reviews for: listing #90521 - Mission Beach, California House rental

Beautiful beach home in the heart of Mission Beach!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $300 - $640 /nt
    $2,160 - $4,480 /wk

sort by:

Very Nice Beach Home, Great Location

Review submitted: April 10, 2014   Date of arrival: March 24, 2014

Me and a couple of friends rented this home for 3 days and nights over our Spring Break and we couldn't be happier with our decision. The home was very well-maintained and clean upon our arrival. It was fully updated with new appliances, modern bathrooms, floors and decor. Along with the with it's strong upkeep and overall new-ness, it was fully stocked with everything needed for a beach vacation, from beach towels and bike cruisers, utensils and bottle openers. It was also very spacious and had plenty of room to sleep us eight guys comfortably. Additionally, the house had a perfect location. It was only a few houses inland from the beach (still with a beach view from the deck) and it was only a couple blocks away from grocery stores, restaurants, and popular Pacific Beach bars. It was significantly closer to these attractions than most of the other homes in the Mission Beach area.

The property manager Sheila Steverson provided great customer service as well. We left some our clothing items at the house after our departure and she mailed them overnight back to our residence.

Overall I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking to rent a beach home, whether it be a family, or a group of college students.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing House, Location, and Experience.

Review submitted: April 3, 2014   Date of arrival: March 27, 2014

Luv Surf provides an amazing experience. This house was outstanding. It is a 3 story house with 3 bed/ 3 baths with hardwood floors and beautiful granite counter tops. One bedroom has 2 bunk beds and can also fit an air mattress. The couch is also a bed and fit another air mattress. The listing was exactly as described plus extra amenities. We were able to fit 12 people in our party, especially with the two extra air mattresses they provided. The house was clean and well maintained.

The best part of the house is the roof top patio. The view of the ocean just made every night amazing. The house is only 10 houses from the beach. In addition, the house is right next to the restaurants and bars in pacific beach. I highly recommend going to the Luv Surf restaurant, The Patio. The atmosphere and food were amazing, and they were easily able to accommodate our big party. One of the best restaurants I have been to.

Overall, Luv Surf provides a great experience. Not only do they provide a great house with lots of amenities, they provide a vacation experience package by recommending shops, bike/surf board rentals, and a great restaurant. The property manager went above and beyond and made me feel like a local in San Diego Mission Beach. I look forward to my next trip back to a Luv Surf property.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful rental in excellent location!

Review submitted: March 15, 2014   Date of arrival: March 6, 2014

Property was exactly as described. We stayed for three nights but it was a very easy and perfect three nights. The final night we had nine people in the house and it was a little cramped but still worked perfectly. The air mattresses provided are an added benefit. The house is equipped with everything you need from a pretty well stocked kitchen to all needed basic bathroom supplies.

Getting in touch with the owner was easy before we arrived and we had all the needed info to get into the house as soon as we showed up. They provide all the info you need to make sure you leave the place as they wish, which is very minimal clean up. Basically, leave it as you found it but no extra cleaning or anything of that nature, making it like a hotel but better. All the beds were comfortable and everything was clean and in order, no complaints whatsoever.

But lets talk about the really fabulous aspect of this house. The ONE minute walk to Mission Beach. The weather was perfect for us and being that close to the beach was amazing. Mission Beach is a beautiful beach, full of activities and people. The overall area is perfect, with restaurants and bars within walking distance and all of San Diego an easy drive away. The garage is plenty big for one car but it also hides two bikes and several boogie boards to make it an excellent vacation experience. Finally, the third floor balcony is perfect. We spent most of our time at the house on the balcony.

We will definitely be looking at this property in the future if we return to San Diego and would recommend it to anyone. I don't believe you can get a better location or house with more amenities at a better price.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation

Review submitted: October 24, 2013   Date of arrival: August 12, 2013

Overall you are keeping the property up to the same standard that the previous owner maintained. My few complaints were:1,no cool water in the 3rd floor shower 2.the cable was terrible 3.light was burned out in the living room 4.the 2nd floor shower didn't drain 5.the key doesn't unlock the front door 6.there were very few hand towels or wash cloths in the whole house and the towels that were there, were very worn out and hard.
Other then those minor issues, the house has great views, comfortable furnishings, a fabulour kitchen, and very comfortable beds. I'm not crazy about you allowing pets (even though I know that's your thing) but when we arrived, the amount of air fresheners that were plugged into the house was ridiculous and nauseating. Our first order of business was to unplug them all and put them away in cupboards and air the house out. I can only assume you needed that many to get rid of dog smell. The kids room also has fleas in the bunk beds. But again, fabulous house, so we were more then willing to overlook these minor problems. Thanks for keeping the house up to par.
Lori Stadille

