reviews for: listing #91203 - Asheville, North Carolina House rental

10,000SF-15-Bedroom Country House in Beautiful Mtn Town near
  • bedrooms  15
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  15
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  30
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,995 - $4,595 /wk

sort by:

Fantastic Family Reunion!!!

Review submitted: January 9, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

Thank you Bob and Lisa for a great week at the historic Nu Wray Inn! We had thirty family members for a Christmas family reunion. The inn is located right in the heart of downtown Burnsville. There are cute little shops and restaurants within walking distance.

The house was perfect in every way for our family and we loved having it all to ourselves. There were plenty of bedrooms so we could each have our own space. The rooms are nicely decorated with comfortable beds. There were several bedrooms on the main floor so my 94 year old mother-in-law didn't have to climb stairs.

We loved the dining room with enough seating so we could all eat together. When we weren't eating in the dining room we used it as a game room and had several games going on at the same time. The commercial kitchen was large enough to have plenty of cooks in the kitchen at the same time with a huge refrigerator and freezer. We had a fire going the entire time in the living room and loved hanging out there too...a great place to read or have a quiet conversation.

Bob and Lisa were very helpful in answering our many questions before our arrival. Bob was waiting to welcome us when we arrived to give us a tour of the house and instructions on how things worked. All in all I would highly recommend the Nu Wray Inn. It was perfect for our family get together.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Rat Pack Themed Autum Wedding Weekend

Review submitted: November 7, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

Where to start....Bob and Lisa made us feel very comfortable with the process in planning our wedding and using a facility that was otherwise foreign to us. As with any bride, we have a vision of what our special day is to look like. Without having the space readily at hand, I felt that the planning preparation would be tricky with some aspects, which meant leaving some design elements to the day of the wedding. However, they graciously allowed us plenty of opportunities prior to the wedding to take as many pictures of the inn so we had a good idea of what could be done in terms of setting the stage. Upon check in, they made us feel at ease with kick starting the weekend celetration, which included the ktichen operation, fireplace preparation, and use of facilities, and made us feel as if it were our home.

The pictures online are great to view, but they do not do the inn justice...that's how impressed we were with each visit prior to the wedding and even more so upon check in. It was already beautifully decorated, which left us with only contending with the main reception area (dinning room and our cocktail room) to do as we planned. The inn was a picture perfect place for our themed wedding from the lighting (dimmers) down to the decor. With the satelite radio and sound system available, Dean Martin and Frank Sinatra could be heard throughout the main level.

Just to name a few of our favorite things: the grand fireplace made an awesome backdrop for our wedding ceremony, which also proved to be a favorite social gathering spot, which was very cozy with the fire roaring. The 2nd floor sitting area was another favored social area. The inn's location on the town square is the perfect hub for taking a stroll to pass time, catch a quick delicious bite to eat, or shop for something eclectic. My favorite shopping spot by far is Menagerie Merchantile, a great place to buy something old or something new.

We received nothing but compliments on a place well chosen for such an event. Everyone was very pleased with their room accommodations and remarked how beautiful the inn was. We would highly recommend the Nu Wray to anyone looking for a place to relax and enjoy their surroundings.

Thanks to Bob and Lisa for such a wonderful, lasting memory!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Family Reunion Ever

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 22, 2013

The spacious and cozy front porch of the NuWray Inn served as a gathering place as our large extended family spent a week together. From there, everyone strolled through the Burnsville village area, visited the numerous interesting shops, played on the beautiful Town Square, and explored the area. Our family likes to cook together, so the huge kitchen was great fun. Eating together is also important to us, so the large dining room seated all of us and made meals even more special than usual. All the bedrooms were well-appointed and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay at the NuWray very much. We're still talking about the luxury of having a huge porch with rocking chairs for everyone!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect wedding weekend!

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

We had a fantastic time at Nu Wray for our wedding! Bob and Lisa were very helpful and responsive to our questions leading up to the event, and our friends and family were blown away by the Inn and surroundings. My mom said she never had more fun at a wedding. My friend who officiated the wedding remarked how special it was that most of the crowd came to the Inn as strangers and left as friends after the few days we are able to spend together.

The time passed way too quickly. Loved the mountains and the rustic feel of the area. If only we could find a way to repeat the event every few years!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful gathering location!

