reviews for: listing #90562 - Key West, Florida Condo rental

Key West's Truman Annex with Whirlpool Tub and Bicycles
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Truman Annex
  • sleeps  1
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,300 - $2,400 /wk
    $3,900 - $6,800 /mth

sort by:

Great Location/ Comfortable/ Clean/ Convenient

Review submitted: February 25, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

Had a wonderful 2 week stay in charming 2nd floor 2 br condo with great access to all the main attractions in Key West. Everything easily walkable with bikes also available so no need for rental car. Pool very convenient and entire Truman Annex neighborhood very picturesque. Plenty of great restaurants and night spots nearby.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Young at Heart Grandma has a blast!

Review submitted: November 26, 2013   Date of arrival: November 10, 2013

Billy's Blue Heaven offered me, and three girlfriends, a week of so much compacted fun and exercise that I felt as though I had a month's vacation in one week! Early morning bike rides, beach walking, ocean dips, pool swims, educational visits to the Fort and Museum, main meal out most days accompanied by live music, fresh shrimp meal in magnificent kitchen, Film Festival, plays, playwrights' panel, boating, carnival acts, comfy bed and excellent accommodations make Susan's Condos a superlative vacation!
Walking or biking we got to most destinations in ten to fifteen minutes. I traveled light, two pair of sandals and a small carry-on; it was easy and convenient to wash clothes in our own condo. There is a close food store. Seeing the vibrant sunsets feeds the soul.
I would return in a heartbeat if a magic genie made that possible!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

I agree with the other reviews

Review submitted: October 20, 2013   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

Yes, Billy's Blue Heaven measures up to the other raves you see here. Convenience, ambience, comfort, it has it all. The bikes are an added plus. It is within a couple of blocks to three excellent restaurants: Blue Heaven, Le Creperie, and Santiago Bodega. And it is only a couple of blocks from Duval. You will lack for nothing if you stay in Billy's Blue Heaven.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

FUN! FUN! FUN!

Review submitted: September 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 26, 2013

Susan's condo, Billy's Blue Heaven, was the perfect spot for a week in Paradise! As frequent visitors to KW, we love to stay in Truman Annex because of the location...we can walk everywhere and, with the bikes Susan provides, we even biked! Having not ridden a bike in 40 years, I only rode to the beach (several times - ride in for sunset!), but it was big FUN!
Susan's condo is well-stocked with beach towels, chairs, etc. and is very nicely furnished. We really appreciated the problem-free WiFI. I enjoyed working with her very much as she was full of information about KW.
We will definitely return!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Everything perfect!

Review submitted: August 17, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

We had a great time here in Key West and Blue Heaven provided the ideal base with everything we needed for a relaxing stay. Will definitely recommend it to our friends!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Heavenly holiday

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

Loved this condo. Its location was ideal--close enough to walk or bike to everything, yet enough distance from Duval to be quiet. Susan was very accommodating, allowing us to leave our luggage in the condo while we went on our final excursion before our flight.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Heavenly honeymoon

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

Billy's Blue Heaven far exceeded our expectations. We loved the location and accessibility to EVERYTHING! We walked and biked everywhere. The condo was clean, cute, and more than comfortable. Susan answered all of our questions and accommodated us when we needed to leave our luggage in the condo on the last day to do one last excursion before we left to catch our flight. I would definitely recommend a stay here. The jetted tub was an added bonus!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Must Visit!

Review submitted: July 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

Billy's Blue Heaven was heavenly! It's centrally located near Hemingway House, Truman's Little White House, Duval Street, restaurants and more. And if you can't walk to where you want to go, there are two bikes that come with the condo! Susan is a dream to work with; she gave us all the info we could possibly have needed during our stay. The condo was extremely clean and well equipped. I can't say enough good about it. If you're planning a vacation to Key West, you MUST stay at Billy's Blue Heaven!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

just like home!