Owners response: Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. Since your stay in August, we have addressed our cable needs and have changed to DirecTv. This new feature allows Luv-Surf to offer a greater selection of programming. In addition to the variety of movie and entertainment channels, as of October 26, 2013 our guests will have access to the NFL ticket and numerous other specialty programming. Guests will welcome the use of only one remote. Also since your stay in August, our properties have undergone extensive renovations including replacing our floors in our Yarmouth property as well as switching to “oil essentials” for home fragrance. Perhaps the warmth of the sun fostered a stronger fragrance than anticipated and guests are always free to remove plug-ins from the walls as indicated in the Welcome Letter. Inasmuch as it may seem as though we are trying to “hide” bad odors – or that it “smells like dog”, we are proactive and take great pride in providing our guests with a clean and immaculate environment for their stay. Our switch to “essential oils” for home fragrance is meant for a home away from home experience - not to mask bad odors. We are always available and ready to address any “bad odor” guests encounter upon entering the premises and our guests will note in reading our reviews that we do not allow this to become an issue nor has this been an issue at any of our Luv-Surf properties. We encourage our guests to inform us of any special needs they have that will make their stay comfortable (extra towels or linens) and provide a washer and dryer for their laundry needs. We strive to address every issue typical to home maintenance (light bulb burnt out, toilet running, etc.) and recognize that we may not notice or become aware of those issues as they occur, so we encourage our guests to call us during their stay for any maintenance issue they encounter. Again, we have a staff available 24/7 to take care of emergencies and maintenance concerns that our guests may have and encourage all our guests to please contact us when they encounter a problem so that we can address it expediently and help make your stay a 5-Star experience!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Yarmouth House

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

This was our second year staying at the Yarmouth house. It was comfortable, clean and well maintained. Despite some noisy neighbors we had a fabulous time as did our sweet cocker spaniel who got a great work out on the stairwell.!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

arizona guests

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

Our family had a wonderful time at Yarmouth. This vacation was the first we had with a pet in tow and the puppy had a wonderful time as well. The accommodations were perfect for our pet and for the number of guests traveling in our party. The listing and photos were accurate. The property was very clean and well maintained. The amenities provided were AWESOME...bikes, beach toys, etc. The nearby dining was awesome as well. We LOVED Saska's and enjoyed the Green Flash. We have already recommended the property to friends and would love to return ourselves for a future vacation.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous...

Review submitted: June 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2013

Love, Love, Loved this place. More than exceded our expectations and our expectations are high. Perfect for couples or 2 small families who want to vacation together. The roof top deck is wonderful! The management company was very attentive as well.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 22, 2013

My family stayed here for 5 days on spring break. We had a lovely time and the house was everything and more we needed. It was the nicest rental house we have ever stayed at and the owners were extremely helpful and accommodating! We hope to return next year :) Would recommend for anyone!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Casual luxury

Review submitted: February 21, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

We spent a relaxing weekend at this lovely home. The house and location is as nice as it sounds--really lovely. The home is immaculate, well furnished, beautiful. It is not at all fussy or precious and our kids and babies had a blast. So did the grown ups. The owners are professional and attentive. They generously appoint the home with nice linens, coffee, all the necessities.
The listing says the house sleeps 7-10 which is true, but it is best enjoyed by 6-8. That way you can appreciate the casual luxury of the place.
This is not a party house so if you stay here please take good care of it. We can't wait to come back!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Stay in the Mission Beach Area

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights with another family (total of 4 adults and 4 children). The house is very inviting, well maintained and clean. We enjoyed having the extra space over a hotel room. The location is great. Seems like everywhere we went was no more than a 10-20 minute car drive (Sea World, SD Zoo, Downtown, LaJolla, etc). We were especially appreciative of the location given we were travelling with young children. We would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

As a note, if you are traveling with another family and will have more than one car make sure the cars are no more than mid size. The garage is a two car garage as advertised but it takes a shoe horn to get two cars in. Also, there is construction going on next door.

