reviews for: listing #90707 - Bloomington, Indiana House rental

Elm House
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $195 /nt
    $1,050 - $1,190 /wk
    $3,500 - $3,960 /mth

sort by:

Peaceful home on 100 acres with hiking/hottub/wineries nearby

Review submitted: October 20, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

We had our annual girls' weekend here (5 of us) and really enjoyed it. Robert is very accommodating. When we got lost trying to find a winery, he gave us directions on the telephone. The property has three short maintained hiking trails, a hot tub and a beautiful winery within five minutes drive! The only negative is that the listing says the three bedrooms have queen size beds, but they are actually a full size. That made it a bit uncomfortable for two women to share two of the beds. Other than that...it is very peaceful!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank-you for your kind words. The beds are in fact queen size beds. My wife and I have slept comfortably in each one. Of course, given that you and most of your group are over 6 foot tall you might prefer a king.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful setting for family retreat!

Review submitted: September 29, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful weekend at Elm House! My sisters and our children try to rent a house in a different area a few times a year, and I am very happy with our most current choice. This trip we had 3 adults and 5 children (ages 0 to 8) and there was plenty of room for all of us. Lots of space to run around and play in the fenced backyard, trails to hike, and nature to see (we saw 3 deer by the fence as soon as we arrived). The owner was super nice and helpful; he also lives nearby in case of problems (which we didn't have). The house was clean and well-stocked, and the upstairs (one large bedroom with bath, walk-in closet, futon sofa, balcony, and many, many windows) sported a gorgeous view! And the setting - the forest - was breathtaking in its fall colors. Also, this may sound weird, but traveling with young children has made me appreciate the owners' providing a nice selection of non-breakable dishes! Definitely plan to come back, maybe this time with one more sister and her children since we didn't even need the third bedroom this time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Gina,
It was a pleasure to meet you and your family. Linnea and I are grateful that we can share the property with such appreciative folk. Thank-you for the wonderful condition you left the house in. We look forward to having you return.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Wilderness

Review submitted: September 17, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

We enjoyed the serenity of the outdoors combined with the incredible hot tub.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank-you for the compliments and the wonderful condition the house was left in. It was a pleasure to meet you all. Jette was very happy to come over and play.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice house

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2013

We had a great time at this rental. We are 6 senior or almost senior citizens from Northern Michigan who were riding motorcycles. The curvey, hilly roads were just to our liking. We did a lot of riding. Saw many beautiful things. Went one day to explore the covered bridges and one day to the Ohio River Area. Enjoyed the many old towns and buildings. The house was very nice, but could have used some floor lams or table lamps for those of us who wanted to curl up with a good book after a long hot day of riding. Beds were very comfortable and there were plenty of towels. Thanks for the nice stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: It was a pleasure having this group stay at Elm House. The suggestion about floor lamps is a good one and we are looking for the appropriate lamps to add to the house. Thanks for the suggestion!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed the Quiet

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 26, 2013

Enjoyed quiet!
Very peaceful but close to Bloomington
Loved:
Hot tub
plastic wine glasses
cast iron skillets
overhead fans
Recycling!
Covered Deck
WiFi
hiking routes
IU banner!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

Thank-you for a wonderful stay. We enjoyed the tour of the sawmill. The area is beautiful and we went on a nice long hike. We spent most of the evening in the hot tub soaking our sore muscles.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Delightful Stay

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

Our family had a delightful stay in the Elm House. After 7 days on the road from CA to IN, it was wonderful to have a place to spread out, relax, and explore. Our 3 children loved staying in the country with wildlife to explore as we don't get to enjoy this much nature in the suburbs. We took advantage of the hot tub, bbq, and fire pit. as well as walking trails and all of the amenities in the home. The size was perfect for our family of 5 and the layout/decks provided a comfortable, spacious area to entertain some relatives that live in Bloomington. we will definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful Getaway in Charming House

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

My family and I loved this house. The woodland trails were well kept and the fauna identification guide was very helpful in identifying trees. We had a wonderful time enjoying the quiet atmosphere.
We even got a tour of the timber workshop and gained some insight into the making of lumber.

The house itself was well stocked with everything we needed to cook our food, clean up after ourselves, and have an enjoyable visit. I would recommend staying here to anyone!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

We just got home from a weekend at the Elm House,what a wonderful place! Everything was so clean and stock so well. We even had wonderful fluffy robes to wear out to the hot tub. We went down to Bloomington to celebrate our daughter's graduation, I was worried that it might be to far away from campus but it was perfect. Town was crazy so it was nice to have a place removed from all the crowds.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family get-together

Review submitted: January 19, 2013   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

October in Indiana was a wonderful gorgeous place to get together. Halfway between NC and WI. We hope to meet here again for another family get-together and enjoy more of this beautiful property. Hot tub and fenced in yart (toddler proof) were a treat. We played with Jette and missed our labs back home.
Thanks,again!
Jenny

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful home!

Review submitted: January 19, 2013   Date of arrival: November 19, 2012

Wonderful home! Four of us stayed here. We have relatives in two homes in Bloomington, but no room for guests. Two of our evenings we gathered at my brother's nearby. The other three evenings, all seven of us gathered here! Very spacious and comfortable! We will definately consider staying here again.
Robert this has been fabulous accomodations! Let me know if there is a place to post an on-line review.
Thanks a million!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family get-together

Review submitted: January 19, 2013   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

October in Indiana was a wonderful, gorgeous place to get together. Half-way between NC and WI. We hope to meet here again for another family get-together and enjoy more of this beautiful property. Hot tub and fenced backyard (toddler proof!) were a treat. We played with Jette and missed our labs back home.
Thanks, again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great family getaway

Review submitted: January 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2012

During our stay we took several hikes throughout the forest. We encountered different species of wildlife such as salamanders, toads, lizards, a wide variety of birds, raccoons and more. We saw and learned about the many species of trees and plants including the paw-paw tree or "Indiana Banana' which we never even knew existed. The creek beds were dry due to the draught so we hiked down the actual creeks. We saw awesome rock formations, outcroppings, fossils in the limestone, and found numerous geodes containing sparkling crystals. The house itself was very comfortable. Everything we needed was here. The hot tub was very relaxing at the end of the day. We saw several shooting stars while sitting in the tub. It was also extremely interesting to learn about forestry, harvesting timber and the manufacturing of bio-diesel. Our stay was great and we can't wait to come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful home!

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: November 19, 2012

Wonderful home! Four of us stayed here. We have relatives in 2 homes in Bloomington, but no room for guests. Two of our evenings we gathered at my brother's nearby. The other three evenings all 7 of us gathered here! Very spacious and comfortable! We will definately consider staying here again.
Robert, this has been fabulaous accomodations! Let me know if you have a place to post an online review. Thanks a million!
Betty

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We can't wait to come back!

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 12, 2012

During our stay we took several hikes throughout the forest. We encountered different species of wildlife such as salamanders, toads, lizards, a wide variety of birds, raccoons and more. We saw and learned about the many species of trees and plants including the paw-paw tree or "Indiana Banana" which we never even knew existed. The creek beds were bone dry due to the drought so we hiked down the actual creeks. We saw awesome rock formations, outcroppings, fossils in the limestone and found numerous geodes containing sparkling crystals. The house itself was very comfortable. Everything we needed was here. The hot tub was very relaxing at the end of the day. We saw several shooting stars whill sitting in it. It was also extremely interesting to learn about forestry, harvesting timber, and the manufacturing of bio diesel. Our stay was great and we can't wait to come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

She absolutely loved it!

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2012

Thank-you. Johanna wanted me to let you know the place was very nice and very clean.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review