reviews for: listing #91066 - Santa Barbara, California House rental

Charming Spanish Bungalow
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Lower Riviera
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $300 /nt
    $1,300 - $1,800 /wk
    $4,000 - $5,000 /mth

sort by:

It doesn't get any better than this..........

Review submitted: August 7, 2014   Date of arrival: July 26, 2014

Wow! I mean really wow! This home was absolutely amazing! From the moment we walked in, we knew we made the right decision. We came to Santa Barbara for our son's baseball tournament and decided to make a mini vacation out of the visit. From day one, working with Sven was outstanding. He was responsive. The energy in the home is very calm and serene. Everything was neat and clean and very inviting. We loved the backyard! My favorite room was the kitchen. The home was a perfect size for my family. The surrounding neighborhood was nice. We spent a day at the beach and a day on State Street. I also loved reading all of the comments previous guests/visitors left in the guest book!

We will definitely be returning! Like a previous review, I hate to share this little place in paradise. Pretty soon, booking this beautiful bungalow is going to be pretty difficult. Sven, thank you for opening up your lovely home to us.

Efrem, Stacey and Kyle-Kenneth!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I can't believe what a fantastic response our little house can generate sometimes, but I know what it means to have a truly relaxing place to enjoy a getaway so these comments are very much appreciated. Hopefully more families can enjoy the experience as well! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home!

Review submitted: June 30, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

My husband, our two teenage children, and my parents vacationed down the coast of California for 12 days, and this Santa Barbara home was one of our five accommodations along the way. We stayed here for only two nights, and definitely left wanting more time! It was our favorite place we stayed. The home is full of character and so beautiful. We arrived to find it meticulously clean and organized. The décor is very tasteful, interesting, and unique. The front yard is so welcoming with lots of beautiful plants, and the backyard is one of the prettiest I've seen. LOVED THE BACKYARD. It is very private, and the landscaping and lighting outside is the perfect setting for gathering/eating together with loved ones. And of course, the amazing SB climate is just icing on the cake! If you are able to pull yourself away from the house, go to Los Agaves for some delicious Mexican food...fresh + YUMMY.

Sven is super nice and a pleasure to deal with. He was available to us to answer any questions, and we also got a lot of ideas/recommendations from the guest book in the home.

We would LOVE to stay here again. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this home to anyone staying in the area. I want to move here.

Thank you Sven for opening up your home to us! It was the perfect backdrop for some very special memories!

Brad, Shayla, Jolie, Ty, Mack, and Jan :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Once again, such kind and gratifying words. So happy that another family could enjoy everything the house and the area have to offer!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Jewel of a Home

Review submitted: June 20, 2014   Date of arrival: June 13, 2014

This Bungalow was quite simply PERFECT for our family! I almost don't want to share this secret hideaway, but here goes.

We were able to have some special time with our daughter after UCSB graduation in addition to celebrating Fathers Day with a BBQ with extended family. What a great backyard for relaxation with complete privacy. Every comfort was provided from pillows, large table, plenty of chairs, BBQ and elegant lighting for a warm evening.

The interior of the home is like stepping into your own retreat. The most amazing couch the welcomes you in a large family room surrounded by huge windows providing beautiful views. The kitchen had every item at your fingertips from seasonings to beautiful serving dishes. The bathroom is spacious and sparkling clean. As for the bedrooms, the environment created is warm and welcoming with plenty of room to relax and lots of closet space.

Thank you for making your home so welcoming with all the comforts anyone could image and then some.

We hope to stay again in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow, what an amazing response! I just hope it does not create too high of expectations for our new guests but we will just have to live up to them. Thanks for all the great compliments.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable Upscale Home, Great Walkability!

Review submitted: June 2, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

This was a fantastic place to stay---comfortable and as homey as your own home might feel if you had impeccable taste and great housekeeping habits. It was perfect for two couples, with plenty of lounging space in the living room, a big island in the kitchen, and two bathrooms.

Even better, the home is in easy walking distance to all the attractions---wine tasting, great restaurants, the beach, and downtown.

We'll definitely try to book this lovely home for our next visit to Santa Barbara.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Sure would love for you and your group to return. Thank you for writing such a great review and highlighting many of the positive amenities of both the house and the area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home Revisited

Review submitted: April 10, 2014   Date of arrival: March 30, 2014

We decided to take a vacation to Santa Barbara for my son's spring break from school. I used to live in Santa Barbara, about 30 years ago, for about 10 years. So, I wanted to share that part of my life with my family. Also, I have a very dear friend living in SB who announced that she is engaged. So, I decided to rent a house so I could experience living in SB with my family for the short visit.