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

My family Loved staying here!! much better than staying in just a hotel room. Loved the feel of being at home! I have family in Key West, so that was our main purpose of our trip. Not new to Key West by any means, but new to Truman Annex, and I liked it except for the fact that the air conditioning would automatically set itself to 82 during the night and everyone would wake up complaing of it being too hot!! Having bikes was a great touch! Susan was a great contact, and I definately would reccommend and stay again! Karma box is nice! we used some and left some!! Condo was super clean and looked exactly as photos!! Thank you Susan!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the great 5 star review! This is the first time I have heard about the AC changing temperatures at night. My excellent AC man Leo is on his way over to make sure the AC doesn't readjust again. Anytime a problem arises, my crack team will take care of the issue!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

We had never been to Key West before and were very happy with the quality of Susan's condo, the location and the care she has taken to make the stay memorable. I'd like to go back tomorrow but will have to wait til next year. The condo is within walking distance of everything in the old town district. Susan provided a list of suggestions in the guest folder and all were worth doing. We enjoyed the sunset celebration, eating at the myriad of good restaurants and just soaking up the sun at the pool and the beach. Thanks Susan, for providing such a relaxing place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

The perfect combination of everything you need for a vacation is what we found at Billy's Blue Heaven! Everything was just as it was described. We absolutely loved the location. Peaceful, quiet surroundings yet only a very short distance from all of the action, both daytime and nightime. We loved having the bicycles. We rented a car for day trips and grocery shopping but if you are only concerned with grocery shopping, don't bother renting a car. You can get everything you need at a local, within walking distance grocery store. We rented a car because we planned a trip to Bahia Hionda. Don't bother. The snorkeling at Fort Zachary Taylor Park was wonderful (and we've spent many years scuba diving in Honduras) and the snorkeling at Bahia Honda from the beach is a wasted trip. No structures for the fish to congregate. My husband did the aerobatics plane ride wth the Conch Repulic Air Force. It was one of the best adventures of his life. They let you fly the plane and do a couple of stunts! We also did an eco-kayak tour with Blue Planet. Fantastic!! For vegan food you can't beat The Cafe. We had a fantastic time, loved the condo,(I especially loved that kitchen sink....very nice touch) and will definitely be back to Billy's Blue Heaven, the best home base for an incredible tropical adventure without leaving the country!!! Although you may forget you are still in the US and not some tropical foreign island every now and then.....!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Location, location, location!

Review submitted: May 12, 2013   Date of arrival: May 4, 2013

This is our fourth year visiting Key West. This location was the best! A quick bike ride to Fort Zach Beach for swimming and sunsets, to Duval Street, Mallory Square. Couldn't be a more convenient location and the Truman Annex is quiet and very private. And Billy's Blue Heaven is clean and updated and a perfect spot!

If you are new to Key West absolutely go to Blue Heaven Restaurant and The Cafe on Southard Street. We also loved Louie's Back Yard and the Banana Cafe. Great blues on Thursday, Friday, Saturday night at the Smokin' Tuna (Caffeine Carl and the Buzz)!

Just left and missing Key West already...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Blue Heaven-ly Getaway

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

This was our third trip to Key West, but our first with our 5-year-old son, and we sought a place that would be clean, quiet, and close to the sights of the town. Billy's Blue Heaven provided all that and more! The condo was immaculate, and it was great to sit out on the balconies and take in the atmosphere. We especially loved sitting out on the back balcony with our morning coffee and playing our son's Ocean Bingo game (at his request).

We also thoroughly enjoyed how close this condo was to our favorite places in Key West. Our favorite restaurant there is Blue Heaven, which is only a 5-minute walk even at our son's pace; he loved the chickens and the cats walking around our table. And though only I stopped in for a bit during this trip, our favorite Key West bar is Green Parrot, which is also just a few minutes' walk away from the condo.

Perhaps most importantly, the condo is only about a 15-minute walk from Mallory Square. Our son enjoyed the street performers immensely, and he couldn't get enough of the Key West Aquarium nearby. If you're not into crowds for the beautiful sunsets in Key West, the condo is only a few minutes' bike ride--and we were glad to have Susan's bikes available--from the sunset-watching area of Fort Zachary Taylor State Park.

Our only regret was that we had to leave Key West a day early because of work. You don't want to even think about work or other obligations while in a place like Key West, and the condo makes it possible to forget about all those things. The kitchen appliances all work great, the beds are comfortable, and the hardest decision you have could be which balcony to use when sitting out in the morning.

We would recommend Billy's Blue Heaven to anyone considering a stay in Key West. Thank you, Susan, for all you provided us. We hope to be back soon.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect week

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

This was our second stay at Billy's and fourth with Susan. This property was very clean and well-equipped. We learned even more about what a great owner Susan is when we blew a fuse, and she had the electrician there within an hour. She's also great with tips for restaurants and attractions. We were fortunate to be there when Kenny Chesney did an impromptu concert at Hogs Breath - amazing! Thanks Susan for being such a great host.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Terri-Athens

Review submitted: February 15, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

Wonderful condo with an excellent location. Within waking distance to all of the important spots of Key West. Fort Zachary State Park is a fabulous and easy to walk to. Must take the short walk to Blue Heaven (our favorite restaurant.). I've stayed at all three of Susan's condo's, she is very helpful and knows Key West very well.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wow! What a vacation!

