reviews for: listing #90779 - St Martin/Maarten, Caribbean Condo rental

5* Savana @ Porto Cupecoy –1/2 bed luxury marina front
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Porto Cupecoy Marina
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $275 - $525 /nt
    $1,950 - $3,150 /wk
    $6,500 - $9,500 /mth

sort by:

Really nice condo! Great location

Review submitted: March 30, 2014   Date of arrival: February 2, 2014

We highly recommand this place. Really nice condo with all facilities, secure parking with gate on a beautiful condo resort.

Stop looking, rent this place ASAP! :)

Owners response: Hi Sebastian

Thank you for your kind comments, you and your friends are welcome back anytime.

Regards

Amanda & Paul

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Savana at Porto Cupecoy

Review submitted: March 28, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

Everything was great, however showers need update, perhaps new shower heads would be good, missing closet in one of the bedrooms was also an inconvenience. Other then minor repairs I would highly recommend staying at the beautiful appartment. Would definetly visit it again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Hi Elena

Thank you for your review and suggestions. We did make some upgrades to the property in January 2014 which included new shower fittings and also a brand new bespoke built closet for the master bedroom which we are very excited about. We look forward to your return visit to experience the enhancements.

Kind Regards

Amanda & Paul

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

deana

Review submitted: March 28, 2014   Date of arrival: January 19, 2014

I have been to this island for the last 10 years every year... I have stayed at the best resort and other vondos.. This by far was the best place I have ever stsyed.. I also booked for next year's trip here before I left the idland.. it's location is best for me and what I like to do on the island...it was secure and safe. It had all the amenities that I needed.. looking forward to going back

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Deana,

We really enjoyed having you stay at Savana and glad you had a great time. We look forward to your return stay in January 2015.

Regards

Amanda & Paul

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was beyond our expectations and we loved it

Review submitted: March 28, 2014   Date of arrival: March 19, 2014

Hello Amanda and Sharon,

We wanted to say thank you for the opportunity to stay in your lovely place in Saint Martin. We could not have found a better place or a more convenient location along with Sharon's assistance and advice while there. It was beyond our expectations and we loved it. We really enjoyed the views, the comfort, the breeze on the balcony, the convenient location and all the amenities that Porto Cupecoy had to offer. We look forward to recommending the island and specifically your lovely place to anyone looking for a great vacation spot . We hope we can go back and stay at Savana in Porto Cupecoy sometime soon. Please let Mr. Samuda know how grateful we are for the opportunity to stay at Savana and the great memories of St. Martin.
Again, thank you for your help in creating such great memories from our St. Martin vacation,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Comfortable, Quiet, Well Appointed

Review submitted: December 5, 2013   Date of arrival: September 22, 2013

We had a great stay, myself and my partner, and we had two guests during part of our stay as well which was very comfortable and enjoyable for all. Great beaches near by, and out of the way of the major tourist traps. Great location, and friendly people everywhere.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Boom! This is the place to stay

Review submitted: December 5, 2013   Date of arrival: April 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here mid april and had a great time. The location is great for vacationers that like to hit up different beaches. We were able to get to the French side of the island and get to the beaches very easily. For people that try to maintain an exercise regime while on vacation then once again this is the place. We worked out pretty much every am and saw only a handful of people the entire trip. The workout area has free weights and a circuit of techno gym equipment, which usually can't be found in the us. The pool has a zero drop entry which makes it easy for all ages to access. Now we aren't the type of people that like to stay at the resort during the day so we tried to use the pool after getting back from the beach or after a good workout. In regards to the accommodations we enjoyed the layout of the Savana. The rooms were nice and had extra sheets and towels available during our stay. The washer and dryer is always a nice touch while away as well. The view was Ok. You could see the back of the Blue Mall or from the patio could see the boats on the lagoon. Location is always key while traveling on vacation as we like to get to the beach early in the am. We could get to the Pinel ferry in 35-40 minutes. Cupecoy was a 5 minute walk which is great for the days we were arriving and leaving. We also liked we were close to Maho and Simpson Bay for dinners and night life. After reading a lot of reviews I've learned to take a lot of them in stride. We all have different expectations while traveling so please take this into consideration.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exemplary service and assistance

Review submitted: December 5, 2013   Date of arrival: November 11, 2013

Dear Paul,
Having just returned several hours ago from St. Maarten, and in again having had the pleasure of staying at your villa (albeit for a brief period of time) before moving on we wanted to make note of the exemplary service and assistance provided by your consummate representatives, Bill and Kathy Oliver. Notwithstanding our intimate familiarity with the island, this splendid husband and wife management team provided an informative and personal perspective that would not be available to others staying at Porto Cupecoy - - they are consummate professionals.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Boom! This is the place!