Staying at this bungalow was perfect. It enabled me to have my friend and fiancé over for dinner for a more intimate evening. It was very close to everything, the beach, State Street, and Milpas, which serves as a main thoroughfare for getting around, shopping for groceries, Taco Bell (a must for my son) and my fav, and La Superica-Taqueria is nearby. Since I know my way around SB and it really hasn't changed that much, this house made me feel perfectly at home. My dear friend even commented on how this house was "so me". The type of home I may have lived in, had I remained in Santa Barbara.

I loved the "lower Riviera" location. Great for strolling the neighborhood. Don't let the access from Milpas fool you, as it can be deceiving when you see the laundromat and Minimart at the foot of the neighborhood. The beauty of this location is that you can walk to downtown or ride your bike straight down Milpas to the harbor and beach area.

Sven was also very accommodating. We were lucky enough to book our rental out about 3 weeks, he responded very quickly to every question we had. We were also able to bring our dog. That is a huge plus for us because he is as much of our family as anyone.

We followed all the rules and never left the dog at the home alone, cleaned up after him and made sure that we left the place the way we found it. So, it was gratifying to receive our full refund very promptly after we checked out.

I truly hope to rent this home again when we can enjoy the patio more. It rained each night we were there, but the days were beautiful. The breezes flowing into the house were heavenly. Lots of sunshine open windows and views from the deck made for gorgeous photos!

Thx Sven and Laura!!

Owners response: What a fantastic review! Really details how much this property has to offer. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Place to Stay in Santa Barbara

Review submitted: February 26, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

My husband, myself and our three teenage daughters stayed in the lovely home in February of 2014. The home was clean, spacious, nicely decorated and had updated new appliances. The backyard was beautiful and a nice place to have breakfast on a sunny, warm morning. The location is perfect, being a few minutes from downtown Santa Barbara shopping, restaurants and the beach. I would definitely recommend this home to anyone wanting to stay in Santa Barbara!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Choice for a getaway in Santa Barbara

Review submitted: February 26, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

My husband, myself and our three daughters stayed in this wonderful home in Santa Barbara in February 2014. What a beautiful, spacious, relaxing place to stay for five people. The location is perfect being a few minutes from downtown shopping, restaurants and the beach! The home is clean, updated with new appliances and comfortable.The backyard is a great place to relax and have breakfast on a beautiful sunny morning. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone coming to the Santa Barbara area. The owner was very responsive to all our communications.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am continually humbled by the nice things our guests have to say about the property and their experience. Unfortunately, it makes me miss it myself sometimes.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best place to stay in Santa Barbara!

Review submitted: September 17, 2013   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

I and 3 lifelong girl friends rented this lovely Spanish Bungalow for 4 days to celebrate my 42nd Birthday and spend some quality girl time. We loved it so much we did not want to leave, pulled out of the drive way at 10:58am (check out is at 11:00)! This house has everything you would ever need! We cooked some fabulous meals in the lovely little kitchen and on the BBQ out in the wonderful back yard. We watched movies in the comfortable living room on the flat screen TV complete with Cable and DVD player. The two bathrooms were ideal, no problem for all of us to get ready. All the rooms are very spacious and decorated so nicely, very charming, homey and comfortable.
It was ideally located to everything we wanted to do and see, The Mission Santa Barbara, The Art Walk along the beach, shopping on State Street, the best Farmers Market I have ever been to on Saturdays... We spent our mornings lounging and cooking brunch, then our afternoons exploring beautiful Santa Barbara. Then in the evenings we would come back and relax over dinner in the backyard. I would recommend this to any one of my friends or family as THE place to stay in Santa Barbara! I can’t wait until our next trip…we will definitely be back!
Thank you so much for a great place to stay and spend time with my friends!
Victoria ?

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fun for 4 Friends!

