reviews for: listing #9115 - Charleston, South Carolina House rental

Carolina Waterfront Rental
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Lake Palmetto
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $165 /nt
    $850 - $1,050 /wk
    $2,300 - $2,300 /mth

sort by:

Nice but not peaceful

Review submitted: September 27, 2013   Date of arrival: September 15, 2013

This is a very nice townhouse, located very conveniently for I-26, the outlets, restaurants and 10/15 minutes from downtown Charleston. Clean, plenty of room and nicely furnished. Beds are not very comfortable. Located on small man-made lake which is full of turtles which are great fun to watch. The one problem was noise from the planes going overhead to/from the airport and base, the train whistle through the night and the traffic noise. There are numerous hotels nearby so presumably they have the same issue and it doesn't worry them so if you can tolerate the planes or are a plane spotter, this is the place for you!

Owners response: I cannot control the planes, but I do my best to keep the units clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced. I know what I like when I travel and I attempt to provide the same for my guests. That being said, it is challenging to be a long distance owner. I rely on my guests to catch anything the Property Manager or housekeeper may have missed. You are the first guest in a few years to mention the beds being uncomfortable. My units accommodate a lot of guests and I expect to replace things, so it would have been nice to have been notified off-line about the mattresses being uncomfortable, since I didn't know. Now that I know, I will have them replaced. Thanks for the review. Gretchen

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great Place

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

Clean condo, great location near airport and outlet mall. Very convenient and very well maintained. This place is great if you are spending a weekend in a great city!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family getaway

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

Our children are grown and for the last two years we have provided a short vacation after Christmas as a gift for all of us. We chose Charleston this year. This condo was chosen because of the location and price. We found the condo enjoyable with enough room for 6 adults and a little one. The location worked well as downtown Charleston was minutes away and with I-26 and I-526 located very close we could quickly get to Boone's Hall Plantation, Patriots Point, and other points that interested us. The condo was clean and adequately appointed. We had one major issue, the air conditioning did not work the first night. The next day after a quick phone call the problem was resolved. After that we had a wonderful vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

wedding trip

Review submitted: March 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 7, 2013

It fit our family's needs perfectly. The condo was very spacious and had a nice view of the water. And it was just quick car ride from downtown Charleston and and maybe 5 minutes from the outlet mall. The only downside was you could hear a lot of street noise if you were out on one of the two decks and the lack of soap in the showers.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Charleston location

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: October 16, 2012

This was a perfect spot for a visit to Charleston. We were less than 10 minutes from town and had the outlets within minutes not to mention many food spots. The condo was great with 3 bedrooms each having own bathroom and the kitchen was totally functional. The deck on lake was fun with turtle peaking out of lake near dock.

Loved the place.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We had a great time

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

We were meeting up in Charleston for a family reunion. The place worked out great for us because everyone had there own room and bathroom. We had 3 kids there so it was nice that there were tvs in the bedrooms to give the kids something to do while the adults talked. It did get very loud downstairs with the echo because there are no rugs and its all tile. The beds were a little on the getto side in the fact that they seemed a bit old and there was a plastic mattress cover on which crunched every time you moved. I was able to so some baking while I was there. We actually had a lasagna dinner and we had everything we needed to cook. The kids had a good time feeding the fish and turtles out back. At one point it looked like every single turtle in the pond was swimming towards us to get a bite. We counted over 20. We loved it that the Tanger Outlets we right down the road. We definitely did some damage there. :) We had a great time though and I would recommend it.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great weekend

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

We did a couples get away to North Charleston with a few friends. The experience was great for what we were looking for. We wanted to be able to have common area to hang out and talk and hotels really do not offer that. We took in a show had some great meals. There was a shopping center a block away with a great burger place and a starbucks. The house was right off the interstate so extremely convienent. Other people had commented on the quarry and industrial area. I was very surprised we exited off the freeway took a left at the first light it was less than 100 yards to the unit. There was no industrial area to drive through unless you were lost. Walked to Starbucks in the morning, did a little fishing (didnt catch anything but it was probably the fishermen not the fish). I will say for our purposes the house worked great, It was for us money well spent over a hotel. We did encounter some small issues I will not mention here because the owner immediately rectified so I think that speaks volumes about how the program works. This was our first VRBO trip. But we will use VRBO again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