Review submitted: September 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here mid april and had a great time. The location is great for vacationers that like to hit up different beaches. We were able to get to the French side of the island and get to the beaches very easily. For people that try to maintain an exercise regime while on vacation then once again this is the place. We worked out pretty much every am and saw only a handful of people the entire trip. The workout area has free weights and a circuit of techno gym equipment, which usually can't be found in the us. The pool has a zero drop entry which makes it easy for all ages to access. Now we aren't the type of people that like to stay at the resort during the day so we tried to use the pool after getting back from the beach or after a good workout. In regards to the accommodations we enjoyed the layout of the Savana. The rooms were nice and had extra sheets and towels available during our stay. The washer and dryer is always a nice touch while away as well. The view was Ok. You could see the back of the Blue Mall or from the patio could see the boats on the lagoon. Location is always key while traveling on vacation as we like to get to the beach early in the am. We could get to the Pinel ferry in 35-40 minutes. Cupecoy was a 5 minute walk which is great for the days we were arriving and leaving. We also liked we were close to Maho and Simpson Bay for dinners and night life. After reading a lot of reviews I've learned to take a lot of them in stride. We all have different expectations while traveling so please take this into consideration.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

we had a great stay in sxm, everything was top,

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 8, 2013

Hello Paul,
Just to tell you that we had a great stay in St Maarten, everything was top!
Kathy and bill were very nice with us!
Thanks to you and to Kathy and bill.
Bye bye
Cordula

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely place at Portocupecoy

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2013

We stayed for 10 days and had a wonderful time in St. Maarten. The property is very nice, clean and well maintained. The listing description and pictures accurately describe the characteristics of the condo. The views of the marina are beautiful from the property, the balcony is big and nicely furnished. The kitchen is well stocked with high end stainless steel appliances. The owners were very helpful and responsive to our questions and it was very easy to book. Bill and Kathy (the property managers) kindly welcomed us and helped us all the way through our stay. They were both outstanding people, very professional, friendly and super helpful in every way. We really enjoyed staying at Savanna and recommend this property to anyone who wants to come to St Maarten.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your comments, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Savana. Bill & Kathy do a great job at the property and we are glad you felt welcomed. We look forward to your return stay at Savana. Kind Regards

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely well decorated condo.

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 27, 2013

This was my second stay at Savana@Porto Cupecoy. I was so impressed by my first stay that I just had to return. Peaceful, lovely spacious condo that is well decorated and safe. There is a huge pool, shops and restaurants on the compound and a beach on the other side of the road. Great value for money. This is my new place to stay whenever I visit St. Maarten.

Owners response: It was our pleasure to accommodate you at Savana and we look forward to you returning once again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

savanna

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 3, 2013

What a wonderful stay ,the villa was great and the grounds was wonderful and safe. We had a nice car with our rental. Overall a great value and we are making plans to hopefully come back in December.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Hi Ronal, we are so pleased your enjoyed your time at Savana. We look forward to hearing from you regarding your return visit. Kind Regards

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: June 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 22, 2013

Large well maintained suite and balcony. Nice area and convenient location. Reasonably priced. Would stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks again, love the place

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

Thanks again, love the place. Everything is perfect and the greeters were great making us feel welcome and secure.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

“Exceeded expectations, simply amazing"

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 14, 2013

My Wife and I have recently returned from another fantastic stay at Cupecoy. This time we stayed at the Savana which was fabulous. First of all the staff and owners where amazing. They did everything possible to make sure our trip was stress free from the moment we talked about booking the Savana till our arrival. Everything was as perfect as it gets. The weather, the food, the service (Paul thanx for all that you did), the rooms the layout of the place just simply WOW !!! we had friends over saturday that couldn't believe what we paid to have the Savana. They where all so jealous. Thankyou Amanda & Paul for giving me an awesome deal and working with me. A must stay for anyone that plans to come to saint marteen.

Owners response: Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to having you return to Savana in the near future. Kind Regards

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 13, 2012

I would like to thank Paul Samuda & Amanda Woodward for the wonderful stay in their apartment in St.Marteen on December 2012. The place is exactly like what we see on their website photo. It is brand new, very large and comfortable, with all the necessary appliances, first class decoration and a huge balcony with water views. It is located in a very nice enclosed neighborhood, with a fantastic food market, restaurants and cafes just steps from the apartment building. The location is the best, inside a beautiful marina with all the structure to give safety and comfort. Really a fantastic stay that I certainly recommend.

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind comments, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we love the location & views just as much as you do. We look forward to your return in the near future. Kind Regards

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved everything about Savana

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

Hi Paul,

We jjust wanted to let you know that we loved everything about Savana. It was so lovely, clean and spacious and enabled us to have a relaxing, enjoyable time in St. Maarten. We really enjoyed the Porto Cupecoy marina environment. The supermarket may be small but provided everything we needed for our stay and was so convenient. We enjoyed a couple of meals at Ernest & Fidel and drove into Grand Case for a fabulous dinner at La Villa. We have recommended Savana to our friends and will be writing a positive review on trip advisor.

