reviews for: listing #91479 - Pigeon Forge, Tennessee Cabin rental

Deer Leap - Remainder of 2013: 20% OFF! - Dogs OK, HNDCP
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cabin
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Sherwood Forest Resort
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $414 - $689 /nt
    $2,100 - $4,200 /wk

sort by:

What The Entire Family Needed!!!!!

Review submitted: July 12, 2014   Date of arrival: June 29, 2014

WOW!!!!!! The cabin was perfect! The Kerr family knows how to make dreams come true. The cabin has everything you need and then some. We were greated with a wonderful gift bag and a phone call to make sure everything was perfect for us. The week we stayed was so relaxing and enjoyable. We are ages 13 to 77 and there was something for everyone at the cabin. My three teenagers did not want to leave even for the amusement park. They stayed at the cabin most of the week while the women spent time shopping. We did manage to get them to Dollywood and the water park. We made use of every inch of the cabin and I can happily say we will be back!!! Thank you Christine to you and your family for offering such a lovely home and experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Welcoming Owners and Beautifully Decorated~We will be back!

Review submitted: November 27, 2013   Date of arrival: November 24, 2013

When we arrived, we had a welcome basket full of goodies and coupons. This property is well maintained and stocked with fun. We got snowed in for a few days but we still had plenty to do. We met family from Louisiana there and there were a few fun surprises from the homeowner that made our trip so personal.

Although this cabin sits in a community, it is very private. It has beautiful views. My mother in law has a hard time with steps and the handicap ramp and suite made it perfect for her. She could be apart of all the activities without having to go up or down any steps.

The kids loved the games, puzzles, video games and movies. We had a "movie night" in the theater on one of our snow days. The cabin was so cozy, we didn't want to leave to go into Pigeon Forge or Gatlinburg. Although, if we wanted to it was a very short trip. This cabin is located at the first traffic light between both cities. It was easy to go to both places.

The pictures do not do the cabin justice. It's so much more beautiful and inviting than even the pictures show. The view is unobstructed and beautiful. The cabin was decorated for Christmas and it was so inviting. Every level of the cabin was tastefully decorated. Every day I found something new to look at.

This cabin is great for all ages. If you have a group, there is plenty of space to "spread out" from each other. There is also plenty of room to be together. I have told everyone about our adventure and I can't wait to return. And WE WILL BE BACK!!!

I have been coming to the Smokey Mountains since I was about 4 years old. I can honestly say, that this is the best place I have ever stayed in. The memories we made will last a lifetime. Thank you Christina and Deer Leap for such a beautiful experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent vacation

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

Our stay at Deer Leap was simply excellent. The house was very well maintained and the view was amazing. We had no trouble whatsoever and hope to do it again in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hiker

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

Our stay was wonderful for our whole family which included 4 grandchildren and 6 adults. The location was excellent and the facility was perfect for our weeks stay. We would not hesitate to return to Deer Leap.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Deer Leap is a Gem......

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

Wow! Where to begin!?!? Our long weekend was far
more than I could have imagined! The owner was
absolutely amazing to work with from start to
finish. The home...was unbelievable! Far more
than the pictures can relay! We had 6 in a our
party, and there was PLENTY of room to gather and
hang out or spread out and do our own thing. We
also brought our lab, Ally and even SHE can't wait to
go back (and she is NOT a fan of road trips!) I'm
often skeptical of 'pet-friendly' rentals - I wonder if
they will smell funny or have 'mystery stains' - this
was NOT the case at all at Deer Leap. The place
was spic and span! The surroundings are
breathtaking - and this was EVEN WITH the
remnants of Hurricane Isaac blowing through and
before the fall colors set in. The location is both
secluded and accessible and very convenient to the
shopping and activities in the area. Deer Leap is
definitely a gem that we plan to revisit again as
soon as possible!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous Amenities

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Family members are rating this vacation as fabulous thanks to the amenities of this cabin. I personally enjoyed the morning sunrises with the beautiful view of the mountains. The ramps and grab bars were especially appreciated by the whole family as it enabled the entire family to gather in the same place for rest, relaxation and rejuvenation. This is truly a one-of-a-kind special place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Christmas Memories Made!

