it, and as well enjoy being able to provide families like yours with a great vacation experience. Look forward to seeing your next inquiry for your return visit, and meeting you and your family next time!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Coffee in paradise....

Review submitted: October 3, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

My family and I visited this home as a quick weekend get away. I knew from the minute I received an email back from Susan (the owner) that I had picked the right place. She was enthusiastic and efficient. She was quick to respond to each email and followed through 100%! I have 3 kids and my older daughter brought along a friend. My twin boys shared a room that had XBox on the TV in their room and the girls had private access to a balcony. They felt so adult! The master bedroom is on the first floor and has direct access to the outdoor patio which is the piece de resistance of the home. It has a jacuzzi that was heated to perfection upon our arrival. There is also a built in BBQ where my whole family was able to sit around for hamburgers and hotdogs in the evening. No one wanted to eat out the entire vacation!! The ambience out there is amazing with the waterfall and the firepit. The kitchen is gourmet with stainless appliances and all the cooking tools one would need. It's not like many other places I've visited where you are scared to use the cups or plates. The house is super clean and feels like home. The garage has a ping pong table and is full of all the items you would need for the beach including quality boogy boards, pails and shovels and large beach towels along with a bag to tote all the stuff to the beach in. My other favorite part of the home is the front load washer and dryer. You will not be disappointed in this property. It is located in a high end area of Carlsbad and you feel very safe in this home. My family gives this property an A++++!!!! We are already planning our next visit!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: OMG Penny & Sean THANK YOU so much for the very generous and heartfelt review! Again, as I said from your "Guest Book" review, I am in tears and so happy that you and your children really loved and enjoyed your time at our Vacation Home...and that it was like your own home away from home!! :) :) We will so very much look forward to your next stay at " The Oasis and Resort with fabulous Ocean Views @ The El Fuerte Residence very soon"! I will always do my best to be sure you and all my guests have a wonderful vacation and that it is a "feels like home" stay always! Please do come back again soon Okay! :) Susan & Gary

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

David

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

We really enjoyed your home. Everything was very comfortable and relaxing and it was centrally located to everything we wanted to do. We had a very busy week and enjoyed the comfort of the backyard each evening when we returned from a long day of parks and entertainment.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank You David, Bea & family! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and that we got to meet you when you arrived! Your grandson is so cute, we could tell he liked the house, he even said "this place is awesome", that was so cute! We hope you come back next year! Susan & Gary

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

We had such an amazing time during our stay. From the moment we got there, this place was very welcoming. Susan was extremely kind, providing us with a couple of platters and as well as leaving fun things out for our girls to play with. This place was perfect for my inlaws, parents, and my husband and I and our two daughters, as we celebrated our oldest daughters 8th birthday. The home definately feels like a resort, we really loved out back and spent most of our time out there as the weather was perfect! Thank you Susan for really making us feel at home! Just perfect!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Robert & Melissa, you are so very welcome! I am so glad you and both of your parents and two children enjoyed the house so much and Happy Birthday to Natalia! We hope you will be coming back again next year, or sooner! And we hope you will tell your friends too, there are many open dates still available next year! Susan & Gary

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Vacation Home

Review submitted: September 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

Beautiful home and outdoor living space! Everything you would want or need for a getaway - open, comfortable floor plan; great kitchen facilities, easy access to southern California attractions. Our family LOVED spending time on the patio, grilling out, enjoying our morning coffee, or relaxing in the jaccuzzi after a long day of seeing the sights.
Owners have thought of everything and were a pleasure to work with! We hope we can make it back sometime!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Natalie & Chris for the very nice review! We are so glad you and your five children loved & enjoyed our vacation home! Yes, please come back and hopefully for a longer stay! Susan & Gary

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

Better than you even imagine!!! So many ammentities for the whole family! Great outdoor entertaining area. Our 3 families stayed there and we all had enough room to have our own space. It really does feel just like a resort!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

