reviews for: listing #90909 - Flamingo Beach, Costa Rica Apartment rental

Villa Ferlito Family-friendly and affordable!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $115 - $200 /nt
    $575 - $575 /wk
    $795 - $795 /mth

sort by:

Fun in Pura Vida Costa Rica

Review submitted: April 15, 2014   Date of arrival: January 6, 2014

3 months of pure bliss, relaxation, sun, gorgeous beaches and wonderful Villa Ferlito staff. Who would want for more? Accommodation was simple, basic but so enjoyable. The pool was so appreciated and well attended to by the staff, as were the grounds. Highlight for me, the Howler Monkeys swinging and jumping from limb to limb by the pool. Absolutely love this place and can't wait to return for another 3 or 4 months in 2015. Must also add the great proximity to the beautiful white sand of Flamingo Beach, restaurants, grocery store and bank. A great place to walk to venues, bike ride, or pure luxury...drive. Also a great jump off spot for the Cloud Forest( nightmare road, so take a tour or rent a 4x4) Arenal Volcano, Miravillas and a one day adventure tour out of Rincon National Park complete with horseback riding, zip lining, repelling, rock climbing, mineral baths and mud painting for $85. What a blast and what a bargain. All so accessible from Villa Ferlito. Enjoy, but leave room for me to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Friendly Neighbors and Staff

Review submitted: April 21, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

My fiancé and I travelled to Costa Rica for a writing retreat. We were recommended to Villa Ferlito by a local Tica working at one of the Flamingo resorts up the road. After looking at a few other neighboring properties, Villa Ferlito was a breath of fresh air!

The apartments are roomy and comfortable. There is a very large open living and dining room and two large bedrooms, both with aC units. Fresh linens are provided and the unit comes with a washer, dryer, and all the kitchen essentials. Management even provides some bathroom toiletries to get you started. A very nice touch!

The complex is large enough for introverts to sly under the radar, but small enough for extroverts to make friends at the pool or Sunday night dinner. This was perfect for us because my fiance's an introvert while I'm an extrovert. He could stay in the apartment while I mingled with the neighbors.

The people at Villa Ferlito are very friendly. There's always someone at the pool willing to chat. Management is the best. Christina and Robert are always ready to help and offer their assistance. Mario works at Reception and speaks excellent English for all the American and Canadian visitors. :) and...Monkeys roam the property at dusk and dawn, which was delightful!

The only thing I would recommend for guests of Villa Ferlito - come with a car. We didn't have one and had to walk everywhere, which was interesting and oftentimes cumbersome.

But all in all, great time there! Was able to finish my book!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fabulous value/friendly community

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 27, 2013

I spent a month at Villa Ferlito and had a fantastic time. This was my first time traveling to Costa Rica and as a middle-aged single woman so I was a bit nervous about handling everything and feeling safe. NO PROBLEM! Amy (the owner) answered all my questions, supplied me with her own "traveling tips" and made the experience a delight.
The rooms were big and clean. The kitchen was equipped with the basics. The frig was always cold- very important!!! The grocery store was @10 min walk, as was the local bank. Beaches were a bit farther but a very nice walk that I looked forward to daily. The weather could dependably be bright blue skies everyday!
Christina and Robert in reception were so helpful when I took excursions away from the Flamingo area and Bernardo was the man about the place handling any questions about the apartments. He also was very patient when I practiced my Spanish- giggling mildly at my mistakes.
The reasonable cost allowed for me to have extra money to travel around the country too- all trips were quite easily booked with guidance from fellow residents at the apartments and the staff. It was so nice to return to my "VF home" after a trip.
In the evening many residents would congregate at the pool. Very communal and friendly. We shared communal dinners a few times and it was the best place to get information about places to check out, or not!
All in all, a great experience in a great place. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A great, affordable base to explore from

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: February 24, 2013

Villa Ferlito was great for us! Clean, full kitchen, super safe, roomy, washer and dryer. Typically we like to thoroughly explore an area and all it has to offer as far as physical activities. In this Flamingo Beach area, Villa Ferlito is centrally located so that you can go check out the entire coast to the north and south in this area. We walked and biked to Playa Brasilito and Conchal; we rode bikes to Playa Flamingo; we drove north a few miles to Playa Danta and there, rented a sea kayak and paddled to five other gorgeous beaches. There is even a system of single track, mountain bike trails in that area. Even still, we were not able to visit all of the lovely beaches in the area, most of which were either deserted or had very few people on them. The sea kayaking and stand up paddling is excellant in this area. As for food, there is a great little, well stocked grocery store just down the street from Villa Ferlito, and a good local bakery across from the grocery store. Also, in case you want a break from the native cuisine, there is a very good Italian restaurant just down the street from the Villa! We had great pizza there! Finally, if you like bird and wildlife watching, every morning as I sat and drank coffee out on our patio, i was able to spot lots of parrots with my binos. Later in the afternoon, we would arrive back to the Villa from a day of exploring, and be greeted by a group of about 10 or so howler monkeys that migrate to the trees above the pool every afternoon! They put on a great show!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceptional

Review submitted: January 29, 2012   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