ok stay

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

The accommodations were adequate for a few days of touring. The area is extremely convenient to the convention center and it's easy to get into and out of downtown Charleston from there. However, it is on the edge of a fairly busy industrial complex, so road and work noise was noticeable.
The place is relatively spacious and it is apparent that the owner is in the process of fixing it up. The kitchen is decently appointed for very simple cooking, but lacks things like measuring cups and cutting boards. The biggest disappointment with trying to cook was that the oven was simply disgusting. It looked like it had never been cleaned and made one question the cleanliness of the rest of the house. The three bedrooms each have an ensuite bath and the upper room is spacious enough to put an inflatable mattress on the floor for extra guests (one was provided). The individual in the inflatable may be the most comfortable as the beds were simply horrid. The mattress on the upper bed was well worn and one bed on the second floor just had a couple of foam blocks instead of a mattress.
All in all, it was suitable for Spartan accommodations and could be a great value if the upgrading continues.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

vacation rental 150623

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the condo it was roomy and beautiful there. The view from the back porch was beautiful. We enjoyed it so much we are coming back next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

not happy with stay at this location

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 3, 2012

Having to go through a industrial estate to the house was not a good start. Once inside the house was very pleasing to the eye,nice rooms very spaceious and bright , but the dishwater was not attached and had a tenddancy to fall forward or even fall out to floor, the audio system (video/dvd) did not work and could not watch any of the films left there and the double glass doors on the first floor leaked when it rained. This was not good but easy to get by but we were not told that the location was on a dug out quarry and work on the quarry still going on, so all day we could here trucks back and forth also the it seemed that we where on the end of a runway with not only civilaltion aircraft but milatry as well they flew very low and frequent, for the first few days they would only fly by day but on our fourth day they where flying at night and to top that we had the train which would sound last thing at night and first thing (6am) in morning, one or twice it went a few times through the night. Also it was not that close to any tourist attraction i.e town or beach. We did not feel that we giving a fair description / location of this holiday let it was nether quiet or relaxing and had to travel away from to the town for restaurant as there was nothing close by. Luckily we where there only there for four days and nights. We would not return and would not recommend this property / site to a friend.

Owners response: It is clearly stated that the rental is not within walking distance of the historic district and is 15 minutes away by car. The rental is in a great location and is in good company with Marriott, Hilton, Embassy suites and Crowne Plaza hotels which all surround the unit (They charge the same or more for one room when I offer a whole house). Tanger's outlet, Walmart, Sam's club, restaurants and movie theater less than a mile away. I26 and 526 two blocks away. There was a leak when it rained which has since been fixed and the bolt replaced in the dishwasher. There is now a brand new IPOD docking station CD player as well as brand new blue ray player in the living room.

The airport and Air Force are close by and you will hear planes. There is a rock quarry (visible in pictures). I spent a week there June 2012 and only heard trucks when they were backing up.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Charleston Townhouse

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

This townhouse was the perfect size for our 3 families! It was close to my brothers house, who was getting married. Loved how close it was to the outlet and walmart! Nice and close to all the interstates too! We really enjoyed the deck and fishing!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

a weekend in Charleston

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

We found this rental to be extremely roomy and comfortable. The location was close to everything we were interested in doing, and it was relaxing to sit on the deck and watch the turtles. We would be interested in renting it again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great location to visit Charlston

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

Great townhouse with a wonderful view over a little lake. Distance to Charlston-Downtown was, as described, 15 minutes. Perfect place to stay for families with kids who want to visit the beautiful city of Charlston but don't want to spend to much money for a hotel/appartement. Townhouse was very clean, well-maintained and had everything for a great weekend at Charlston. Reservation procedure was quick and easy and people to be in touch with were very very friendly. We would highly recommend this place and will come back when visiting Charlston again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

nice place

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 8, 2011

me and some friends had a nice time in charleston. the carolina waterfront townhome was close to every where you would want to go. it was kept very clean and we had no problem checking in or checking out.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Vacation Rental

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 10, 2010

I highly recommend this rental. My family and I stayed here (8 of us) when my daughter got married in Charleston. It was perfect! Very clean and well maintained, and convenient to everywhere we wanted to go. It was exactly as described. Both owner and property manager were extremely friendly and helpful as I had never rented such a place before. We had family fly in (rental only 3 miles from airport) and family that trained in (only 2 miles from train station). We were only 20 minutes from Charleston, and only 5 minutes from outlet mall, Walmart, and Sam's club. We will definitely go back to this rental when we visit Charleston again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Great deal!

