reviews for: listing #90771 - Playa del Carmen, Yucatan Condo rental

Steps To Mamitas Beach and 5th Avenue
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $345 /nt
    $950 - $2,400 /wk
    $3,295 - $4,295 /mth

sort by:

Great spacious apartment

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 8, 2013

Upon arrival, we noticed the spaciousness and cleanliness of the apartment. The furniture is contemporary and everything was working. After one or two days the router quit working, but this issue was quickly solved by the property manager Joe as well as a small airconditioning leak. Five stars for service. The overall quality was very high: soft beds, large fridge & living area, nice shower and fast internet (good enough for Skype, Facetime, etc.). The location is excellent: it's near almost anything worth visiting like the beach and good bars & restaurants. Also, the process of renting and payment (including rental instructions)was communicated clearly and pleasantly, as this is indeed an important part of the experience. If coming back to Playa, we definitely would rent this apartment again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

You can't get much better than Condo Iguana!

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

We stayed in Condo Iguana, from April 7th until the 14th, and loved it! Firstly, I want to say that the location of the condo really couldn't be any better, it's between the beach and la Quinta, at the road leading to Mamitas beach (calle 28). It has the convenience of being close to everything, yet just far away enough from the action to still be quiet. In the past few years, la Quinta has moved further north, and Condo Iguana is right in the middle of what I now consider to be the best part. Condo Iguana is just one short block away from La Quinta, and it's a 2 minute walk to the Starbucks, less than a 5 minute walk to the corner of Constituyentes and some of the best traditional Mexican restaurants, and a 3 minute walk to the beach. You can't get any better than that! We would pack up the beach umbrella and cooler (provided), stop at the OXXO on the way to buy some ice and drinks, and plop ourselves down on the quiet part of the beach (between Mamitas Beach Club and Las Palapas). It was so close, that we could even go "home" to go to the bathroom if we wanted to! The condo is beautifully decorated, with quality custom made furnishings, and it's exceptionally maintained. The balcony is one of the largest that I have seen in Playa, and I believe that it's one of the few condos that comfortably fits 2 queen sized beds in the second bedroom. The internet was always reliable and we had a strong signal from anywhere in the condo, as well as outside on the balcony. You don't need a car in Playa, but we did rent one to go to Tulum one day, and it was great to have a dedicated parking space right outside the condo. Joe and Josette, the onsite property managers, were very friendly and extremely knowledgeable, having lived in Playa for many years, and we even went out for coffee with them! We had a little problem shortly after our arrival (my husband doesn't believe in reading instructions!), and having Joe there to fix it within minutes was invaluable. The owner responded to our rental request within minutes, and was available to answer any questions we had. He was attentive, made sure we got in OK and didn't need anything, and followed up after our stay. I can't say enough good things about the condo and the building, and have been recommending it to all of my friends and work colleagues. If you want to stay there, you had better book fast, because it's going to fill up very quickly!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Location In Playa

Review submitted: April 14, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

The title says it all - 'Best Location in Playa'. This was an absolutely fantastic location only a short walk away from the beach, restaurants, shops, and nightlife. We were very happy with the cleanliness of the condo and the layout. There was a full-sized kitchen with modern/new appliances including a water purification system which was an added bonus. The condo also has spacious seating and dining areas and the bedrooms and bathrooms were perfect for our needs. There was a full-sized washer and dryer, which was handy towards the end of our stay. The condo had plenty of closet space, storage, and a safe for locking up valuables. We were glad that the condo had beach chairs, beach towels, an umbrella, and coolers to take to the beach - which saved us from having to rent/buy these items!

We were able to find a variety of restaurants that satisfied breakfast, lunch, and dinner needs all within a few minutes walk. Once we decided on a restaurant (so many to choose from) we were very impressed with the selection, quality, and prices that were offered. There was no need to rent a car (although you could) as taxis were readily available and the costs were very inexpensive to get around Playa and the surrounding areas including tourist attractions.

Overall, we were extremely happy with our stay and plan to return again very soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Actually the BEST Location in Playa!

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: February 28, 2012

We just got back from a one week stay at Las Olas and I cannot say enough about how great the vacation was! The condo is immaculate, bright, spacious and airy. The pictures really represent it perfectly. And the title description of "Best Location" could not be truer...with a quick two minute jaunt to the gorgeous blues of the ocean and soft, white sandy beaches at Mamitas, we were set up during the day to relax on beach chairs with a cooler full of cold beers and fresh fruit. The patio at the condo gets lovely afternoon sun, and was great for pre-dinner drinks and a few rounds of cards, before we headed out each night to 5th Avenue(literally one minute away), where we found the wide array of casual and fine dining restaurants and bars(and Starbucks;). A few times during the week we walked to the Mega(aprox 15 min) to stock up on breakfast and lunch items, as well as beer, tequila and mix, and a cab back to the condo when we did a big shop was only 50 peso. Joe, the building manager is wonderful--knows so much about the area and has great recommendations based on your preferences. We had such an amazing time-and as a frequent vacationer(typically to All-Inclusive resorts) I can honestly say that this was by far one of the best vacations I've been on. We cannot wait until we can plan our next trip back to Las Olas in Playa del Carmen!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

4 weeks in Playa del Carmen

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: January 16, 2012

This condo is lovely, spacious and was recently redecorated. We felt very connected to the outside world thanks to a very strong Wifi modem and two flat-screen televisions with an excellent program selection in a number of languages. The condo also is equipped with washer and dryer and a modern kitchen as well as beach chairs and umbrella. The location of this condo is excellent, only a minute or two from 5th Avenue where dozens of restaurants and shops, in a safe and friendly environment, are located. It is just a short walk to Playa’s two best beach clubs – Kool and Mamitas. A couple of minor problems which we experienced were immediately corrected by the friendly and onsite manager of the property. We would not hesitate to stay at this comfortable home and hope to do so in the near future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best vacation spot ever

Review submitted: December 30, 2011   Date of arrival: December 20, 2011

The description of this condo is dead on. This is a fantastic place in a great location in Playa del Carmen! Just a short walk down to the beach at a very popular part of the beach, and one block away from the famous 5th avenue shopping street. The condo is amazing, huge to say the least. The pictures listed are definitely accurate in the condo’s appearance. It is well kept and has a great Caribbean feel to it. Literally everything we needed was provided in the condo. A helpful guide book was included, providing good tips and recommendations for the duration of our stay.



Some things to check out in the local area: Kool Fish Restaurant is located right around the corner from the condo on 5th ave and has phenomenal seafood dishes, most notably the coconut shrimp! There is another restaurant bearing the "Kool" name located on the beach closest to the condo which has a very good and reasonably priced breakfast buffet we ate at frequently. We rented a car a few days during our stay and went to Tulum one day and Akumal another day. I would recommend going to both! Somewhere around an hour drive to Tulum but the view and history there is definitely worth seeing! Akumal was amazing, fantastic snorkeling right off the coast and a hidden restaurant right on half moon bay called Buena Vida that I would highly recommend as well! Xcaret was fun, as well as Delphinus but both were quiet costly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the nice review of our property.

Daniel

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review