Review submitted: January 22, 2013   Date of arrival: January 12, 2013

Blue Heaven Condo was very, very nice. Clean, Quiet, Spacious, Comfortable. Location was very central to all the BEST activities. Hemingway House is just a few blocks away and should NOT be missed. We enjoyed sun bathing on South Beach a little more than the beach at Fort Zachary Taylor. The bikes included with the rental were the BEST. The condo was perfect and everything you could want to prepare food or get ready for the day were there. The electric grill on the front deck was awesome! We took a day sail on the Jolly Rover docked along the Historic Seaport Walk. The crew fired off cannons and a blunderbuss, they were very knowledgeable and two hours only cost $35/person. Mallory Square sunset celebration is an ENTIRE day celebration....soooo many shops, exhibitions (we really enjoyed the 10 foot high unicycle show and the little dog that collects his masters tips in his mouth) and Oh, the restaurants! (especially loved the cuban food at El Meson De Pepe's - I had the BEST rum and coke I have ever had there). We also ate at the Blue Heaven restaurant for breakfast. It is only a block away from the condo. Wonderful Lobster crepe and eggs benedict! This was by far the BEST vacation we have ever had (and that includes Hawaii - Hawaii was confusing to figure out how to get to places and figure out the best places to go. Key West is a GREAT size with TONS to do and see. Susan was very helpful and quick to respond to all my inquiries. A++++

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for having such family fun in the condo and in Key West. I agree Hemingway house is a must! So is Harry Truman's Little White House. You will have to come back and get some presidential history!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Also From Athens

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: December 15, 2012

From our vantage point at Billy's Blue Heaven, we were perfectly situated for just about everything Key West has to offer. This being our first visit to the island, I can't imagine how we could have found a better location, both from the standpoint of proximity to, well, everything, and being housed in a comfortable, classy and quiet condo from which to enjoy the island.

For future visitors, I do have a tip or two. If you have a car, or don't mind paying for a couple of cab rides, do your main food shopping at one of the regular grocery stores on the east end of the island. Fausto's grocery is within a short walk but is very expensive (e.g., $6 for a half pound of grapes). Also, if you're not set on driving through the keys, go ahead and fly directly to Key West. You'll save money and will give yourself more time to enjoy Key West and Billy's Blue Heaven. You don't really need a rental car here, because the bikes or your feet will take you anyplace you want to go.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Location is Everything!!

Review submitted: October 1, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

Our group of four enjoyed an amazing time in this adorable condo. We were two blocks off Duval St, and literally five minutes (walking) away from the major sights. We jumped on the trolley for a sightseeing tour, which picks you up just outside the community. One night, we stayed in and grilled some of the best fish I've ever had. At the end of everyday, we hit the saltwater pool, which is cooled and heated, as needed. It was just another of many amenities available. I would highly recommend this condo to anyone looking for access to Key West's sights and the quiet after a long day out.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Wonderful visit to key west

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

We stayed at this condo 1st week of August. The owners were great to work with and the location to duval, Mallory and south beach was perfect. Nice touch with the bicycles as we traveled all thru town each day. The pool at the complex was great especially after long walks. Great location to Fort Zachary Taylor and two restaurants which were very good (blue heaven and Columbia grace). Many things to do in a two mile radius. Thanks for a great week.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Billy;s Blue Heaven

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

Billy's was exactly how it was described. It was perfect for us to relax. Truman Annex very central and you could walk everywhere. The bikes that were included were wonderful, we used them alot. A very nice touch to the condo. It was quiet which we loved but still close to the Old Town. We enjoyed Blue Heavens restaurant and many more to many to name. Could not have asked for better weather. We were here for a week in June/12. Hope to return soon. Thank you Susan for sharing your home with us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

A slice of Heaven!

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

This is a truly great place to stay! The location can't be beat. So close to Duval, post office, movies, grocery, Fort Zach's park,and restaurants, Blue Heaven,Santiago Bodega. The amenities such as pool, bikes,wifi, karma box, and laundry make life so easy! The front and back porches with living room, and two bedrooms make the place seem large and supply places to get away. One can really tell Susan cares about her guests. She listens to requests and is always ready to make her guests feel at home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic!