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2010

Our family rented the house for a weekend and were very happy! Verg (the property manager) could not have been nicer and more accommodating! Beds slept well and everything was very clean. Location is good, just give yourself approx. 15 minutes to get just about everywhere most Charleston travelers go.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Not what we expcted

Review submitted: May 4, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

The online pictures do not show the gravel quarry (or some enterprise like that) operation that is also in view from the living room sliding doors. There was no outdoor furniture, as pictured above, which actually wasn't such an inconvenience, as the small deck and dock are falling apart and didn't appear to be safe.

The condo was, by and large, quite clean and neat with a well equipped kitchen. The exception to the cleanliness would be dust in which we could write our names on the TVS and coffee table in the living room. I'd suggest replacing the carpets, in particular on the stairs, which are very stained.

I'd also suggest having laundry detergent in the condo so that the requested load of towels can be started in the washer before check out and that the mattresses be replaced.

Two of the 3 beds have springs that squeak loudly enough to disturb what little sleep we had in between the noise and shaking of the house caused by the airplanes. While the fact that the condo is in a flight path is disclosed on the website, we didn't expect to feel as though we were on the tarmac.

The tourist information/booklets available are all very dated..some as old as 2001. Some current information would have been helpful.

We called the property manager, as requested, upon arrival and one other time to locate towels. Both times he was friendly, accommodating and very willing to help. Unfortunately, the problems we found were not things he could address during our short stay, so we didn't contact him regarding our dissatisfaction.

I can't recommend this property to anyone.

Owners response: I have gotten such good reviews and repeat guests, that I am surprised by this review. Just before this renter checked in, the walls were painted and paneling placed (to protect the walls from being hit with suitcases), thus the dust. The carpet on the stairs has also been replaced. The deck needs to be stained (just did so two years ago), but needs it again already. I will replace the mattresses. I can't do anything about being in the flight path and who provides detergent?

Helpful votes: 6 / 9

 

Good Location for Touring Charleston

Review submitted: October 26, 2009   Date of arrival: October 9, 2009

We flew into North Charleston and only had a short distance to travel to the townhouse. This was nice and as other reviewers noted, there is shopping close by for kitchen necessities. It's a quick on and off the highway to Charleston. The lake is scenic and the turtles really do come to you. We had a great vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A great visit

Review submitted: July 15, 2009   Date of arrival: June 25, 2009

The property was described very well. It is beautiful and it was convenient to everything. It was clean and well maintained and the property manager was very nice and accommodating. We would recommend this property to our friends.
The Walmart is close and there are quite a few fast food restaurants close.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Location

Review submitted: January 19, 2009   Date of arrival: December 26, 2008

Eight of us from San Diego spent 3 days here recently and did some sight seeing in the area. The condo is in a great location. It was very clean and roomy enough for all 8 us to gather round the tv to watch a Charger football game. The view from the deck is lovely...what a great sunrise. The condo is only about 10-15 minutes to downtown and also to Patriot's Point in Mt. Pleasant. We were also very close to the site of the Civil War submarine - the Hunley, which we enjoyed. We also found an excellent restaurant on Rutledge Avenue - The Hominy Grill. We really enjoyed our stay. It was our first experience in renting a house, but we would certainly do so again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Charleston stay

Review submitted: June 26, 2008   Date of arrival: June 14, 2008

We spent a week here with friends and we loved it! The condo is very "kid friendly" and has plenty of room for everyone. The owner did a good job of working with us when we needed some repairs. There are some outlets nearby as well as a Wal-Mart. It was only a short distance from downtown Charleston and a 20 minute trip to Folley Beach County Park. We also went to the waterpark at James Island County Park and it was awesome! There is a great restaurant in Mount Pleasant called "The Wreck of Richard and Sheila". I highly recommend it if you can find it! So, as you can see, we had a great time!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Nature & City Come Together

Review submitted: April 12, 2008   Date of arrival: January 15, 2008

This location is excellent to acess 2 major freeways, a large shopping complex, and the colliseum for major events. Yet the townhouse is on a lake with geese, nesting ospreys, and a variety or many other birds. Therefore one has the best of two worlds here. We very much enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review