Our first trip to the Guanacaste Peninsula of Costa Rica was made exceptionally nice with our stay at Villa Ferlito.The quaint apts.are located between Brasilito and Playa Flamingo. The staff at Villa Ferlito was very helpful for any information and directions to local attractions and esp. local cuisine. Arrangements for any tours and taxis are easily done w/ the staff. Make sure you see Arenal Volcano! Villa Ferlito is w/in walking distance to a small store, bank and gym. We enjoyed the morning 20 min walk along the beach to Playa Flamingo for fresh juice and great coffee. The onsite pool is a plus along w/ the full kitchen and washer/dryer . Our next adventure to Costa Rica will definitely include a stay at Villa Ferlito. The locals are very cordial and friendly.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Value in Costa Rica

Review submitted: December 13, 2011   Date of arrival: December 8, 2011

Had a wonderful experience with this place. The proprietor was in touch with me from beginning to end to walk me through the reservation, give advice on what to do in Costa Rica, and address any concerns I had.
The rooms were spotless, the kitchen appliances look practically brand new, both bedrooms had AC units, the beds were very comfortable, and the employees were very friendly and eager to help in any way they could.
On foot, this place is 10 minutes away from a supermarket, 20 minutes away from one beach, and 30 minutes away from a second beach in the opposite direction. Not a lot of cars so the walks were rather pleasant. We never even made use of the pool, but it looked very nice!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Trip to Paradise

Review submitted: November 23, 2011   Date of arrival: December 10, 2010

It is with pleasure that I send a review of our visit, which was most memorable.
We had a lovely time. Seeing the howler monkeys was such a thrill.
We enjoyed having our own kitchen and found our accomodations super.
My family really enjoyed the pool, the beaches and our day trips.
We had a wonderful time and hope to visit again in the near future.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Upcoming Stay

Review submitted: November 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 1, 2011

We are staying in March of 2012 but up to this point have been so pleased with the attention and ease of reserving our place to stay. We have heard wonderful things about the property and given the way we have been treated up to this point we are absolutely sure we will have a wonderful time and want to return!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home Far Away from Home

Review submitted: November 23, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

I moved to Villas Ferlito in October 2010 and it's been my Permanent Home far away from Home for a whole year already. Times goes by so quick!
I have been working in Guanacaste for the last past 10 years and the Owner's & Staff at Villas Ferlito's have changed my life style completely.
The Howler Monkey's are on site every day hanging around the Pool and BBQ area. The fact that it is a Gated Community with Security Guards 24/7 makes you feel very safe and secure.
The atmosphere that you breath at the Gardens is just unique, they make sure that your time in the green areas capture your senses.
Within 5 minute drive you can get to most beautiful and secluded beaches in Guanacaste like Conchal, Flamingo Potrero and Sugar Beach.
Walking distance Restaurant, Supermarket, Gym and a Private School makes the permanent resident and visitors feel just like home.
If you are looking for relaxation, tranquility and safe fun; Villas Ferlito is the Place to stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pura Vida!

Review submitted: November 23, 2011   Date of arrival: February 14, 2011

Perfect place for a family; like an apartment.
Quiet and beautiful, and right in the middle of nature.
Walking distance to the beach, restaurants, and activities.
Especially a good place for younger kids and teenagers. Plenty of activities minutes away for all ages.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place to Stay in Costa Rica

Review submitted: November 23, 2011   Date of arrival: February 10, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel, two times in the last two years. I found Villa Ferlito to be a great place to stay for many reasons. The cost was very economical, the location is perfect, close to beaches, restaurants, and tourist activities. The pool is awesome and my favorite thing about the villas are the wildlife surrounding the property. I love to sit on patio and watch the monkeys, and birds in the trees, daily. Would highly recommend and will most certainly return again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Best Family Vacation So Far

Review submitted: November 23, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

Very Comfortable Villa complete with a full kitchen.
Close to several beaches.
Close to many great places to eat.
Close to nightlife facilities.
Drive to the rain forest in less than a day.
When you are tired of too much fun, relax in the awesome pool!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Location and Value in Playa Flamingo

Review submitted: November 23, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

I am returning to Villa Ferlito after three consecutive winters in Costa Rica - I consider it "home" when I am there! I find the location excellent with most amenities (several beaches, groceries, gym, banking, bars and restaurants) within easy walking distance or just a couple minutes by car. The accomodations are simple, clean and open suites that have basic furnishings, linens and kitchen needs. The grounds are tidy with a wonderful large pool with big lounge chairs and palap area that is usually quiet and always clean. The staff is friendly and helpful - always smiling and eager to make me happy. While there may be fancier places to stay, I believe that Villa Ferlito offers good value for the money for those travellers or snowbirds looking for a basic and affordable home away from home. I have always felt safe and comfortable here - it's just what I want and need! Pura Vida!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Right Choice for a Home Away from Home

Review submitted: November 23, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2010

Staying at Villa Ferlito is an apartment style Villa with all the ammenities one needs. It's tucked away from the road so it's quiet and safe. It has a large custom pool very refreshing, clean and plenty of area around it for enjoyment . As you wake in the morning you will hear the sounds of "Howler Monkeys" and "Exotic Birds" very cool ... Within walking distance to Flamingo Beach, BCR (bank),Jungle Gym and Yoga Center, supermarkets, restaurants and gift stores. I highly recommend Villa Ferlito as being the right choice to make.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review