reviews for: listing #91280 - Hood Canal, Washington House rental

Hood Canal Waterfront Retreat
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Hoodsport
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $133 - $200 /nt
    $750 - $1,000 /wk
    $1,500 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Valentine's Day Weekend Guests

Review submitted: March 18, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed or stay. It was wonderful to relax the weekend away with my sisters in such a beautiful setting. Thank you for sharing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Weekend Get Away

Review submitted: February 3, 2014   Date of arrival: January 11, 2014

Perfect location, hiking, Scuba diving, wine tasting, and Bees knees!
The house had everything you could want--marine wildlife, free internet, TV, comfortable furniture, nice beds, lots of towels.
The only thing we had trouble with was getting the gas fireplace to start, we tried following the directions.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic place to stay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

Over Thanksgiving I stayed here with my family. We had a great time. I had a WONDERFUL time. The owner was very accomodating. I have rented vacation rentals before and this house was the best appointed ever. She has everything in there. It was extremely clean. My bed in particular was extremely comfortable & got some good sleep. We just had to bring food and our clothing.
Saw seals right out front in water & a salmon hung out just below the bulkhead. Fell in love with Hoodsport and this house. Wish it was mine!
I DEFINITELY plan to go back and spend some time at this house. I was so relaxed there and hope to stay there in Spring or Summer - sit out in lawnchair, overlooking the water & just relax with good book.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Month! Wonderful Place!

Review submitted: November 27, 2013   Date of arrival: October 14, 2013

My furry friend and I spent a wonderful, relaxing month at this great rental on Hood Canal. Everything from the initial contact went smoothly. The home is even nicer than the pictures, unbelievable view. I loved watching the salmon harvest right outside my front door. The owners are very personable and helpful, provided a wealth of information on the region. Shellfish and fresh fish everywhere you turn. I'm planning to come back next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Waterfront Retreat

Review submitted: September 19, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2013

This place is great! Nice downstairs bedroom plus 2 big upstairs bedrooms. Everything worked nicely and Ruth is right next door if there were a problem. Friendly neighborhood and a rinsing and hanging area by the house if you are divers. This is CLOSE to Sund Rock, our favorite dive place and also to Octopus Hole. Looking off the front deck area into the water you can see the crabs and fish. Wide concrete stairs into the water. We have a new favorite Hoodsport hangout! This was summer and the surface water temp was in the 60's. Kids would have loved it. We need to take the grandkids out there. Thanks again, Ruth, for your hospitality.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Weekend Retreat

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

We enjoyed our weekend away. This was a perfect get away for our business retreat. The views are incredible and being right on the water made the weekend relaxing. Hoodsport is a wonderful little town. They have opened a wine tasting room and a new distillery right in town for those who like spirits.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed the house and water experience. Yes, Hoodsport is a wonderful little town. So convenient to our home location.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Dear guestbook

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

We had a pleasant stay. We are 6 people and would all like to share about our stay. I am the German of the group, my major positive experience as the place being lit up at night. I am the Persian-Canadian in the group and I loved taking the boat out for a stroll on the water---magnifico! I am the french girl in the group, I really enjoyed our stay. It is a nice area with the Olympic national park a few miles away. I am the French guy in the group. I enjoyed the super nice weather. It was perfect for barbecuing, beer and chilling out. I am the French Canadian girl in the group. I really enjoyed being by the water, the hot weather, the boat rides and the BBQ diners. Also, it was awesome cliff jumping at the lake. I am the last French of the group. I had a great time here in your cottage. The landscape is great, your neighbors are awesome, and the weather was perfect. Thanks to this journey I could sail a Row Boat for the very first time and experience the Moon shining magic across the water. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

July 2013

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our one month stay. This is truly a calm, serene atmosphere. We caught enough crabs to last us a year. We also had great weather-especially for this time of year. A great experience for us!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Comfort & Convenience

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: May 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here with another couple and their two children (age 12 & 17) in mid-May 2013. This was our first stay, and it couldn't have been better! The house was immaculate and well furnished with all of the comforts of home. We utilized the mooring buoy which was very handy for coming and going via the water. There is ample parking for two large vehicles, or one vehicle and a boat trailer, although turning radius is a bit tight on the frontage road. The owner was very courteous and accommodating, allowing us to use various items for beach combing off the back patio (only during low tides). Speaking of which, you truly are waterfront so the views are phenomenal. The water side of the main floor is wall-to-wall windows so even if the weather is gloomy, you can still take in the panoramic scenery from inside. My only complaint was the fact that we had to check out and return to reality. We certainly hope to stay here again!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review. We try our best to make our guests welcome and satisfied.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

A wonderful and unique experience...

Review submitted: June 2, 2013   Date of arrival: May 27, 2013

My sister and I, from Houston, TX, got to stay here for a couple of days while exploring the Olympic Penninsula. I had no idea what to expect. But then we came through the front door of this very special place and were impressed from that moment on. The house itself with its open floor plan has a large kitchen with lots of counter space, and it's open to a large of very comfortable living room. Ruth has all sorts of games and puzzles and even a few movies set up there for playing at the table or watching from the living room.

