reviews for: listing #90638 - State College, Pennsylvania House rental

Downtown House at PSU
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Downtown
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $750 /nt
    $1,000 - $2,000 /wk
    $2,500 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Great house, great location!

Review submitted: August 6, 2014   Date of arrival: July 31, 2014

The house was very clean and well maintained. The location to downtown can't be beat. There weren't any houses for rent closer to the action when I searched. The outdoor space on the front porch and deck was quiet and peaceful, perfect for grilling burgers and sipping cocktails after a day of walking around town. The town and campus has changed slightly from when I went to school in 2004, but the same old nostalgic charm has remained. Sleeps 8-10 guys easily with room to spare. The 2 window A/C units had me worried at first, but they kept the house perfectly cool in the summer. I added the bedding option for an additional cost and couldn't have been happier. Much better than lugging around sheets and comforters for 6 beds. Everything else was provided, literally the only things I needed to bring were towels. I would recommend this place to anyone with families and relatives, or just a group of 30 something friends returning to their alma mater trying to rekindle their youth.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This is a great house. Comfortable, cute and cozy!

Review submitted: July 5, 2014   Date of arrival: May 15, 2014

This is a great house and neighborhood. Our entire family enjoyed it. There was 7 adults and 3 children. We were so much more comfortable than we would have been in a hotel, plus it was more reasonably priced, well worth it. The back deck is nice and plenty of yard for the kids to play in. The entire house was outfitted with everything you could possibly need. Great location we were close to the university and shopping. I highly recommend this property! Valerie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great rental home!

Review submitted: June 2, 2014   Date of arrival: April 25, 2014

Such a cute house in the heart of State College, walking distance to Beaver and College. We rented this house for a girls reunion weekend. The house was super clean, very spacious, parking, everyone loved it. Would definitely recommend it and would rent again!

Owners response: We are happy you enjoyed the home! Thanks for staying with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sparks VBC

Review submitted: May 30, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

Great accomadations. Very clean and everything worked out very well. Everyone enjoyed the house
Thanks!

Owners response: Thank you for staying with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house

Review submitted: March 2, 2014   Date of arrival: February 28, 2014

Very comfortable, clean house. Walking distance to town and campus.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent place to stay with family and friends

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in this home. The owner describes the house well and it was beautifully maintained. I was able to reach the owner whenever needed and she was very helpful. We enjoyed the proximity to downtown and the ease of access of all the great places to go in Happy Valley.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful weekend back to my alumni with my kids

Review submitted: January 4, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

My husband and I are both alumni of PSU but have never taken our kids to visit. It was my family (2 adults and 2 kids) with another family (2 adults and 3 kids) and there was plenty of room. Definite plus to have a basement for the kiddos (they even had some toys for them to play with). We also went to Tussey mountain to go tubing and it was so close (less than 10 minute drive). The location is KEY!!!! We were able to walk to downtown in 5-10 minutes. The house was wonderfully decorated and kitchen very modern. Everything you needed for the kitchen was supplied. The outdoor grill is very nice also. We had such a great weekend and hope to be back soon.

only thing I would change is the beds upstairs. They were slightly uncomfortable to sleep in.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Homie coming The PSU -Michigan. "WOW""

Review submitted: October 15, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

Words can't explain our experience . Lovely home very well equipped . Close to everything. Definitely will return & recommend to others , although I like to keep a secret wonderful for our family stayed hotels before but being able to all be together was a Blast!!!
Connie & Bill Avalon , NJ

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Home to Enjoy!!

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 20, 2013

We traveled to State College as our daughter was starting her freshman year at Penn State. We wanted a place that would feel like a home and provide a peaceful setting for the week. I can't say enough positive things about the property. It was beautifully done, with every detail thought through and provided. Susan, the owner, was very responsive and helpful. It is a true find for anyone staying at State College. We highly recommend it!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

beautifully decorated, clean, highly recommend!

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

The property was in a great location. well maintained home. beautiful & modern. Kitchen had everything we needed and more! Appreciated the cleanliness and can tell owner takes pride in their home. Decorations were really nice!!! We stayed with 6 adults and 8 children, had lots of room and were comfortable in home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A historic charmer

Review submitted: June 8, 2013   Date of arrival: May 27, 2013

The home was a wonderful place for our family and extended family to stay while on our visit to Penn State and State College. We spent a full week in the home and it was absolutely delightful. The place has been fully remodeled and updated, and well done I might add. We had 8 of us staying and there was enough space and privacy for all. The BBQ was an added bonus for us and was greatly appreciated. Thanks for the great stay in a great place, it was FANTASTIC!

Paul & Cindy S.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your great review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

FANTASTIC!!!

Review submitted: April 26, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

This house was just fantastic. We had three families with a boatload of kids. Plenty of room for the kids and adults. The house was very clean and nice. Quick walk to College Avenue, which was great for getting some dinner and shopping. Nice quiet neighborhood (some noise on the street on Saturday night...but hey...it is a college town!)
Would defiantly recommend, and hope to come back and stay again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you for your feedback and we are happy that you enjoyed Prospect!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

THON weekend

Review submitted: February 27, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

Our family of 8 (four children ages 4-13 and two generations of adults) rented this home for THON weekend at Penn State. The home was nicely furnished and very comfortable. Lots of character and charm! Kitchen was beautiful! (The pots and pans were heavily scratched, but we have found this is often the case when renting a home). The location was ideal for us--just a quick drive to PSU campus. Owners were very friendly and flexible with our departure time. We would definitely recommend this property to others. It worked perfectly for our family!

Owners response: Thank you for your feedback! I purchased new pot/pans the day after I read your review! :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Home away from Home

Review submitted: January 11, 2013   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

The house is comfortable, clean, roomy, well appointed, conveniently located, and reasonable.
We would definitely stay again, and recommend the property to others!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House, Great Location

Review submitted: October 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 4, 2012

My friends and I were very impressed with the house. It is completely redone and has every ammenity you would need. It is in a great area very close to town and accomodated 5 people very comfortably. I look forward to staying here next year. I highly recommend this place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vaca Home

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 20, 2012

Fantastic house, highly recommend it. Plenty of beds to fit people. Very nice house, great ambiance. Yard and deck are has everything you need. Landlords are very responsive, personable, and helpful about everything. Easy arrival and exit. Best house I've rented in State College hands down.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect home to rent for a Penn State visit

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 11, 2012

My college friend and I rented the home for art festival weekend. We could not have asked for a more perfect home. It is easily within walking distance to campus(I recommend taking Allen Street). The kitchen is beautifully updated and well stocked with dishes, pots and pans. The 3 upstairs bedrooms are comfortable with two full bathrooms on the second floor that were very clean and updated. The basement is also finished with a queen and twin bed and TV..great place for the children to play their video games. We loved the relaxing front porch and a spacious back deck. Parking was ample and safe off street. We were close enough to campus to walk or catch the loop but far enough away not to feel caught up in the bustle. We loved the home so much that we rented it again for next year and hope to make it our annual tradition.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

state champs

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

most relaxing stay i ever had.love the deck and kitchen

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Spacious, filled with all the amenities

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised at the amount of space and condition of this rental. Beatiful kitchen, 3 bathrooms, and ample sleeping room for our large group. Parking was even easy, as there is a large driveway. Great house, and easy to work with owners. Would rent from again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect downtown house

Review submitted: March 6, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

The house was amazing. Very nicely kept, big size, clean, and family-friendly. Couldn't have asked for more. The best part about it is that it is downtown. Our friends and I had an amazing time and can't wait to come back. Thank you for such a beautiful home and good time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review