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

Our family anticipated our time together for Christmas—we were not disappointed. We walked into a beautifully decorated home. Christina and John made sure we were warmly welcomed. If we had any needs, they were just a call away and were responsive. The space and activities on each of the four floors kept everyone engaged. The view was spectacular and ever changing. Great memories were made.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Outstanding Vacation in the Smokies/Deal Directly With Owner

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

This cabin offers everything it says and much more. We were extremely satisfied with the location (very close to Smoky Mtns. Park and Dollywood). The view was absolutely amazing. The pictures can't even capture the amazing view. There is so much to do right in the cabin there is no reason to leave. Our group ranged in age from 16 to 73 (14 total). There was plenty of space for everyone. The foosball and theater were a big hit with the young adults. We have already recommended this cabin to friends and would love to return again. We all wanted to stay longer (5 nights not long enough). We experienced some fantastic storms (almost like being in the middle of them we were so high up). Thanks you Christina and family for sharing your lovely cabin with us. It is a great place for a family reunion and offered EVERYTHING I was looking for while searching for a location...amazing view, hot tub, foosball, air hockey, pool table, card table, theater room, resort swimming pool, movies, board games, books, dining table large enough to accommodate large family dinners, plenty of TVs, plenty of parking, great location. The only thing missing was an elevator (there sure are a lot of stairs). THANKS TO MY FAMILY AND THE CHRIStINA AND HER FAMILY FOR SUCH GREAT MEMORIES....TWO THUMBS UP...RIGHT SIS...LAUGHTER IS BEST WHEN SHARED WITH FAMILY!!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Deer Leap TOPS THEM ALL!

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 15, 2012

If you are traveling to the Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg area and you do not book your stay at Deer Leap, you have really cut yourself short! We have been traveling to the area every year at least 2 to 3 times for the last 15 years, and have stayed in many cabins...this one TOPS THEM ALL! I cannot say enough about how wonderful the owners of this cabin are and how much they go out of their way to ensure you have a wonderful stay. Extremely clean, beautifully decorated, everything works inside and out, plenty of game tables/activities at the cabin, and the view is stunning! It was my birthday/anniversary week and when we walked into the cabin we had a beautiful gift package including items for our pups which stayed with us, and then when we got to the master bedroom and we had champagne, Deer Leap champagne glasses (that was a gift we were able to keep) sitting on a tray with rose peddles scattered all over the bed. NEVER have we had service like that at any other cabin! It is also very easy to get to either PF or Gatlinburg from here and the roads to/from are great! THIS IS THE ONLY PLACE TO STAY when visiting the area!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Cabin Ever

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 1, 2011

My family stayed at Deer Leap in December for 4 nights. The cabin is so comfortable and has so many amenities you hate to leave. The HD theater room was great for watching college basketball and movies. The grandchildren loved it. The owners were great, and provided so many extras you just don't get with other cabins. If you're looking for luxury and comfort, stay at Deer Leap.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Part of the Dames clan from Nassau, Bahamas

Review submitted: August 20, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

We recently spent a week at this cabin and all I can say is "WOW". It is absolutely gorgeous and spotless. We had such a wonderful time. Not only is there a lot to do in Pigeon Forge but the cabin itself had a lot to offer. There were a total of 11 of us who stayed there; 6 adults and 5 children. The kids were always busy either playing pool, watching movies or just relaxing. We were so comfortable that we could have stayed for another week. I highly recommend this cabin to anyone who is looking for a relaxing getaway. We will definitely be back. My husband wants to see it in the fall.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Cabin!