On a side, Jocelyn was extremely helpful throughout our trip and was very quick to respond to any inquiries we had.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Girls' Getaway...

Review submitted: November 19, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

I spent my 40th birthday with a group of girlfriends at the 750 Yarmouth house. The house was great and just as advertised. It was a quick walk to the beach. We loved the 3rd floor patio as a place to enjoy the sun! Jocelyn and the team were wonderful; very attentive anytime we needed anything.

As a special treat, we got to enjoy The Patio on Lamont for my birthday dinner. The new restaurant (same owner of Luv SD Surf) had great food, attentive service, and a great ambiance. It couldn't have been a better experience. All the staff made my bday very special!

I would recommend this rental for a group of 8. We made it work with 11 but were a bit cozy. :) Overall though, I would happily recommend this rental to a group wanting a comfortable house in a great location, with attentive service!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation Rental

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: October 4, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this property. In fact I would say that it was my best rental experience ever. The home was stocked with tons of extras like bikes, beach accessories, bath products and even beer, wine and bottles of water. The property was clean, had wonderful views and the location was perfect. We would return in a heartbeat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Vacation Home For Our Group

Review submitted: October 6, 2012   Date of arrival: September 30, 2012

We had a mini family reunion and this house couldn't have been more perfect for our group. The location of the home is perfect, close to the beach with many bars and restaurants within walking/bicycling distance. The beach chairs, boogie boards, and bicycles that are available to use were much appreciated and amenities were included that I've never seen before in any rental—full-size shampoo and conditioner in each shower, fully stocked kitchen, and bath towels better than you get in most hotels...I could go on and on. I highly recommend this beach house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Better than advertised.

Review submitted: September 7, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

My family and I stayed at this property over the Labor Day weekend. There were 7 of us 4 adults and 3 teenagers.First of all the staff is great and were in constant communication, e-mail responses were instant. The actual rental of the property is easy and hassle free. This team did a great job of making the transaction a breeze. No unexpected problems, no hidden fee's, no fine print. I have complete confidence in this management team. They do it right. The home itself, is amazing. When we arrived it was clean and it was obvious that this home is loved. The location really is "steps to the ocean". We'd set up our stuff in the morning and were able to go back and forth to the home all day till the sun went down.This home has three floors, each with a bedroom and bathroom. So we all had our own space, and if you travel with teenagers you know that can be a vacation saver. The extras are just the tip of the iceberg and too many to list. We really didn't need to pack anything more than our clothes. There are toiletries and extra towels in all the bathrooms, extra linens in all the bedrooms, movies, games, books, bikes, umbrellas, beach toys, chairs, a selection of boogie boards, beach towels, and those are just the things we used. It seemed everyday we found something new at our convenience. And then there's the kitchen. We like to cook, and this kitchen is well stocked with any appliance and utensil or tool a chef needs. Plus a selection of serving dishes and china. We also found spices, some condiments, fresh coffee beans, a selection of tea, water, some beer, wine. And again these are just some of the things we used. It's as if someone lived there right up until the day we arrived and left all their stuff for us. There is a grill on the patio and a patio set. One evening we cooked out and ate outside and people would pass by and admire the home, strike up a conversation and ask us about it. Although there are many rentals in the area, this gem stands out. Overall, I'd have to say this was a great choice for us. I would recommend this to my friends and family without hesitation. And We look forward to staying here again. And now for the bad news. Eventually you have to leave it, and go home. : (

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beach House in Mission Beach

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Great house. We arrived and there were waters, beer and wine left for us! Since we had a toddler we were were worried about all the stairs but there were baby gates we could set up for safety. The house was very clean and a 30 second walk to the beach and boardwalk. Everything is close by which makes it easy to run to the market, Target, etc. The only down side is we had to leave.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

wonderful place

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

This house is just perfect. Near the ocean, near the bay of San Diego.
Everything you need in the kitchen - bath - in and around the house. Boogie boards - bikes - all you need. We also had very nice contact to luvsdsurf people. All in all a unforgettable time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Memorable week

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 20, 2012

Very nice! Everything was as advertised and Gina and her staff were very responsive and professional to deal with. We were in SD for our son's wedding and wanted a well appointed place close to the beach with room to entertain. Check, check and check. They even threw in perfect weather for good measure. We'll definitely be back. Thanks.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Stay, Great Weather, and Great Experience