Review submitted: September 17, 2013   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

Well….Let me just say…As I type this I am already planning my return visit. :) 1st of all, the experience of renting this location alone was incredible. The owners are so accommodating and make sure the rental process is a smooth and easy one. The house itself has EVERYTHING you would need….right down to a hand juicer we used, making fresh Margaritas! Myself, with 3 of my oldest and dearest friends thought, going up there, that we would eat out the majority of the time and maybe cook a few meals in. Infact, the opposite happened. We found the INCREDIBLE Farmers Market in town, stocked the fridge and really utilized the wonderful, open kitchen, cooking together and reminiscing over old times. We actually only went out to eat 3 times and loved the owners recommendation of Los Agaves..YUMMM! We 4 friends have known eachother since High School and before and this was the perfect meeting spot for us all to gather, relax and enjoy each others company. Oh…added bones was going home with all clean clothes in our suitcases…nice to have that washer and dryer too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: What a thorough review! Whether it be for a family, a group of friends, or a couple of couples, the house sure seems to fit the bill for anyone seeking a relaxing and comfortable home base in the Santa Barbara area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful vacation

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

We were intrigued by the photos, so we rented the Spanish Bungalow for the whole month of August. We were not disappointed. The bungalow had two good sized bedrooms, one with a king sized bed and another with a queen, a wonderful living room with a flat screen TV (there was a smaller one in the king bedroom), a sizeable kitchen with all the appliances and a neat sunroom that over looked a wonderful deck and a beautifully landscaped back yard (the front yard also was well landscaped and had a good sunning deck). A small desk in the sun room made a good place for my computer, which I connected to the internet with Wfy. The weather was perfect which I understand is not unusual. We're both in our early 80's, but our age didn't detract from the perfect house. We found some excellent suggestions as to restaurants and stores in the landlord's book and left a few ourselves. This is truly a special vacation home.
We highly recommend it for people of all ages.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: What a fantastic review! Jerry really highlighted so many of the best features of our property. We are extremely grateful for the strong recommendation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing Santa Barabara Home

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 24, 2013

Our family of 4 enjoyed everything about the home from the layout to the fantastic private backyard with awesome sunsets. We felt like we were at our home away from home and had everything we needed to enjoy our California vacation. The location is perfect for riding bikes on the bike route to State Street or enjoying many of the fun eateries on Milpas Street.

We were so impressed with the cleanliness and charm of the Spanish themed bungalow. we had so much fun and were sad to leave after our week in Santa Barbara!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: It sure sounds like they took advantage of many of the best features of the house, whether staying at home or exploring the area, just as we envisioned.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous rental

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: February 17, 2013

We had a great vacation at the bungalow. The house worked perfect for our group of 4. The living room and TV are great, the kitchen island encouraged group meal preparation, the back deck was perfect for afternoon sunbathing, and we picked oranges, lemons and limes in the yard. There was even a little extra room for an overnight guest. The location worked out very well. We could walk to State Street in about half an hour, or take the bus. I could ride my bike to the waterfront in 10-15 minutes. The "main drag", Milpas, just a few short blocks from the house, has many hispanic shops and taquerias which we really enjoyed. Altogether, a great place from which to enjoy all that Santa Barbara offers.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So many of the points mentioned in this review inspired us to list our home as vacation rental in the first place! We always realized the house was well located to take advantage of so much that Santa Barbara has to offer, whether one is interested in exploring near or far. Or to just relax and stay put.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful rental!

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 8, 2012

Myself and 2 girlfriends stayed here on a long weekend in Santa Barbara and could not have been more pleased with the property! It was absolutely charming and in a perfect location. Less than a 5 minute car ride to the best areas on State street and the beach. The property was huge and the patios were beautiful. Every detail on the home was perfect and they had everything that you could need. Best vacation rental I have ever stayed in!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Fantastic! It was for the reasons mentioned in this review that we knew our home would make a perfect vacation rental. Whether it be for a small family or a few friends, we feel like this property has so much to offer, and to be called "the best ever," well, that says a lot!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming Bungalow!

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

This house is amazing! It was the perfect space for my family and I to stay while visiting my sister that lives in Santa Barbara. Just a few minutes away from downtown State Street and easy access to the freeway.

The house itself is in wonderful condition. It was nice to be away from our home and still feel like we were at home. Great details such as soft towels, soap/shampoo/etc., comfortable beds and great common area space. The backyard is a wonderful place to relax, especially at night with the city views from the hill top.

Sven was very responsive to all of our questions prior to staying at the house and was accessible during our visit if needed. I can't wait to stay there again on our next visit to Santa Barbara!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming Bungalow!

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

This house is amazing! It was the perfect space for my family and I to stay while visiting my sister that lives in Santa Barbara. Just a few minutes away from downtown State Street and easy access to the freeway.