Review submitted: June 25, 2011   Date of arrival: November 28, 2010

WOW! What an amazing property. Deer Leap is truly the nicest cabin we've ever had the privilege of staying in. The pictures just can't capture the view from the balconies. This has to be the best view in Pigeon Forge.
We had an amazing trip, and loved every minute that we were in the cabin. The owners are first class, the cabin leaves nothing to be desired, and there are hundreds of things to do while visiting the area. Our six days just wasn't enough, or maybe we just didn't want to leave the cabin.
The lower level of the cabin was the place to hang out. Our three year old wouldn't leave the theater room at night because he got to watch Thomas on that " really big TV", and the football games on the big screen, WOW.
Thank You to the Kerr family for sharing this amazing home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome, Pet Friendly, Family Oriented

Review submitted: June 4, 2011   Date of arrival: November 26, 2010

We chose this place to take a family vacation back at Thanksgiving. The entire family loved this place. The children loved the theater and the owners gave us a free movie rental. The cabin was pet friendly which made it even better. We definitely would love to stay again. This cabin is awesome. It was just as described and even more...beautiful location.....plenty big for a large family to stay and everyone have their own place to retreat to. Hope to return soon. Thanks to the owners for everything even the special little gifts!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 7, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

We couldn't have been more delighted in our cabin
selection! Great location in PF, house has
everything you could possibly need, great views and
the owners are very engaged in ensuring
satisfaction. We couldn't believe the level of service
and attentiveness. The owner gave us a cell to text
questions and concerns to and she was so
responsive. The beds are comfy, the home theater is
fantastic and the furniture very comfortable. Not
your normal rental !!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

NTD (NOT TO DISAPPOINT)

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

Deer Leap is a great find. As one reviewer wrote “It was the cleanest and best maintained property we have ever rented”. We can say the same and we have rented a number of VRBO properties. The ice maker functioned as designed. The hot tub was operational. The plumbing performed (as it should) and Deer Leap might have the only functioning air hockey table in the state of Tennessee. Everything WORKED!!! We give kudos to the owners because this task is often neglected or overlooked by most. The aesthetic interior design and furnishings were all well chosen with a “country charm” and ambiance that is associated with a relaxing log cabin in the mountains. The view is an impressive 130 degree panoramic of the Great Smoky Mountains. As for in house entertainment, there is something for everyone. We mostly lived on the fourth level where the poker table, bar and theater is located. Very popular level.
The owners are excellent to work with and very accommodating. They even called us on the first night to make sure everything was fine. Never has that happened. I would definitely recommend this cabin to a family member or team manager seeking not to disappoint. We had an excellent time; thank you Kerr Family for sharing this wonderful place you have.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow, we are so glad that you had such a wonderful time and thank you for such kind words! You are your crew were the best!
Come back soon, and we sincerely thank you again for choosing our home.
John and Christina Kerr

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing Time at Deer Leap

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 2, 2011

Dear Leep was an amazing cabin with even better views! The pictures don't even do it justice, there is so much to do in the cabin and surrounding areas that we didn't want to leave! We will definitely be staying there again. Hopefully this summer so we can do the activities we weren't able to do this winter. The owners were extremely friendly and accommodating, and we hope to rent from then again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lerer Family Vacation

Review submitted: February 24, 2011   Date of arrival: December 20, 2010

I highly recommend Deer Leap to all visitors. The cabin exceeded our expectations in every way. Every amenity was available to us, the inside of the cabin made us feel like home and the views from all 4 porches are breathtaking. Both Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg are minutes away as are Dollywood and Ober Mountain. We are looking forward to spending our next vacation at Deer Leap.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding Family Vacation

Review submitted: November 18, 2010   Date of arrival: October 4, 2010

Everything about this cabin and the property owners was a JOY!! The cabin was beautiful, relaxing, spacious, comfortable, entertaining, and on and on. The theatre room was a big hit with my kids, but mainly with me! The location and views were terrific. Located in between Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg, so you could be into either main location within minutes. We had five adults, two kids, and a dog on the trip, and created memories that will last a lifetime.