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 20, 2012

We've had a wonderful time in SanDiego and are just packing up for our trip home. The weather was perfect and our son's wedding was a very special experience.  You have a great place here and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls Weekend

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

8 women from a dental office in Seattle stayed here while we attended the dental conference. We had a blast! The house worked great for all of us with the 3 separate floors and bathrooms. Comfy beds and new furniture in the living room. It was a short walk to everything that Mission Beach has to offer. Gina was super accommodating and even got extra hair dryers for the bathrooms! I would recommend this house to a large group or 2-3 families to share.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

I loved the house and the location. The taco shop across the street has the best fish taco I've ever eaten. I think this is the first time I've ever stayed somewhere on vacation that actually has a comfortable bed.
I'm looking forward to bringing the family out for a vacation when my kids are a little older. There's not a doubt in my mind that I will be renting one of your houses.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location & house

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

We arrived on Friday and the folks that managed the property were super helpful and friendly. We had planty of clean linens and the house's location was perfect! A block or so from the beach and right between PB & mission Beach. We would recommend this house again and again!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

perfect location

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 12, 2012

This is the second time we have used VRBO to find a vacation rental property. We are now 2 for 2 on amazing properties. The house was clean, stocked with beverages, toiletries, laundry soap and all the items needed for the beach. The location was perfect. It is about 8 houses from the boardwalk and 3 from Mission Beach Blvd. My girls and their friends had a blast! If I had to address anything it would be the 2 queen beds in the bottom and top bedrooms. I sleep on a Tempurpedic mattress and these queens were not comfortable.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best vacation stay yet!

Review submitted: March 1, 2012   Date of arrival: January 12, 2012

My family and I stayed in this home for 5 days. The house was very comfortable and well appointed- lots of wood, upscale kitchen, modern baths, and " real furniture"- felt more like a home than a beach rental. This home was plain fun! The owners- who are warm and friendly- provided lots of extras. We chose San Diego bc of the activities it has to offer. With that said everything was within walking distance. Also easy drive to airport and Sea World. This is an all around great vacation rental!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great place to stay

Review submitted: February 12, 2012   Date of arrival: February 2, 2012

We had an amazing time at your rental. It was a trip to remember! Walking the boardwalk every morning was such a treat. With my 15 month old, you made everything so easy with the crib, baby gate, books, toys.. Thank you for making our trip so great. I would definitely recommend this house to a friend.

Owners response: We LUV hearing this! We are so happy you all had such a wonderful time and we are looking forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation home with character between beach and bay!

Review submitted: January 27, 2012   Date of arrival: January 19, 2012

My wife and 2 very young kids stayed at this house for 4 nights in January and absolutely loved it.
If you're looking for a home away from home (with a 2 car garage!), but with the added perks of being right next to everything in San Diego, especially the beach and bay, then you'll have to search forever to find a better place!! We'll definitely come back when it's warmer to enjoy the deck on the 3rd floor and the patio with bbq grill out front.
Other quick notes: Management was very accommodating and responsive. My elder son loved the bunk bed. There were heaters in 2 of the bedrooms, which we needed in January for the young ones. The kitchen is relatively well stocked, but of course, the grocery store is also nearby. Don't forget to get cinnamon rolls from Baked, an awesome bakery nearby!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review. We really enjoyed having you stay with us and are looking forward to your next stay with us! We really strive to give our guest the home away from home experience and we are so happy to know that you and your family felt that during your stay. Thank you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

True home away from home experience

Review submitted: December 22, 2011   Date of arrival: December 10, 2011

We/I have really enjoyed the house...it has been a great experience very relaxing. It was nice meeting you. I look forward to dealing with you again!!!

Thank you for everything.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic Thanksgiving stay

Review submitted: December 22, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2011

We had a great week at Yarmouth Court - a fantastic house in a great location!! We'd love to return in the future. Thanks again for a great stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

WONDERFUL VACATION HOME!!!

Review submitted: May 13, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

This was a great beach house!!! Pictures do not do it justice...ITS SO MUCH BETTER!!! Quiet and steps from the beach. Its also close to Starbucks and Ralphs. I can't wait to reserve this place again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review