And then there's the water, which we could see from the living room and the great windows all along the it, or walk out the back door to be as close as possible to it. My sister called it a "finger of the ocean," and we were mesmerized by it. Our host, Ruth, who lives next door and met us with a warm greeting, explained that there is as much as 15 feet difference between high and low tides. And so, with the changes brought about by the tides, and those brought about by a bit soft rain mixed in with "sun breaks," along with still and windy air, it made for a dynamic scene over the time that we were there - just beautiful to watch the water by. Plus, this city girl got to spot a seal (or seals) - on three separate occasions, a real thrill for me. And although we didn't happen to see them, we heard from several people that eagles and other wildlife can also be seen.

Finally, we really appreciated that there was a little yard out the back door that we could have for our dogs, and the long shared driveway made for a safe, nice walk that we could take them on.

A unique experience that will make a wonderful memory for us and our cross country trip. We highly recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much. I appreciate your comments.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great view, right on the water!

Review submitted: January 19, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

We had such a great time at this property for New Year. There were 5 of us including two adults and three kids. Plenty of rooms for everyone inside of house. The house was clean and everything was there for us. Weather was nice during our stay so I went crabbing from fishing kayak I brought and caught some dungeness crabs. Also good fishing there too. Went to Hama Hama Oyster Farm and bought some fresh oysters and those were so good. We end of going back there next day and bought some more to bring back home. Be sure to stop by when you are in that area, you won't regret. We will come back for sure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful oasis

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: November 4, 2012

I was planning a 3 day vacation for my 87 yr old mother and I when I found this place on the internet. My very first experience was with the owner who alone is a great selling point to rent this place. What a great anc considerate hostess Ruth was, She was helpful and even greated my mother and I with a local bottle of wine. Her place is homey, clean and the view is to die for. ..
We had hours of entertainment with the local wildlife, and we loved the local shops in hoodsport. I look forward to returning and highly recommend this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We welcomed the autumn rains at a awesome location

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

Three couples had a comfortable stay in this cozy waterfront home. We shopped at the local IGA, found an excellent collectible shop and nearby winery. Took a ride up to Hama Hama for fresh crab and oysters. Even though there were torrential downpours at times, it was a joy to spend the weekend at this snug, homey vacation home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing family retreat - beautiful place!

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

Beautiful peaceful place. We came for a family retreat and everyone enjoyed every minute there. We brought own grill, but there is a gas grill there. We rented an aluminium row boat from the owners and had a great time enjoing boating and fishing. House has everything for cooking: plates, dishes, plates, pots, skillets, spices, oil. We'll be back next summer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relax

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our time. Very clean. Owners very accommodating and friendly. Will absolutely visit again. A needed relaxing stay that recharged our batteries. Highly recommended!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

So very relaxing!

Review submitted: July 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

Stayed here after son's commissioning at Fort Lewis, and it was a perfect location to relax and enjoy family time. Plenty in area to do if you choose, but also perfect place to do nothing and unwind. Absolutely beautiful area!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice place to fish out your back door

Review submitted: July 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Nice place with comfy beds. Hard to cook without the smoke alarm going off. We would go back again but next time we would try to arrange an agreement with the owner to use one of her two little aluminum boats so we could go into the canal for better fishing. Didn't catch anything but little fish from the backyard.
Hiked the Malmut falls which was short and beautiful.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing weekend!

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

What a great place! My entire family had such a great time! Ruth was incredible to work with, answered every question quickly, she was a gem. Both of my kids (16 and 11) loved the house so much with it's eclectic charm and spent as much time as possible sitting on the steps watching the water. There was even homework done while on vacation :-) They both asked if we could just move there. Cannot wait to come back in September. Thank you for sharing!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am always pleased when guests enjoy the house and love the location as much as we do. Hood Canal is a special place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely place, right on the water

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

This is a lovely cabin, very clean and comfortable, well appointed and well cared for. Hood Canal is right outside the door, so it feels like being on a houseboat, but without the rocking and rolling. Highway 101 is behind the house, but we never heard much noise from it. People with toddlers should keep an eye on them on the Canal side of the property where there is a precipitous drop. There is a railing, but a small child could slip through. Accessibility is good, which was important as one of our party had a broken ankle.

You'll have to drive elsewhere to get in some hiking or walking, as the house is located on a private road that doesn't connect to areas to the north or south, but the view from the living room and patio is amazing and restful. We would gladly stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved it

Review submitted: April 6, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

This place was perfect for our adventure. Clean, comfortable, affordable and just all out a great place to stay. The owners were very nice. I would definately stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for submitting a review for Hood Canal Waterfront Retreat. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time at the house.

Review submitted: December 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2011

Thank you so much. We want to come back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You

Review submitted: December 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

Everything was great and we enjoyed the place. Thank you for allowing us to use your wonderful place.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review