The house itself is in wonderful condition. It was nice to be away from our home and still feel like we were at home. Great details such as soft towels, soap/shampoo/etc., comfortable beds and great common area space.

The backyard is a wonderful place to relax, especially at night with the city views from the hill top.

Sven was very responsive to all of our questions prior to staying at the house and was accessible during our visit if needed.

I can't wait to stay there again on our next visit to Santa Barbara!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We really appreciate hearing such nice things from our guests, particularly since we have really tried to add many of the little touches that people appreciate when being away from home. And certainly having guests return to our property for future visits says it all.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We LOVED staying here!

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

My girlfriends and I wanted a getaway weekend in Santa Barbara, and we stayed at this Spanish bungalow. This place totally made our weekend! It is lovely house very close to state street and has a fabulous outdoor patio. We really loved staying here - it was spacious, clean, comfortable and cozy. The beds and couch were also very comfortable. Also, everything we needed was already provided for in the house. We just LOVED it! We will definitely try to stay at this house again the next time we come back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Really glad to hear they had such a good time in Santa Barbara and enjoyed the house so much. We have really tried to make the house as comfortable as possible.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Getaway!

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

We loved this charming Spanish Bungalow the minute we stepped foot in it! It is very well decorated and the decor feels warm and comfortable. It is a great location, just 5 minutes to Butterfly beach where our dog was able to run on the beach leash free every morning!

At the end of the day the backyard was a great place to sit and relax with a glass of wine and enjoy a bbq with our bounty from the local farmers market.

Thank you Sven for a wonderful time, w'll be back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: There can be no more gratifying words than to hear that our guests would come back and stay with us again in the future. Santa Barbara has so much to offer, it is nice to know that our property was used as we intended; somewhere comfortable to relax when not exploring the area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect, comfortable weekend getaway

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

It was on a Thursday morning that I contacted Sven to inquire about the availability of his place that weekend, and by Friday early evening, we were checking in! He was incredibly responsive and helpful. My husband and I absolutely loved this place, it's a terrific location and the place couldn't be more cozy! It's so well done on the inside (decorated in a comfortable, Spanish style) and the outside is landscaped beautifully. We loved that the master bedroom opened up onto the backyard! I would highly recommend this place and am already looking into when we can go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so glad this worked out on short notice. Just goes to show how easy the process can be when both parties are in agreement. Apparently the weather in Santa Barbara has been just great this winter so it is easy enjoy indoor/outdoor living, whether it be from the master bedroom, sunroom, front porch or back deck or backyard.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

a great experience

Review submitted: February 22, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

What a wonderful experience we had at this well appointed home, indeed a" Charming Spanish Bungalow" . We found it to be very clean and charmingly decorated. Enjoyed the back terrace and garden with cushioned chairs and benches. The location is perfect, close to town and very quiet and neighborly.
We had a very enjoyable time and hope to be back.
Thank you Sven, you were very professional and helpful.
Michelle

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So very happy that you enjoyed your week in Santa Barbara at our property. We would be excited for you to return on a future visit. Thank you for your kind words.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic home away from home!

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

I rented this darling Spanish Bungalow with a friend of mine for a long weekend in January. Upon arrival, we could not have been more pleased or immediately have felt more at home. The location is just perfect, situated in the hills above Santa Barbara, which offered gorgeous views from the outdoor patio. The bungalow is decorated to suit the architecture, with thoughtful details throughout. We did everything from sitting on the back deck for morning coffee, venturing down the hill to Sal's Pizza to enjoy a quiet night in, and even walking to town for a day of shopping and a walk on the beach. This place is wonderful for a getaway and I would highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys feeling at home while on vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Very gratifying to receive such a positive response from our guests. We have put a lot of effort into making our home as comfortable as possible and this review makes it all worth it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house!

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 4, 2012

What an awesome house. My wife and 2 daughters stayed here and loved the house. It was perfect for us. The house is in a great location, close to everything. The interior is decorated very nicely. It looks like a designers house! The house also had everything we need and then some. I have stayed in a lot of VR & AirBNB homes and this one by far had more amenities than any other... There was even a bottle of Vodka waiting for us in the freezer! Sven made staying here very easy! Will definitely stay here on our next trip back to SB.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So happy Sean and his family had a great stay. Unfortunately cannot promise a bottle of Vodka to every guest as it was likely left by the previous guests.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review