Please feel free to use our review on your website.

Kind regards,

Linda & John

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Close to beaches and nightlife

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

We recently stayed at porto cupecoy and the condo is very nice, it is very spacious with a large balcony and good sized master bedroom. It is also very nice to be close to a grocery store if you are staying for an extended period of time. The condo is extremely close to mullet bay beach which is beautiful and low key. The biggest reason we chose the location is because of its proximity to downtown maho which has great restaurants, clubs and in my opinion the best casino on the island. The customer service was great throughout the whole transaction and was extremely easy to get checked in and checked out. The only issue we had was that the sheets did not seem to fit the bed and the bedding could use updating. We had a great stay at Savana and would definitely stay there again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind comment and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Savana. We have noted your comment on the bedding and have replaced and upgraded the bedding in both bedrooms. Appreciate your feedback. Many Thanks

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We just had a wonderful time

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 4, 2012

Hello Amanda,

We just had a wonderful time in St Maarten and specially in Porto Cupecoy. Everything was good, the flat is gorgeous... and I never find this quality of services for this price!
All we needed was in the apartment, and we didn't do all we planned because we felt like at home and didn't really feel to go out.

I will be happy to come back to this place, as Im living next Island it's easy for me.

I know I have to go back to SXM in september, so when I know exactly my dates I will send you an email, to see if your place is available.

Many Thanks again

Cécile

(Cecile from St Barths)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous condo in St Maarten

Review submitted: June 30, 2012   Date of arrival: June 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Paul's condo at the beginning of June 2012 and were highly impressed with the beauty and contemporary decor. We knew what to expect from the pictures we had seen online but even those don't do the condo full justice. The place has everything you need to relax: large rooms with smart, tasteful accents, a view of the marina, satellite TV, wi-fi, and internet. It's advisable for you to also rent a car but the location is great and the complex grounds are beautiful. There are shops on-site, restaurants, a supermarket, a pool, tennis courts, and the management organizes regular outdoor activities like concerts and movies. A very nice community! Cupecoy is close to many nice beaches but you also have a bit of a buffer from the typical clusters of hotels and resorts which makes this location a perfect escape after a long day out enjoying the island. We will look forward to visiting again and hopefully staying in Paul's condo once more.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

My Ideal Getaway Vacation

Review submitted: October 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

My experience staying at the Savana-Portocupecoy, St. Maarten was one of the best I've ever had. Starting of, my flight was uneventful so I couldn't wait to start my holiday with my beau. This was a long deserved holiday and we couldn't have picked a better place to rest, relax, have fun and explore.

My first impression when I walked into the apartment was - WOW!!! I was extremely impressed with the decor and I knew I was in for a pleasant stay. My young man and I took a tour of the apartment, jumped on the King size bed like children, opened all the cupboards in the bathroom and kitchen. Everything was placed in order and easy reach.

There were several places to relax. Whether in the bedroom looking out at the view, in the living room watching the large flat screen TV or being keeping up with my fitness routine to work out, all amenities were well thought out for easy access. Sitting We were fortunate to have access to pier at the end of our apartment complex to either just sit and relax or be more adventurous and Jet-ski, of which we chose to do both. What an experience! Watching the sunrise and sunset was by far the best part of the holiday. We had the advantage of being able to eat on the expanded balcony on a full size table which could accommodate additional guests if invited.

What I really enjoyed the most, unlike other Caribbean resorts, this location is like a best kept secret. You can tour the town and get some great "Yard" food or dine on wonderful French cuisine. All the people that I met were friendly, and accommodating, even when I got lost, they were more than willing to show me the way.

Would I recommend this location as a place to visit to my family and friends - Absolutely.

Lana S McFarlane

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Classy Stay

Review submitted: October 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

'Great size, a South Beach feel which I loved felt very comfortable. Saw a
couple of super yachts that docked in the Marina, very classy!'

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Would definitely stay at Porto Cupecoy in Savana again. Highly Recommend

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

I wanted to stick a bed on the terrace and spend my 5 days there, it’s so large and romantic. Had a great time for my first time in St Maarten. Porto Cupecoy was great and very polite staff. Need a car to get around the island just because so much to see

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Romantic Break

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2010

The first thing I noticed was the size of the place. It was described as a Mediterranean village surrounding a Marina and it is indeed that. Loved the modern feel of the apartment. Everything worked, and the views from the terrace were just as described. The concierge service was not ready when we were there we were one of the first arrivals but it didn’t matter, we shopped at the Grand Marche supermarket on site and they had everything we needed. We have booked to return at Easter. Can’t wait.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

St Maarten

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 5, 2011

Lovely apartment. Bright and airy with a lovely large balcony. Would recommend you spend the evenings with drink in hand watching the sunset- beautiful.
Great value for money as well, in fact much cheaper than staying in a hotel of equal standing.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review