I can't imagine friendlier property owners to rent from!! They were awesome!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent, Great location, Awesome views and the Most Wonderful Owner

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2010

We were here July 11 - 15, 2010, this place is awesome. The photos here dont do justice to how great this place is. I got to bring my parents with me this year, they are in their 70's and they loved it. I have been coming to Piegon Forge and staying in a cabin for the last 4 years, twice last year, and Deer Leap has been the absolute best I've been in. The theater room, made me feel like we were in a real theater. This will be a memory that neither myself or my parents will ever forget. I can't wait to to come back again next year. Thanks Christina for a wonderful memory made whole. Jason R.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Outstanding

Review submitted: July 31, 2010   Date of arrival: July 14, 2010

My sister reserved Deer Leap as a place for our families to get together upon my return from an overseas tour and I have only one word to describe it, OUTSTANDING. The place was spacious enough so that we could go to another floor if we needed that "alone time" and that space was also great to get the whole family together in one place. I think I enjoyed the Theater Room the most. Watching sporting events in that room, made it feel like I was right there. I had a great vacation with my family and staying at Deer Leap made it even more enjoyable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Seven Star

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: April 29, 2010

The cabin was not five star but seven star. The veiws are so beautiful and I can say one could not go wrong renting this place. I will go back with a few friends and spend more time. The people who own the place go out of there way to make your stay a happy one.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Smokey Mountain Paradise

Review submitted: June 23, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

The Cabin was above and beyond what was listed and displayed in the photos! It was the cleanest and best maintained property we have ever rented. From the completely stocked kitchen to the various entertainment areas we couldn't find one thing that should be changed. With so much to do right there, you never even have to leave the cabin. If you decide to venture out, Dollywood is just minutes away as well as many Pigeon Forge attractions. The views on all levels were spectacular! Sleeping accomodations are very comfortable and the supply of linens was more than ample. We would highly recommend this retreat to family and friends of all ages.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so very happy that you enjoyed our home. Guests like you are a testament to the reason we have chosen as a family to share our beautiful home. We would hope that you and your family continue to enjoy similar experiences and we offer you to stay at our home anytime in the future. Our goal has always been to offer our guests a unique "home away from home" and it warms our hearts to hear that you feel the same way.
Thank you for your kind words,
The Kerr Family

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

My sixth stay at Deer Leap

Review submitted: May 20, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

My husband and I love this place so much it is our #1 vacation spot. So much to do or do nothing at all in the lap of luxury. We have the most fun staying in and cooking meals with our friends and family. You can't get a five star meal out but with all the toys in this kitchen and some talanted freinds we do. After that we roll down the stairs to an evening in concert with a theater room that ROCKS!!!!! This owner has movies and more. We like spots so watch the game in those lazy boys are the best. No need to get ice upstairs they have a huge ice maker right there. This is living!!!! Can't wait to come back. Thank you for building my paridice get away home we LOVE IT!!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad that you enjoyed our home away from home! Please let us know when you would like to return again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 20, 2010   Date of arrival: March 2, 2010

We had an absolutely beautiful time! Your decor is lovely, the furniture is sooo comfy and the recreational amenities in the cabin are over-the-top! Oh, and as for the cute raccoon, (we named her Roxanne), we fell in Love with her!
Thank you so much!
P.S. Thank you for being "baby" friendly!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 20, 2010   Date of arrival: January 30, 2010

This has been a wonderful experience. The view is breathtaking!! The cabin exceeded our expectations. We are all from North Carolina. We traveled in the snow to get here and it was worth every minute on the road. The best part of the trip for us was..spending time with the people we love and care about. Also, it was nice to be in the middle of nowhere with absolutely NOTHING to do. We all lead very busy lives which causes us not to take many opportunities to relax so we were eager to take advantage of this trip. We didn't do a lot, but we did thoroughly enjoy our stay. This is a great get-away!! We will be back!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 20, 2010   Date of arrival: January 7, 2010

We spent five nights in Deer Leap and we were married in front of the fireplace on January 5th. We have a family of 9 and the cabin was perfect for our whole family. We never felt crowded and spent 2 days without leaving the cabin and loved it! We will be back with our family year after year to celebrate our memories here. We hope you have a wonderful time also.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 20, 2010   Date of arrival: December 11, 2009

We can't express enough how beautiful our time was here at Deer Leap. Please thank the owners for such a wonderful Christmas display. We feel honored to have shared our joy here. We will be back best year! The movie theater was amazing!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review