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Everything you see and read in the other reviews is 100% true! A great little place right where you want to be. The condo was perfect. A couple of blocks to Mallory Square to the west, a couple of blocks to Duval St to the north, a couple of blocks to the beach south (the beach is a little rocky). You can walk everywhere but why would you when you have the two bicycles? We went everywhere in Key West on those bikes and had a great time. My wife thought the Karma box was a great idea. Things left by others you might use and then you leave things yourself. Did not have any issues at all with the condo. Enjoyed a morning cup of coffee each morning on the west deck. We rented scooters one day and had a blast. We hope to be able to return soon. Susan is a great hostess!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A week in paradise

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

Billy's Blue Heaven condo was perfect. The location could not have been better - a short walk to everywhere. The condo was in wonderful condition - great beds, sharp knives!

Susans could not have been more helpful. The information provided before we went, and in the apartment ensured we got the best out of our week in key west with two young children
Thank you- we will be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: You and your family were a joy to plan a vacation with! So happy you enjoyed Key West and the condo to the maximum! As you know from the aquarium, beach, treasure and presidental museums, there is a whole world for kids and families in Key West.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Billy's Blue Heaven

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

Look no further for a place to stay in Key West. Billy's Blue Heaven is heavenly--5 + stars. The location is perfect; the condo is bright, clean and welcoming (we loved the whimsical art--very Key West); the owners could not have been more gracious and accommodating, Their support team in Key West was always available if we needed anything. When we return to Key West, we hope there will be room for us at Billy's Blue Heaven.


Michael & Sarah

Owners response: Thank you for being HEAVENLY guests at Blue Heaven. You are a joyful couple! Nothing is more wonderful to me than happy guests who actually turn into friends!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

This is the place!

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

Billy’s Blue Heaven provided us with spotless accommodation, great amenities and perhaps the best location in Key West. Everything in Key West is just a short walk or bike ride away from the property which is located in the Truman Annex. The two provided (well maintained) bikes give one access to the entire island. I would recommend this property to anyone who wants to be close to all the action but also wants a quiet and private space for relaxation. Definitely five stars.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for enjoying the calm peaceful atmosphere at Truman Annex and the action throughout the rest of Key West. Wonderful you left your car at home and explored the island by bicycle. The very best way to see Key West.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Island Oasis

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

Condo was in a great location, I would consider it a little tight living quarters for 4. Susan was very
oraganized and condo was well stocked. Bikes came in handy for going to grocery store or sightseeing.
Be sure to check out Kellie's and the Commodore Clubs' happy hours. Daily at the Commodore
Club they run half off their drinks and appetizers from 4-7. Would rent this unit again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect new years getaway

Review submitted: March 10, 2012   Date of arrival: December 29, 2011

We were Susan's guests over new years and so enjoyed this sparkly new condo. The brand new bikes were such a treat and we explored the island every day. Old town was busy and crazy but we were serene just a few blocks away. Appreciated Susan's recommendations.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Dollarbill12

Review submitted: February 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 21, 2012

Where do I start? Location-Location-Location-Being a real estate property owner, certain critera hold true and Location Matters. Subject condo-Billy's Blue Heaven-was perfectly located, within walking distance to all my favorite bars, restaurants, and the beach.To name a few: Michael's, Seven Fish, Blue Heaven, Green Parrot, Kelly's and Fort Zachary Taylor State Park and Beach. Billy's Blue Heaven was updated, clean and quiet charming (Key West Style). Simply put- just take Susan's(owner) "leads" and catch her passion for the Condo and Key West and YOU will begin to understand why YOU are HERE. Already booked this CONDO for next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for being one of the very first guests to enjoy Blue Heaven in Key West paradise. Location is everything! Elated you caught Key West fever and you are coming back to HEAVEN next year.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

First time

Review submitted: December 23, 2011   Date of arrival: December 18, 2011

First time in Key West and the first guests to stay in Billie's Blue Heaven, must be karma. The condo was immaculate and in a great location, so close to great restaurants, Mallory Square and the beach. In addition, all of Susan's suggestions about what to do helped us to get the most out of our stay. The amenties were great, two bikes at your disposal and the kitchen was equipped with everything you would need if you chose to eat in. Wonderful experience and would definitely come back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review