reviews for: listing #91367 - Ohiopyle, Pennsylvania House rental

Nelson Manor - PRIVATE - 38 ACRES - MINS FROM OHIOPYLE
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $235 - $295 /nt
    $1,600 - $1,750 /wk

sort by:

2nd time visitor and UNHAPPY

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

We arrived at the same house we stayed at last year with a group of 13 young adults. Our stay at the house this time around was horrible. Numerous things were broken in the house including the upstairs shower, upstairs toilet, sofa bed in the living room, the stove only had one burner that worked, the downstairs shower was shared between 13 people and worked intermintantly. I was VERY UNHAPPY with our stay at this house and I am seeking our money back. One of the owners replied to me stating that he would be out the first night to fix the things we saw and I waited 2 hours for him, when he said he would be out in 1 hour, and he never showed nor called me to say he wasn't coming. Following that, neither owner returned my call the entire weekend or stopped at the house. NOT HAPPY AT ALL and WON'T BE RETURNING. I don't reccomend this house to anyone.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Have to Agree with Girlfriends Post

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

The house is in a great location for visiting Fallingwater, Kentuck Knob, Caverns, Winery, and the Fort.

While the place has a gorgeous living room and kitchen, and alot of work has obviously been done to the place - some things could just not be overlooked.
- We had 7 adults and 4 children; this place does not sleep 14 - the main floor bedroom has a queen bed which was comfy and really nicely laid out; it also remained cool in the evening since this place does NOT have air conditioning.
- there are 2 bedrooms upstairs - each with a double bed (one room also has a twin with trundle); window air conditioners - one worked but the bugs came in around the opening and the other one wasn't supplied with an extension cord
- the rest are sleeper sofas - 1 in the living room was broken (literally unsleeepable even for kids since the end feet don't hold it up unless you want to sleep at a 45 degree angle); 1 in the sunroom on the main level which was very dirty mattress; and 1 in the smelly dank basement that still had water glistening off the floors most likely due to the heavy rains the previous week.
- we did not have issues with the stovetop, kitchen items, or tvs and were away all day so in worked out but would not stay here again unless its been upgraded. Agree that the water needs a water softener to rid it of the rotten egg/sulfur smell - my city kids wouldn't even eat off the plates because they couldn't get passed the smell; the adults were aware of country well water and could understand but still drank only from water bottles.

Didn't use the hot tub so can't judge that. Did have to watch where we stepped on the grounds and around the house - looks like neighborhood teens use the site for drinking and bottles were broken in various location; not ideal for small children.

Lots of potential, great location, but not worth the price and wouldn't stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Great Family Weekend

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

We had 4 adults and 10 Children (ages 15-22) and booked this for a family get together. Weather was perfect all weekend. Home is located close to all the major attractions in area. Ohiopyle, Falling Water, Nemacolin, Fort Necessity, Deep Creek, etc. Almost too much to choose from. Home is well maintained and was very clean when we arrived. Recommend that you bring your own pool tools if you plan on going on water activities at Ohiopyle/Deep Creek. We didn't want to take the home's towels with us and risk losing so we were glad we brought them. TV's were great. Kids loved the great room and used it for game nights. Of course hot tub was a hit and the kids all loved the fire pit area for late night fire (plenty of places to buy wood if you don't bring any). Adults loved hanging outside for happy hour - very peaceful. The bar area in basement was very neat place to hang out and got us out of the heat. The house was exactly as described and well furnished. We loved that it was secluded so that when the adults left to go out at night we didn't feel like kids were in any danger.

Process to rent was very easy and hassle free. Great communication from all people on rental side to questions, etc.

I would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking for a great base of operations in the area and we look forward to coming back some day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Weekend getaway for young adults

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

We had an awesome weekend here! We had a group of 13 people between 23-27. This house was perfect for us! The amenities were great and we had no issues at all. We were maybe 10 mins from the parks and white water rafting. We would definitely return for another trip and might do so in August! :) The owners came down and met us and were very nice and made sure we had everything we needed :) Would definitely recommend this house to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Great weekend

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

My weekend stay at Nelson Manner was fantastic. Although it was only a friend and I using the home as a base of operations for activities in Ohiopyle, which is only 5-10 minutes away, the home could have easily supported a large family or even multiple families. The home is situated on a large tract of land that can be used for a number of different purposes, and the amenities in the home are equally nice. If you are looking to get away from civilization, but don't want to sacrifice the comfort of home, this is the perfect rental property. Ownership was very cooperative and helpful and there are a number of shops and places to resupply just a few miles away. One warning, my friend and I had different cell service providers, but neither of us got reception (which we didn't mind). You can regain reception just by driving or walking a mile down the road though, however. I would definitely stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The "girlfriends" Manor

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

We came for our annual girlfriends weekend! Six of us who went to college and have know each other for 40 years! This place - from the description - looked like the perfect place for us to kick back and relax!
This property has a lot of potential. It desperately needs a good spring cleaning of the grounds and the house. The stove did not work and the repairman did not have the part. He did get the microwave working. We fixed our pizza in a fry pan! The dishwasher had dirty food crude plates! Saturday am, we couldn't make toast as the toaster didn't work! The hot tub cover had been broken by previous renters so a tarp was used as a cover. The step into the hot top is rotting and broke - very unsafe and a potential liability. The basement rec room is very damp and smelly. There is only one wastbasket in the entire house - located in the kitchen. We were asked to leave our trash in the cans located by the garage - no cans! Patio furniture would be nice to sit outside and have a glass of wine and chat.

The furnishings are very nice - leather couches, big screen tv, other tvs, well equipped kitchen, bedrooms with nice bedding.

We maintaned our sense of humor but all the little things started adding up and became annoying. I have been renting vacaation homes for 20+ years and realize that every house may not be "just right". I think the owners need to spend a week/weekend at their property. They would discover the "little" touches that need to be done - extra towel bars in the bathrooms, water softener to take away the sulfur smell, end tables in the living room, extra wastebaskets in the bathrooms, etc.

We had a great time together - when the going gets tough, the tough go shopping! Lots of nice antique and other shops in the area! And, then the tough go out to dinner! We chose the Stone House. Very good!

This property would be great for small weddings or family reunions. Lots of outdoor and indoor space! Owners might want to consider this property "pet friendly". My dog would have loved the yard and open space! To the owners - work on the TLC for this property and you will have an award winning place for families and girlfriends to stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Wow! The above review was a eal eye-opener for us as owners. We want to reasure all future guests, the above issues have been addressed. We can not always predict if/when an appliance may break down. The culprits have been replaced. So we are confident we are "good to go!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review