This place was amazing

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

I cannot say anything more than amazing this was the best VRBO we have stayed in. We look forward to staying here int eh future. The Owner was Courteous. The house was well kept and Location was awesome.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing Time at this True Resort

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

This was the best experience of our life with our children all in one beautiful home, that felt like our own home. The home is set up with everything for all ages. We felt like we were coming home. The outdoor entertainment is the best !!! It is truly a resort with Ocean Views and Sunsets, fire pit, outdoor BBQ and bar and Hot Tub. This home is complete with everything but food. We even had Buggie Boards and Beach toys. We did not want to leave, we had a wonderful time and certainly will return to this resort.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow, thank you Meri, Lacie, Kara and family so much for the very heart felt feeling of your stay at our home! We are very pleased you enjoyed the house and all it has to offer for your vacation here to San Diego and a very special "wedding" in your family. We look forward to your next stay with us! Susan & Gary

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a pleasure!

Review submitted: July 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

Gary and Susan - you're the best! Susan, our correspondence was the best I've ever had while scheduling a vacation rental! We enjoyed being able to meet you the day we arrived. We had such a great time! Your home made us feel, well, "at home". Thank you for allowing us to stay there! Our boys loved "swimming" in the hot tub when it was nice and cool. None of us wanted to leave - in fact, three out of four of us want to move there! Thanks again, and if you're ever in Arizona give us a ring and we'll treat you to dinner.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Kelli, Mike, boys & Bear! We are so happy you enjoyed our vacation home and even wanted to move there! Maybe next time you can stay longer! Thank you too for leaving the house so clean! We appreciate it. I'm glad we were able to meet & welcome you too, it's so nice to be able meet our guests. And maybe we will be in AZ as our son's wife's parents live in Flagstaff, so we may take you up on that dinner offer! All the best to you! Susan & Gary

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great vacation getaway!

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 4, 2011

This is a beautiful home with an oasis of a patio! We spent the majority of our vacation on the patio and didn't miss out going out to eat at all! Location is very convenient and easy from the freeway. Also a very close drive to town and beaches. We brought a 6 month old along and owners were very accommodating in providing us a crib/high chair/jumperoo/toys/stroller/car seat. Would absolutely stay here again and would highly recommend it to anyone!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Kelsey, Cory & the Gymnastics Coaches group for your nice review, and we are so happy you enjoyed the house and patio for your vacation to San Diego, all the way from Salem Oregon! We will look forward to your next visit! All the best to you and your family & friends! Susan

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

LOVED IT

Review submitted: May 23, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

I would like to thank Gary and Susan for letting us stay at their home, I would recommend this place to anybody it is cozy and quite and has a resort style backyard. Loved the BBQ made cooking a lot more enjoyable not to mention the cuzzi. We will be coming back to stay here soon . Thanks , Janine and Rob

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Janine & Rob for the very nice review and so quick after you just checked out today! We are so happy you enjoyed the house and yes the back patio / resort style :). We look forward to booking your next visit! The best you you and your family! Susan & Gary

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

La Costa Views

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 16, 2011

We had a delightful 5 night stay in this well kept charming home this past winter.

The amenities are abundant with the outdoor living area that includes a gorgeous built in bar and BBQ along with Jucuzzi and a Fire Pit for the chilly nights. I loved the beautiful views of the Pacific Ocean and on a clear day you will see both Catalina and San Clemente Islands, also the sunsets are spectacular!

The beautiful stone floors that run through out the lower level and the granite kitchen counters give the home a natural and upgraded look.

The beach is minutes away along with many golf courses and all the major San Diego attractions are within a 30 minute drive.

I would definitely stay there again!

Jeannie

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Jeannie! I am so glad you & Mark enjoyed your stay at our 2nd home, and we appreciate you giving the house such a nice review! We do hope to see you again this fall/winter or maybe sooner! Susan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review