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

My fiance and I rented the Nu Wray for our wedding - the Inn is the perfect set up for everyone to have their own space and the grounds were great for the outdoor wedding and for the kids to run around and play in. We especially enjoyed the massive kitchen, which was key in preparing food army-style for so many people. It was also great that the Inn is conveniently located around many top area attractions and outdoor adventures. Bob and Lisa were great to work with and we'd definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Labor Day weekend wedding

Review submitted: February 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

My husband and I got married at the Nu Wray Labor Day weekend 212. It was the perfect location to host such a memorable occasion! All of our family from out of town were able to stay together all weekend and explore our home towns! The house itself is exquisit with pleanty of space and beautiful grounds! We couldn't have been more pleased with our choice!! We even hope to plan family reuniouns in the future since everyone enjoyed it so much!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thank you Bob and Lisa!

Review submitted: November 1, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

Our company used the facility for a weekend. We had an awesome time. So much to do in the surrounding area and the Inn was perfect for our stay. Thank you.... hopefully we can do it again next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Recent Company Business Development Meeting

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 30, 2012

Bob and Lisa,
Your home was perfect for our company meeting and I can pretty much guarantee that we will be calling you again in the future. You had several rooms which worked perfectly for our break-out sessions and the large industrial sized kitchen was just what we needed for feeding our large group. This beat staying at a hotel any day. Other than the amazing beauty of the house and grounds, the cleanliness was top notch. We had a fantastic time!

Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

AMAZING!!!!

Review submitted: September 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

WE could not have imagined a better experience. From the moment we entered Bob made us feel right at home. Our group of 25 traveled from Chapel Hill/Durham and we found ourselves in paradise. This beautiful house was able to easily accomodate each of us. Originally we were thinking about renting hotel rooms but quickly realized this quaint house suited our needs. The space allows for everyone to gather for meals and "hanging" out as well as retreat into your own quiet space. We will surely return to the Nu Wray Inn as it is BY FAR one of our best traveling experiences. THANK you Bob and Lisa :))

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Gathering for Parents 80th Birthdays!

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 4, 2012

WOW!!! We had the most fabulous stay at the Nu Wray Inn last week, celebrating my parents 80th birthdays, with family in from all over the country! The Inn was even nicer than we expected -- and the owners very personal and accommodating -- and very proud of their "home", which showed in every room and every detail. The Nu Wray was perfectly located, right on the town square, so we enjoyed all the 4th of July activity and being able to get to the town activities as well as hiking, biking and rafting easily. We will surely be back again....thank you Bob and Lisa!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Return visit was exceptional!

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 29, 2011

Recently, my family and I were in town for a nearby wedding and we stayed at the NuWray. We loved our rooms - fabulously comfortable beds, beautiful antiques, spacious baths - and were so welcomed by the owners. I last visited in the mid-1960s and it was wonderful to have this return visit confirm that the NuWray is one of the best in the country. Don't miss it!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You!

Review submitted: April 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 23, 2011

Bob and Lisa,

I just want to say again how much we enjoyed our stay this past weekend. You have done a remarkable job updating the while maintaining the character and history. Our room was lovely. The whole weekend was truly a trip down memory lane for me and a great getaway for relaxation and exploring the area. I look forward to returning to Burnsville again and staying at The NuWray!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Nice Place to Stay

Review submitted: April 29, 2012   Date of arrival: September 5, 2011

History is every where you turn in this house. Bob shares all his knowledge about the area and fun things to do. The house is very tastefully decorated and so comfortable. There are many extra touches that make you feel so welcome. We can't wait to stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Delightful

Review submitted: April 29, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

A pleasant surprise in northwest North Carolina mountains. A quaint town square with shops and eateries within walking distance of this historic property.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic!

Review submitted: April 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 2, 2011

We had such a great time at the Nu Wray. The rooms were awesome, and this was the first cold weekend of the year, so we were nervous about the draftiness of such an old house. We were completely wrong, it was toasty warm with a fire going 24/7. It is right in the middle of the town so there are tons of things to do and see within walking distance and parking wasn't an issue whatsoever. Highly recommended to anyone no matter what season of the year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

One of our favorites!

Review submitted: April 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 31, 2011

My wife and I had one of the best experiences of our lives at the Nu Wray.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We absolutely loved the place!

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: August 2, 2011

We absolutely loved the place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review